Customer reviews for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener

Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener

Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener : Innovative design cuts on the side of the can, below the rim, leaving no sharp edges. Side-wind knob requires less force and features OXO's non-slip, comfortable grip. Safer and more hygienic. Works on any size can. 7 1/2" x 4 1/2" x 2 1/4".
Overall rating:
4.596 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 52 reviews
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
4
48 out of 52(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Review 1 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

quality product

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
imarose
fromBenton, IL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
This product is very easy to use. It does its job safely and with minimal effort on my part .
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Holy Grail of Can Openers!!!

PostedAugust 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Daley
fromYoungsville, PA
Over 5 years ago I purchased a smooth edge opener, and hated it, returning it to wherever I purchased it. I've been hesitant to jump into another one, fearing I would again struggle with using it and once again be disatisfied. I tried my daughter-in-law's and loved it, but couldn't find that exact model anywhere. I read reviews of this Oxo model, and having firsthand experienced CHEFS' excellent customer service, decided to chance it knowing I could always return it if I wasn't satisfied. I LOVE IT!!!...easy to use & clean, perfect cut on cans, but no more cuts on my own hands washing the cans for recycling.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedJune 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Debbie1
fromCharlotte, NC
Awesome can opener. Works great and is easy to use. I am very impressed.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The BEST!

PostedMarch 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Peej
fromAtlanta, GA
Thru the years I have tried many different brands of can openers, one seeming to be just like the other. Recently threw out another name brand product, after it kept slipping off the edge of the can & went to Chef's catalog website for help.
The OXO I purchased is simply the best can opener I have ever used. It is quick, quiet, easy to use . . and, leaves 'a lid', ensuring no sharp edges to cut fingers. This should be in every kitchen!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedOctober 6, 2010
Customer avatar
benny
frommontana
Easy to use. I was tired of sharp edges on cans and the lids often times falling into the can's ingredients. With this opener that doesn't happen and sharp edges are no longer an issue. I use it with safety and ease.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A new favorite for my kitchen

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Customer avatar
busybee44
fromSacramento, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
I love this can opener. I was doubtful initially, but it operates exactly as marketed. It works so effortlessly that I thought it was malfunctioning. I am very pleased with this purchase and recommend it to anyone looking to purchase a new can opener.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Oxo Can Opener - great gadget

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Customer avatar
BobKe
fromPhiladelphia, PA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
Great little gadget. Works exactly as described. I already own another one which is a top-wind device. This works much more naturally and is easier to use.
My Favorite BrandCuisinart
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

OXO Smooth Edge Can Opener

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Myqmaus
fromOlympia, WA, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
Easy to use and lives up to its name. Opened can edge was mostly smooth. Turning effort is much easier than other similar products from other manufacturers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best can opener yet

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Customer avatar
adamcOR
fromOregon, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
Built very solid and strong, does a great job with any can
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My Wife LOVES It!!

PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Customer avatar
EETPROF
fromIllinois
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
Actually, this is the second one we purchased. The first one was lost. My wife loved it! I bought her the can opener last Christmas and gave her another on this Christmas. It is a solid product and worth the investment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The BEST I have used in 62 years of cooking!

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Kaci
fromDe Leon, Texas
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Turns very easily, cutting is easier than our other opener that cuts in same fashion! The opener's shape by design relieves stress on the wrist ! A wonderful edition to any kitchen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can Opener Extraordinare

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Customer avatar
GrandmaB
fromOcala, FL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
i just love this can opener. It took a few try's to understand how to put it in action. Once understood, it has been fabulous ever since. It works so good, at first I wasn't certain it was even cutting the can. Exactly as advertised, no rough edges...smooth and effortless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wish I had bought years ago!

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
KGinTX
fromFort Worth, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
Absolutely love this can opener and highly recommend, anyone can use it easily and safely, too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Mimi89
fromColorado, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Smooth operation. Works as intended. Better than my previous one from a home show. Much smoother and super easy on the joints.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Tricia159
fromSouthern California
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
Really like the way this opener cuts cans, and leaves
a smooth edge.
It did take a bit to learn how to use it for the first 2 times, but after that it works great!
All my Oxo products are great to use too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally, I hope

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Customer avatar
chococoffee
fromCT
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I've been struggling with can openers, both manual and electric, for some time. Some worked on one type of can but not others, often stopping half-way through a lid. I don't use a lot of canned goods, When I do use cans it's usually for convenience, but what's convenient about not being to open one? This can opener has worked on every can (about a dozen) I've used it on. Neat, no sharp edges, I love it!
My Favorite Brandnone
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The last Opener you'll buy

PostedMay 11, 2014
Customer avatar
ApexChef
fromPuerto Rico
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Very simple to use and it actually works as advertised! Can edges are smooth and the opener hasnt had any trouble with any can I've used it on in the month I've had it. Built to last, definetly a great buy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Opener that Works!

PostedApril 28, 2014
Customer avatar
honey101
fromCastle Rock, CO, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
This opener works perfectly, and the little claw lifter for the lid is a fantastic feature. It is well made with a comfortable grip. Over all I am very pleased with the product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromCleveland, OH, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I anticipated/feared problems with this item: it will still leave sharp edges; it will be difficult to position correctly; it will be difficult to turn. I was pleasantly surprised to encounter NO difficulties. I'm very glad to add this can opener to the utensils in my kitchen!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

No means "NO!"

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromCleveland, OH, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I was pleasantly surprised to find that this opener opened the can quite easily and actually left no sharp edge on the lid or the can. The mechanism engaged the rim of the can nicely. It cut so smoothly as I turned the side-wind knob that I hardly knew that it was doing its job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>