Customer reviews for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener

Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener

Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener : Innovative design cuts on the side of the can, below the rim, leaving no sharp edges. Side-wind knob requires less force and features OXO's non-slip, comfortable grip. Safer and more hygienic. Works on any size can. 7 1/2" x 4 1/2" x 2 1/4".
Overall rating:
4.568 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
4
40 out of 44(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Review 1 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

quality product

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
imarose
fromBenton, IL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
This product is very easy to use. It does its job safely and with minimal effort on my part .
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Holy Grail of Can Openers!!!

PostedAugust 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Daley
fromYoungsville, PA
Over 5 years ago I purchased a smooth edge opener, and hated it, returning it to wherever I purchased it. I've been hesitant to jump into another one, fearing I would again struggle with using it and once again be disatisfied. I tried my daughter-in-law's and loved it, but couldn't find that exact model anywhere. I read reviews of this Oxo model, and having firsthand experienced CHEFS' excellent customer service, decided to chance it knowing I could always return it if I wasn't satisfied. I LOVE IT!!!...easy to use & clean, perfect cut on cans, but no more cuts on my own hands washing the cans for recycling.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedJune 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Debbie1
fromCharlotte, NC
Awesome can opener. Works great and is easy to use. I am very impressed.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The BEST!

PostedMarch 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Peej
fromAtlanta, GA
Thru the years I have tried many different brands of can openers, one seeming to be just like the other. Recently threw out another name brand product, after it kept slipping off the edge of the can & went to Chef's catalog website for help.
The OXO I purchased is simply the best can opener I have ever used. It is quick, quiet, easy to use . . and, leaves 'a lid', ensuring no sharp edges to cut fingers. This should be in every kitchen!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedOctober 6, 2010
Customer avatar
benny
frommontana
Easy to use. I was tired of sharp edges on cans and the lids often times falling into the can's ingredients. With this opener that doesn't happen and sharp edges are no longer an issue. I use it with safety and ease.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can Opener Extraordinare

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Customer avatar
GrandmaB
fromOcala, FL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
i just love this can opener. It took a few try's to understand how to put it in action. Once understood, it has been fabulous ever since. It works so good, at first I wasn't certain it was even cutting the can. Exactly as advertised, no rough edges...smooth and effortless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wish I had bought years ago!

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
KGinTX
fromFort Worth, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
Absolutely love this can opener and highly recommend, anyone can use it easily and safely, too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Mimi89
fromColorado, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Smooth operation. Works as intended. Better than my previous one from a home show. Much smoother and super easy on the joints.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Tricia159
fromSouthern California
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
Really like the way this opener cuts cans, and leaves
a smooth edge.
It did take a bit to learn how to use it for the first 2 times, but after that it works great!
All my Oxo products are great to use too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally, I hope

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Customer avatar
chococoffee
fromCT
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I've been struggling with can openers, both manual and electric, for some time. Some worked on one type of can but not others, often stopping half-way through a lid. I don't use a lot of canned goods, When I do use cans it's usually for convenience, but what's convenient about not being to open one? This can opener has worked on every can (about a dozen) I've used it on. Neat, no sharp edges, I love it!
My Favorite Brandnone
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The last Opener you'll buy

PostedMay 11, 2014
Customer avatar
ApexChef
fromPuerto Rico
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Very simple to use and it actually works as advertised! Can edges are smooth and the opener hasnt had any trouble with any can I've used it on in the month I've had it. Built to last, definetly a great buy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Opener that Works!

PostedApril 28, 2014
Customer avatar
honey101
fromCastle Rock, CO, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
This opener works perfectly, and the little claw lifter for the lid is a fantastic feature. It is well made with a comfortable grip. Over all I am very pleased with the product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromCleveland, OH, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I anticipated/feared problems with this item: it will still leave sharp edges; it will be difficult to position correctly; it will be difficult to turn. I was pleasantly surprised to encounter NO difficulties. I'm very glad to add this can opener to the utensils in my kitchen!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

No means "NO!"

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromCleveland, OH, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I was pleasantly surprised to find that this opener opened the can quite easily and actually left no sharp edge on the lid or the can. The mechanism engaged the rim of the can nicely. It cut so smoothly as I turned the side-wind knob that I hardly knew that it was doing its job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
sweetpea2short
fromToledo, OH, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
My daughter has one of these, and I love hers. I was so happy to find this one on here and the price is great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I just bought my last can opener!

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Shannon89
fromPage, AZ 86040, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
This is the best can opener I have ever used! It was easy to 'attach' to the side of the can, was very easy to turn (which is great since I have arthritis in both hands) & the top popped right off as soon as I separated the handles. And the edges of both the lid & the can were completely smooth. (I've been looking for a better can opener since I cut my thumb bad enough on a can lid to go to the emergency room in November) I just bought my last can opener! It's great!! Thank you for whoever made it & thanks to CHEFS for selling it!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool!

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
MEMP
fromAtlanta, GA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
This is my second OXO smooth edge can opener and I really like it. My first one became a little less efficient so I have replaced it with one just like it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best can opener I have ever used!

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Firefly11
fromBayside, CA 95524, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
If you are looking for the best can opener you can buy then you can stop looking and purchase the Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener. This is by far the best and easiest can opener I have every used. It is very well built and looks like it should last for a very long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

unbelievable

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
susie45
fromMilwaukee,Wi
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Calamity
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
this can opener is the easiest opener I have ever used. I chose the Oxo because of the side turner , it resembled the old-fashioned one I had, but I was so surprised at how much easier it was to use, dummy proof. and it is effortless .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work as promised

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
djude
fromHoward, Ohio
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
After reading all the "excellent" reviews I'm wondering if the Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener I have is somehow defective. It flat out doesn't open cans! I'm a bit of a handy guy and I've examined the mechanism up close. The cutting "wheel"--at least on the one I have--is too high. Thus it tries--when it tries at all--to cut in the upper middle of the can's rim. Only once did it open a can for me. Disappointing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>