Customer reviews for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener

Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener

Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener : Innovative design cuts on the side of the can, below the rim, leaving no sharp edges. Side-wind knob requires less force and features OXO's non-slip, comfortable grip. Safer and more hygienic. Works on any size can. 7 1/2" x 4 1/2" x 2 1/4".
Overall rating:
4.486 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
4
33 out of 37(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Review 1 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

quality product

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
imarose
fromBenton, IL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
This product is very easy to use. It does its job safely and with minimal effort on my part .
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Holy Grail of Can Openers!!!

PostedAugust 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Daley
fromYoungsville, PA
Over 5 years ago I purchased a smooth edge opener, and hated it, returning it to wherever I purchased it. I've been hesitant to jump into another one, fearing I would again struggle with using it and once again be disatisfied. I tried my daughter-in-law's and loved it, but couldn't find that exact model anywhere. I read reviews of this Oxo model, and having firsthand experienced CHEFS' excellent customer service, decided to chance it knowing I could always return it if I wasn't satisfied. I LOVE IT!!!...easy to use & clean, perfect cut on cans, but no more cuts on my own hands washing the cans for recycling.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedJune 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Debbie1
fromCharlotte, NC
Awesome can opener. Works great and is easy to use. I am very impressed.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The BEST!

PostedMarch 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Peej
fromAtlanta, GA
Thru the years I have tried many different brands of can openers, one seeming to be just like the other. Recently threw out another name brand product, after it kept slipping off the edge of the can & went to Chef's catalog website for help.
The OXO I purchased is simply the best can opener I have ever used. It is quick, quiet, easy to use . . and, leaves 'a lid', ensuring no sharp edges to cut fingers. This should be in every kitchen!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedOctober 6, 2010
Customer avatar
benny
frommontana
Easy to use. I was tired of sharp edges on cans and the lids often times falling into the can's ingredients. With this opener that doesn't happen and sharp edges are no longer an issue. I use it with safety and ease.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromCleveland, OH, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I anticipated/feared problems with this item: it will still leave sharp edges; it will be difficult to position correctly; it will be difficult to turn. I was pleasantly surprised to encounter NO difficulties. I'm very glad to add this can opener to the utensils in my kitchen!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

No means "NO!"

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromCleveland, OH, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I was pleasantly surprised to find that this opener opened the can quite easily and actually left no sharp edge on the lid or the can. The mechanism engaged the rim of the can nicely. It cut so smoothly as I turned the side-wind knob that I hardly knew that it was doing its job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
sweetpea2short
fromToledo, OH, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
My daughter has one of these, and I love hers. I was so happy to find this one on here and the price is great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I just bought my last can opener!

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Shannon89
fromPage, AZ 86040, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
This is the best can opener I have ever used! It was easy to 'attach' to the side of the can, was very easy to turn (which is great since I have arthritis in both hands) & the top popped right off as soon as I separated the handles. And the edges of both the lid & the can were completely smooth. (I've been looking for a better can opener since I cut my thumb bad enough on a can lid to go to the emergency room in November) I just bought my last can opener! It's great!! Thank you for whoever made it & thanks to CHEFS for selling it!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool!

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
MEMP
fromAtlanta, GA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
This is my second OXO smooth edge can opener and I really like it. My first one became a little less efficient so I have replaced it with one just like it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best can opener I have ever used!

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Firefly11
fromBayside, CA 95524, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
If you are looking for the best can opener you can buy then you can stop looking and purchase the Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener. This is by far the best and easiest can opener I have every used. It is very well built and looks like it should last for a very long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

unbelievable

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
susie45
fromMilwaukee,Wi
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Calamity
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
this can opener is the easiest opener I have ever used. I chose the Oxo because of the side turner , it resembled the old-fashioned one I had, but I was so surprised at how much easier it was to use, dummy proof. and it is effortless .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work as promised

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
djude
fromHoward, Ohio
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
After reading all the "excellent" reviews I'm wondering if the Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener I have is somehow defective. It flat out doesn't open cans! I'm a bit of a handy guy and I've examined the mechanism up close. The cutting "wheel"--at least on the one I have--is too high. Thus it tries--when it tries at all--to cut in the upper middle of the can's rim. Only once did it open a can for me. Disappointing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great can opener. Looks like it was made to last.

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Cathi8
fromSmithfield, VA, USA
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
When the top is cut off the can the edge will not cut you. Also, there is a device that allows you to easily lift the lid off the can. No mess!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

hands down....best EVER

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromCalifornia, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
Clearly the BEST opener I have ever purchased. It is so easy to use and works perfectly every single time. No more struggling with the top of cans that may be dented. or cutting yourself with the lids as they hang on and drop into the can contents.
I am buying one of these for family and friends this year for gifts. It is also a lot easier to rinse cans if you recycle.
Only down side, if you could call it that, is after opening you cannot use the lid to drain can contents. With the exception of tuna fish, this has not created much of a problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Jule13
fromRockford, Il., USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
This is the best hand-held can opener I've ever used! Comfortable to hold. Big handle. Easy gliding. Make sure you use the little gripper teeth when removing the lid. Easier then trying to remove with your fingernails. Oxo's Smooth Edge Can Opener makes opening cans fun! And it's especially nice knowing you're not going to get cut by sharp edges. Nor have to worry about the wildlife getting cut if they get into your trash can. Also, the mechanism never touches the food in the can, so there's no need to clean. But if you do, it's stainless steel. So no rusting!
My Favorite BrandKitchenaid, Microplane, Oxo, etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good can opener

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Nick10
fromEast Falmouth, Falmouth, MA 02536, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
Very good can opener, works better than the old style.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromIowa
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
My hands are aging and my "old can opener"" was getting hard to use. This one works great and is easier on my hands.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sure beats old can opener!!!

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Lumpy
fromChicago, IL, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Professional Chef
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
Only had opener a week or so ,it cuts a horizontal cut in center of the lid top very smooth both cuts ,lid does not fall in the can like the old opener.
Can opener has a built in clamp tool(tiny)) to remove lid ,you can use that or your finger nail and it pops right off.
Can opener stays clean after using it......Time will tell if opener holds up. Very easy to put on can and open can,you can hold can above surface and can stays on opener while opening ! Great Oxo buy!
My Favorite BrandLE CREUSET
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Oxo Smooth Edge Can Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally a good can opener

PostedJune 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Mart100
fromPA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I've only had this a couple of weeks but the best I've had other than a wall opener which is no longer available. Other reports said it took a while to get use to but I've had no trouble. No sharp edges but sometimes a little difficult to remove the lid. I like it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>