Customer reviews for Stainless-Steel Finger Guard

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at CHEFS Catalog.

Stainless-Steel Finger Guard

Stainless-Steel Finger Guard : A secret tool of professional chefs to slice and chop without fear! Stainless steel shield slips on to middle finger, leaving fingers protected but free to hold food. The shield won't damage knives - and it's dishwasher safe! Made in France.
Overall rating:
3.818 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
27 out of 33(82%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Stainless-Steel Finger Guard
Review 1 for Stainless-Steel Finger Guard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMay 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Theslicer
fromFt Myers, FL
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I wished I had found this years ago!!!! My family calls me "Slicer".....I've tried various finger protective devices and still have managed to slice one.....this is comfortable,very easy to use and doesn't get in the knife's way....
My Favorite BrandWolf appliances
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Stainless-Steel Finger Guard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

finger guard

PostedMay 12, 2012
Customer avatar
nelpat19
fromAndrews, NC 28901, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I was very impressed with this product when I figured out how to use it. At first, it felt strange on my finger, but the more I used it, the better it felt. I wear latex gloves at my job, and was always cutting the tip off of the glove, but since I started using this finger guard, my chopping time has decreased, and there are no more glove tips to hunt for.
My Favorite BrandKitchenaid and Lodge cast iron cookware
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Stainless-Steel Finger Guard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Should have bought one sooner..

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Customer avatar
luvmykitchen
fromSpokane, WA
Took a few tries before is didn't feel awkward when using, but I love this gadget - has saved my fingertips and doesn't get in the way at all.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Stainless-Steel Finger Guard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC Product

PostedJune 3, 2011
Customer avatar
atticmom
fromSt Cloud, Florida
This Finger Guard is the greatest kitchen gadget EVER created, especially for those of us with medical problems. I would recomend it to anyone in the kitchen. So great, I am planning to purchase another one. Excellent for kids that love the kitchen and very easy to use and clean.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Stainless-Steel Finger Guard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kitchen Safety Tool

PostedJanuary 31, 2011
Customer avatar
kajungal
fromBunn, NC
For me this is a safety tool. My vision is impaired and before purchasing the finger gard my fingers were always getting sliced and diced. With this product I am safe from the cuts.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Stainless-Steel Finger Guard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Finger protector

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Loti
fromIndianapolis, IN, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Martyr
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Dad
I cookquite a few oriental dishes requiring slicing. This will save my fingers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Stainless-Steel Finger Guard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Groovy Little Helper

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromVisalia, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
This item is great! It took a wee bit to get used to it, I am glad I bought it. No more cuts to my fingers!
My Favorite Brandseveral
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Stainless-Steel Finger Guard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedJune 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Gaylieus
fromPort Ludlow, WA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I expected that it would be awkward to use until I was used to havng it on my hand. I was pleasantly surprised that it was quite easy to adapt to.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Stainless-Steel Finger Guard
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Much smaller than I thought..... returned it

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
quarterhorsey2
fromKalispell, Mt 59901, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Martyr
This is a great idea but the actual item is much smaller and cheaper looking than it looks in the photo. I think the price is too high for the quality you're getting. It was to be a gift but I'm returning it :(
My Favorite BrandHenckel
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Stainless-Steel Finger Guard
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awkward

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromCulver, IN 46511, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
Will probably return..first -second uses not good.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Stainless-Steel Finger Guard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Safety first

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Cajunqueen63
fromDallas, TX
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I've only used the finger guard once so far. Even though it feels a bit awkward, I know I'll be slicing and dicing like a pro without fear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Stainless-Steel Finger Guard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the slow handed

PostedMay 17, 2011
Customer avatar
PapaKen
fromNaperville IL
Whether cutting veggies or small hobby parts, when the knife is close to the fingers, you slow down. It speeds up the cutting process, it's also good in training the grand kids.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Stainless-Steel Finger Guard
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Still learning to use this

PostedJanuary 6, 2011
Customer avatar
LovesKitchenGadgets
fromIndiana
This is a very well made guard out of quality material. I am still learning to use it, I think once I get the hang of it, and it feels comfortable and natural, I will use it a lot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Stainless-Steel Finger Guard
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Kind of clumsy

PostedDecember 30, 2010
Customer avatar
FayW
fromBoulder CO
It works, in that it protects the fingers. It would be hard to cut yourself while wearing this. I have only used it once so far though, and it felt awkward and kind of clumsy, and slowed me down. Also, I don't think my slices were as even as usual. It clearly takes getting used to, and I'm not sure it's worth the effort. But I will try it some more.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Stainless-Steel Finger Guard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good safety tool

PostedDecember 1, 2010
Customer avatar
Easygiant
fromPhoenix, AZ
Small but excellent for using all kinds of sharp knives safely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Stainless-Steel Finger Guard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saves fingers and bandages

PostedDecember 1, 2010
Customer avatar
JoMarie
fromIndianapolis, Indiana
I purchased these as stocking stuffers for my girls. Great idea. Wish I had one last Easter, I wouldn't have needed sutures.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Stainless-Steel Finger Guard
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Stainless-Steel Finger Guard

PostedNovember 30, 2010
Customer avatar
MikeB
fromRaleigh NC
Bought this to protect my fingers from my new Shun Ken Onion Hollow-Ground 7-in. Santoku. Still haven't figured out how to use it comfortably (akward)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Stainless-Steel Finger Guard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this was a very good purchase for me

PostedNovember 23, 2010
Customer avatar
rere7
fromphiladelphia
since i always cut my fingers this was the best product i could get for my money .it fits like it's supposed to and i didn't ruin my nail polish while cutting up onions and slicing meat nor was i afraid of using the knife .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Stainless-Steel Finger Guard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

finger guard

PostedNovember 19, 2010
Customer avatar
DanW
fromOlney, MD [near Washington, D.C.]
This item should have been in kitchens ages ago. I use this guard daily. The only suggestion I'd make for a design modification is to have a slightly sharpened, pointed projection on the edge which contacts fruits, veggies, or meats being chopped, as the "point" would serve to anchor the food more securely while it's being chopped. Otherwise, no complaints.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Stainless-Steel Finger Guard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice purchase

PostedAugust 6, 2010
Customer avatar
autumnoakpch
fromDayton, PA
I like this finger guard for small amounts of cutting. It becomes a little unconfortable for long useage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>