Customer reviews for Peel Away Apple Peeler

Peel Away Apple Peeler

Peel Away Apple Peeler : This tool performs three ways - peel alone, core and slice together, or peel/core/slice all together. Simply place an apple on the stainless-steel prong, turn the crank and your work is done in seconds. A suction base grips any smooth surface making it easy to turn the wooden handle. Use for pears, potatoes, yams and other hard vegetables, too. Includes an adjustable peeling blade and removable coring and slicing blade. Made of enameled cast steel, with a stainless-steel shaft and prong. Wipe clean. Product Features Peel, core and slice fruits and vegetables in seconds Performs three ways - peel alone, core and slice together, or peel/core/slice all together Stainless-steel fork secures the fruit or vegetable Lever-arm blade locks to ensure precise peeling as the handle is turned Adjusts for a thick or thin peel Ideal for apples, pears and potatoes Quick and easy way to prepare applesauce, pies, cobblers, hash browns or shoestring potatoes Cast-iron frame secures to a countertop with suction base End loop for hanging Instructions and recipes
Overall rating:
4.486 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(74 reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 74 reviews
5 Stars
50
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
68 out of 74(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Peel Away Apple Peeler
Review 1 for Peel Away Apple Peeler
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

dosen't work

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Customer avatar
sctwy
fromPortland, OR, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
The suction cup does not hold the tool therefore the entire device is useless.
My Favorite BrandMINI Cooper
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Peel Away Apple Peeler
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Customer avatar
928s
fromfullerton ca
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
poor instructions. difficult to use. long learning curve. we are waiting for our engineer daughter to try to show us how to use it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Peel Away Apple Peeler
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Purchase Ever!

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Customer avatar
dottiewill
fromNC
Thought this might be a good idea for apples & fall vegetables; NOT! Didn't work on a sweet potato or apple and the fork that holds the fruit/vegetable in place just shreds a big hole in the one end. A simple hand peeler does a better job! If I find the time, I'll return this one....if not, it's going in the garage sale box!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Peel Away Apple Peeler
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Peeler Troubles

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
chrit55
fromHelena, OH 43435, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Rachel Ray
Ordered this peeler to save time peeling large quanties of apples. The first problem we ran into, is that the suction cup on the bottom doesn't hold. We've even tried to clamp it to the cook top which is like glass, NO hold. I finally had to use a c-clamp to hold it to the counter top. As for the peerler it self, That works. When shipped, it was set to the maximum depth of cut and it very hard to figure out how and what to adjust. Once that is figured out it works fine on the same size apples. If your apples are different sizes then you need to group them acording to size and shape. Same with potatoes, size matters. All this is NOT covered in the minimal directions. Edges are VERY sharp. NEver did find the " end loop" for hanging receipies.
My Favorite Brandcalphalon
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Peel Away Apple Peeler
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Peel Away Apple Peeler

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
YellowRose
fromPennsylvania, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
This product is not practical unless you are doing significant quantities. By the time you set up, calibrate to the fruit (and then recalibrate as fruit sizes change), and clean....it is easier and faster to peel by hand.
Further I think there is more fruit waste with this than with a paring knife or vegetable peeler.
Lastly, I would have liked to have seen a YouTube demo on using this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Peel Away Apple Peeler
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disappointed

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
ColoradoSunshine
fromColorado Springs, CO, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I must say that this item is very well build and sturdy.
When I purchased this item, I was hoping to be able to peel potatoes as well as apples. The product was simply not designed to peel something as slim as a potato. I hope it does better with apples. I haven't tried it on apples yet, will update when I do.
My Favorite BrandFood Saver
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Peel Away Apple Peeler
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Apple Pies

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Customer avatar
MichKen
fromGobles,m MI
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
This does take some getting used to. Unless you have a perfect apple you will end up with some peel and some spots where it took a large portion of apple. Does make the work faster and that is why I rated it good.
My Favorite BrandWP
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Peel Away Apple Peeler
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A lot of fun on the way to pie.

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Huskybobalin
fromWaxhaw, NC 28173, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
I bought this peeler in anticipation of my granddaughters coming to visit. They are 5 and 9, and they love to do "projects" with their grandparents. We made an apple pie together, and had lots of fun doing it. The younger one was happy to just turn the crank, the older got the hang of the entire process. The product does, in fact, peel, core and slice apples very efficiently, provided that the apples are uniformly round. Otherwise, you get skipped places that need to be retouched. That said, if you have a lot of apples to peel, this is a time saver.
My Favorite BrandLeCruset
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Peel Away Apple Peeler
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Peel Away Apple Peeler

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Nanmama
fromProsperity, SC 29127, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Martyr
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
The peeler worked fine as soon as my son set it up and showed me how to use it. I had a little trouble getting it set up on my on..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Peel Away Apple Peeler
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My new kitchen essential

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Doris46
fromPocahontas, AR 72455, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
The weight is nice. Sturdy and strong enough with good stability. Very good suction and release. Peels very fast.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Peel Away Apple Peeler
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Apple Peeler

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Jules1205
fromGarner, NC
My Cooking Level:Advanced
It is an excellent product. I would recommend this to anyone. Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Peel Away Apple Peeler
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

peeler

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer avatar
marie784
fromStratford, NJ
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
Easy to use.
My Favorite Brandno favorite
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Peel Away Apple Peeler
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Apple Peeler

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Candy2
fromBellevue, MI
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I had one a few years ago but it wasn't made as good as this one. Very glad I bought it, I just wished I would of bought it before I bought the 2 bushels of apples that I peeled, chopped and sliced by hand! So I bought another 1/2 bushel just to see how it worked and I'm very satified with my peeler. Thank you
My Favorite BrandKitchenAid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Peel Away Apple Peeler
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A new product for our use.

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Customer avatar
kikicat05
fromWest Lebanon, Lebanon, NH, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
We are very pleased with recently purchased apple
peeler. It was as advertised and a very helpful product.
Looking forward to the fresh baked apple pies
My Favorite BrandT-Fal
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Peel Away Apple Peeler
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Delighted with my peeler

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromOcala, FL
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Martyr
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
I absolutely wish I had gotten this apple peeler years ago. Made a pie the day I got it. What a breeze. The only reason I didn't rate it excellent was that the suction base would eventually release. Could have been from some juice on the counter, but wasn't a real problem since it's a heavy item. I'm looking forward to canning. I was also pleased with the quality for the price. I haven't tried other veges yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Peel Away Apple Peeler
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well made, sturdy.

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Lois12
fromMichigan, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I've used it once, and so far, so good. I have purchased several apple corer/pealers, and they did not last at all. They were cheaply made. This one is much heavier and appears to be much better quality. So far, this appears to be a good purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Peel Away Apple Peeler
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

speeds up apple processing

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Customer avatar
judearn
fromRichland, Oregon
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
It takes some adjusting and experimentation, but this makes making an apple pie go much faster. Fresh, round apples work the best. Incidentally, chickens love the skinny peelings!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Peel Away Apple Peeler
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A real time saver

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Robin41
fromRichland, WA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I have arthritis in my hands, so this little gem saves me lots of time and discomfort! It is fast, efficient and really easy to use. One small drawback is that the juice from the apples does tend to puddle around the base and on the countertop. I just put a dish towel down to block it from running onto the floor and making a mess. I love this little gizmo!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Peel Away Apple Peeler
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Potatoes and Apples! WOW

PostedJuly 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Jujuplaypen
fromMountain Home, AR
I love this peeler but use it more for potatoes than apples.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Peel Away Apple Peeler
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Recommended with reservations

PostedNovember 26, 2010
Customer avatar
Grandmother2
fromSouth Carolina
It didn't dawn on me that there was no way to just "Peel" apples, potatos etc. It does a great job, IF, you want it cored, peeled, AND sliced.
But, if you don't want it sliced, there is NO way to use either the peeler or corer.
Slightly disappointed, but it will do for the times I don't need whole potatos or apples.
Not the venders fault. They never promised a cored and peeled apple/potato, I made an assumption.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>