Customer reviews for Emile Henry Deep Dish Pie Plate

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at CHEFS Catalog.

Emile Henry Deep Dish Pie Plate

Emile Henry Deep Dish Pie Plate : Made from mineral-rich Burgundy clay unsurpassed for its even heat distribution, this distinctive deep-dish pie plate from Emile Henry features scalloped edges reminiscent of a fluted piecrust. Thanks to a proprietary CERADON manufacturing process, the dish is highly resistant to chips and breakage, withstands temperatures from 0 F to 500 F and can go directly from freezer to oven. It retains heat to keep food warm at the table and will not craze or discolor. Product Features Handcrafted natural Burgundy clay design Decorative fluted edge with bright white interior Gradual, even heat distribution for consistently cooked dishes with firm texture and flavorful taste Freezer-to-oven durability from 0 F to 500 F Heat-retaining to keep food warm on the table Chip-, scratch- and craze-resistant Lead- and cadmium-free glazes Broiler-, freezer- and microwave-safe Limited 3-year warranty Made in France
Overall rating:
4.72 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
24 out of 25(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Emile Henry Deep Dish Pie Plate
Review 1 for Emile Henry Deep Dish Pie Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect pie

PostedApril 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Butterflymorning
fromWa
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
This pie dish is the perfect size for any pie and cooks evenly. Clean up is easy. Very happy with this purchase!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Emile Henry Deep Dish Pie Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Emile Henry Deep Dish Pie Plate

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromPrescott, AZ
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Absolutely love this pie plate. The bottom pie crust
came out perfectly done. Love the color too.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Emile Henry Deep Dish Pie Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HIgh Quality

PostedJanuary 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Megagem
fromTurlock, CA
Emile Henry is one of my favs!! Simple yet elegant. Great quality. Always in demand. I have several in blue and in red. Either color is bright and cheerful.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Emile Henry Deep Dish Pie Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Pie Plate

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Customer avatar
Lara
fromSLC, Utah
I loved the "Deepness" of the pie plate. Beautiful for any occasion...I used the Red and White ones at Christmas and it was beautiful on the table!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Emile Henry Deep Dish Pie Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bakes beautifully and looks beautiful!

PostedSeptember 22, 2008
Customer avatar
Thefamilybaker
fromSandusky. Michigan
If you have one kind of pie plate for Thanksgiving and other special occasions that you always can rely on, this is it! When I got my first one, I was amazed at the artistry of the dish itself. It bakes pies like a dream. The crust is evenly baked, no soggy spots, and the presentation is even better. I don't know if it is somehow because of the clay used in the plate, but my apple pear pies just taste better, and have more golden, risen crusts on top too. Its my favorite!
Great hostess gift for your favorite baker!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Emile Henry Deep Dish Pie Plate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointment

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
EPN1
fromCa.
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
The dish came in about seven pieces. I will get another, but not online from Cooks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Emile Henry Deep Dish Pie Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ceramic Pie Plate

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Betsy5
fromValley Village, CA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
This is the best deep dish pie plate ever. I have used various other manufactures and have found that the crust burned or was totally impossible to get off the pan. Not this one!!! Comes totally clean every time with just a good soaking, even a pecan pie which is impossible to clean.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Emile Henry Deep Dish Pie Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Pie Plates

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromLucerne, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I first bough one of these pie plates a few months ago, then liked it so much I ordered more, one in each color. It is very easy to flute the edges, it is deep enough where the pie doesn't spill over, and it bakes the crust just perfect.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Emile Henry Deep Dish Pie Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pie Plate!

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Customer avatar
KathyRNOklahoma
fromOklahoma
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Emile Henry products are always the best. I love this pie plate. It is so beautiful and it makes the best pies. I would recommend this for any baker who makes pies.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Emile Henry Deep Dish Pie Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

3point14159265359

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
3point14159265359
fromGeorgia, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
Fifteen years ago an American asked a Frenchman to make a pie dish. The Frenchman said, “Why not.”
His family had been making French bakeware for five generations.“But tell me what is a pie dish because in France we are not familiar with this recipe of a pie.”
The Frenchman took one year to learn and familiarize himself with pie recipes. He listened. He learned. The Frenchman produced and perfected
the best in an American pie dish.
The Emile Henry pie dish is beautiful and feels like handmade quality found only in European artisan craftsmanship.
We love it. Perhaps, so will you.
My Favorite BrandEmile Henry, All-Clad, Mauviel, Viking, Gaggenau
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Emile Henry Deep Dish Pie Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Customer avatar
snowflake61
fromeast berlin, PA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
really like this pie dish. First of all it is beautiful to use and serve in. Second of all it does what it is suppose to do. As soon as I received it, I made a apple pie and wow..my crust turned out great on the bottom. I do not like my crust to be soft, I like it baked and not undercooked, this dish was worth the price I paid.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Emile Henry Deep Dish Pie Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Customer avatar
garlicqueen
fromMidwest
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I love this pie plate. It is nice and deep as stated and it worked very well for the recipe I used. Clean up was a snap.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Emile Henry Deep Dish Pie Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Agree with others

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Customer avatar
haveone
fromEastern Washington
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
A pie dish is a pie dish, right? I have an Aplico pie dish which I acquired before this one. At least two features stand out: It produces a browned flakey crust and releases easily. This convinced me I should replace my glass pie dishes so I purchased the dish reveiwed here.
The Emile Henry is also made in France (it may not matter to others, but for some reason this appeals to me). I have used if for at least a dozen pies. It produces result every bit as good as the Alpico, costs a little less and is easier to find. (Here it is at Chefs!)
If the question is whether the pirice difference over glass is worth it, I say yes if you consider the useful life of the dish, the cost of the incredients in a typical pies, and the superior results.
(This is a deep dish pan, and holds 25-30% more filling, so recipes for standard depth dishes will need to be adjusted accordingly).
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Emile Henry Deep Dish Pie Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful addition to my kitchenware

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Ryb1206
fromSeattle, WA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
Have always wanted an Emile Henry Pie Plate and it did not disappoint. From the rich coloration to the sturdy composition, it was the perfect vehicle for baking pies this holiday season!
My Favorite BrandSeveral: Cuisinart, Rival (I have a wonderful, powerful stand mixer that I like better than my KitchenAid), my DeMeyere cookware, etc
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Emile Henry Deep Dish Pie Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent pie plate

PostedDecember 29, 2011
Customer avatar
poodlewalker
fromcentral Wisconsin
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
We bought this pie plate for my SIL after she bought the same one for us last year. It's excellent -- behaves well in the oven, is easy to clean, and is attractive on the table!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Emile Henry Deep Dish Pie Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Made Me a Hero

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Santa4you
fromBend, OR, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
My daughter in law loves to bake, and when she opened this up she couldn't thank me enough. Her mom has the same dish she has been wanting her own for a long time. Freatures she like include cooks evenly, easy to clean, deep enough to fill with filling, looks great with presentation, and easy to pinch the edges.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Emile Henry Deep Dish Pie Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best ever!

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Customer avatar
JES1
fromOhio
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I had the best success with a pie ever in this dish. Will buy more.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Emile Henry Deep Dish Pie Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Emile Henry Deep Dish Pie Plate

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Customer avatar
pwillis1009
fromValdosta, GA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
This pie plate has already become my go to plate for anything from fruit pies to pot pies. Not only does this pie plate look beautiful it has the perfect weight to last a long, long time. I can not conceive of ever using another pie pan. I plan to buy several more in the very near future. This is an excellent value for your money, don't miss this opportunity to have the pie plate of your dreams!
My Favorite BrandKitchenaid
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Emile Henry Deep Dish Pie Plate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Customer avatar
leenie51
from33 west sylvan dr
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
very un happy ordered two pkates and one was broken
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Emile Henry Deep Dish Pie Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makes great pies!

PostedNovember 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Chip63
fromNorth Carolina
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I used this pie plate to make cherry pie for Thanksgiving and they turned out great. They hold more than the normal 9 inch pan and make a great pie.
My Favorite Brandkitchen aid
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>