Customer reviews for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer

Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer

Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer : Technology takes the guesswork out of candy making and deep-frying in this handy thermometer. LCD screen indicates 14 pre-programmed stage settings with user-friendly icons including hard ball, soft ball and cracking. Cooking guide on back. Battery included. Product Features Alert sounds and lights 14 preprogrammed settings Large LCD display with easy digital readout Temperatures displayed in Fahrenheit or Celsius Heat-resistant white plastic body with 8" stainless-steel pivoting probe, clip and fold-up splatter/heat shield One AAA battery Limited 90-day warranty
Overall rating:
4.189 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(74 reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 74 reviews
5 Stars
48
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
4
1 Star
8
61 out of 74(82%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Review 1 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product, stomps on all other fryer therm

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Loebtronic
fromRichmond, VA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Professional Chef
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
This is a great product. It is well made, works flawlessly and has a very strong and durable clip for attaching to the pot. Hands down this is a much better product than the usual analog dial type of fryer thermometer which is typically a piece of junk unless you only use it twice a year or less. We use ours in a professional kitchen so it sees a lot of use. The display tilts up and down 90 degrees which is a nice feature so you can point it at your work area to keep an eye on the temp. without having to walk over to the stove to read a dial.
My Favorite BrandVitamix
+14points
18of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 27, 2012
Customer avatar
jjmac
fromAlexander city, Alabama
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
This thermometer is great for making jelly, divinity and fudge all of which require an exact temperature.
My Favorite Brandkitchenaid appliances
+14points
16of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must for candy making

PostedAugust 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Jolady
fromMishawaka, IN
Our church makes peanut brittle every year as a major fund-raising project. Accurate temperature control during the cooking process is imperative for a successful product. We have always used the digital thermometer and rely on it's accurate readings and the reliability of the product itself.
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Thermometer I've Ever Owned

PostedJanuary 30, 2011
Customer avatar
jillpetr
fromCedar Rapids, IA
I recently purchased this digital oil and candy thermometer -- it is the best ever! In the last three years I have purchased several and received a couple as gifts (none of which worked very well) but this one is excellent. It easily attaches to the side of my pan and the numbers are easy to read. I appreciate its ease of use.
Not only would I recommend this to a friend -- I may purchase this particular thermometer for gifts this coming Christmas!
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Candy Thermometer

PostedAugust 24, 2010
Customer avatar
Whosit
fromChino Valley
I received a thermometer like this several years ago as a gift and use it at least once every month. I love it. It makes candy making a lot easier and more foolproof. One day, my sister was helping me with candy and loved how easy this thermometer is to use and wanted one for herself. When the opprotunity to buy this one came up I had to get it for her. She loves toffee and now she can make her own.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I needed this

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Customer avatar
Hal1949
fromLawton, OK, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Calamity
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
I have used this only once, but I really like it. I made some candy here while back and it failed. I couldn't see the temperature, but with the "Digital Oil & candy thermometer" it is easy to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Customer avatar
littlebit602
fromCalifornia, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I like that it is digital however I feel the probe is a little too long.
My Favorite BrandNot particular as long as it works good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I got a dud!

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Customer avatar
LindaP41
fromFresno, CA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I was so excited to get this thermometer and only ordered it on the good reviews.
It is well constructed, sturdy, grips the pan great, tilts for easy viewing. All great attributes.
I decided to try it out on jam. I was suspicious when it registered 145 degrees when the pot was stirred but quickly dropped to about 130 when it was not. After about 30 minutes of cooking my jam it never registered above about 150 while stirring. Finally I decided to drag out my old pyrex with the mercury bulb and placed them side by side in the pan. The pyrex quickly rose to 210 degrees and my jam was done.
Had I ruined all of those apricots and sugar not to mention an hour of my time I would really be ticked. As it is nothing is lost other than dealing with a return. So this is going back ASAP and I am actually afraid to replace it for fear of another dud.
Very disappointing!
Yes I did take off the little clear plastic protective tube on the end of the tip :)
My Favorite BrandWolfgang Puck
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A thermometer I can actually see

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Customer avatar
Weezie720
fromProsper, TX, USA
My Cooking Level:Expert
My 40 year old oil/candy thermometer still works; however, even with my reading glasses and standing on my head I couldn't see the readings. The Maverick Digital Oil/Candy thermometer is a dream come true. It sits at a nice eye level above the pot, is easy to set the range you prefer, beeps when the temperature range is achieved and , most of all, is easy to read precisely! Just love it; have already emailed lots of friends to recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

quality product

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Customer avatar
foad1961
fromTexas
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Used digital thermometer to make "soft ball candy stage. Way easier than guessing with glass style thermometer!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Temperature readout too slow

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Customer avatar
Peggy52
fromKansas
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
I used this thermometer to make caramels which needed to be cooked to 242 degrees. By the time the readout was at 242, the caramels were overcooked. I will be returning this item due to poor performance.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer works well

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Customer avatar
Lynnsig
fromWisconsin
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
Temperature display is good but setting the temp alert is difficult - text is too small
Attach clip is so tight it scratched my non stick pot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better candy with this thermometer

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
Customer avatar
Proudson62
fromAthens, Ga.
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
We make pralines every Christmas and with our old thermometer apparently we have been over cooking them. This thermometer has a large digital readout and very accurate. This year's batch of pralines were our best ever!
My Favorite BrandChefs, of course!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally my English toffee is perfect!

PostedDecember 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Newbee
fromIndiana, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
The last two times I made English toffee the bottom layer was grainy. I used an old candy thermometer and cooked the butter, sugar mixture to 300 degrees like the recipe said. Starting thinking this old thermometer must not be working correctly.
I ordered the Digital Oil and Candy thermometer and my last two batches I made for Xmas turned out perfect. So easy to use. Programed settings that let you know just when the exact temperature is reached. Well worth the money. Trish
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love it!

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
CCNana
fromCape Cod
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
This is the best candy thermometer I have ever had. It grips the side of the pan so I don't have to touch it. It is easy to read. I made my first batch of candy using it this morning. I was really pleased with the result.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Linda37Q
fromPeoria, Illinois
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
The thermometer is very difficult to learn to use. The directions are not clear. I also was disappointed at the length of temperature probe. It is almost too long for my pans.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best feature - the powerful clip

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
BryanP
fromSaco, ME
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
You can get a decent digital thermometer anywhere. If you don't care about digital, you can get a decent analog thermometer anywhere. However, this model features the best pan clip I've used so far. I make peanut brittle and I need to leave the thermometer in so I know as soon as I reach the hard crack stage. The brittle is incredibly thick at this point so most clips are worthless. This one, although still not perfect as it shuffles around just a bit, hangs in there like nothing else.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Beckky47
fromTX
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
I received the item very promptly, but it does not work as expected. It won't remain "on." I constantly must switch to the "candy" from the "oil," also. I don't believe it is accurate, but this could be because the probe does not reach low enough in the pan. I am going to have to send it back, and I have rarely sent anything back to any store or company. As I said, perhaps it is my pan, a Calphalon stainless pan with lip.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Digital candy thermometer-good tool to have

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Sheltietrainer
fromSeattle, WA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
I didn't give it 5 stars as it is top heavy and needs to be fastened to a very sturdy pot. It could conceivably topple a saucepan full of hot sugar liquid onto a child or pet below if not anchored properly. It is also a little convoluted to operate but works correctly once you get it set for the proper temperature. Much safer and more accurate than the old style glass bulb that I have been using for years.
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid and Cuisinart
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Innacurate and unstable on pan

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Customer avatar
dcfvbghjkl
fromEast central Wisconsin
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
The thermometer read almost three degrees low at 212 degrees F. The screen is very difficult to see and on my three-quart Revere-ware pan it refused to stay upright, falling over in my attempt to read the temperature.
The instructions that come with the thermometer are also vague as to how to set it for a desired temperature.
If you are looking for an easy-to-use digital thermometer, look elsewhere.
My Favorite BrandLake to Lake butter
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>