Customer reviews for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer

Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer

Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer : Technology takes the guesswork out of candy making and deep-frying in this handy thermometer. LCD screen indicates 14 pre-programmed stage settings with user-friendly icons including hard ball, soft ball and cracking. Cooking guide on back. Battery included. Product Features Alert sounds and lights 14 preprogrammed settings Large LCD display with easy digital readout Temperatures displayed in Fahrenheit or Celsius Heat-resistant white plastic body with 8" stainless-steel pivoting probe, clip and fold-up splatter/heat shield One AAA battery Limited 90-day warranty
Overall rating:
4.161 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(81 reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 81 reviews
5 Stars
53
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
4
1 Star
10
66 out of 81(81%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Review 1 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product, stomps on all other fryer therm

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Loebtronic
fromRichmond, VA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Professional Chef
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
This is a great product. It is well made, works flawlessly and has a very strong and durable clip for attaching to the pot. Hands down this is a much better product than the usual analog dial type of fryer thermometer which is typically a piece of junk unless you only use it twice a year or less. We use ours in a professional kitchen so it sees a lot of use. The display tilts up and down 90 degrees which is a nice feature so you can point it at your work area to keep an eye on the temp. without having to walk over to the stove to read a dial.
My Favorite BrandVitamix
+15points
20of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 27, 2012
Customer avatar
jjmac
fromAlexander city, Alabama
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
This thermometer is great for making jelly, divinity and fudge all of which require an exact temperature.
My Favorite Brandkitchenaid appliances
+14points
16of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must for candy making

PostedAugust 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Jolady
fromMishawaka, IN
Our church makes peanut brittle every year as a major fund-raising project. Accurate temperature control during the cooking process is imperative for a successful product. We have always used the digital thermometer and rely on it's accurate readings and the reliability of the product itself.
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Thermometer I've Ever Owned

PostedJanuary 30, 2011
Customer avatar
jillpetr
fromCedar Rapids, IA
I recently purchased this digital oil and candy thermometer -- it is the best ever! In the last three years I have purchased several and received a couple as gifts (none of which worked very well) but this one is excellent. It easily attaches to the side of my pan and the numbers are easy to read. I appreciate its ease of use.
Not only would I recommend this to a friend -- I may purchase this particular thermometer for gifts this coming Christmas!
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Candy Thermometer

PostedAugust 24, 2010
Customer avatar
Whosit
fromChino Valley
I received a thermometer like this several years ago as a gift and use it at least once every month. I love it. It makes candy making a lot easier and more foolproof. One day, my sister was helping me with candy and loved how easy this thermometer is to use and wanted one for herself. When the opprotunity to buy this one came up I had to get it for her. She loves toffee and now she can make her own.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

an assist for aging eyes

PostedAugust 14, 2015
Customer avatar
RoseTC
fromSelkirk, NY 12158, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
I am having great difficulty reading my old candy thermometer, especially when it steams up. I ordered this digital version so I could make fudge for my nephews wedding. It worked very well and I could see the temperature perfectly.
My Favorite BrandKitchenaid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW! really good

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Customer avatar
Grammy67
fromJoplin, MO, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I have had one of these for a while now and really like it alot. My friend was over one day I was using it and liked it also. This one I just bought is for her birthday and I will be giving it to her today along with the turbo rotary whisk that I also have had for a while and just love love love it and so did she. I am a real kitchen gadgit person and these are just too cool for words.
My Favorite Brandsome of all
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dandy for candy---and ice cream too

PostedAugust 7, 2015
Customer avatar
hcutch
fromCutchogue, NY, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Dad
Bought this thermometer for use making ice cream.
Works just fine, clips to pot and is easy to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

hard to see.

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Customer avatar
birder2
fromcentral California
My Cooking Level:Advanced
Stay away from this product. It is hard to read Hard to set and won't stay attached.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Helping hand in my kitchen

PostedMay 14, 2015
Customer avatar
chefjinny
fromWB, Michigan
My Cooking Level:Professional Chef
Great thermometer, like having a second helper.
Made my Italian Meringue Buttercream yesterday without worrying about keeping a constant watch on my cooked sugar while whipping my egg whites, sugar was done to perfection and on time! Love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great two-in-one tool

PostedMay 4, 2015
Customer avatar
Barb85
fromKerrville, TX
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
I don't make a lot of candy, but this thermometer reads oil temperature as well as candy temps. Even though I don't need to use it as much, it's like - when I need it, I need it! Now no more guesswork!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Accurate

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Customer avatar
Pizzaqueen54
fromReading, PA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
After 2 batches of burned candy, I discovered it was the inaccurate thermometer - not me. Also, readout is very small and hard to read. Concept is good but needs adjustments ! I will be returning this. At this price, I thought I was buying a quality thermometer - not so.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I needed this

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Customer avatar
Hal1949
fromLawton, OK, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Calamity
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
I have used this only once, but I really like it. I made some candy here while back and it failed. I couldn't see the temperature, but with the "Digital Oil & candy thermometer" it is easy to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Customer avatar
littlebit602
fromCalifornia, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I like that it is digital however I feel the probe is a little too long.
My Favorite BrandNot particular as long as it works good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I got a dud!

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Customer avatar
LindaP41
fromFresno, CA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I was so excited to get this thermometer and only ordered it on the good reviews.
It is well constructed, sturdy, grips the pan great, tilts for easy viewing. All great attributes.
I decided to try it out on jam. I was suspicious when it registered 145 degrees when the pot was stirred but quickly dropped to about 130 when it was not. After about 30 minutes of cooking my jam it never registered above about 150 while stirring. Finally I decided to drag out my old pyrex with the mercury bulb and placed them side by side in the pan. The pyrex quickly rose to 210 degrees and my jam was done.
Had I ruined all of those apricots and sugar not to mention an hour of my time I would really be ticked. As it is nothing is lost other than dealing with a return. So this is going back ASAP and I am actually afraid to replace it for fear of another dud.
Very disappointing!
Yes I did take off the little clear plastic protective tube on the end of the tip :)
My Favorite BrandWolfgang Puck
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A thermometer I can actually see

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Customer avatar
Weezie720
fromProsper, TX, USA
My Cooking Level:Expert
My 40 year old oil/candy thermometer still works; however, even with my reading glasses and standing on my head I couldn't see the readings. The Maverick Digital Oil/Candy thermometer is a dream come true. It sits at a nice eye level above the pot, is easy to set the range you prefer, beeps when the temperature range is achieved and , most of all, is easy to read precisely! Just love it; have already emailed lots of friends to recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

quality product

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Customer avatar
foad1961
fromTexas
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Used digital thermometer to make "soft ball candy stage. Way easier than guessing with glass style thermometer!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Temperature readout too slow

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Customer avatar
Peggy52
fromKansas
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
I used this thermometer to make caramels which needed to be cooked to 242 degrees. By the time the readout was at 242, the caramels were overcooked. I will be returning this item due to poor performance.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer works well

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Customer avatar
Lynnsig
fromWisconsin
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
Temperature display is good but setting the temp alert is difficult - text is too small
Attach clip is so tight it scratched my non stick pot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better candy with this thermometer

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
Customer avatar
Proudson62
fromAthens, Ga.
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
We make pralines every Christmas and with our old thermometer apparently we have been over cooking them. This thermometer has a large digital readout and very accurate. This year's batch of pralines were our best ever!
My Favorite BrandChefs, of course!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>