Customer reviews for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer

Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer

Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer : Technology takes the guesswork out of candy making and deep-frying in this handy thermometer. LCD screen indicates 14 pre-programmed stage settings with user-friendly icons including hard ball, soft ball and cracking. Cooking guide on back. Battery included. Product Features Alert sounds and lights 14 preprogrammed settings Large LCD display with easy digital readout Temperatures displayed in Fahrenheit or Celsius Heat-resistant white plastic body with 8" stainless-steel pivoting probe, clip and fold-up splatter/heat shield One AAA battery Limited 90-day warranty
Overall rating:
4.279 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(61 reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 61 reviews
5 Stars
41
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
6
52 out of 61(85%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Review 1 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product, stomps on all other fryer therm

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Loebtronic
fromRichmond, VA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Professional Chef
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
This is a great product. It is well made, works flawlessly and has a very strong and durable clip for attaching to the pot. Hands down this is a much better product than the usual analog dial type of fryer thermometer which is typically a piece of junk unless you only use it twice a year or less. We use ours in a professional kitchen so it sees a lot of use. The display tilts up and down 90 degrees which is a nice feature so you can point it at your work area to keep an eye on the temp. without having to walk over to the stove to read a dial.
My Favorite BrandVitamix
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 27, 2012
Customer avatar
jjmac
fromAlexander city, Alabama
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
This thermometer is great for making jelly, divinity and fudge all of which require an exact temperature.
My Favorite Brandkitchenaid appliances
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must for candy making

PostedAugust 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Jolady
fromMishawaka, IN
Our church makes peanut brittle every year as a major fund-raising project. Accurate temperature control during the cooking process is imperative for a successful product. We have always used the digital thermometer and rely on it's accurate readings and the reliability of the product itself.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Thermometer I've Ever Owned

PostedJanuary 30, 2011
Customer avatar
jillpetr
fromCedar Rapids, IA
I recently purchased this digital oil and candy thermometer -- it is the best ever! In the last three years I have purchased several and received a couple as gifts (none of which worked very well) but this one is excellent. It easily attaches to the side of my pan and the numbers are easy to read. I appreciate its ease of use.
Not only would I recommend this to a friend -- I may purchase this particular thermometer for gifts this coming Christmas!
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Candy Thermometer

PostedAugust 24, 2010
Customer avatar
Whosit
fromChino Valley
I received a thermometer like this several years ago as a gift and use it at least once every month. I love it. It makes candy making a lot easier and more foolproof. One day, my sister was helping me with candy and loved how easy this thermometer is to use and wanted one for herself. When the opprotunity to buy this one came up I had to get it for her. She loves toffee and now she can make her own.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Digital candy thermometer-good tool to have

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Sheltietrainer
fromSeattle, WA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
I didn't give it 5 stars as it is top heavy and needs to be fastened to a very sturdy pot. It could conceivably topple a saucepan full of hot sugar liquid onto a child or pet below if not anchored properly. It is also a little convoluted to operate but works correctly once you get it set for the proper temperature. Much safer and more accurate than the old style glass bulb that I have been using for years.
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid and Cuisinart
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Innacurate and unstable on pan

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Customer avatar
dcfvbghjkl
fromEast central Wisconsin
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
The thermometer read almost three degrees low at 212 degrees F. The screen is very difficult to see and on my three-quart Revere-ware pan it refused to stay upright, falling over in my attempt to read the temperature.
The instructions that come with the thermometer are also vague as to how to set it for a desired temperature.
If you are looking for an easy-to-use digital thermometer, look elsewhere.
My Favorite BrandLake to Lake butter
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Know your temp

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromChicago
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
Thermometer easily clamps onto the pot. Other thermometers did not fasten as easily. Temp us easy to read. This is the thermometer that I have been looking for.
My Favorite BrandSourdough baquette
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Maple syrup

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer avatar
syrupking
fromDanville NH
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
For several years we have struggled with almost unreadable candy thermometers. Your product is ideal for our purposes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect candy thermometer

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Customer avatar
budmak61
fromMinnesota, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I tried to make my carmals without my new digital thermometer did not happen when I used my new digital thermometer which beeps when ready perfect carmals excellent product
My Favorite Brandall
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

More gimmick than function

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromOrlando, FL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
In my opinion it has more cons than pros especially for my needs.
I bought it because of the audible alarm. For obvious safety reasons you can't neglect very hot sugar or hot oil on your stovetop but I wanted to work a few steps away without having to constantly look at a thermometer.
Pros:
Audible alarm (but based on a "named" range)
Digital temperature read out (small, not backlit)
Auto off to save batteries
Swivels/Adjusts
Cons:
It's very top heavy and not suitable for small saucepan (candy)
Because of the clip the probe stem won't stand straight upright & it interferes with a fry basket.
You can't set an actual specific temperature for the alarm
The alarm only works with the built in named temp ranges for either Deep Frying (Chicken, French Fries, etc) or Candy (soft ball, hard crack, etc) so you have to either know what temperatures they translate to or look on the back of the device which really can't be seen if it's clipped to a saucepan or Dutch Oven.
It is complicated to set and the range labels are tiny so it's hard to read and not backlit.
It's a great "idea" and would be awesome if they could make it like one of those corded oven meat thermometers.
In my view it's okay for deep frying in a Dutch Oven or large (tall) sauce pan. I don't recommend for sugar unless your doing large quantities.
My Favorite BrandKitchenAid
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally!

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
crimmps49
fromHustisford, WI, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I finally found a digital thermometer that I actually love. This works great and has a clip-on to keep it stable on my pans. I use it for making candy and for homemade cheese. I'm sure it will work well for meats and such as well, but I have a different one for that. Absolutely love this and recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Better than my old glass thermometer

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Leonsongbird
fromLeon, IA 50144, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Budget
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I ordered this thermometer because my glass thermometer cracked as I was making a batch of yogurt and took in liquid. I wanted a thermometer that had a metal probe with no glass attached and this does. I don't do a lot of deep frying, but I do occasionally make candies, and lots of yogurt and bread. Two small problems with the device: the mastic used to stick the little tabs that show the temps for candy stages and fry temps keep falling off, I'll have to glue them on if I want to keep them. Second, it turns itself off after a few minutes, so you must keep hitting the "on" button, just an inconvenience. Otherwise, it seems to be true to temp and sturdy. Good purchase!
My Favorite BrandCuisinart
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beats All Others

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Angellady
fromIA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
Yearly, my family has a "candy-making" weekend that uses recipes carried over 4 generations. This thermometer meets all our needs: accurate, variable candy staging temps; settings that alarm when temp is reached; easily clips to the edges of cooking vessels; adjustable clip for accommodating pan depth. I've tried several others and this one is the best.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The BEST candy thermometer out there!

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer avatar
lflinke
fromColorado Springs, CO, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I love to make divinity, marshmallows, fudges, toffee, and this thermometer is by far the best I have used and works great, couldn't get all my goodies made without it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My experience

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Vivstr
fromNH
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Rachel Ray
It was excellent. Wonderful customer service as well.
My Favorite BrandLe Creuset
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

thermonotor

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
bob80
fromGoodyear, AZ, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mario Batali
thermonitor is a failure, writing is so small you need a magnifying glass to read it.
also the photo and descriptionin the magazine illustrate pot and thermonitor for the same price.
then in the body & small print it states thermonotor not included. very very misleading. please take me off youy mailing list, and inform me how to send back the thermonotor.
ps the fry pot is excellent, and makes great french frys.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Thermometer!

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
jengel53221
fromMilwaukee, WI
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Great addition to your kitchen...super easy to use and easy to read. I would recommend!
My Favorite BrandAll-Clad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

digital oil and candy thermometer

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Quilterone
fromCamdenton MO
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
I make custard type ice cream/gelato and this thermometer is great to hold the desired cooking temp for the eggs in the ice cream. I highly recommend it for making ice cream/gelato.
My Favorite BrandCuisinart/KitchenAide
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Digital Oil & Candy Thermometer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Display can be better designed

PostedMay 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Prunella
fromSeattle, WA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
Thermometer is very accurate. I verified it with my other thermometers. My toffee was perfect
However, I was unable to set the thermometer for specifically 300 degrees. I had to use preset icons that were very very small and covered a range I needed the paper instructions to translate what the ranges were
I would have preferred setting for a specific temperature
My Favorite BrandLe Creuset
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>