Customer reviews for Chef's Torch

Chef's Torch

Chef's Torch : Create pastry chef-quality crème brûlée at home. This essential tool directs the flame exactly where you need it. Also handy for melting cheese on French onion soup. Die-cast aluminum body has a fuel gauge and a childproof safety lock. Butane not included. 4"L x 1.5"W x 8"H.
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
25 out of 25(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Chef's Torch
Review 1 for Chef's Torch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Always wanted one

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Customer avatar
grandmamabird
fromMaryland, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
The Chef's torch is exactly what I wanted. The quality is substantial. I will get much use from this item.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Chef's Torch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chef's Torch

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromBluefield, WV, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
The torch is wonderful. It is very comfortable and quite easy to use. I have used it for three items since receiving it last week and would highly recommend the torch. The price is reasonable. All in all I am delighted.
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid and Sub Zero
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Chef's Torch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best torch ever

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
willyboy
fromPalm Springs, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Giada De Laurentis
This torch is so easy to use, and works better than any other ones I have tried. Take my advice, Buy It!
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Chef's Torch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love this product.

PostedOctober 7, 2011
Customer avatar
cmhuggs
fromLynwood Illinois
I waited a long time to buy this kitchen torch. Now that I have it I am having so much fun making my desserts so pretty. This is great.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Chef's Torch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!!!

PostedJanuary 8, 2009
Customer avatar
cookininMT
fromKalispell, MT
I bought this chef's torch as a Christmas gift to myself and was I ever pleased. When I opened the box from Chefscatalog, I couldn't stop smiling. The torch doesn't come with butane for obvious shipping safety reasons, I'm sure. I bought the butane from the grocery store and I was good to go. The torch is easy to fill and has an indicator to let you know when the fuel is getting low. So far, I have used the torch for French Onion soup and Creme Brulee. It works great and I have had no problems with it. The family loves to watch me "torch" something, so it is a fun item. Highly recommended!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Chef's Torch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chef's Torch

PostedApril 15, 2015
Customer avatar
Alfred
fromFruita, CO, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Calamity
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I purchased this for my husband to brown his delightful Cheese Cake, it was done in a hurry with his new Torch, which made him so proud. A good added tool for our kitchen.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Chef's Torch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blow Torch

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Customer avatar
Cheryl1213
fromFayetteville, NC, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I wanted a blow Torch so I can try these desertes that they show on the Food Network. I ordered a kit which included the torch. It would not work at all. So I bought one from one of those proper online stores. I didn't get one of those cheapest ones. It worked once, so I'm sending it back. So I said no more. I'm going to look online at Chef's. I bought one. Got it and we have no problems, far has worked beautifully.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Chef's Torch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMarch 23, 2015
Customer avatar
Linda27
fromSheridan, AR 72150, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I love it! I have seen this on cooking shows and had always wanted one! It is so easy to use! I am happy that I brought one!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Chef's Torch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

What a cool, useful tool!

PostedMarch 7, 2015
Customer avatar
LtBloomer
fromHarrisonburg, VA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
While the torch took a little getting used to given that it took a bunch of ignition tries for it to finally burn, all my guests thought it was really cool and the resulting creme brûlée was the hit of the evening. I am really glad I finally bought one.
My Favorite BrandLe Cruset
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Chef's Torch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A bit of a challenge

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Customer avatar
Luv2Experiment
fromSouthern California
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Dad
The torch is compact and does a good job. However, I have arthritis in my hand, and it takes a good deal of pressure to press down the safety release then the red "go" button. I'm having to use both hands, but I get the job done. Won't send it back, though. Have wanted one for a long time, and it was a Christmas gift.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Chef's Torch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Greatest Xmas gift ever!

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Customer avatar
DMenhall
fromTemecula, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
My wife loves it and wonders why she had to wait 45 years to get one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Chef's Torch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great torch

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Penelope5
fromMaine, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
Easy to use torch, quickly makes professional looking Crème Brulee. Looking forward to trying it on vegetables.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Chef's Torch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very good

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer avatar
kyle731
fromVermont, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
I like good price easy to use .
My Favorite Brandkitchenaid
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Chef's Torch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality and workmanship

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
homeslice
fromSt. Petersburg, FL, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Some time ago Chefs sold a Torch I remember it . saw come back , so glad going to use my Chef's Torch a lot.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Chef's Torch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chef's Torch

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromMuskegon, MI, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Friend
The torch is easy to use and effective. It does not come with butane fuel and not all butane cans fit the opening. It would be helpful if Chef's indicated the fuel brand(s) that will fit the torch.
My Favorite BrandAll Clad
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Chef's Torch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gets the job done!

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
CooksWithLove
fromAnn Arbor, MI, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Easy to hold and maneuver. Easy to fill, I like the window to see how much fuel is left. Dinner guests were impressed with the crunchy sugar crust on the pumpkin brûlée.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Chef's Torch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer avatar
annie69
fromscranton, pa
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
this is the best kitchen torch i have ever used. it is very easy to handle and the flame goes exactly where you aim it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Chef's Torch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

we love this thing!

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
47222
fromCincinnati
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
all it takes is a can of butane from the hardware store and you are in business caramelizing anything you can get your hands on.
My Favorite Brandcuisinart
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Chef's Torch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good quality

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Customer avatar
CigarXpert
fromSouthern Califolrnia
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
The outstanding feature of this torch is th power in the flame. It has mnore "heat" than anyother torch I've had before and I've had about 8. This one is the strongest.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Chef's Torch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality, easy to use

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
fatcat
fromSpring Hill, Florida
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I was given a torch of lesser quality as a gift, was hard to use and hurt my fingers. This is sooooo easy to use it is a joy. My family and friends love creme broule and this works perfectly, also melts cheese on french onion soup quickly. Can't wait to find more uses to play with fire!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>