Customer reviews for John Boos Hard Rock Maple Butcher Block

John Boos Hard Rock Maple Butcher Block

John Boos Hard Rock Maple Butcher Block : The White House kitchen and premier restaurants prefer this 3"-thick hardwood chopping block, made from hard rock northern maple for exceptional durability. Protects knives from dulling and resists nicks, preventing bacteria. Crafted since 1887 by John Boos & Co. Hand-wash. Made in USA. Square butcher block is exclusive to CHEFS.
Overall rating:
4.615 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
12 out of 13(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for John Boos Hard Rock Maple Butcher Block
Review 1 for John Boos Hard Rock Maple Butcher Block
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best chopping block ever!

PostedMarch 16, 2012
Customer avatar
KissTheChef
fromThe Beautiful Hills of Texas
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I always wanted a "prep station" in my kitchen. With the Boos butcher block, I have one. It is too heavy and large to store out of site so it has a place on my new counter, a wonderful addition to my kitchen. My knives do not dull as quickly either. This chopping block will last the rest of my life.
My Favorite BrandAll-Clad, Le Creuset, Wusthof
 
Products related to my review
John Boos Mystery Oil
4.8 out of 5(42)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for John Boos Hard Rock Maple Butcher Block
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Item

PostedJanuary 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromFresno, CA
This is a superior cutting board. It is made in the USA and looks like it will last a lifetime.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for John Boos Hard Rock Maple Butcher Block
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny!

PostedAugust 31, 2010
Customer avatar
HappyCamper
fromHowell, Michigan
I bought the round one because of the advice of another customer and I am so glad I did. It's huge, beautiful and I love it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for John Boos Hard Rock Maple Butcher Block
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Boos Butcher Block

PostedJanuary 29, 2010
Customer avatar
Rachel53
I received this as a gift. My first thought was "Wow, I got a butcher block for my birthday." After trying it out several times, I say "WOW, this butcher block is the best one ever!" So easy to clean up and doesn't dull my knifes at all. Stays where it's suppose to be. This will probably last the rest of my life! Now, I need someone to give me a super duper set of knifes to go with my beautiful butcher block! I can not come up with any cons for this yet.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for John Boos Hard Rock Maple Butcher Block
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Boos Cutting boards

PostedMarch 20, 2008
Customer avatar
Steve
fromArizona
With quality second to none. Beautiful, perfect joinery. Heavy enough to never walk away while working. Assured confidence your precious knives are in happy land with every romantic musical "chink" sound your chopping makes, Boos Block is THE reference standard in excellence. Expensive and definately worth it. For the same money, the round one offers more working area. Your knives deserve it!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for John Boos Hard Rock Maple Butcher Block
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My New Prep. Area

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromHiram, GA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I love this butcher block, It is the prep. area that I have never had. It has plenty of space and is heavy enough not to move around when in use. I can chop 5 or 6 ingredients at once. I love the sound of a good knife hitting this solid block.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for John Boos Hard Rock Maple Butcher Block
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great for two weeks ONLY

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
djj0127sd
fromSan Diego, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
This is an expensive and, I thought, very well made cutting board.... within a few weeks cracks started appearing in the board. First on the side - now less than three weeks after this Christmas present made a good impression, there are multiple cracks within the board (I would estimate 10). Some are deep and growing everday. Not cuts from knifes - actual falling apart cracks. Everyday a new one emerges. This sucker is so very heavy and I will have to pay a large amount in shipping but it has to go back!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for John Boos Hard Rock Maple Butcher Block
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
CMF1
fromIowa, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
What a great addition to our kitchen. We bought it for entertaining and to serve a variety of fruit, meat and cheese to our guests. I was very impressed with the quality of the block.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for John Boos Hard Rock Maple Butcher Block
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromCalifornia San bernardino
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I love it I always use it
My Favorite BrandChefs catalog product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for John Boos Hard Rock Maple Butcher Block
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The wife's "throne"

PostedJanuary 29, 2010
Customer avatar
cancrackopenaneggin1hand
fromAnn Arbor, MI
My wife so loves this massive (we have the square one) cutting block that she calls it the "throne."
It really is an impressive tool.
Oddly, just recently, a split has shown up on one side and I can't figure out what may have caused it. We keep the Throne well oiled and the house evenly humidified. I'm hoping it will heal itself when the moisture level in the wood stabilizes.
In any event, this split didn't appear for... I'd say at least two years. And I'd buy another one in a hot second. It's THAT cool.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for John Boos Hard Rock Maple Butcher Block
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best butcher block

PostedJanuary 18, 2010
Customer avatar
KIcookielady
fromNC.
Treat your knives to something they deserve.
maple cutting boards naturally kill bacteria.
Heavy enough not to slip on counter.
easy to clean, and care for.Highly recommend!!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for John Boos Hard Rock Maple Butcher Block
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavy Duty Cutting Board

PostedNovember 21, 2007
Customer avatar
EngrLady
fromNew Orleans, LA
Very heavy duty cutting board, won;t fit into most sinks so it needs to be wiped with a cloth. That aside, this is the best cutting board I have owned, my knives stay sharp longer and the finish does not dull until it is WELL used.
Considering the size, this is a great buy.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for John Boos Hard Rock Maple Butcher Block
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 of 1 recommend this product