Customer reviews for Porterhouse Pakkawood Steak Knives

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at CHEFS Catalog.

Porterhouse Pakkawood Steak Knives

Porterhouse Pakkawood Steak Knives : Set of four Japanese stainless-steel serrated blades with Pakkawood handles. Whether it's steak or pork, lamb or fresh game, these steak knives cut perfectly. These blades stay sharp. They never need sharpening and are riveted to large, comfortably contoured handles. 4 3/4" blade; 10" overall. Hand wash.
Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 45 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
4
1 Star
2
36 out of 45(80%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Porterhouse Pakkawood Steak Knives
Review 1 for Porterhouse Pakkawood Steak Knives
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great knives!

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromDetroit, MI, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
These knives are great, heavy and sharp and big enough to handle any meat on your plate. I am washing by hand to preserve the lovely wooden handles.l
My Favorite Brand.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Porterhouse Pakkawood Steak Knives
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These knives are great!!!

PostedApril 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Tina61
fromArbor Vitae, WI 54568, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
They have large wooden handles that are easy to grip for my husband who is a big guy. They are also very sharp and classy looking. I really like these knives. A great item for yourself or a nice gift!!!
My Favorite Brandkitchen aid
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Porterhouse Pakkawood Steak Knives
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent knives

PostedJuly 5, 2011
Customer avatar
joshua1
fromVero Beach Fl
The knives are just what I wanted not as big as I expected , my wife thinks their great and asked me to order 4 more. Extremely sharp easy to cut use them all the time
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Porterhouse Pakkawood Steak Knives
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Knives Ever

PostedJanuary 31, 2011
Customer avatar
GusC
fromWeirsdale, Florida
These are the best knives ever. They are heavy duty and feel great in my hands. They make short work of anything you cut, and hold an edge to boot. Thanks for a outstanding addition to my kitchen.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Porterhouse Pakkawood Steak Knives
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PorterHouse Pakkawood Steak Knives

PostedDecember 1, 2010
Customer avatar
GlitterPaint
fromRed Creek, NY
they are huge compared to the picture, not your average size steak knives, HOWEVER, they're so strong that I use them for many other kitchen tasks besides slicing meat..I love these knives..So glad I purchased them :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Porterhouse Pakkawood Steak Knives
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect

PostedMay 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromChannahon, IL, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Love the knives. Nice large size and plenty sharp Just what I was looking for and a great price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Porterhouse Pakkawood Steak Knives
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So Sharp

PostedMay 14, 2013
Customer avatar
mom1250
fromYpsilanti, MI, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
These streak knives are great. Had a thick cut of steak and the steak knife cut it as though it was butter. The handle is very easy to manage and seems well balanced. The only draw back was the first time I washed the knife the handle orange color came off. The second time I did not see any color drip[ping off. I thought the knives would be too big to handle but they are perfect.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Porterhouse Pakkawood Steak Knives
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good quality

PostedApril 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Janmags
fromOrange, ca
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
However I will be returning them - they are very large and though of good quality - I have no place to store them!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Porterhouse Pakkawood Steak Knives
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

STEAK KNIVES

PostedApril 12, 2013
Customer avatar
GINGERCOOKIE1
fromSWANSEA MA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
ILOVE MY NEW SKEAK KNIVES. WANTED A KNIFE THAT WOULD CUT ALL TYPES OF MEAT AND LOOK ATTRACTIVE ON MY TABLE. THANKS CHEFS FOR OFFERING SUCH A GREAT BUY.
My Favorite BrandKITCHEN-AID PRODUCTS
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Porterhouse Pakkawood Steak Knives
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Very Large Handles

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Customer avatar
MomMom70
fromReading, Pa
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
Very difficult and clumsy to hold if you have arthritis. Book states dish washer safe but product states must hand wash.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Porterhouse Pakkawood Steak Knives
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Sandy427
fromVirginia
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Knives cut through steak like butter. Beautiful wood.
Not too heavy. Well balaned.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Porterhouse Pakkawood Steak Knives
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Steakhouse Knives - But......

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Oceanside
fromSurfside Beach, SC, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
They are such substantial knives, that I feel like I need to get metal "sizzling" platters to serve the meat on. I'm afraid to use them with my good dishes. Comfortable to handle, and well made, but I'm not sure I'll ever use them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Porterhouse Pakkawood Steak Knives
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharp, and sharp looking

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Jim61
fromPA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
The knives are sharp, and the heavty handle makes it a pleasure to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Porterhouse Pakkawood Steak Knives
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these knives!

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Sgrimes
fromGreeneville, TN, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
Good balance, great handle. Cuts with ease. Comfortable grip. Excellent quality for the price. I purchased a set for myself, and one for a gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Porterhouse Pakkawood Steak Knives
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Porterhouse Pakkawood Steak Knives

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
caseygirl
fromPhoenixville, PA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Too large a blade and too large a handle. More like a wood working tool than a knife to use at the table. Also hard for my older smaller hands to manage.
My Favorite BrandCuisinart
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Porterhouse Pakkawood Steak Knives
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dissatisfied

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Sdullo
fromNew York, NY, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I was looking forward to having a great steak knife to use when grilling. The knife itself is sharp and cuts well but unfortunately the stain on the handles keeps on running after hand washing the knives. There is no directions as for the care of the knives. I have avoided putting them in the washer due to extreme fading on another set of knives I have. CHEFs should be more specific in terms of proper care for these knives and should warn customers of this problem.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Porterhouse Pakkawood Steak Knives
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Steak Knives for Big Steaks

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Customer avatar
egkelly1248
fromMilwaukie, OR, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
I am an avid big steak guy and when I purchased these knives I knew they would be perfect for my big Porterhouse steaks.
An excellent value for an excellent steak knife.
My Favorite BrandKen Onion or Bob Kramer-Shun Knives
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Porterhouse Pakkawood Steak Knives
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

If You Like "Em Chunky!

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromUpper West Side, Vermont
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
These are good, solid, beefy knives - even bigger than they looked in the photo. They're a little too hefty for my table setting; great for thick steak, but not the best for taking chicken or fish off the bone. Saw, not scalpel. Great price; I may give 'em to some of the guys for deer camp.
My Favorite Brandold-school cast iron
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Porterhouse Pakkawood Steak Knives
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad sized steak knives

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Dancer5
fromBallard, CA 93463, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
What an unpleasant surprise -- I was execting a neat set of stek knives that would fit my hand (and into my drawer space) and instead I received something that looked as though they could have killed the beef with ease. These knives are way to bif and I would have sent them back if the package they cam in had to ve destroyed to remove them. I certainly would not refer them to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Porterhouse Pakkawood Steak Knives
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gift for my daughter.

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Caroet
fromCincinnati, OH, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
After I broke one of our daughter's knives, I wanted to replace it. The Porterhouse Pakkawood Steak Knives were super. Loved the thick handles, might not be able to break them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>