Customer reviews for Cuisinart 7-Quart Stand Mixer SM-70

Cuisinart 7-Quart Stand Mixer SM-70

Cuisinart 7-Quart Stand Mixer SM-70 : This heavy-duty Cuisinart 7-Quart Stand Mixer has the power, capacity and precision to conquer any job your recipes require. Super strength 1,000-watt motor and extra-large stainless-steel bowl tackles food preparation with professional ease. With 12 speeds and 3 accessories you can easily mix and whip up dinner for a hungry crowd or even knead up to 15 cups of flour for bread dough. The auto shutoff countdown timer means you'll handle each job with timing perfection. Optional attachments can be purchased separately. Includes how-to DVD and more than 60 recipes. Full five-year motor warranty, limited three-year product warranty. 14 1/2"L x 8 1/4"W x 14 1/2"H. Sturdy die-cast metal unit weighs 20 1/2 lbs. with bowl and attachments. Model: SM-70. Product Features Ultimate power 1,000-watt motor handles the heaviest mixing jobs with ease Extra-large 7-quart stainless-steel bowl holds triple recipes and huge batches 12 speeds ensures the just-right control you prefer Tilt-back head makes it easy to attach accessories 15-minute countdown timer with digital precision and auto shutoff for perfect results 3 power outlets for attachments: High-speed for blender and food processor, Mid-speed for citrus juicer, Slow-speed for large meat grinder and pasta maker Includes tools for all mixing, whipping and kneading tasks Fold function designed for folding in delicate ingredients Professional chef's whisk aerates ingredients for lighter, fluffier meringues and scrumptious desserts Flat mixing paddle mixes the thickest batches of cookie dough with precision and ease Dough hook smoothly kneads homemade breads, pastries and pizzas Wide-pour spout on the splashguard eliminates splatters and keep countertops clean Bowl's two sturdy handles make lifting and balancing a full bowl simple Optional attachments can be purchased separately Includes 7-quart stainless-steel bowl Chef's whisk, Dough hook, Flat mixing paddle, Splashguard How-to DVD with food expert and author Maureen Petrosky (approximately 75 minutes) Instruction book Recipe book with more than 60 recipes
Overall rating:
4.565 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
21 out of 23(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Cuisinart 7-Quart Stand Mixer SM-70
Review 1 for Cuisinart 7-Quart Stand Mixer SM-70
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedMay 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Jeprs
fromHoulton, ME
I make cakes and I have burnt up the motor on two hand mixers in the past 6 months making frosting. This mixer saved my sanity!! I love it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cuisinart 7-Quart Stand Mixer SM-70
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedFebruary 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Tilly
fromKennett Square PA
I have only used this machine once to make bread dough and I am in love for life..Need I say more?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cuisinart 7-Quart Stand Mixer SM-70
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sold!

PostedJanuary 4, 2008
Customer avatar
fewreviews
fromMaine
I had noticed this beauty in the store long before my old faithful Kenwood died in a cloud of smoke during holiday baking this year after years of battle duty . As I was in the thick of things, I had limited time to research and was convinced by an article in Cook's illustrated (which preceded the introduction of this machine on the market) to go for the KitchenAid 600 Pro mixer. However, when I loaded the biscotti dough from my dead machine into the new KitchenAid, the load knocked it off its pins and heaved the dough onto the counter. I didn't have much luck with multiple batches of shortbread either. Same problem. Although my five quart Kenwood had been handling exactly the same multiple batches for years, the KitchenAid clearly could not. I took it back and bought the Cuisinart 7 quart. It had no problem muscling through multiple batches of bread and cookie dough. Although I was leery of Cuisinart 's newness to the field, I'm now sold.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cuisinart 7-Quart Stand Mixer SM-70
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bread Makers Dream

PostedNovember 6, 2007
Customer avatar
bugster2
fromLake Forest, CA
I have just finished testing the 5 and 7 quart Cuisinart mixer and the attachments. The 7 qt mixer will handle a triple loaf batch of challah with ease. There is no overheating, the mixer will not shimmy across the counter and the dough will not crawl up and over the dough hook. It has a fabulous timer that can be set for up to 15 minutes of mixing. The fold feature is a couple of turns of the paddle each time the button is pressed. The bowl is very deep but still managed to handle one batch of cookie dough, whip 2 egg whites efficiently. It will cream butter till light and fluffy. The unit is surprisingly light weight and easy to clean. The head automatically locks when the head is lowered. The mixer is also short enough to fit under most upper kitchen cupboards. The only problem I have found is with the mixer bowl. It needs a vertical third handle. As it is the bowl can't be held with one hand while scraping with the other. The bowl must be tucked under an arm in order to scrape out the contents.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cuisinart 7-Quart Stand Mixer SM-70
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite new toy

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Sandy451
fromTexas
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I have only made one batch of bread dough so far but my new Cuisinart mixer works wonderfully! The dough mixed quickly and the machine is very quiet. The ease of clean-up was unexpected! The dough came off the hook effortlessly.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cuisinart 7-Quart Stand Mixer SM-70
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It fits!

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromUnited States
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
Not only does the Cuisinart 7-quart stand mixer work like a dream, it also fits under the upper cabinets. The spot where my stand mixer needs to be has limited space between the counter and upper cabinets. Another well known 7-quart mixer is about an inch too tall for the spot. I chose the Cuisinart 7-quart because it fits in the location where I need/use my mixer and it is a quiet workhorse. I highly recommend it to cooks who are looking for a sturdy, powerful machine capable of making large batches of heavy cookie dough or breads.
My Favorite BrandCuisinart
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cuisinart 7-Quart Stand Mixer SM-70
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our new Mixer

PostedJanuary 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Bobjex
fromNaperville, Illinpis, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I was afraid that this mixer would not compare to our old Kenwood Mixer that recently bit the dust. We use it to mix and knead heavy dough for breads and cakes. This mixer is better that the old one and handles heavy dough well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cuisinart 7-Quart Stand Mixer SM-70
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A*** Amazing

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Customer avatar
licho
fromMoreno Valley, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Everything, I bake twice as much now..
If you bake this is a must! Cookies and cakes are now a breeze. Even things that I used to dread making like Guinness bread because the dough is so thick and hard to work with. Whipped cream is perfect and Madeleines are so light and fluffy, a must for any serious baker. of the big differences among these machines lies in how they handle dough.
My Favorite Brandlizponcedeleon@msn.com
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cuisinart 7-Quart Stand Mixer SM-70
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great powerful mixer, it makes baking a pleasure

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Customer avatar
gmld
fromSuffolk, NY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Would highly recommend this mixer over other brands.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Cuisinart 7-Quart Stand Mixer SM-70
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far a great mixer.

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromLecompton, KS, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
I've only used it 6 or 7 times so far but it is handling much larger loads than my previous model by their main competitor in the price range, without breaking a sweat, Clean looks, smooth quiet and efficient. The count down timer is a great bonus.
I've worked in the food industry all my life and very much appreciate this mixers capacity.
We'll have to see how it holds up over the long haul, but I'm guessing longer than my last one.
Better warranty (3x) as well.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Cuisinart 7-Quart Stand Mixer SM-70
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good purchase

PostedDecember 6, 2010
Customer avatar
applefarmer
fromwashington state
Very good purchase. Easy to use and happy with the job is has done so far.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Cuisinart 7-Quart Stand Mixer SM-70
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Mixer

PostedAugust 12, 2010
Customer avatar
misukismom
fromRichmond, Ky
I purchased this mixer over a year ago and have used it extensively. It has yet to let me down. It has a large capacity, plenty of power and is a breeze to operate. I have no complaints except there has not been a cover made to fit it (I have the 7 qt). If you are debating between this and a Kitchenaid, buy this one. You won't be sorry.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Cuisinart 7-Quart Stand Mixer SM-70
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great looking work horse

PostedJanuary 13, 2010
Customer avatar
RZRBCK
fromFaetteville, Arkansas
While shopping for a large capacity stand mixer I was torn between a Viking and this Cuisinart. I really like the looks of both of them. After reading several negative Viking reviews I decided on this one. I am very glad I did. I have had it for about 18 months and I use it ALL the time. It handles double and triple batches of cookie dough with ease. I have not had any trouble with bread dough---even triple loafs. This is not made for professional bakers. It will overheat if you push it too far but it re-sets after cools off. This has only happened once while I was using mine. I really like the timer function. You can set it and walk away. The pour shield takes a while to get used to but works very well. This is a beautiful mixer.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Cuisinart 7-Quart Stand Mixer SM-70
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

disappointed

PostedJanuary 2, 2010
Customer avatar
sandy883
fromMaine
I have always heard that cuisinart was a good name so I bought the 7 qt. mixer as I have a small bakery.....so my mixer has gotten a work out. The only problem is, is that I have had to send it back to the company twice because the mixer binds up (for whatever reason) and totally stops, never to start again. I usually make 3 loaves of bread at a time and a 7 qt. mixer should be able to handle that. That is why I bought it. Maybe I just got a lemon this time. We'll see.
I really depend on it when it is working right. I love the fact that it has a 3 year warranty.....good thing.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Cuisinart 7-Quart Stand Mixer SM-70
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE HER!

PostedOctober 30, 2009
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromHayward, CA
If you are looking for a stand mixer, look no further...she is the one for you.
She is a workhorse! I have made double batches, and triple batches of cookies, pie crusts (with frozen butter),cakes, frostings, and the likes. She has always, always, always, done the job.
She is very easy to use, and I use her for everything. I got mine discounted, and so did not have the paddles, but once they got here, they have never disappointed me.
The cons I have are as such: when flour flies up, it's a pain to get all the cracks and crevices clean; she vibrates a little, but not so much that it will move, and also, one of my paddles has some of the Teflon missing from the bottom where it rubs against the bowl.
If I had to buy a stand mixer all over again, I would buy this one in a heart beat. I wanted a professional series stand mixer without the turn lever that raises the bowl, and I found that in this mixer.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Cuisinart 7-Quart Stand Mixer SM-70
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Mixer

PostedOctober 30, 2009
Customer avatar
NateW
fromIowa
I bought this because it seems more heavy duty than the kitchen aide and being a guy I like the larger motor. (More horsepower is always good!) So far I have used this for just about everything and I love it. It gets used at least once a week for something. AWESOME!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Cuisinart 7-Quart Stand Mixer SM-70
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Still looking for the ideal home mixer

PostedSeptember 17, 2009
Customer avatar
TheBreadDoctor
fromSheboygan, WI
I now am the relatively unsatisfied owner of BOTH a Kitchenaid 620 Professional mixer and a 7 qt Cuisinart stand mixer. As a weekly sourdough bread baker, my Kitchenaid was falling short; it was LOUD and would overheat if I tried 2 consecutive batches of bread dough (10-11 cups flour). I took it apart and found the PLASTIC gear housing had cracked and I believe was the cause of the loud noise and a likely cause of failure in the near term.
I purchased the Cuisinart based on the claims of durability and power. I have to admit the Cuisinart hasn't overheated, but despite the larger stated capacity, the mixing attachments are designed in such a way that of dough with 11-12 c flour will override up to the mixer and clog up the rotating base. It really handles less than the 6 qt capacity of the Kitchenaid. This is a definite shortcoming of the Cuisinart. Don't believe the claims of a 7 quart capacity. I would put it's true capacity at about 5 1/2 qt.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Cuisinart 7-Quart Stand Mixer SM-70
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Power Tool - Flimsy Construction

PostedJanuary 30, 2009
Customer avatar
jmacx2
fromSt. Louis, MO
The motor handles double or triple batches of stiff cookie dough with ease. Unfortunately, the base and top are constructed of flimsy plastic that cause the entire unit to twist, wobble, and walk across the countertop. Much less substantial construction than my Kitchen Aid. Beaters, bowl, and speed control all work perfectly and included bowl cover/pour spout is a plus.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Cuisinart 7-Quart Stand Mixer SM-70
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT

PostedJanuary 11, 2009
Customer avatar
AmyB58
fromGig Harbor, Wa
its not as bulky as the kitchenaid one and is alot more easier to use. I have this in the brushed chrome and love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Cuisinart 7-Quart Stand Mixer SM-70
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty Good, but not enough muscle

PostedJanuary 8, 2009
Customer avatar
oaktownbaker
fromOakland, CA
Having been a KitchenAid devotee since I cut my eye-teeth on cooking, I was wooed away to Cuisinart after reading some great reviews. I LOVE the 7 qt mixer's ability to handle the double or triple batches that I usually make. I liked the idea of the 1000 watt motor, since I frequently make bagels or sourdough with the ultra-hard bread flour from King Arthur. But after putting this high-gluten dough in the mixer, it started to strain almost immediately and the machine died in 2 minutes. Thankfully it was only an internal circuit breaker and did come back to life after it cooled down. Other than this, it does a great job with all other tasks I put to it. But just don't expect a professional level of power from it.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>