Customer reviews for KitchenAid 5-Speed Custom Metallic Blender KSB580

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at CHEFS Catalog.

KitchenAid 5-Speed Custom Metallic Blender KSB580

KitchenAid 5-Speed Custom Metallic Blender KSB580 : When entertaining, keep the smoothies and iced drinks coming with this 0.9 horsepower blender that's built for back-to-back blending. The 56 oz. contoured pitcher slides ingredients into the blade for faster blending. Patented blade strikes at 4 planes for optimum performance. Commercial-grade polycarbonate pitcher is remarkably strong and lightweight and resists temperature extremes and scratches and stains. Push of a button crushes ice evenly and you can pulse at any speed. Puree hot soups, chop thick veggies, and mix smooth batters faster than ever with ultimate consistency and control. Hassle-free 1-year replacement warranty. 7"W X 8 1/2"D x 15 1/2"H. 10 lbs. Model: KSB580. Product Features High-powered 0.9 horsepower motor with 740 watts reaches speeds up to 13,000 rpm Patented stainless-steel blade tines operate on 4 different planes for speedy, thorough blending 5 speed touch-pad controls from stir to liquefy are easy to use Intelli-Speed® rapidly monitors speeds and adjusts power to accommodate thicker mixtures Soft Start™ feature reduces start-up and pulls food or ice into the blade before increasing to the selected speed 56 oz. polycarbonate jar is shatter- and scratch-resistant Pitcher contours guide ingredients for fast, thorough blending Blend-and-serve pitcher features a soft, non-slip grip for easy handling One-piece pitcher eliminates food traps and any need to disassemble Automatic ice crush option pulses at staggered intervals for optimum crushing efficiency Commercial-quality coupler with 12 interlocking teeth is steel-reinforced for added strength and durability Stay-put lid with removable 2 oz. ingredient cap Advance air flow design keeps blender cool during continual use Heavy, die-cast metal base with 4 non-slip feet ensures stable, quiet operation Base's lustrous finish is plated a minimum of 5 times for durability and corrosion-resistance Clean Touch™ control pad is smooth and seamless so it wipes clean in an instant Pitcher is bottom rack dishwasher-safe. Lid and ingredient cap are top rack dishwasher-safe Easy-store power cord wraps under base Includes instruction and recipe guide in English, French and Spanish
Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
20 out of 20(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for KitchenAid 5-Speed Custom Metallic Blender KSB580
Review 1 for KitchenAid 5-Speed Custom Metallic Blender KSB580
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome company, awesome blender

PostedApril 15, 2013
Customer avatar
dcavalari3
fromCalifornia
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
I just rec my new blender from Chef's and we have been playing with it making all kinds of things. Very heavy, solidly built and great features. What it does to ice is unbelievable. We are making smoothies from all sorts of things. We are even making snow cones because of the ice crushing quality. And this company is great to work with. I will be buying all my kitchen needs here from this time forward.
My Favorite BrandCraftsman and KitchenAid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KitchenAid 5-Speed Custom Metallic Blender KSB580
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My New Best Friend

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Debra59
fromPhiladelphia, PA USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
After much research on blenders I decided to go with the KitchenAid 580. This was the best decision I could have made! The machine is powerful as well as quiet!! I have burned out several over the years and I know this one will last me a long time. I LOVE it!!
My Favorite BrandKitchenaid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KitchenAid 5-Speed Custom Metallic Blender KSB580
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best blender out there

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Squeazle
fromNew Mexico
This is best blender I've ever owned.
Little details make it just awesome, like:
-draining holes for dishwasher cleaning.
-Lightweight yet extremely durable container, instead of heavy glass.
-Pulsing start up, so everything gets mixed in
- and its sooo quiet
I love this thing. its just great!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KitchenAid 5-Speed Custom Metallic Blender KSB580
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Blender

PostedApril 16, 2011
Customer avatar
unionsparky
fromPittsburg, CA
What an amazing blender. Plenty of power to crush large ice cubes. I love the automatic pulse feature.Pitcher is easy to clean, food does not stick to sides. I use blender twice daily for my weight loss shakes. Blender was recommended by a friend. Great Choice
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KitchenAid 5-Speed Custom Metallic Blender KSB580
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lots of power

PostedApril 29, 2013
Customer avatar
theheb
fromyork,pa
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Very powerful, quieter than most. Very easy to clean.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KitchenAid 5-Speed Custom Metallic Blender KSB580
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thank you KitchenAid

PostedApril 19, 2013
Customer avatar
smartchef
fromAlexandria, VA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
At last a company who puts out a quality blender at a reasonable price. I did research and tried 2 other famous named blenders before finally coming across KitchenAid's KSB580. I was appalled at the junk other famous brands put on the market. KitchenAid has restored my faith with this very fine product. It has a solid heavy metal base with thoughtful features including long cord and easy clean control panel. Motor is powerful enough for my daily smoothies and likely another other processing job. Container is well designed and easy to clean. I worry a bit about durability of the plastic coupler at the bottom of the container but given overall quality of this product I will trust KitchenAid to have done it right.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KitchenAid 5-Speed Custom Metallic Blender KSB580
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

How can a blender get any better

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Customer avatar
CyclephanMatt
fromAlbuquerque, NM, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Smoothies have been a daily part of our healthy lifestyle for years. Easy to make other than the need to assist the blender in chopping and mixing all the frozen fruits. Usually that meant aiding with a utensil to get the frozen block of stuff to mix down to the blades and then returning to this phase a few more times through the process. Give those engineers some thanks and credit. Now, no matter what is in the blender, it goes all the way through with no help and much less time, noise and hassle. I can actually say I love this blender. Thanks!!
My Favorite BrandAll Clad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KitchenAid 5-Speed Custom Metallic Blender KSB580
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good horsepower-easy cleaning

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Pepper1
fromSalt Lake City
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
Our GE Blender burned up the gear that powers the knife assembly and parts were not availible. Our new KSB580 is built strong with no problems blending anything we want. The ice crusher is a real plus. Making smoothies is a snap. This unit will fill our blender needs for a long time. Cleaning it is very simple. No need to remove the knife assembly. It is part of the jar. The price is right!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KitchenAid 5-Speed Custom Metallic Blender KSB580
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Truly awesome!

PostedJune 21, 2012
Customer avatar
MCinLA
fromLos Angeles, CA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
As other reviewers have commented, this blender really delivers. I've burned out several other blenders with frozen fruit smoothies, so I paid extra attention to reviews when shopping for my newest blender. And I am happy to report that this blender is terrific. Lots of power, easy to clean - what more could you want? I love the all-in-one jar/blade design, and the two-stage process (when using puree and ice crushing modes) is fantastic. You will not find a better blender!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KitchenAid 5-Speed Custom Metallic Blender KSB580
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

efficient, easy to clean, multi-tasks

PostedApril 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Carroll10
fromLargo, Florida
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
The Kitchen Aid 5-Speed Blender is excellent quality. It can perform a variety of tasks very well, from simple sitrring to crushing ice.
I especially like the fact that the blades are an integral part of the jar--no leaking or fussing to clean.
The unit has a solid feel to it and looks attractive on the counter.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KitchenAid 5-Speed Custom Metallic Blender KSB580
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything you want in a blender

PostedApril 18, 2012
Customer avatar
JJ52
fromMinneapolis, MN
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
We bought this blender based on a recommendation from Cook's Magazine. It has lived up to our expectations and more. It makes great smoothies, and creamed soups with perfect consistency that I did not get with my Cuisinart. The ice crushing option is so fast it took our breath away. We've been able to replace so-so two appliances (blender & ice crusher) with a much better designed, sturdier and effective one. Thanks, Kitchen-Aid!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KitchenAid 5-Speed Custom Metallic Blender KSB580
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great blender

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Customer avatar
TexasMama
fromTexas
This blender has exceeded my expectations for a great product! Quieter than my last blender and so far has done everything I have asked it to do. It has clean lines and looks great sitting out on my cabinet, where it is handy for everyday quick tasks. Fits in the dishwasher beautifully. Love it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KitchenAid 5-Speed Custom Metallic Blender KSB580
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good

PostedJune 15, 2011
Customer avatar
rrrmmmm
fromwinthrop, MN
This was rated by Cook's Illustrated so I ordered it. I haven't been able to use for many different items yet, but so far so good!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KitchenAid 5-Speed Custom Metallic Blender KSB580
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Blender

PostedApril 28, 2011
Customer avatar
CDGChicago
fromChicago, IL USA
Performs beautifully. Easy to clean---jar goes in dishwasher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KitchenAid 5-Speed Custom Metallic Blender KSB580
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great replacement

PostedApril 18, 2011
Customer avatar
javamama
fromcentral Illinois
This is a replacement for my very old Oster blender. The one piece feature of the container and blade is a plus.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KitchenAid 5-Speed Custom Metallic Blender KSB580
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Blender

PostedFebruary 18, 2011
Customer avatar
RAJA
fromMIAMI FLORIDA
Purchased this blender two weeks ago and I find it easy to use ,It crushes ice easily makes quick work of Peanuts which are two problems my old blender could not handle
It is a good looking piece and compliments my Kitchen
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for KitchenAid 5-Speed Custom Metallic Blender KSB580
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Blender

PostedSeptember 14, 2010
Customer avatar
dapiratelass
fromBaton Rouge LA
I needed a new blender and read the Cooks Illustrated product testing reviews selecting this brand and model as the best performer.
They were correct, it' works fabulously!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for KitchenAid 5-Speed Custom Metallic Blender KSB580
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like it.......

PostedSeptember 13, 2010
Customer avatar
Kiddo
fromdavenport, ia
Powerful, easy, looks nice, user friendly, and does exactly all of the things that the the original review from America's Test Kitchen said it would. It was "highly recommended" in their review. And that's why I would "highly recommend" it, as well.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for KitchenAid 5-Speed Custom Metallic Blender KSB580
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greatest Blender I have ever purchased!

PostedSeptember 10, 2008
Customer avatar
CookingDiva
fromLas Vegas, NV
In my 50+ years of cooking, the KitchenAid 5-speed blender is the greatest. It makes pesto and smoothies in seconds. Crushing ice is a snap without burning up the motor. Weither it is purifying soups or making healthy food for your infant, the blender does the job. The best thing was that it was made in the USA!!
The investment is worth every dollar you spend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for KitchenAid 5-Speed Custom Metallic Blender KSB580
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect Kitchen Tool

PostedMarch 20, 2008
Customer avatar
klevalt
fromPortsmouth, VA
I have burned up my share of blenders and blender bushings, even on the higher end models, however this design has the unique all-in-one construction that to this point has been indestructable. I am very pleased with the smoothie (whole frozen fruit, ice), and sauce capabilities. A great addition to my kitchen.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.