Customer reviews for OXO Mandoline Slicer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at CHEFS Catalog.

OXO Mandoline Slicer

OXO Mandoline Slicer : The mandoline slices with precision and regularity, letting us cut waffle, crinkle, julienne and paper-thin slices with the best of chefs. User-friendly with large safety guard that holds food securely and soft-grip dial that adjusts slice thicknesses from paper-thin to .25" thick. Folds for storage. Stainless-steel blades include straight, crinkle/waffle, and thin/thick julienne.
Overall rating:
3.809 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
15 out of 21(71%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for OXO Mandoline Slicer
Review 1 for OXO Mandoline Slicer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

So-so

PostedJune 1, 2010
Customer avatar
lizabell
fromnj
I asked for this mandoline for a Christmas gift a couple of years ago. When I got it the blade was very dull, tried to sharpen myself and it just didn't sharpen well. I contacted the company that the gift came from and they sent me another blade and still the same problem. It rips onions instead of slices them. Cucumbers slice well and other 'harder' vegetables.
Bottom line the blade just doesn't get sharp enough.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for OXO Mandoline Slicer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

blade was nicked and dull

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Customer avatar
kappy90
fromNorth Carolina, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I could not use the Mandoline at all. The blade was so bad the nails in the holder ripped through the vegtables when I reached the blade.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for OXO Mandoline Slicer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Could be better

PostedFebruary 19, 2008
Customer avatar
Brandi
fromMacon, GA
I received this as a gift, and couldn't wait to use it. I used a potato first, and it cut the potato into a slice, but it was not a clean cut, and gummed up the potato. After a few unsuccessful repeats, I cut the potatoes by hand. Later I tried a tomato - much worse. The tomato was "chewed up" by the blade, and I also resorted to cutting by hand. Perhaps the blade is dull, but this was disappointing.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for OXO Mandoline Slicer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great design but dull blade

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Customer avatar
TGShip
fromBeaumont, Texas
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
This mandoline is a great design. Compact, each to switch from thin to thick; straight cut to crinkle cut to french fry cut. Stores compactly. The only problem is the blade is very dull and tears the vegetables. If the blade was razor sharp it would be the perfect madoline.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for OXO Mandoline Slicer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A challenge to cut

PostedSeptember 22, 2008
Customer avatar
MarvinaP
fromColorado Springs
I've used the straight edge, and the julienne setting to cut onions and unfortunately it doesn't do as well as my old cheap mandolin did on the julienne setting. I like how the different settings are built into the unit, but the blade just doesn't seem sharp enough to push the onion thorugh; it feels like a battle. This is my first experience with an Oxo product that I'm not exactly pleased with.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for OXO Mandoline Slicer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It is ok, could be better

PostedDecember 4, 2007
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromSealy, texas
I like the design, it folds flat, and easy to clean. But the blade is dull, butter knife dull. When you finely get the blade sharp enough, it works great.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for OXO Mandoline Slicer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Kitchen Tool

PostedApril 8, 2009
Customer avatar
KellyH
fromRichmond, VA
My mom bought this for me for a birthday gift 3 years ago and it's still as sharp as the day I first used it and I use it at LEAST once or twice a week. The only thing I wish it had was a thicker waffle cut. It cuts very thin on that setting, but that makes for fantastic homemade potato chips!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for OXO Mandoline Slicer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for beginners

PostedJanuary 4, 2008
Customer avatar
Jarrett
fromHouston, Texas
I have never used a mandolin before, but I really enjoy using this. I originally bought it as a gift, but I find myself wanting to be the one slicing up the food! Works great, and it is very easy to store.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for OXO Mandoline Slicer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Much wanted accessory

PostedOctober 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Sassifrass
fromOrlando, Fl
Item is small and folds flat for storage. Sharp blades and convenient to clean.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for OXO Mandoline Slicer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good starter product

PostedJanuary 13, 2009
Customer avatar
dragonfly129
fromNew hampshire
I was very pleased with this purchase. It works great but it also is very easy to clean. I also thought I needed a little more force than other mandolines I have used. But overalll a great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for OXO Mandoline Slicer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Slicer for the Price

PostedJanuary 8, 2009
Customer avatar
CookingMom
fromFort Worth, TX
This is a wonderful slicer. My old one was cheap and did not last. This slices easily and is fast. I like it because you do not have to use force. It slices like butter! Hope it still slices like this after several uses!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for OXO Mandoline Slicer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Efficient and Good Value

PostedMarch 21, 2008
Customer avatar
thetavernkeeper
fromHudson Valley, NY
I purchased the OXO Mandoline several months ago and find it to be an easy to use, and easy to clean item. Shreds veggies like a champ.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for OXO Mandoline Slicer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I love this kitchen tool

PostedMarch 20, 2008
Customer avatar
alleyinalabama
fromsalem, AL
I bought this mandoline as a gitt for myself. I love it so much, I'll be purchasing one for my sister. I have used it to slice squash, potatoes, onions and a frozen boneless ham. It worked wonderfully on the squash and potatoes. the onion was a little harder to slice and the ham gave me a workout, but sliced nice even slices. This makes quick work of slicing vegetables, makes food prep a little easier. The guard is a little hard to hold onto, and I tend to use it when I am getting closer to the blade.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for OXO Mandoline Slicer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great!

PostedNovember 9, 2007
Customer avatar
SandyD
fromSE Michigan
The only tip I can give is watch your fingers. When you get down to the last little bit of whatever you're slicing, be very careful. Also, I tried the the small julienne setting on ham and turkey for a salad and it did not work well. The larger julienne setting works great for making french fries though. Slicing cukes for a salad was like cutting butter on a hot day. All in all, it's a nice thing to have.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for OXO Mandoline Slicer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good alternative to pricier models

PostedNovember 9, 2007
Customer avatar
patti
fromnew jersey
This is a good beginning mandoline. It makes quick work of loads of slicing. Makes nice, even slices - none of the sloppy mess that machines make. Does a good job on paper thin slicing. The julienne cutter blades need more force, on harder foods maybe more force than some people can do. Easy to clean and store.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for OXO Mandoline Slicer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mandoline

PostedApril 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Howie
fromSouthwest
Works great - very happy with my purchase. Appreciate the thickness dial especially. Very quick shipping.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for OXO Mandoline Slicer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just watch your fingers

PostedFebruary 19, 2009
Customer avatar
CaroltheCook
fromPortland
I really like this mandoline. It is amazingly sharp & makes tedious slicing tasks a breeze. I can't see why anyone would call this a 'starter' mandoline unless they were starting a restaurant. This is fine for almost all regular household needs.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for OXO Mandoline Slicer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

For The Price Can't Be Beat

PostedJanuary 9, 2009
Customer avatar
Pixframe
fromNew York, NY
The Oxo Mandoline does the job the more expensive mandolines do for a much lower price. And, in this economic
climate that's what we cooks want and need. Just remember to clean it (after every use) with a solution of water and bleach (a few drops of bleach to a quart of water) ... and keep it out on your countertop. You'll be surprised just how versatile an item it is and how frequently you'll be reaching out to use it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for OXO Mandoline Slicer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sweet slicer

PostedSeptember 22, 2008
Customer avatar
Marcus
fromSeven Hills. Ohio
This is the best mandoline I have ever used. My first was a cheap plastic one, as was my second. This one doesn't flex or twist when used, ir;s sharp, and produces nice even slices, and with a stainless steel glove, I can slice small things such as a garkic clove without any cuts! I've sliced ham.. tomatoes. potatoes. kielbasa. cabbage, corn, cucumbers, etc.. I've not used the other blades yet. This is a great and reasonabiy priced mandoline. In short,-buy it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for OXO Mandoline Slicer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Cut Above

PostedApril 1, 2008
Customer avatar
Aggiemom
fromLake Jackson, Texas
My husband and I really like this product. We "sliced" minutes off the time it usually takes us to make our au gratin potatoes - and all potato slices were the same thickness. It adjusts easily, and cleaning is a snap. Since we are not professionals, it meets our needs and does a great job for the price.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>