Customer reviews for Burton Induction Cooktop

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at CHEFS Catalog.

Burton Induction Cooktop

Burton Induction Cooktop : Induction cooking is extremely fast and is safe even for children since there is no open flame. Because induction cooking works electromagnetically, heat is generated only in the cookware that it comes into contact with. Your food is cooked to perfection and the cook top stays cool. With 9 temperature settings, 10 power levels and a 180-minute timer, it's at home in a restaurant kitchen as well as your own. Can be used with cast-iron, carbon steel, enamel steel or magnetic stainless-steel cookware. Black with gray accents. Product Features Ceramic cook top with sturdy plastic housing Fast and safe cooking with no open flame Instant temperature change with the push of a button Power levels 1-10 with 9 temperature settings from 150 F to 390 F, including a keep-warm setting Programmable 150-minute timer with alarm and auto shutoff Twice the energy-efficiency of gas cooking ETL-approved to UL standard 1026 Perfect for buffets, catering, outside by the grill or in homes with children.
Overall rating:
4.722 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
18 out of 18(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Burton Induction Cooktop
Review 1 for Burton Induction Cooktop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Real Lifesaver

PostedOctober 31, 2009
Customer avatar
SteamQueen
fromRoyal Oaks, CA
The Burton Induction Cooktop was a real lifesaver during my kitchen remodel but now continues to be an important part of my cooking arsenal. I was able to do some of my cooking in the microwave but you sure can’t stir fry in a microwave!
The induction cooktop brings water to a boil almost instantly and because of that, I find myself using it almost as much as my new range. I'm sure it uses less energy to run because of its speed. It’s great for steaming vegetables—I use a Chinese bamboo steamer atop a stainless pan—and for cooking soups.
It’s helpful to read the instructions first because the controls do take a little getting used to. Cleanup is a breeze and the design is attractive and functional. It’s a wonderful supplement to any kitchen especially during the holidays.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Burton Induction Cooktop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product!

PostedNovember 19, 2010
Customer avatar
citygirlincountry
fromIN
I have been looking for a right induction cook top when Chefs catalog introduced one. I immediately jumped on it because the price was right and it had everything I wanted. This product warms up very quickly, easy to adjust temperature and best of all, I now have a 5th burner that is not gas that I can take anywhere with me when I want to cook. I use it outside when it's warm so I don't warm up the house more and I simmer food on my island while I cook other dishes. It's a great product with a great price tag. I highly recommend it for its features and versatility.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Burton Induction Cooktop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedSeptember 29, 2010
Customer avatar
Frontera
fromChicago, IL
Best buys for our company. This product works well for our use, we use it for all our Demo Food Shows. Easy to use, clean and store. We have been very happy with this product. I have purchased a total of 5 units this year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Burton Induction Cooktop
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works as advertised!

PostedJuly 27, 2010
Customer avatar
Mickiwy
fromWestmont, NJ
Ok, so I only have one useable pot for the cooktop. But, boy am I using it. Water never boiled so fast. The summer kitchen is usually very hot. Not this year, use this cooktop and stay cool. I will further update after I purchase more cookware. Fan is not so loud. Husband even likes to use cooktop
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Burton Induction Cooktop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it!!

PostedJune 29, 2010
Customer avatar
victorine1901
fromphoenix az
i purchased this about a year and 1/2 ago. when i received it i gave the test. i cooked eggs all different ways and made sauces. the results were as good as if not better than my conventional stove. it was wonderful. the energy saving and cool temp is perfect for the hot arizona living.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Burton Induction Cooktop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Magnetic pans galore

PostedJune 7, 2010
Customer avatar
Tamra
fromGermantown, Tn.
My range top is a standard glass and my LeCreuset and other iron pans were in hiding. Now they're productive and the induction stove top from Burton is excellant indoor and out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Burton Induction Cooktop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cooking in the classroom

PostedJune 6, 2010
Customer avatar
Teacher
fromCary NC
I was asked to teach a two week miniterm with thirteen 9th and 11th graders at the end of the school year. The topic - cooking. I had them all day. I had no kitchen or equipment. So, starting from scratch, I designed six cooking stations around these cooktops. We chopped, stirred, and cooked for 6 hours a day. It was a blast, and the kids got to create and try foods they'd never seen before. I can't wait to do it again next year! These burners made the whole class possible. You really can do anything with them you could do on a regular stove.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Burton Induction Cooktop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

goodbye microwave

PostedApril 19, 2010
Customer avatar
extremer
fromsalt lake city
nothing better than buying a product that exceeds any expectations. can't believe how fast this is and how well priced it was. love this cooktop. simple to operate. this thing rocks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Burton Induction Cooktop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

handy kitchen addition

PostedApril 12, 2010
Customer avatar
hullskitchen
fromAtlanta, GA
Lightweight and easy to use; a perfect addition to a small kitchen. Great alternative to gas cook top, cooler and more efficient. A little noisy but otherwise an excellent buy, and much less expensive than competing models.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Burton Induction Cooktop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Burton Cooktop Rocks

PostedMarch 18, 2010
Customer avatar
bdbcooks
fromchicago , IL
This Burton cooktop is great. Heats up fast, cools down fast, temp adjustment up or down is very responsive. This proved invaluable during my kitchen remodel . Lightweight, easy to carry. I will probably continue occassional use even after the kitchen is completed. Highly recommended, just make sure you have the proper pans for induction cooking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Burton Induction Cooktop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WONDERFUL !! *****

PostedNovember 1, 2009
Customer avatar
cakebabe
fromPalm Beach, Florida
My husband and I are both crazy about our new induciton burner, and only wish we could find a double (as I have seen, a differnt brand, but cannot remember where). We are throwing out all our antiquated appliances except the refridgerator and replacing with an unfitted kitchen. i.e., portable pieces such as an induction/convection portable oven for baking and broiling, and the Burton induction burner to pull out and use as needed, as in every time I cook. . Economical, energy efficiant, and better looking as this method is space saving, making room for a comfy, cozy eat-in kitchen/sitting TV area. Fortunately, the majority of my cookware is compatible with this great little invention. The other reviews have said it all: easy to clean, very fast response, safe auto-turn-off feature, and up-to-date pan sizing.. My only complaint, and I am not sure I didn't get one, but I am missing an instruction page which is highly needed, for otherwise one must guess and "experiment" as one reviewer put it. Otherwise, it's the best invention since...........
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Burton Induction Cooktop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very, very pleased!

PostedAugust 4, 2009
Customer avatar
erhart
fromShenandoah, IA
I am very excited with this cooktop which is almost as fast as a microwave but much better and safer. I've always been partial to cast iron and stainless steel pans and this cooktop works very well with them. I had looked at induction stoves before and found the price discouraging but this is an excellent price for the unit.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Burton Induction Cooktop
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

super fast heating

PostedJanuary 8, 2009
Customer avatar
marym
fromHouston TX
I just tried this unit last night with a cast-iron pan and was astonished at how quickly it heated up. It literally got hot instantly. All ingredients definitely need to be prepped in advance - there's no time for additional chopping, etc., unless you have to simmer your dish for a while. It was fun to see how the settings work, although they might take some getting used to. I am looking forward to using it again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Burton Induction Cooktop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Induction Cooktop!

PostedJanuary 3, 2009
Customer avatar
AMS555
fromNY
I purchased this unit for portability and the fact that you can control the heat even better than a gas stove top. This unit is incredible for the price! I have seen units with the "V" brand name selling for $500!
It heats extremely well and rapidly. Just make sure you have the right pots and pans. it is an easy test.. if the bottom of the cookware allows you to attach a magnet then it will work with this unit, just that easy!
Don't hesitate, great value and very very useful.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Burton Induction Cooktop
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Supplemental Cooking

PostedSeptember 24, 2008
Customer avatar
LLinNM
fromNew Mexico
I bought this when 3 of the coils on our electric cooktop went out. I wanted to replace the cooktop with a gas cooktop, but needed to install a gas line first. In the interim, I needed another cooking device, and ordered this.
Yes, you must use the proper pan, which requires some experimentation. Further, actually cooking with it requires experimentation. Heating a pan before adding your food is not an option, unless you have sufficient oil in the pan. No recipes or guidelines are included with the induction cooktop to tell you what reducing the power does as compared to reducing the temperature. If you have never used induction cooking before, be prepared to experiment.
That said, I think this is a wonderful, useful device.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Burton Induction Cooktop
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Magnet Test Not Completely Reliable

PostedAugust 30, 2008
Customer avatar
FoxTop
fromVirginia
This product works as described if you have the proper pans. I have All-Clad and they don't work very well. I'm not going to replace them, obviously, so won't get as much use from this unit as I'd hoped. Still, it works well with my one Farberware pan and I'll get one other so I can take advantage of its features.
The cooktop does stay nicely cool except where the pan actually sits and clean up is really easy. It reaches and maintains the set tempertaure well and turns off instantly so you can leave the pan on the burner until you're ready to clean it without worrying about whatever's left in the pan baking into an impossible crust.
All in all, I like the unit very much, but since a magnet stuck to my All-Clad, I assumed I could use it. Not so. It does work somewhat, but heats faster on the range. Problem is that although the outer layer of clad cookware is magnetic, the inner layers are copper or aluminum and the inside is 18/10 stainless, none of which conduct magnetic current. The core of these pans is designed to conduct heat and does so very effectively, but isn't suitable for this method unless you're patient. I'm disappointed to discover this, but like the unit well enough to have a couple of extra pans around for use with it.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Burton Induction Cooktop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this !

PostedAugust 14, 2008
Customer avatar
catwomanorange
fromSeattle,WA
We use this in our outdoor kitchen. It works great. Very quick to heat up. The only problem is you have to use the proper pan. It will not work with aluminum pans.What a perfect excuse to buy new cookware !!!!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Burton Induction Cooktop
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best way to cook, hands down!

PostedAugust 14, 2008
Customer avatar
Kori
fromVancouver, WA
I have been using induction cooking for over a year now and can't say enough about how fantastic it is. Perfect boil in less than 2 minutes and perfect simmer for hours if needed. The control is remarkable and beats gas easily. I have two portable induction tops, one for our travel trailer which makes cooking a breeze. Remember, you can only use a stainless steel or enamel pot on these. To test, see if a magnet will attach to the bottom of your pan.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.