Customer reviews for Molcajete - Authentic Mexican Mortar and Pestle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at CHEFS Catalog.

Molcajete - Authentic Mexican Mortar and Pestle

Molcajete - Authentic Mexican Mortar and Pestle : Our authentic Mexican mortar and pestle is handcarved of natural volcanic stone so it's just the right shape and texture for grinding herbs, whole spices and rubs, and for mixing sauces and pastes. The molcajete is a must-have for Mexican cuisine including salsa and móle sauces. Each piece is unique, and a beautiful display item for the kitchen, too. Hand-wash. Handmade in Mexico. Mortar: 8.5" dia. x 4.5"H. Pestle: 2" dia. x 3.5"L
Overall rating:
4.346 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
22 out of 26(85%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Molcajete - Authentic Mexican Mortar and Pestle
Review 1 for Molcajete - Authentic Mexican Mortar and Pestle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Truly Authentic!

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Ktchnbabe
fromPuyallup, WA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I have wanted a Molcajete just liked my Grandmother used in my childhood to crush dried chili's, herbs & such. This one is authentically like hers, minus it not quite yet being as seasoned.
I used a wire brush to wear off the loose lava & it seems to have worked very well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Molcajete - Authentic Mexican Mortar and Pestle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice looking and fun to use

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Cool2462
fromEden Prairie, MN, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tried the rice and found it hard to use and messy. I then bought a small wire brush and it worked perfectly to clean my molcajete. The Molcajete is really fun to use, I made my guacamole in front of guest and they loved watching. It's so presentable right in the mortar, very easy to clean, just rinse it out and it's ready to go.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Molcajete - Authentic Mexican Mortar and Pestle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

exactly as promised

PostedJuly 21, 2011
Customer avatar
ShaKaRoo
fromBangor, PA
I bought one for me and one as a gift. They are everything you say they are. I use mine for my herbs my gift person uses it for everything such a guacamole, herbs, pesto the list goes on and on. We are both very well pleased with this choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Molcajete - Authentic Mexican Mortar and Pestle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great item!

PostedMay 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Flowers
fromWindham, NH
I used the Mexican Mortar and Pestle today for the first time,
it looked so authentic with the Guacamole in it and made a
nice addition to my appetizer table.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Molcajete - Authentic Mexican Mortar and Pestle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Genuine Work of Art

PostedJanuary 4, 2011
Customer avatar
duardo
fromWoodbridge, CT
The Molcajete is a work of art. I was very impressed with the quality of the carved volcanic stone. It was so easy to make guacamole in this Molcajete. It's prominently displyed in our kitchen when not being used. I can't wait to use it again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Molcajete - Authentic Mexican Mortar and Pestle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mash away!

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer avatar
senorpipas
fromNew York, NY, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
This makes the most delicious fresh guacamole, and it's become our much more fun, much easier to clean alternative to the blender for making hummus. Excited to try salsa and other mushy delights.
We scrubbed the heck out of it with a wire brush before making anything, and put it through the white rice test, and haven't had any grits at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Molcajete - Authentic Mexican Mortar and Pestle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the perfect molcajete

PostedMay 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromPortland, OR, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Authentic, heavy, beautiful.
The perfect utensil for any kitchen.
Just make sure you follow the recommended process for prepping/conditioning it before first use.
My Favorite BrandS.Pellegrino
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Molcajete - Authentic Mexican Mortar and Pestle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love my molcajete.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Happyhour
fromCalifornia, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
As long as you are aware of the work that goes with having to season it, it is a nice molcajete. If you think about how long this will last you it is really not much work. My mom still has hers from when she first got married, about 35 years now. I cheated and used a wire brush from my tool box and worked it for about 30 min. Then I followed it with the rice grinding for about 1 hour. It is not quite there yet but I made salsa several times already. I did see one the following week in a Mexican store for 25 bucks. Don't know about the quality.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Molcajete - Authentic Mexican Mortar and Pestle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mortar

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
dash2424
fromLoveland, CO, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Absolutely love this mortar/pestal....once I completed the curing process !! Wasn't expecting that....however no regrets in purchasing this jewel for my kitchen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Molcajete - Authentic Mexican Mortar and Pestle
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too much grit

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Customer avatar
MrTee
fromShoreline Ct, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
The molcajete looked very nice but it just had too much grit that you couldn't get rid of no matter how many times it was washed.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Molcajete - Authentic Mexican Mortar and Pestle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

as advertised,shipped as promised.

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
dd45
fromFlorida, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
A little bit of elbow grease to season the product as reuired before use but well worth the effort..
My guac never tasted so good,and the presentation in the molcajete is most impressive.
Don't use the wire brush method.....be authentic and use the rice or corn.
I expect many years of use with this product.
My Favorite BrandAll-Clad
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Molcajete - Authentic Mexican Mortar and Pestle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for the price

PostedSeptember 16, 2011
Customer avatar
UAGirl
fromBirmingham, AL
I bought this for a Boss' Day gift since my boss loves Mexican food. I had searched all over the internet and finally found this one. I can't wait to give it to her.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Molcajete - Authentic Mexican Mortar and Pestle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Presentation

PostedMay 15, 2011
Customer avatar
CookingwithWine
fromBuffalo, NY
After being served table-side guacamole in this authentic molcajete, I just had to have one. I am not disappointed. The funcationality as well as authentic presentation is fantastic. By the way, we used the power washer method at the local self-clean car wash to remove excess volcanic powder before first use - worked great!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Molcajete - Authentic Mexican Mortar and Pestle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I wanted

PostedMarch 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Nancylca
fromBakersfield, CA
It was difficult to cure but after going online and getting hints I finally finished the job. Looks nice in the kitchen.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Molcajete - Authentic Mexican Mortar and Pestle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Gritty

PostedMarch 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Motoe
fromGrantsburg WI
Maybe I am doing something wrong.... but it is gritty! I have been trying to smooth it with the pestle, but more grit comes off...
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Molcajete - Authentic Mexican Mortar and Pestle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mortar and Pestle

PostedDecember 30, 2010
Customer avatar
Loxahatchee561
fromFlorida
It is a beautiful piece. I was looking everywhere for a decent size and this is a perfect size.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Molcajete - Authentic Mexican Mortar and Pestle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Eye Catcher!

PostedAugust 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Skki
fromLas Vegas, NV
Hosted a Birthday Fiesta and of course guac was on the menu. It was fabulously displayed in this Authentic Mexican Mortar and Pestle. THANK YOU!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Molcajete - Authentic Mexican Mortar and Pestle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

MEXICAN MORTAR

PostedJune 7, 2010
Customer avatar
KMESHEY
fromCARLYLE IL
I am going to return this product, very heavy and gritty. I would not reccomend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Molcajete - Authentic Mexican Mortar and Pestle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

oh no, now its oh yeah

PostedMay 25, 2010
Customer avatar
Quentypoo
fromSpringfield
a lot of pits in this stone, handle is perfect in hand. using Morter and Pestle to bust Hickory Nuts and Black Walnuts since the hull is thick. The Malchete is nice for this. Hammer does not come close to getting the meat out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Molcajete - Authentic Mexican Mortar and Pestle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A very fun purchase

PostedFebruary 26, 2010
Customer avatar
Rhoe
fromColumbus, IN
I purchased this for my daughter's 25th birthday. She is a newlywed who is constantly preparing Mexican meals. She loves guacamole, so I thought this would be a lot of fun for her using the molcajete. I was right!!!!! She uses it all the time. Everyone comments on her new toy. It was one of her best gifts ever!!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>