Customer reviews for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate

CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate

CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate : Used by museums, self-acting cleaning plate easily removes tarnish from silver, sterling silver, copper, bronze, gold, stainless steel, chrome, quality brass, and more. Nontoxic and easy to use. Plate lasts indefinitely with simple care. 8"L x 6"W. Made in the USA. Please read instructions properly before use. In addition to this electrolytic cleaning plate, it is required to dissolve 4 tablespoons of arm and hammer baking soda or Calgon liquid water softener in one gallon of hot water to begin the cleaning process. CHEFS signature collection of professional-quality cookware, kitchen tools, bakeware, dinnerware and more is meticulously crafted and tested to delight the most discerning cook. CHEFS commitment to innovative, functional design is the key to delivering products of exceptional quality, performance and durability for home and professional kitchens.
Overall rating:
3.643 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 56 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
12
38 out of 56(68%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Review 1 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electrolytic Cleaning Plate

PostedMay 14, 2014
Customer avatar
msjp
fromTexas
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
A friend let me borrow hers. It worked beautifully and no hand buffing needed. I was so impressed I bought one for myself and one for each of our children for Christmas presents.
Great Product.
My Favorite BrandDon't have one
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Catalog Wrong-Product Good

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
23amherst
fromSavannah, GA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
This product does a good job if used as directed. The Catalog blurb is, however, very misleading. The product requires Arm & Hammer WASHING Soda not Baking Soda to work. If you use Baking Soda nothing will happen.
Heavily tarnished items will require two or three applications, but they will eventually get clean. Lightly tarnished items clean quickly (30 seconds or so).
Over all an excellent product as long as it is used correctly.
+63points
63of 63voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromTraverse City, MI, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
I love shiny silver but polishing takes a long time and the smell of silver polish really bothers my husband.
This is fantastic!
I hope it continues to work this well for a long time. I wish I had bought one years ago.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Total fan for jewelry care!

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Kimberly13
fromSeattle, WA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Friend
Even though I'm scrupulous about keeping my jewelry cleaned and stored in anti-tarnish boxes, after awhile they lose some luster. This plate restores them to mirror-bright storeroom shine. I'm stunned and delighted how nicely this works. I'm recommending this to everybody!
TIPS: Work in small batches, just 1 tsp. A&H Super Washing Soda to 11 oz hot tap water. To keep the water hot, preheat the plate by running it under hot water. After soaking the item a minute or two, brush it with a soft toothbrush and rinse in warm water, dry with soft towel. For kicks, wash one of each of several pairs earrings in a separate batch, so you can compare and admire the difference. Very good with heavily tarnished silver chains, excellent with rings you thought you were keeping clean. Brings it back to jewelry store sparkle.
+40points
40of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OK on Stainless; Fantastic on Silver!

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Customer avatar
pamj55
fromClinton, TN, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
My daughter somehow ruined the finish on two of my stainless pots last year. I've been trying to restore it ever since, with stainless polish, elbow grease, you name it. After treatment with this cleaning plate and washing soda, they look much better!
While I had the solution going (boiling water and washing soda in a stainless sink), I thought I'd get out some small, terribly tarnished silver pieces and give them a dunk. They look fantastic! 30 seconds and a good polishing with a soft cloth and they look like new.
I definitely recommend this product. It does exactly what it says it does - IF you follow the directions!
+24points
24of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works like a Charm

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromChicago, IL
This is AWESOME. My mother use to always clean my sterling for me (it's a chore I hate, I'd rather hide the stuff than clean it). I saw this and thought, why not give it a try. It TOTALLY works! What use to take my mother HOURS, took her and I a total of 30 minutes (I have a lot of sterling pieces). One caveat, you need a special cleaning solution, so don't think you can use it the day you get it, unless you can hunt down the required cleaner. Even with this hiccup, I give it 5 stars.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

So disappointed

PostedJune 21, 2015
Customer avatar
Talyana
fromBoston
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
It took me over a year to finally find Arm & Hammer Washing Soda in the store, and I was so excited to try this based on all the excellent reviews. I followed the instructions exactly but it worked only partially and only on the first item I tried. I tried new batches of solution over and over (and scrubbed the plate clean in between) with no luck. Regular silver polish would have been much faster and less effort! The instructions are vague about how much time to leave the items in the solution, etc.---they certainly weren't clean "in 30 seconds!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not so good

PostedJune 10, 2015
Customer avatar
Batman38
fromMichigan
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Rachel Ray
I carefully followed the instructions for cleaning silver.
It did nothing for my silver tray.
In short- It didn't work.
My Favorite BrandWusthof
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looked for a long time before buying

PostedMay 18, 2015
Customer avatar
JaMal1127
fromNW Chicago suburbs
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
I could never believe these cleaning plates worked as well as advertised. I finally bought this because it was on sale and I'd be risking less if it didn't work. Well no worries, it works great! I cleaned a couple of pieces of tarnished sterling jewelry that now sparkle like new! Also, one silver and two silver plate trays, which now can come out of the cabinet and be on display because they look beautiful. And did all of this in less than 30 minutes. Please note that to use the cleaning plate you need to buy Arm & Hammer Washing Soda or a similar product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy Fix

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Customer avatar
Peggy13
fromWales WI
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
My Mother- in- law asked that we try to do something with her badly tarnished Silver wine goblets that we had given her for their 25th wedding anniversary. She is too old to try to do something herself any more. I saw your electrolytic cleaning plate and decided to give it a try. It was fabulous, it worked so fast it was unbelievable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I thought it would work better

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Customer avatar
Laurie5
fromLexington, Kentucky
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
I used Arm and Hammer washing soda with the plate per the directions that came with the electrolytic cleaning plate. I guess my expectations were too high. I thought it would get the small crevices on my silverware clean. Eventually it did, sort of, just not in the 30 - 60 seconds the directions stated. The silverware was not severly tarnished, yet it took more like 10+ minutes. I have had better luck with silver paste and elbow grease. Sorry. I wish I could say something positive about this product, but it is not worth the $16.00 I paid
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

easibility

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Customer avatar
sueme
fromct
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
definately better than use paste, elbow strength and time
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worthless

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Customer avatar
Bling16
fromFlorida, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
Did not work at all! Followed directions to the letter. All silver was still tarnished after three treatments.
My Favorite BrandLe Creset
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

WORTH TAKING A CHANCE!

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Customer avatar
PAGrandma57
fromWilliamsport PA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
When I first saw this product in the catalog, I just glanced at it and moved on. However, after unsuccessful attempts to polish a sterling jigger/shot which was so tarnished that a monogram was obliterated, I decided to order it. Used the plate for many small pieces and they looked like new. The shot/jigger piece resisted cleaning. However, after soaking it a bit, got out traditional polish and it cleaned up beautifully. Amazing! I would rate the plate 4+ stars. (Be sure to use washing soda, not baking soda!)
My Favorite BrandMore than one
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Customer avatar
Mimifor14
fromSyracuse, NY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
I used this as soon as I got it! I felt like a kid in a candy. Store.i kept going through the house and finding things I could clean.my jewelry all looks brand new!!!hope it works the next time I use it.
My Favorite BrandCuisinart
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My mother had one.

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Customer avatar
marysunshine
fromcape cod
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
as a child I would help mother clean the silver. I got the silver ( use every day) but not the electrolytic leaf plate.
I could not find the laundry soda in the locals store, but did get it on amazon. All the silver was cleaned in on time, plus my rings really glimmered.
My Favorite BrandIlike to shop at Trader's Joe's
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Real time saver!

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
amrgal
fromCary, NC
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I have one of these and bought another as a gift. Works extremely well, even for very ornate pieces.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works like magic

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
loveconvenience
fromSD
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
This product really does work. I used it on a piece that was badly tarnished. I had tried several products to clean it without much luck. I had given up and decided I would have to use it in its distressed condition. I do wish the plate was a little larger. The smaller round disc that comes with this set is handy for jewelry and smaller items. The instructions are a little vague as to what type of jewelry should be cleaned this way. I didn't have any trouble finding the Arm and Hammer Washing solution. Menards has it in the store or it's available on the internet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
LorriPants
fromKansas, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
I used this to clean some necklaces & was amazed at how quickly & thoroughly it worked. I prefer using washing soda to the chemicals I've used in the past--there is no odor, it's less expensive and much more Earth friendly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for CHEFS Electrolytic Cleaning Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What?

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
JimJ
fromCincinnati, OH, USA
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
Just fold over several pieces of aluminum foil, put in the same baking soda water - does the same thing. No sense buying this. It is just an aluminum plate anyway.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>