Customer reviews for Carbon's Golden Malted Pancake and Waffle Mix

Carbon's Golden Malted Pancake and Waffle Mix

Carbon's Golden Malted Pancake and Waffle Mix : When you don't have time to make your secret recipe, make Mr. F.S. Carbon's secret "family recipe" mixture of premium wheat flour and corn flour, blended with wholesome malt and a blend of flavorings turns out fluffy, golden brown waffles and pancakes every time. Plain mix is in 33-oz cans. Yields: 30-36 pancakes, 5" Dia. or 15-18 waffles, 7" Dia.
Overall rating:
4.789 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(147 reviews) 132
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 147 reviews
5 Stars
129
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
140 out of 147(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Carbon's Golden Malted Pancake and Waffle Mix
Review 1 for Carbon's Golden Malted Pancake and Waffle Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice pancakes

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Customer avatar
TheRicker
fromCharleston, SC
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I didn't keep one of these to use myself. I gave them all as part of my Christmas gifts. The feedback I've received indicates the pancakes are very nice and flavorful. One of my sisters stated that she tried pancakes using regular milk one time and buttermilk another. She preferred the results using milk as she likes a more crispy (?) exterior to her pancakes. She said the buttermilk pancakes were more fluffy (and less crispy).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Carbon's Golden Malted Pancake and Waffle Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Waffle Ever

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Dkbpsu
fromSunbury, Pa.
Recently our Daughter had a sleepover and I had to make breakfast in the morning. The comments from the girls were "This is the best waffle I have ever eaten" and "O.M.G. these are sooo good". I must agree. I also add some cinnamon and nutmeg. Also great with Vanilla Ice Cream on top.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Carbon's Golden Malted Pancake and Waffle Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Waffle Mix

PostedMay 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Houdini1
fromSimi Valley, CA
Carbon's Golden Malted is the best waffle mix we have ever used in our waffle maker. The waffles come out crisp on the outside and fluffy on the inside and is well worth getting up on a Sunday to make. They take just minutes and can't be beat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Carbon's Golden Malted Pancake and Waffle Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gingerbread Pancakes And Waffles ?

PostedFebruary 19, 2009
Customer avatar
MikieLikesIt
fromClairton, Pennsylvania
Wow! Was I surprised when I made pancakes using the Gingerbread. I only bought 1 can to try because I was concerned that the gingerbread might be too strong. It's not at all. It has a definate taste of gingerbread , but not strong like the Christmas cookies. I've had the original and love it, but was not expecting to like the gingerbread so much and will be buying more the next time I order. I hope they don't run out of them before I do.
The taste, texture and aroma make for a delicious treat.
Between the Original and Gingerbread, I won't be buying any store brand pancake/waffle mixes anymore. The Best !
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Carbon's Golden Malted Pancake and Waffle Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THE BEST EVER

PostedJuly 22, 2008
Customer avatar
ShelleyAnn
fromColumbus, GA
I bought recently bought a commercial waffle maker since my husband and I both love the waffles we get from the hotels we stay at while on business trips. I tried different name brand waffle mixes and could not get the same taste and texture that was even close to the hotel waffles. I even went on line to find a recipe that might work. I found a recipe that was pretty good but it was complicated to prepare thus I never made it again. THEN I TRIED CARBONS!! It is the best ever and we love the waffles. The flavor is there and so easy. I now make waffles weekly. I had family visit lately and made waffles. They loved them. I ended up giving a container to my sister-in-law . I gave her the web site too. I will not use any other waffle mix. Thanks for a terrific product.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Carbon's Golden Malted Pancake and Waffle Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly What I Wanted!

PostedNovember 30, 2007
Customer avatar
Coltsgirl514
fromGold Hill, NC
We bought a commercial waffle maker hoping to get "hotel/restaurant" quality belgian waffles. Although the waffles "look" great out of our new maker, the flavor was missing! We had tried several different supermarket brands- but nothing compared to the ones from our favorite breakfast places. I saw this mix advertised when I purchased my waffle maker, but thought it may just be a seller. I made my first batch with this mix and.... PERFECT! Just what I was hoping for.... FLAVOR!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Carbon's Golden Malted Pancake and Waffle Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Delicious waffles!

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer avatar
MerrieMaker2
fromSilicon Valley, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
I really like waffles and this is my favorite mix. The waffles look as good as they taste: golden on the outside and tender inside. It's a real winner with my family. The mix is also excellent for making pancakes.
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid & Trident
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Carbon's Golden Malted Pancake and Waffle Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makes the best tasting waffles on earth!

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Formiga
fromFalmouth on Cape Cod, MA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I honestly don't know what I would do if I were not able to find Carbon's Golden Waffle Mix. From the time I first used the mix a number of years ago, I have used nothing but Carbon's. It makes the best tender Belgian waffles with real Vermont maple syrup.
My Favorite BrandSeveral, depending on the commodity
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Carbon's Golden Malted Pancake and Waffle Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My kids love it

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Customer avatar
OrganicLover
fromBoise, ID, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Rachel Ray
It is so easy to make the Belgian Waffles and it's delicous!!!, my two boys love it, will order more when I run out. I highly recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Carbon's Golden Malted Pancake and Waffle Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tender, delicious pancakes and waffles

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer avatar
judu44
fromMA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
When my grandchildren visit they always want pancakes or waffles for breakfast. This mix is a step above the grocery store brands and always produces excellent pancakes and crispy waffles. It does call for buttermilk, but I use regular milk and they still come out delicious!
My Favorite BrandCarbon's Golden Malted
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Carbon's Golden Malted Pancake and Waffle Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Delicious Waffles -- Perfect Results

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Customer avatar
JRMontserrat
fromNew Orleans, LA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
This waffle mix is so good that I don't even try to make my own from scratch. Makes great pancakes too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Carbon's Golden Malted Pancake and Waffle Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Delicious

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Harr21
fromGreenville, SC, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ellie Krieger
This is by far the best waffle mix we've ever tried!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Carbon's Golden Malted Pancake and Waffle Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hmmmm Good

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Stewball
fromAkron, OH, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
Best waffles I've ever tasted including Bob Evans.
My Favorite BrandOf what?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Carbon's Golden Malted Pancake and Waffle Mix
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Non Crisp Waffles/Mix too thin/How to Fix

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Artcurus
fromCentral Tx
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
Okay,
First, this product is basically designed for irons at about the 1000 watt range. Most cheap consumer level irons available at Big Box stores will not properly cook the batter. My 1940's GE waffle iron with 660 watts also has issues, it will eventually finish, but it takes a while. Look for irons that are no lower than 900 watts.
We primarily use a 1940's Sunbeam W2 iron (1200 watts) and an a mid1970's Sears 1100 watt iron. Both of these irons are automatic, and produces a crispy crusted waffle with a tender center.
If the batter is too thin, you can add the mix a few tbs at a time until reaches the desired consistency.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Carbon's Golden Malted Pancake and Waffle Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my go-to brand

PostedJune 30, 2014
Customer avatar
cammilla64
fromnortheast Maryland
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
My family loves waffles, especially for dinner! This mix has become my go-to brand for excellent Belgian waffles. I accidentally ran out of the mix, and had to (gasp!) make the waffles from scratch and both husband and son asked what happened to the waffles, that they weren't up to snuff. So, I bought two cans, and will keep a closer eye on my supply from now on. The mix is easy to use, and adjusts beautifully to different liquids (milk/buttermilk or club soda). Thanks for providing a great product at a competitive price.
My Favorite Brandit depends...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Carbon's Golden Malted Pancake and Waffle Mix
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not crispy enough

PostedJune 2, 2014
Customer avatar
W34239
fromSarasota FL
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I returned the unused cans of this mix. It tasted average and was not crispy enough. It was of good quality and just like all the other mixes I have tried. Nothing to write home about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Carbon's Golden Malted Pancake and Waffle Mix
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome Pancakes and Waffles

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Souxie628
fromKutztown, PA 19530, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Carbon's Golden Malted Pancake and Waffle Mix was just what I was looking for. Most pancake and waffle mixes you can but in the grocery store are too sweet to use with my savory recipes but Carbon's has a wonderful, LESS sweet taste. The corn flour in the mix gives it a wonderful taste. I highly recommend this product. It makes excellent pancakes and waffles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Carbon's Golden Malted Pancake and Waffle Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Delicious Sunday mornings

PostedApril 11, 2014
Customer avatar
naner44
fromScottsdale AZ
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Martyr
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I purchased the mix with the double Belgiem Waffle Maker. After finishing the Carbon's waffle mix, I purchased another brand at the store. No comparison!
The Carbon's is lighter and the flavor is excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Carbon's Golden Malted Pancake and Waffle Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Tasting Waffles

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Kentuckyson
fromPetaluma, CA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
We bought a really expensive waffle maker from Chefs catalog but never could make waffles that tasted as good as those in high end restaurants. We finally tried this mix with the malt in it and it is perfect. We love the rich taste and we will make sure we load up on this mix at all times (especially when the grandkids are coming to visit). The can of mix is much larger than we expected so it makes a lot of servings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Carbon's Golden Malted Pancake and Waffle Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pancake & Waffle Mix

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromDetroit, MI, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Budget
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I am a Big Waffle lover & your Mix is one of best that
I've tasted. I will be ordering more.
My Favorite BrandBisquick
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>