Customer reviews for Zojirushi BBCCX20 Home Bakery Supreme Bread Machine

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at CHEFS Catalog.

Zojirushi BBCCX20 Home Bakery Supreme Bread Machine

Zojirushi BBCCX20 Home Bakery Supreme Bread Machine : Wake up and smell the fresh-baked bread. It's easy with these state-of-the-art bread makers that feature a range of automatic, customizable controls for bread just the way you like it. The Home Bakery Supreme has 10 cycles in all, including a sourdough starter and a quick-bake option. Its crust control function lets you choose light, medium or dark crusts. The timer means you can set everything up to 13 hours in advance. And unlike the cyclinder-shaped pans in other bread makers, the Supreme's rectangular pan produces traditional loaves that are easy to slice. You can even use this as a portable oven to make everything from cinnamon rolls to cakes, from jams to meatloaf or lasagna. Model: BB-CCX20. Product Features Home Bakery Supreme 10 programmable cycles, including 2-hour Quick Bake Choose the crust you want with 3 settings 13-hour programmable timer Memory function stores up to 3 recipes 2-lb. loaf pan creates traditionally shaped loaves Twin kneading paddles mix ingredients thoroughly for better taste and texture Broad window for easy viewing Can be used to make gluten-free bread as well as non-bread treats like cakes, jams, even meatloaf Includes manual, recipe booklet and how-to video
Overall rating:
4.707 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
38 out of 41(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Zojirushi BBCCX20 Home Bakery Supreme Bread Machine
Review 1 for Zojirushi BBCCX20 Home Bakery Supreme Bread Machine
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Buy a Zojirushi

PostedDecember 30, 2009
Customer avatar
ThomasS
fromNaperville, Illinois
I've always been happy with everything I have purchased from Chefs Catalog, until now.
After less than a year the bread from this unit became unsatisfactory. I contacted the Zojirushi Customer Service office. They think the problem was the pan and blades. To find out the product has to be returned to their customer service office . I live in Illinois and the closest Service Center is in Nebraska. If you do not live on the West Coast there are almost no service centers. Even though I registered the Product , I still must have a reciept. AND if they feel the pan and paddles do not malfunction as a result of manufacture I'll have to pay. The Pan alone is $55.00 plus S&H. Buy the time I'm done it will cost half the orginal price of a new unit.
Zojirushi is not, in my opinion, customer friendly.
I'll continue with Chefs Catalog, I like their selection and service. But I would not Buy a Zojirushi product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zojirushi BBCCX20 Home Bakery Supreme Bread Machine
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Zojirushi Supreme

PostedJanuary 22, 2009
Customer avatar
LJNB
fromAz
I personally have not had very good luck with this machine. Unless you are going to use 6 cups or more of flour, my experience has been that the loaf turns out lopsided. It doesn't mix evenly between the two paddles. I also had difficulty getting the dough to be the right moisture content. It always seems to be too moist or too dry. I have had other Zojirushi machines, smaller ones, and never had these problems before. I have just been quite disappointed in this particular model-not the brand!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zojirushi BBCCX20 Home Bakery Supreme Bread Machine
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Below average

PostedSeptember 23, 2008
Customer avatar
Highland
fromLock Haven, PA
Disappointed. Excited and then i baked a loaf.
On light crust it still was hard
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zojirushi BBCCX20 Home Bakery Supreme Bread Machine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Terrific!

PostedJanuary 12, 2010
Customer avatar
Goldenbrowns
fromGolden, CO
We set out to buy a bread machine in order to make our own bread for sandwiches for our kids and to cut back on preservatives and other potentially unhealthy ingredients in store-bought bread. Overall, we're quite pleased with the features and performance of this machine. We now make bread about 2-3 times a week and love the results. Not all loaves come out even (sometimes the mixer paddles result in the loaf being higher on one side), but this doesn't really affect the taste or our ability to make sandwiches. We live at about 6,000 ft. above sea level, and it's taken some practice and experimenting to get loaves to turn out consistently, but it's definately doable. Programming the machine for custom cycles is a little wonky, and if you decide to readjust in the middle (for example, if you decided it needs more time to rise) there is no way to do this without turning off the machine and starting the programming over again. But the basic controls are sufficient for 95% of our bread baking needs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zojirushi BBCCX20 Home Bakery Supreme Bread Machine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Take the guess out of breadbaking!

PostedJanuary 15, 2009
Customer avatar
UPsage
fromGladstone, MI
Only the second bread machine I have owned, the Zokirushi meets and exceeds my expectations. I can set it and go about my other tasks. The finished breads taste as if I had spent hours kneading and going through the rising stages. This machine is a worthwhile investment for the beginner to the expert baker who does not have 'extra' time to spend watching the bread rise. One does 'KNEAD' this machine in one's kitchen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zojirushi BBCCX20 Home Bakery Supreme Bread Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Easy!

PostedJanuary 27, 2009
Customer avatar
connie
fromakron,oh
Listen folks, I can't bake bread any other way than this machine! My husband bought this for me as a gift, it sat in the box for a long time because I was afraid, then one day I got it out and just went for it. NOW, we have fresh bread several times a week and I even do my own recipes now...how cool is that?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zojirushi BBCCX20 Home Bakery Supreme Bread Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Machine for Bread...EVER!

PostedJanuary 8, 2009
Customer avatar
happyfamily
fromDickinson, TX
My in-laws purchased this machine for me as an early birthday gift/replacement present this past summer. This is the second Zojirushi (I had the previous 2 lb. model, which had an unfortunate incident with the stove), and the third bread machine I have owned since my husband and I were married almost 12 years ago. I had thought about getting a cheaper machine, but my mother-in-law reminded me how happy I had been with my other Zojirushi...about how I loved the jam and cake making features and how that I used that last machine like a workhorse feeding our family of six and it was still in good shape (well, it had been anyway, up until the incident), and how that once you've had the best, anything else is just not good enough. So, I picked out the updated version, and I have not been disappointed. The jam is good, the cakes turn out good (on the light setting) and any kind of dough I make is almost always perfect (unless I forget to add important ingredients or it is a really humid day.). By the by, my old Zojirushi has been given a new life...once the melted plastic was chipped away, it has continued to work like a champ!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zojirushi BBCCX20 Home Bakery Supreme Bread Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Slam-Dunk Breadbaking

PostedJanuary 8, 2009
Customer avatar
Sushidiva
fromSan Diego, CA
i actually own two Zojirushi bread machines. One w/many options and one simpler machine w/ a larger loaf. I have made bread as often as on a daily basis but have also gone for a month or more w/out using it. I regularly bake a loaf of bread as a b/day present for students i work with. Also as a hostess gift when visiting friends/family. There are many people who might never have the courage to make a loaf of bread and the Zojirushi catapults them to bread as a standard procedure. In case you didn't know already, that brand name means "ELEPHANT BRAND" That is what it truly is...intelligent, thorough and powerful. I can only recommend this company as a ten star rating.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zojirushi BBCCX20 Home Bakery Supreme Bread Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Surprisingly useful

PostedJanuary 8, 2009
Customer avatar
barangrill
fromCalifornia
I received a Zojirushi breadmaker for Christmas. Since there are only 2 of us, I received a mini. I have made my own bread periodically for most of my life. I was skeptical at first and wondered if I really needed another big kitchen appliance. Three weeks later I am a convert! It uses either bread mixes or you can make your own dough (with a couple of minor conversions for the smaller size). The loaves are just the right size for the two of us. And being able to set it in the morning and come home to the scent of freshly baked bread is heavenly! I love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zojirushi BBCCX20 Home Bakery Supreme Bread Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A terrific addition to any kitchen

PostedJanuary 8, 2009
Customer avatar
quilterineastgreenwich
fromEast Greenwich, RI
I have had two Zojirushi Supreme Bread Machines in the past 10 years. The machine is flawless. It makes "the best" sandwich bread for our family nearly every day. My children enjoy the variety of breads we can make in the machine and I enjoy the nutrition I can add with their permission! The dough, jam and cake cycles work exceptionally well. We no longer order take out pizza at our house. Making our own is so much more affordable and it tastes much better too.
The only drawback is that you must carefully wash the pan without any harsh abrasives. Once the non-stick coating comes off it is a goner. Otherwise, the machine is perfect.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zojirushi BBCCX20 Home Bakery Supreme Bread Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

mmmm....

PostedJanuary 8, 2009
Customer avatar
m61376
fromNY
We've had the Supreme model now for 2 or 3 years and it is far superior to the Breadman and similar machines. This was our third bread machine and likely to be our last. Easy to use and the breads are a real treat.
While some may object to the high loaf shape of bread machine breads, if you want a more traditionally shaped bread, it is easy to take it out before the last rise cycle, shape it and later bake it in the oven.
Try breads with different fillings or herbs and you'll really appreciate the versatility of having your own bread maker.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zojirushi BBCCX20 Home Bakery Supreme Bread Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a fantasitc breadmaker

PostedJuly 8, 2010
Customer avatar
AZbaker
fromCornville, AZ
I decided to really put this breadmaker through its paces as soon as I got it due to reading many reviews on its issues with odd shaped loaves, not having the capacity to allow for stiff doughs, not being able to do any other recipes other than what the enclosed book allowed. This machine is a champ. It can do anything! I have done pumperknickle, large bathes of dough for pizza, the book's recipes for white and wheat breat and adapted my own for wheat, rye and french breads.They all came out very well. The ONLY thing I can think of as a downside is the fact that the tops don't brown like they should. So I leave them in the warm cycle for about 10 minutes - lo, the top browns. For people who had problems with the loaf size or odd shaped tops - all you have to do is reportion your recipes to allow for the 2 lb size and you have perfect loaves. This machine is quiet - I can hardly tell it is working. No jumping around on the counter. So far so good - I love this machine. Only bad thing is that I love it so much I'm using it every day and that is NOT good for my diet!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zojirushi BBCCX20 Home Bakery Supreme Bread Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, so good!

PostedApril 14, 2010
Customer avatar
LuLu5
fromSan Diego, CA
I am thrilled with this purchase so far. It has made perfect bagel and pizza dough, and one loaf of whole wheat bread. It is quiet and easy to use. The bread loaves look just like store-bought. Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zojirushi BBCCX20 Home Bakery Supreme Bread Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Superior Machine

PostedMarch 24, 2010
Customer avatar
quilter44
fromNC
It takes some getting used to but the bread we have tried tastes far superior to our old machine. We have yet to figure out how much yeast to add to get it to raise as much has we would like but practice should make perfect. The crust is wonderful. It is a heavy machine and seems to be well built.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zojirushi BBCCX20 Home Bakery Supreme Bread Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedMarch 13, 2010
Customer avatar
thinkicancook
fromaz
as soon as it came in, i unpacked it, followed the very BASIC diretions and used it. we loved it. used the light setting, thought it may not be done instead was the best bread we have had. Now family wants me to make it for everyday bread, not just a treat!
Cant wait to try all the other settings, jam, cakes etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Zojirushi BBCCX20 Home Bakery Supreme Bread Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy as a Crockpot

PostedJanuary 29, 2010
Customer avatar
MajorFoodie
fromSouth Florida
I love the taste of whole grain breads but, alas, have no time to hang out at home timing the kneading, rising, etc. And I have no time to learn all the techniques, etc., for perfecting it.
With this machine, I just pop in the ingredients, set the timer on the machine for when I want the bread done, and walk away.
I love walking in the door in the evening to find the smell of fresh baked bread coming from the kitchen. The 2 lb. size is generous and looks great (not a wierd shape like other machines).
With the recipes that come with the machine, I make the 100% whole wheat recipe and use King Arthur's flour. I just changed the recipe to 2 cups of water in order to accomodate that rich flour, and it works wonders. Sometimes I use olive oil instead of the butter, too, and it tastes great.
I have even read that it is one of the few bread machines that can handle the home-ground wheat flour...Also, makes great dough for pizza, butter rolls, etc. You can put any recipe in it and just make the dough. Then you can take it out of the machine, shape the dough, rise it again and bake in the oven if you want to... I just like having the completed loaf personally in this season of my life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Zojirushi BBCCX20 Home Bakery Supreme Bread Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Bread Maker I've Ever Used

PostedJanuary 29, 2010
Customer avatar
fujimama
fromCorona, CA
I have used a wide variety of bread makers over the years, and owned several different brands. This bread maker is the one I currently have and by far my favorite.
One of my favorite features is the style of loaf that it produces. Instead of the funky looking tall loaf of bread that many bread makers make, this bread maker gives you an actual LOAF--horizontal in shape rather than vertical. The bread pan is much easier to get in and out than bread pans in other bread makers I have used. I also like that it has 2 paddles for kneading and mixing. The machine is SO easy to use and has a variety of settings.
The cookbook that comes with it is fantastic (I'm normally not a fan of cookbooks that come with appliances), giving ideas of unusual ways to use your breadmaker. I've made some very fun things, such as meatloaf, mochi cake, and jam in this breadmaker. All were delicious. My bread always comes out perfect too!
The only true con to this machine that I have found so far is that it takes up a lot of counter space (the one advantage to having a vertical loaf and not a horizontal loaf is the reduced counter space used).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Zojirushi BBCCX20 Home Bakery Supreme Bread Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makes great bread

PostedNovember 9, 2009
Customer avatar
llworm22
fromMountain View, Ca
This is a really great machine. It makes wonderful bread and is very easy to use. This is my first bread machine and I am very happy with it. I would buy this product again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Zojirushi BBCCX20 Home Bakery Supreme Bread Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Purchase Ever

PostedOctober 22, 2009
Customer avatar
sallyrn
fromNew Jersey
This is the best bread machine on the market. It is easy to use, and easy clean up. The machine is quite in comparison with other bread machine on the market. I previously had four different brand of bread machine from Hitachi, Breadman, Oster and Panasonic. The cycles are great, can make various types of bread, dough and jam. This will the best investment for bread lovers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Zojirushi BBCCX20 Home Bakery Supreme Bread Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the very best bread machine ever

PostedJuly 16, 2009
Customer avatar
Nickie
fromolympia, wa
I have been baking bread for over 30 years and this machine is a dream come true.
A few tips for getting the best results.
Always use the pre-heat cycle for best results and set for light crust for most breads.
If using bread mixes, be prepared to add at least 1 cup of additional flour.
If making bread from scratch use between 1 & 1/4 and 1 & 1/2 cups liquid. If using NON rapid rising yeast just add 1/2 package in the tepid water and let it disolve well, then add sugar and salt. If using rapid rise yeast, pour it over the top of the flour before starting the machine
Place liquid in the bottom of the pan and add 3 cups flour and start the machine. After the aproximately 20 minute warm up and initial mix, you will probably have to add more flour.
This machine uses 3 rising periods before baking. When the machine has finished its 2nd 'punch-down' before the 3rd/final rise, remove the dough, then remove the 2 paddles (this will make removal of the finished bread much easier). For the very best shaped loaves, knead quickly, shape and place back in the machine to complete the last rise and baking
You won't be disappointed.
Oh!!!! and did you know, you can bake cakes and even meatloaf in this nifty machine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>