Customer reviews for Chef'sChoice Pro Sharpening Station 130

Chef'sChoice Pro Sharpening Station 130

Chef'sChoice Pro Sharpening Station 130 : Fool-proof sharpening and polishing. In just seconds, ensure precision-sharp blades and extend the life of all your knives - serrated, straight, kitchen - and even pocket knives. The compact M130 employs 100% diamond abrasives, super-hardened miniature steel, and revolutionary stropping disk for right-every-time sharpening and polishing. UL*/ETL and Canadian approved. 125 watts. 9 3/4"L x 4"W x 4"H. Product Features For all brands of fine edge and serrated knives, Asian style, pocket and sporting knives and reconditioning of heavily worked knives; easy to use and only takes 60 seconds Razor sharp steeled edge for perfect control while cutting Re-sharpen knives in 10 seconds Sharpens entire blade, tip to bolster Stage 1 sharpens edge and prepares it for subsequent steeling using 100% diamond abrasives Stage 2 uses super hardened miniature steel and precision guides to develop a shaving sharp edge with ultra-sharp microscopic serrations that provide a "bite" superior to professionally steeled edges Stage 3 polishes using a patented, flexible abrasive disk in combination with precision guides that create a smooth, ultra-sharp fine edge Precision angle guides for skill free operation No lubrication is needed for any moving parts, motor, bearings or sharpening surfaces. 3-year limited warranty *Underwriters Laboratories is an independent, not-for-profit product-safety testing organization.
Overall rating:
4.919 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(136 reviews) 128
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 136 reviews
5 Stars
125
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
136 out of 136(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Chef'sChoice Pro Sharpening Station 130
Review 1 for Chef'sChoice Pro Sharpening Station 130
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Patgerr
fromLandenberg, PA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
This professional sharpening station by Chef's Choice is just as good as advertised. We have an excellent set of Wusthof chef's knives which we had purchased some time ago during our stay in Europe. So it was important to obtain a reliable sharpener to avoid the risk of ruining them. After reading the instructions carefully, it took no time at all to return them to OEM sharpness. My wife was thrilled and it put the fun back in food prep and cooking.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Chef'sChoice Pro Sharpening Station 130
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sharp knives & easy to use!

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Customer avatar
PJH13
fromCape Cod, MA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
Out of the box, along with the instructions, there was a separate "Warning" about "caution after sharpening as the knives will be dangerously sharp". My first thought was congratulations to the marketing department ..... but after a few minutes of working on our Wusthof knives I was grateful for the warning. Previously, we had a Wusthof manual sharpener which was effective when new but seemed to have lost its ability to provide a sharp edge over the years of use. It seems that the ceramic cylinders were worn from use and this prevented the correct angle from being consistently ground onto the knife edge...... so the knives were not sharpened. We love to cook so I thought the investment in a powered rotary diamond sharpener would be justified. We are not disappointed with our early experience. The Model 130 allows for a 'steeled' edge or a smooth edge. The knives stay sharp and do not require constant attention ---- it's amazing how this small thing adds to the joy of the food preparation experience. This product once again demonstrates for me the high quality and excellence of Chef Catalog products ---- we have not been disappointed yet! Two bits of information if you are interested in spending this kind of $$$ on a sharpener. 1) consider a model that includes the ability to sharpen scissors, and 2) look at specifications carefully to get what you need / want; there are many products out there. All things considered, I would still buy the Model 130.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Chef'sChoice Pro Sharpening Station 130
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features

PostedMay 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Roger41
fromLewiston, Albert, MI 49756, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I have always prided my ability to sharpen knives and refused to use any mechanical tools. It was stone and steel only. I was talked into trying a Chef's Choice model 130. Not wanting to run a good knife I tried to sharpen an old blade that had not been sharpened in years. What a surprise to find out how easy it was to put a good working edge on the old blade. We have 2 complete blocks of knives we received as wedding gifts almost 50 yrs ago One Case block and one Cutco. They have processed a lot of game and fish over the years. With the 130 it will be much easier.
My Favorite BrandCase, KaBar and Cutco
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Chef'sChoice Pro Sharpening Station 130
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Knife Sharpener I've Ever Owned

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Rube
fromHopewell Junction, NY 12533, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
This is a gift for my son. I bought one a few months ago and couldn't be happier. I have many high end, expensive knives (of different brands) and this sharpener brings each one up to it's full potential quickly and easily. I always have small bald spots on my forearms from showing friends and family how razor sharp the knives are. The only trick is to draw the knife through the sharpener slower than the instructions call for. Too slow and you might burn the blade - too fast and you won't sharpen quickly. A small amount of experience will turn you into an expert. Highly recommended for all serious knife enthusiasts.
My Favorite BrandWusthof Knives
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Chef'sChoice Pro Sharpening Station 130
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Why did I wait so long to purchase it?

PostedJanuary 4, 2011
Customer avatar
JRCOOKIEMAKER
fromSacramento, CA
It's amazing how easy it is to use and how great it works. I'm looking forward to buying them for Christmas presents next year if I wait that long. I love sharing it with others. It's beautiful and saves effort when you have sharp blades,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Chef'sChoice Pro Sharpening Station 130
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedDecember 22, 2010
Customer avatar
bridgefan
fromRocky River, Ohio
I bought this as a gift and my son-in-law really loved it.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Chef'sChoice Pro Sharpening Station 130
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sharp knives again!

PostedDecember 16, 2010
Customer avatar
deodato11
fromwashington state
This was recommended by the folks at America's Test Kitchen. Works great, and I finally have a set of super sharp knives. My only (tiny) complaint is that it is a bit clumsy to store - has to be unplugged and put away somewhere, then brought back out to shartpen knives. However, it doesn't need to be used everyday, so it's not a huge problem.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Chef'sChoice Pro Sharpening Station 130
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Now That's a Sharp Sharpener!

PostedJanuary 12, 2010
Customer avatar
SteaknTaters
fromFleming Island, Florida
This product has made my knives like new! What a difference a sharp knife makes. By far, the most dangerous piece of equipment in the kitchen is a dull knife. This sharpener took care of that. Would recommend this sharpener for the serious culinary expert to the newest kitchen novice. Great product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Chef'sChoice Pro Sharpening Station 130
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Gift

PostedDecember 29, 2009
Customer avatar
DebsCreations
fromArlington, TN
I was going to send my knives out to be sharpened, then I got this and it does such a great job. It sharpened the knife I used for cutting the Christmas ham with such ease.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Chef'sChoice Pro Sharpening Station 130
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect gift for a chef!

PostedJanuary 30, 2009
Customer avatar
ilovetoeat
fromSt.Augustine, FL
This knife sharpener is the perfect gift for a home chef! Our knives were so dull that I almost thought we would have to replace them. We had taken them to several knife stores for sharpening and it would only help for a month or two.
My husband, the chef, loves how easy and accurate the Chef's Choice Pro Sharpening 130 Station has been. Our knives are like new again. And I don't have to leave the house to get them sharpened.
My order came quickly and was packaged wonderfully. Working with Chef's Choice has been very easy.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Chef'sChoice Pro Sharpening Station 130
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lifesaver!

PostedJanuary 9, 2009
Customer avatar
Pearl
fromPort Orchard, WA
For many, many years, my wonderful husband kept all of my knives sharp by using a sharpening steel. For some reason, I was never able to use a steel correctly. When he passed away, I was not only left with a broken heart, but also dull knives, so I invested in the Chef's Choice Pro Sharpening Station. Such a wise decision. My knives are all back in tip-top shape with very little effort. This has become my standard wedding gift as well. It's a winner!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Chef'sChoice Pro Sharpening Station 130
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesomely Wonderful!

PostedOctober 25, 2007
Customer avatar
Punkin
fromConcord Hill, MO
My husband and I received the Chef’s Choice knife sharpener for Christmas. We love it. Before my husband would never let me sharpen our knives because he was afraid I would ruin the edge. Not an experienced knife sharpener, I can use the Chef’s Choice without concern. It guides the knife for you through the magnetic sharpening stones at the perfect angle. There are three sharpening stones or steps. The first takes off chips or is more like a rough sharpen for those really bad knives. Then the second, adds that wonderfully sharp edge while the third step is a finish to the edge. My husband doesn't have any more concerns now. It is as easy as 1, 2, 3!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Chef'sChoice Pro Sharpening Station 130
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I finally have the "edge"!

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromakron, ohio
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Calamity
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
works as promised!
My Favorite Brandbudweiser
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Chef'sChoice Pro Sharpening Station 130
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromKerrville, TX, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
After butchering deer with knives I can't seem to keep sharp I borrowed my daughter's 130. It helped me butcher my last deer at a faster rate. I then purchased a 130. Now all our kitchen knives are sharp.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Chef'sChoice Pro Sharpening Station 130
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heard about it, got it, good!

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Customer avatar
MarshaChop
fromLitchfield, Maine
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
We have talked about a new knife sharpener for ages. I finally decided to get this knife sharpener for my husband based on Cook's Magazine comments. We are happy with the ease of use. All the knives are finally sharp again and I'm chopping up a storm! I think the edges on all the knives will hold the sharpness longer than the hand held sharpener we have been using for years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Chef'sChoice Pro Sharpening Station 130
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chef'sChoice Pro Sharpening Station 130

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
dent
fromElgin, IL, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
THis is a great sharpening station. Does an excellent job of sharpening all knives of all styles. I will not be without this tool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Chef'sChoice Pro Sharpening Station 130
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Initial impression is VERY positive

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromTopsail Beach, NC, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Dad
I've only had this sharpener for a few days and I've sharpened several European style knives so far. I haven't tried any other kind yet so will limit my comments accordingly. I had one knife that was too dull to pop balloons before I sharpened it with the model 130 and now it is suitable for shaving. Only took a couple of minutes to do, too. Possibly I spent more time than I needed to do that but I was reluctant to believe it could sharpen the knife that quickly after it being so dull.
If I have any complaint at all it was with the length of shipping. Fedex dragged their feet. UPS would have delivered it a day earlier even with their regular shipping.
My Favorite BrandCessna
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Chef'sChoice Pro Sharpening Station 130
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Essential cook's tool

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromFlorida
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
This sharpening station is a must-have for those of us who love to cook. Keeping my knives honed and sharp enhances my knife skills and keeps me safe.
So many times my dull knives have slipped and nearly caused me to cut myself. Now the knives are very sharp and my cutting is efficient; this tool also lets me keep my serrated and Asian knives in perfect working condition -a task that a steel or honing tool could not perform.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Chef'sChoice Pro Sharpening Station 130
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great knife sharpener

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromSouthwest Georgia
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
All of my knives are now razor sharp. Easy to use and well worth the money...
My Favorite BrandBreville
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Chef'sChoice Pro Sharpening Station 130
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chef's Choice knife sharpener

PostedMay 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Hadster
fromNew York, NY
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I bought this model base on the review of electric knife sharpeners on America's Test Kitchen.
Follow the instructions regarding the different stages and how best to achieve a burr using the number 1 slot, and you will have the sharpest knife you've ever had. I recommend the full 3 step process if you've had your knives for over a year - mine were several years old and maintained with a knife steel.
My knives are sharper than when knew.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>