Customer reviews for Amish Cake Tester Broom

Amish Cake Tester Broom

Amish Cake Tester Broom : Handmade by Amish artisans in Lancaster, Pennsylvania, these authentic corn-husk straws are used to test the readiness of a cake. Hang the straws near the oven, break one off and insert it into the center of your cake. If it comes out clean, your cake is done. Straws are disposable. Poem included. Made in the USA. 2"L x 2"W x 5 .5"H.
Overall rating:
4.647 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
16 out of 17(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Amish Cake Tester Broom
Review 1 for Amish Cake Tester Broom
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what the Dr. Ordered.

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Grizzled
fromKingsport, TN, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Prompt shipment. The testers I used worked like a charm. Much better than a metal one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Amish Cake Tester Broom
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
mljga
fromGA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I have often done as my grandmother did and pull a piece from a broom, washed it and used it for a cake tester. This is perfect as the "testers" are clean, available, and the perfect length. I bought several to give as gifts but will ask folks to say what they think this is to make it more fun! great product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Amish Cake Tester Broom
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Always needed one!!!!!!!

PostedApril 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Aznangelgurl
fromSeattle, WA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I have played with toothpicks and metal skewers and other crazy goods and I always needed one of these! The best part is now I got one!
I was a little disappointed when I received it. There's really only about 3 - 5 layers of the "sticks" (cornhusks). The picture does really allow you to see that it is hollow looking on the middle. That isn't to say that there aren't a lot to use (because there are), I just didn't think they would use a 1inch wide round wood chunk to gather it, I thought it was going to be full like a small broom.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Amish Cake Tester Broom
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

so cute and a great gift

PostedJanuary 12, 2010
Customer avatar
PleasanthouseCook
fromwestern pa
I had never seen one of these before chef's catalog but I immediately realized that this was exactly what I had been seeking for years. I decided to add it to my order and have nothing but praise for it. Fits perfectly in a cubby of my "stuff drawer". I will give it as a stocking stuffer, or a little "house gift". It's just fun and very very useful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Amish Cake Tester Broom
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greatest Gift for a Baker

PostedDecember 2, 2007
Customer avatar
grizzlysn8ke
fromNew Ellenton, SC
I purchased one of these "brooms" for every baker in my family and one for myself, of course. It's so much easier that fooling with toothpicks or taking the chance that your baked goods are not quite done in the center. It's also a really great conversation piece for anyone that sees it. Overall, a great product, additon to any baker's kitchen, and a wonderful gift to the bakers in your life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Amish Cake Tester Broom
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

testers

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
momcat1
fromBurke, VA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Love'em. Couldn't find them in any store, Glad Chef's had them. Makes baking so much easier.
My Favorite Brandking arthur flour
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Amish Cake Tester Broom
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cake tester removes easy

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Customer avatar
lee4
fromArleta, Ca.
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Microwave Magician
This was a great deal for the price. WilliamsSonoma has one also but THEIRS COST $14.00. I don't need a fancy wood handle if I need to pay more. I just want a reed that I can use to test donness in my baked goods and Chefs has one that works for a LOWER PRICE.
My Favorite Brandn/a
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Amish Cake Tester Broom
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Love It, I Love It, I Love It !!

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromBells, Texas
This is the neatest thing since sliced bread ! I have always been fasinated by the Amish, I have several Amish cookbooks, quilts, etc. So when I saw this Amish cake tester I knew I had to have it !! My husband wanted to know why I purchased that little broom !!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Amish Cake Tester Broom
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

sashakitty

PostedJune 20, 2011
Customer avatar
sashakitty
fromS. GA
Straws are to short for thick cakes - I will continue to use uncooked spaghetti to test cakes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Amish Cake Tester Broom
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tried and true method for testing cake doneness

PostedApril 14, 2010
Customer avatar
Bardahl
fromNorthen California
Great to have a tried and true method of testing cake doneness. Growing up I remember my mom using a clean broomstick straw to test cakes for doneness. I keep my amish cake tester hung next to my oven for convenience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Amish Cake Tester Broom
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Why aren't we eating Cake?

PostedJanuary 29, 2010
Customer avatar
TheBaker
fromMatthews, NC
I use this each and every time I bake cakes and it's a life saver. No more searching for toothpicks that don't quite make it down to the bottom of the pan. It's also quite the conversation starter!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Amish Cake Tester Broom
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cool Tool

PostedJanuary 8, 2009
Customer avatar
Tweetkater
fromFillmore, CA
I was brought up with this type of cake tester but hadn't seen one in a long time. My new husband had never heard of such a thing when I showed it to him in Chefs catalog. Needless to say, I had to buy one for him. He is the baker of the cakes and other fattening delicacies in our house. Well, he loves it. The straws stay put until you want one, they are sturdy enough for even the most dense cakes. And it really does start some conversations. It is a keeper!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Amish Cake Tester Broom
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brings back memories

PostedDecember 8, 2008
Customer avatar
Chatrboxr
fromFreeport IL
I'd forgotten that my mother used to pull a straw out of her full-sized broom to test her cakes for doneness. A friend of mine remembered the same thing. I bought us each one and hung mine on a hook next to the stove as a functional decoration. This seems like a more sanitary method. I love this little broom!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Amish Cake Tester Broom
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Too cute

PostedJanuary 25, 2008
Customer avatar
PiFace
fromBy-the-Sea Oregon
It's actually half the size of a regular whisk broom, which is just prefect to hang near your stove or it's small enough to keep in the drawer, but who would want to, it's so cute. The straw length is almost 2- inches longer than a toothpick, so you can check a deep cake more easily than using a toothpick. I told my husband this is not a broom to sweep with, however it is a kitchen tool, he is still guessing ;-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Amish Cake Tester Broom
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tester

PostedJanuary 7, 2008
Customer avatar
shopper
fromMaryland
I bought one of these and love it. The only problem is that I wish the straws were a little longer because it's too short for testing cakes in bundt or angel food cake pans.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Amish Cake Tester Broom
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
2 of 2 recommend this product