Customer reviews for Wusthof Gourmet Steak Knife Set

Wusthof Gourmet Steak Knife Set

Wusthof Gourmet Steak Knife Set : Half-dozen high-quality stamped knives with triple-riveted handles. Since 1814, knives bearing the Wusthof name and the Trident logo have been crafted in the world's "Cutlery Capital" of Solingen, Germany. Today, in a state-of-the-art facility, that tradition of quality is ensured as old-world craftsmanship meets twenty first century production methods. About Wusthof Gourmet: A precision-stamped blade of high-carbon stainless steel that sharpens easily and holds its edge. Compression rivets securely attach the high-impact handles to the full tang for superior balance and maneuverability. High carbon, no-stain steel. Full warranty. Knives have been ground extra thin for the ultimate cutting performance, although it is not recommended to cut through bones. Dishwasher safe, but hand washing is recommended. Made in Solingen, Germany.
Overall rating:
4.684 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
36 out of 38(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Wusthof Gourmet Steak Knife Set
Review 1 for Wusthof Gourmet Steak Knife Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer avatar
3Horses
fromChallis, ID 83226, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Friend
I have owned a 6" Wusthof Classic for about 30 years, so getting some steak knives seemed only logical. They are by far the best knives to have in your drawer! The 6" Classic is my "go to knife" and the steak knives are right up there as well. It is very tempting to use these steak knives as my everyday knife, but so far I have resisted that temptation. Excellent feel, and the blade is razor sharp. I couldn't be happier! I highly recommend these steak knives! Thank you!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wusthof Gourmet Steak Knife Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Cutting Edge

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Bob70
fromWilmington, NC, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
Excellent everyday steak knife.
Good quality for the price. If you don't want to go to the expense of a forged knife, these are a very good alternative.
Holds an edge well if not abused.
Wusthof products have never let me down.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wusthof Gourmet Steak Knife Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wusthof Gourmet Steak Knife Set

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Customer avatar
WhidbeyJ
fromWA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Purchased to add to our set. Love that you can add extra knives at such a reasonable price. I look forward to more gatherings at our table.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wusthof Gourmet Steak Knife Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE these knives

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
JED1
fromPalm Desert, CA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
I don't spend a lot of time in the kitchen and did not know the difference really fine knives could make when preparing food until I purchased my first Wusthof knife. These steak knives live up to all my expectations of a Wusthof product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wusthof Gourmet Steak Knife Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good price & the right # of knives

PostedJune 6, 2011
Customer avatar
Widget10000
fromBluffton, IN
I had priced these knives both on and off line, this was the best value. Our kids gave us a starter set of Wusthof Knives for Christmas a year ago. I know you pay for what you get but some of the places I checked were double the price for only 4 knives. I love my steak knives. Wouldn't trade them for any others.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wusthof Gourmet Steak Knife Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these knives!

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Whit640
fromTenafly, NJ, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
It is such a pleasure to have really good steak (and other foods) knives --no ragged edges, clean as a whistle, really, really sharp.
My Favorite Brandmany different -- no single one
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wusthof Gourmet Steak Knife Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally, great affordable steak knives!

PostedJune 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Wchambe
fromOhio
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Curtis Stone
I have purchased several sets of steak knives always being hopeful I would get some that were useful. I tried many brands and many price ranges and I was always so disappointed. Finally I found great knives and at a reasonable price! I bought the six-knife set and loved them so much I ordered another six. I'm so glad I found them!
My Favorite BrandCalphalon
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wusthof Gourmet Steak Knife Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Steak knives

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Katlady9
fromVernon, CT, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Dad
Love the new additions to our knives. The blades cut nicely and have a continuous cutting edge.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wusthof Gourmet Steak Knife Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wusthof Gourmet Steak Knife Set

PostedMay 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Yarmy
fromWoodsfield, OH, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
These knives are well built and are very sharp.
Should be good addition to my kitchen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wusthof Gourmet Steak Knife Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Sharp But Somewhat Flimsy

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Jeeshman
fromWaukesha, WI
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
The knives accomplish their required task of cutting through things like meat easily. But the blades themselves are rather flimsy--they feel like they'd bend pretty easily in the right circumstances.
The blades are as thin as a set of plastic-handled knives I purchased for $8. I expect more out of Wusthof, even at a retail price of "only" $129.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wusthof Gourmet Steak Knife Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a star in my kitchen

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Customer avatar
dagenham
fromsouth carolina
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
long- lusted super Wusthof knives...fitting tools to honor great steaks, roasts and carnivore essentials...proudly sharing with family and guests....
special thanks for putting them on Sale!!
And careful, they mean SHARP !!...thanx
My Favorite Brandcuisinart
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wusthof Gourmet Steak Knife Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like a hot knife through butter!

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Rainy66
fromDuluth, MN, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
We already owned a Wusthof collection of knives so we knew that we were purchasing high quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wusthof Gourmet Steak Knife Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Steak knives

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
cangel
fromSeaford
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
They are great. They cut so easily. I like the style also. Very easy to handle. No problem holding them. They slice right through meat like butter.
My Favorite BrandWusthof
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wusthof Gourmet Steak Knife Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thank Goodness for Sharp Knives

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
ChristmasAngel
fromYacolt, WA 98675, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
We live in a rural town and we do not have any nearby locations for knife sharpening. Thank goodness for Chefs and Wusthof for their knives. They are so sharp, I think they could cut through steel. It is a blessing with the elderly who have enough trouble with their strength, but still want a good New York Steak.
My Favorite BrandChefs
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wusthof Gourmet Steak Knife Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT KNIVES

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
ryoung4611
fromNJ
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
bought these in time for a holiday roast beef dinner and the cut through the meat like butter. Super sharp.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wusthof Gourmet Steak Knife Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Knives

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Carnivore2
fromColorado Springs, Co
My Cooking Level:Advanced
These knives are excellent, as you would expect from Wusthof. I really don't like the Wusthof logo displayed so prominently on the handles. It makes your table look a bit tacky when you set it with these knives. I'll figure out a way to remove the logos. Also, it would have been nice if the rivets were hidden. Given the appearance issues, I think $16 per knife is a bit expensive. If they made the knives look like something you would set at a fine dining table I would have rated them excellent rather than good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wusthof Gourmet Steak Knife Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

new kitchen knives.

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
mateyduck
fromFort Myers
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I bought these knives to replace our old kitchen knives. I should have done it sooner. they are great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wusthof Gourmet Steak Knife Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Steak Knives

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Abby10
fromBoston, MA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
This is a very nice looking steak knife set.....especially for the price!
My Favorite BrandWusthof
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wusthof Gourmet Steak Knife Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wusthof Gourmet

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromBellevue, WA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
I have a set of Wusthof Classic, and bought the Gourmet because it was a great deal. After I received it, I realized that the Classic is a full tang knife, whereas the Gourmet is not. Had I to do it over again, I would stick with the Classic. They are fine knives, and I'm sure they will work fine, but the Classic seems much better made.
My Favorite BrandWusthof, Kitchen Aid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wusthof Gourmet Steak Knife Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best steak knives I have ever owned

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Summer48
fromNevada, IA 50201, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
The first thing I noticed about these knives was their weight. They have the feel of a "true" knife. They slice a steak with ease, truly like "a warm knife through butter". I am sure they will be in my kitchen for many years to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>