Customer reviews for Zwilling JA Henckels TWIN Pro-S Hollow-Edge Santoku

Zwilling JA Henckels TWIN Pro-S Hollow-Edge Santoku

Zwilling JA Henckels TWIN Pro-S Hollow-Edge Santoku : Popular Asian-type knife with a broad blade and an especially sharp cutting edge. The all-around workhorse in the kitchen, it can be used for preparing any kind of meat, fish and vegetable. Designed for professional chefs with a forged blade of high-carbon stainless steel that resists stains, rust and corrosion. Zwilling JA Henckels products, hand-crafted since 1731, set the world standard for appeal, function and style. The trustworthy quality and tradition of these riveted knives is easily visible by the full tang and the full length of solid steel. Classical styling and state-of-the-art technology in blade manufacturing combine to form the TWIN Pro-S Series. Product Features SIGMAFORGE™ one piece construction gives perfect geometry, high precision and improved stability of the blade and steel structure as well as improved cutting edge retention Laser controlled edge is sharper and stays sharper longer. Has a more consistent blade angle Friodur™ ice hardening offers maximum no-stain properties and more blade strength along with improved resistance to corrosion and pitting Super bolster provides weight, insures safety and adds balance Fully visible tang construction gives proper balance and great strength High carbon no-stain steel ensures no staining or rusting Hand honed for a long lasting edge Precision honed is sharper and stays sharper longer Triple riveted Novodur™ handles offer a durable, strong, smooth, comfortable handle that is perfectly balance Full warranty Made in Solingen, Germany Includes cookbook CD with 121 international recipes
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 12(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Zwilling JA Henckels TWIN Pro-S Hollow-Edge Santoku
Review 1 for Zwilling JA Henckels TWIN Pro-S Hollow-Edge Santoku
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for chopping

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Customer avatar
LDC64
fromCalifornia
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Friend
I have a set of Henckels Twin Pro knives that I received as a wedding presents 25 years ago that are still going strong. However, this Santoku style wasn't around back then so I wanted to add it to my set. I bought the 5" size and it seems plenty big enough for most chopping needs. It has a good feel to it and is very sharp. The food doesn't stick to the blade when chopping which makes it much faster.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zwilling JA Henckels TWIN Pro-S Hollow-Edge Santoku
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic tool

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Customer avatar
IrvM
fromPVE, CA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Beginner
Extremely sharp. Moves through every task put to it thus far. Looking to replace other knives with the Zwilling Henckels TWIN Pro-S knives.
My Favorite BrandSeveral
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zwilling JA Henckels TWIN Pro-S Hollow-Edge Santoku
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

COMPLETES MY SET OF HENCKEL CUTLERY

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Customer avatar
LADY60
fromPUTNAMCOUNTY
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
EXCELLENT HANDLING. LIGHT-WEIGHT
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zwilling JA Henckels TWIN Pro-S Hollow-Edge Santoku
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredibly sharp and smooth

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Rich256
fromWestland, MI
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
The knife cuts just about everything like cutting through foam. This includes hard, crusty bread and somewhat soft tomatoes. It cleans easily. But, one must be very careful handling the knife because of the sharpness.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zwilling JA Henckels TWIN Pro-S Hollow-Edge Santoku
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great purchase

PostedOctober 22, 2010
Customer avatar
Mimijacqui
fromEwing, NJ
I have always wanted one of these fine knives. I was not disappointed with my purchase. It has made slicing, dicing and chopping a snap, For the serious chef, I highly recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zwilling JA Henckels TWIN Pro-S Hollow-Edge Santoku
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super functional

PostedJanuary 12, 2010
Customer avatar
SusieQ
fromWillow Street, PA
This 7" "Santoku" type knife is an absolute must to have in your cutlery. It has so many multi-purpose uses. Love it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zwilling JA Henckels TWIN Pro-S Hollow-Edge Santoku
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedJanuary 10, 2009
Customer avatar
ATH44
This is a great knife for a relative beginner. After having used it for some time I am wishing that I had bought a chefs knife.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zwilling JA Henckels TWIN Pro-S Hollow-Edge Santoku
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Henckels Pro S Santoku Knife

PostedJanuary 10, 2009
Customer avatar
rls211
fromTexas
I purchased the 7" Henckels Pro S Santoku Knife and was so pleased with it that I purchased the 5". It is a very versatile knife that can be used on many different foods. If I could have just one knife this would be it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zwilling JA Henckels TWIN Pro-S Hollow-Edge Santoku
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Knife, but You Can Do Better

PostedJanuary 8, 2009
Customer avatar
joeytree
fromHoboken, NJ
The knife is sharp and keeps and edge well. I found the knife to be too light, and didn't like the balance. The blade also felt ferry thin to me, which probably added to the lightness of the knife. In addition, I wasn't a huge fan of the handle. There are other knives that have handles which conform to your hand better and are just as sharp, if not sharper. I've tried two Henkle Pro-S knives and a couple of CutCo knives (which are heavier and conform to your hand). In the end, I didn't get any more Henkle knives and bought CutCo instead. However, if you're looking for a lighter knife and you don't care about the handle, then this is a good knife for you.
Also, I find my chef's knife to be far more useful than my santoku. In fact, I haven't really found a situation where the santoku excells above my other knives. So you may want to consider getting other types of knives instead.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zwilling JA Henckels TWIN Pro-S Hollow-Edge Santoku
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You can't go wrong

PostedJanuary 8, 2009
Customer avatar
mycfl
fromCentral Florida
Henckels knives offer quality for a lifetime. The Santoku is a great all-around knife.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zwilling JA Henckels TWIN Pro-S Hollow-Edge Santoku
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 2, 2008
Customer avatar
jnmacdonald
The Pro S line is really nice and this is a great all purpose knife. I never feel like it's too big for a job and it makes quick work of things. Great quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Zwilling JA Henckels TWIN Pro-S Hollow-Edge Santoku
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 of 1 recommend this product