Customer reviews for Taylor Instant Thermometer

Taylor Instant Thermometer

Taylor Instant Thermometer : Taylor thermometers, used by over 60% of culinary professionals, have been the world's finest since 1851. These thermometers instantly reveal internal temperatures to ensure foods are cooked safely and to desired doneness. The internal damping fluid and reverse coil design increase response time and protect from shock damage. Easy-to-read manual viewing dial registers 20 F to 220 F. Hand-wash. 2" diam., 4"L stem.
Overall rating:
3.461 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
9 out of 13(69%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Taylor Instant Thermometer
Review 1 for Taylor Instant Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

quality, simple

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Customer avatar
carlij
fromomaha, ne
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
We prefer the simple versions of anything... less to break. This is a great looking basic thermometer. If you like high-tech, it is not. Giving one as a gift as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Taylor Instant Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A big improvement over my old pocket thermometer

PostedAugust 20, 2011
Customer avatar
RetiredO5USN
fromCentral California
The rapidity with which this product reflects the temperature of the food is much superior to my old plastic dial thermometer. Good product, excellent price, prompt delivery. What more could one desire?
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Taylor Instant Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Taylor Instant Thermometer

PostedNovember 19, 2010
Customer avatar
DanW
fromOlney, MD [near Washington, D.C.]
For years, I've baked without a thermometer, with sometimes disastrous results. Getting smart in my old age, I aim to use the Taylor Instant Thermometer principally when making bread. I'm exploring new recipes and techniques set forth in a New England cooking school book which emphasizes 1) combining materials by weight vs. volume and 2) monitoring bread temperature while baking is in progress. Other Taylor instruments for non-cooking applications have served me well in the past, and I expect this cooking/baking thermometer will uphold that Taylor reputation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Taylor Instant Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

#1 In Accuracy!

PostedJanuary 2, 2009
Customer avatar
Charlie
fromMilwaukee, Wisconsin
I have used this brand for year’s, it is very accurate and convenient. It with stands being dropped, H2O, and high temps, I don't cook with out it! I am now purchasing one for a gift along with a few other things, anyone becoming a Chef will need this.
Cheers!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Taylor Instant Thermometer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Taylor Instant Thermometer

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Customer avatar
charo
fromNJ
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
This is a terrible thermometer. It is extremely sluggish and the food would be over cooked before the thermometer reaches the designated temperature. The dial is too small and hard to read..
I would not give it one star in the overall rating.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Taylor Instant Thermometer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Slow to respond

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer avatar
MentorCook
fromMentor, Ohio
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I bought this product as a back up to the digital thermometer that recently died. It will accurately show you the temp--eventually. Figure at least a one minute time interval to get anything close to accurate-better at two minutes. If that isn't convenient for you-buy something else!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Taylor Instant Thermometer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good, low tech thermometer

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromSf bay area, ca
My Cooking Level:Advanced
Good low tech thermometer. Fats but not quite "instant", more like 5 seconds or so depending on the temperature, but sufficient for my needs.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Taylor Instant Thermometer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

taylor instant thermometer

PostedFebruary 10, 2012
Customer avatar
obyeva
fromsafford, arizona
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
would like larger numbers.
My Favorite Brandswanson's
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Taylor Instant Thermometer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Pricey & Slow

PostedFebruary 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Cortnee
fromOklahoma
I may not be the best judge since I don't typically use but when i see instant in the description i think really fast like instantly and this takes minutes.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Taylor Instant Thermometer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cosmetic Upgrade

PostedDecember 26, 2010
Customer avatar
Gatordawg
fromOrlando, FL
This items appears to be the standard Taylor thermometer in an "upgraded case". If you like the case it's worth the extra money, but functionally, it doesn't seem any different from the less expensive model?
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Taylor Instant Thermometer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very S-L-0-0-0-W

PostedMarch 3, 2010
Customer avatar
CMac
fromMount Vernon, NY
"Instant" is a misnomer in this case. The thermometer is very slow to register -- it takes three minutes or so -- and when i tried it with a boneless chicken thigh last night, I had to stand there holding the darned thing upright. I also question its accuracy. After 35 minutes in a 350-degree oven, the thermometer registered only 140 degrees F. as the thigh's internal temperature. I was disappointed in the reliability of the old digital thermometer I had (an off brand, not a Taylor), so the fact that this one was mechanical seemed to be a great solution. I guess I'll have to go back to a battery-powered digital.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Taylor Instant Thermometer
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 of 2 recommend this product