Customer reviews for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate

CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate

CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate : Used by museums, self-acting cleaning plate easily removes tarnish from silver, sterling silver, copper, bronze, gold, stainless steel, chrome, quality brass, and more. Nontoxic and easy to use. Plate lasts indefinitely with simple care. 8"L x 6"W. Made in the USA. Please read instructions properly before use. In addition to this electrolytic cleaning plate, it is required to dissolve 4 tablespoons of arm and hammer baking soda or Calgon liquid water softener in one gallon of hot water to begin the cleaning process. CHEFS signature collection of professional-quality cookware, kitchen tools, bakeware, dinnerware and more is meticulously crafted and tested to delight the most discerning cook. CHEFS commitment to innovative, functional design is the key to delivering products of exceptional quality, performance and durability for home and professional kitchens.
Overall rating:
3.526 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Star
8
26 out of 38(68%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Review 1 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Catalog Wrong-Product Good

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
23amherst
fromSavannah, GA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
This product does a good job if used as directed. The Catalog blurb is, however, very misleading. The product requires Arm & Hammer WASHING Soda not Baking Soda to work. If you use Baking Soda nothing will happen.
Heavily tarnished items will require two or three applications, but they will eventually get clean. Lightly tarnished items clean quickly (30 seconds or so).
Over all an excellent product as long as it is used correctly.
+29points
29of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromTraverse City, MI, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
I love shiny silver but polishing takes a long time and the smell of silver polish really bothers my husband.
This is fantastic!
I hope it continues to work this well for a long time. I wish I had bought one years ago.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Total fan for jewelry care!

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Kimberly13
fromSeattle, WA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Friend
Even though I'm scrupulous about keeping my jewelry cleaned and stored in anti-tarnish boxes, after awhile they lose some luster. This plate restores them to mirror-bright storeroom shine. I'm stunned and delighted how nicely this works. I'm recommending this to everybody!
TIPS: Work in small batches, just 1 tsp. A&H Super Washing Soda to 11 oz hot tap water. To keep the water hot, preheat the plate by running it under hot water. After soaking the item a minute or two, brush it with a soft toothbrush and rinse in warm water, dry with soft towel. For kicks, wash one of each of several pairs earrings in a separate batch, so you can compare and admire the difference. Very good with heavily tarnished silver chains, excellent with rings you thought you were keeping clean. Brings it back to jewelry store sparkle.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OK on Stainless; Fantastic on Silver!

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Customer avatar
pamj55
fromClinton, TN, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
My daughter somehow ruined the finish on two of my stainless pots last year. I've been trying to restore it ever since, with stainless polish, elbow grease, you name it. After treatment with this cleaning plate and washing soda, they look much better!
While I had the solution going (boiling water and washing soda in a stainless sink), I thought I'd get out some small, terribly tarnished silver pieces and give them a dunk. They look fantastic! 30 seconds and a good polishing with a soft cloth and they look like new.
I definitely recommend this product. It does exactly what it says it does - IF you follow the directions!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works like a Charm

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromChicago, IL
This is AWESOME. My mother use to always clean my sterling for me (it's a chore I hate, I'd rather hide the stuff than clean it). I saw this and thought, why not give it a try. It TOTALLY works! What use to take my mother HOURS, took her and I a total of 30 minutes (I have a lot of sterling pieces). One caveat, you need a special cleaning solution, so don't think you can use it the day you get it, unless you can hunt down the required cleaner. Even with this hiccup, I give it 5 stars.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

IT WORKS

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Voyager
fromNJ
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
I cleaned my sterling silver jewelry with this product. The result was excellent- took just a little time, a rinse and dry. All the pieces looked lovely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Electrolytic Cleaning Plate

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
APAL
fromDanbury, CT, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Professional Chef
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
This is the first time I can honestly say I am disappointed. I have tried it twice, on no less than 6 total items...NONE of the silver cleaned...had to go and use the old reliable polish and cloth!
My Favorite BrandAll-Clad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good cleaning tool

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromHouston, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
Product is easy to use, cleans quickly, saves time!
Used on silver only, but plan to use on other things
as directed. Works faster on silver than silver plate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor choice

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer avatar
NO1Cook
fromSacramento, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
The product did not work for me because I was unable to purchase the ARM & Hammer Soda or the Cagon water softner at any local store. I bought a store label softner and it didn't work.
The Arm & Hammer and Calgon products are available on line in very large quanties and matching price..
Suggest that if you market this plate you should also sell the additives in small quanties.
My Favorite BrandCalfalon
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Haven't Ytried Yet

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
MLeChef
fromAZ
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Professional Chef
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
This product takes a special cleaning solution. There is none included with the procts as shipped to me. I have to try to finds this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not as great as expected.

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer avatar
El1605
fromSwarthmore, PA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I had seen this product demonstrated at a home show and it really did an amazing job of instantly cleaning silver. When I used it to clean some small jewelry, the was a slight brightening, but I honestly had to hold one clean earring next to the tarnished one to determine any difference. I will try it again on other silver, but I'm unimpressed so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Rather cool, but not earthshaking

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Althecook
fromNashville, TN, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
You do have to use very hot water, and you do get a sort of non shiny surface. Still, its pretty interesting and works pretty well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best solution

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
gardens65
fromNew Berlin, IL 62670, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
My wife has some jewelry that seems to always tarnish. With the cleaning plate and Arm and Hammer Soda Wash, it was clean in no time. I would definitely recommend it.
My Favorite Brandanything from Chef.s
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Miracle Plate

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Betty1
fromPuget Sound, Washington, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Had just polished the silver so haven't tried it for that yet but it's a miracle for all the copper that I have. Even easily removed the laquer finish that was still left on it. Have done several pieces and am anxious to finish up on some larger pieces. I needed this years ago. Will be excited to use it on the silver next time.
My Favorite BrandDon't have one
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
nwrowergirl
fromPortland, OR, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I tried this out on some silver jewelry and a small silver paperweight and wow! I was amazed at how quickly the paperweight was shiny and silver again and the jewelry cleaned up nicely as well. Finally a way to keep all of my silver clean and sparkling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

silver tarnish remover plate

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
TheOldOne
fromAtlanta, GA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
Used this on my sterling candelabra and after a very long soak and 2 repeated attempts, I decided to use the silver polish cloth that I have been using the last several years.
The polish cloth works great. This plate system is a very messy waste of time.
My Favorite BrandWusthof
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

haven't tried it yet

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Customer avatar
cvmmkm
fromSeneca, SC, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
can't find the required washing soda. The directions sound much more complicated than the description in the write up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SILVER CLEANING MIRACLE

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Customer avatar
fairfaxglass
fromWoodbridge, VA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
What a wonderful item that lives up to its "sterling" reputation. No more hand-polishing for me!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst thing I ever purchased

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
What2
fromLouisiana
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Friend
It does not work. Not even a little. Water alone works better. I followed all guidelines. Garbage. Do not ever think about this product. I cannot believe you are even selling it.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cleans very fast

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Customer avatar
phillygirl101
fromphiladelphia,
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
i had lots of old silverware passed down from when i first maried. as they were dull from years of use, i saw this plate in chefs book and bought one plate. glad i did, it works as promised. silverware looks like the day i received them
My Favorite Brandchefs, le crueset, lodge, cuisanart,wellness mats
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>