Customer reviews for Salter Platform Scale

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at CHEFS Catalog.

Salter Platform Scale

Salter Platform Scale : Take the guesswork out of measuring and portion sizes. Measures up to 5 lbs. in precise 1/10-oz. increments. Stainless-steel platform resists stains and flavor migration. Weigh directly on platform or press key to weigh only the items in a container. US and metric. 6" dia. scale surface. Lithium battery included.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Salter Platform Scale
Review 1 for Salter Platform Scale
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not just for Food

PostedJune 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Migknits
fromRedwood Country, California, U.S.A.
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Martyr
I didn't buy this for weighing food... it works very well for weighing yarn, especially when I want to divide a skein in equal amounts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Salter Platform Scale
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sleek and small and lightweight

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Monica2
fromCT
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
Scale smaller than I imagined - very sleek - weighs items up to 5 lbs - can be used for many food
projects, and fits easily in a small storage space - can be used for many kitchen tasks including portion control for dieters... very small amounts can be weighed with accuracy. Love this little guy !!!!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Salter Platform Scale
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a museum piece

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Customer avatar
jasper
fromMartha's Vineyard
The design of this scale may well be part of MOMA's collection.. But not only is it beautifully designed but it is incredibly functional.
It accepts many shapes and sizes of containers as well as two scales - lbs and grams.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Salter Platform Scale
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best Gift Ever

PostedJanuary 8, 2009
Customer avatar
thecookingqueen
fromBaltimore, MD
I absolutely recommend this scale! I buy sale items including meats, vegetables, cheeses in bulk and measure out using this scale to freeze. No guess work. Measures herbs in small quantities to meat in larger quantities for meals. Great help for saving time and money.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Salter Platform Scale
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It measures up!

PostedJanuary 17, 2008
Customer avatar
Potsticker
fromIndianapolis
Pastry chefs have always recommended measuring by weight rather than measuring by volume, and this little platform scale allows very accurate measuring in either English (oz) or metric (g) units. It is easy to zero, and that way you can measure either wet or dry ingredients in your mixing bowl. Dieters will rejoice when using it to determine exact portions. The printout is digital and easy to read, and there is a low battery or overload function as well. Since it will measure very small amounts, you can use it to weigh envelopes to determine correct postage. I've also used it for all sorts of weighing tasks not related to cooking because the base is large enough. It is easy to store because it is so thin. I keep finding more uses for this scale like wrapping coins (count ten coins and weigh, then extrapolate the value.) and you will too.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Salter Platform Scale
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice look & size

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Dhappy
fromSpringfield, MO, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Calamity
has what I needed to do small amounts, and good price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Salter Platform Scale
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Salter Platform Scale

PostedApril 8, 2009
Customer avatar
GreekBoy
fromNorth Potomac, MD
Not a bad scale for the price. Ability to add a receptacle for tare/pre-weigh is a great feature. Fairly accurate and quick change from metric to pounds. Auto shut off nice.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Salter Platform Scale
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

PostedFebruary 26, 2009
Customer avatar
longhorn88
fromKansas City, MO
I am very happy with this purchase. It measures very small quanitities, and it seems to be very accurate. I have tested it against the weight listed on meat or deli items from the grocery store and they are always extremely close. I bought this scale primarily because I have some recipes that call for dry ingredients to be measured by weight rather than volume, and I did not have anything accurate enough. This scale does the trick very nicely. I am also a conscientious dieter and I like to control my portions, and this scale helps me a lot. My only very minor criticism is that I am not crazy about the shiny stainless steel finish.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.