Customer reviews for Nielsen-Massey Pure Extracts

Nielsen-Massey Pure Extracts

Nielsen-Massey Pure Extracts : The rich, concentrated flavor of these pure gluten-free extracts will bring dramatic new taste to cookies, cakes, muffins, icings and much more. Pure Chocolate Extract offers a rich and smooth chocolate flavor, without sweetness. It pairs well with vanilla, almonds, cinnamon, coffee, nuts, raspberries, maple, mint, coconut, cream cherries and bananas. Add a whisper of chocolate to cakes, cookies and icings, coffee, custards and puddings. Pure Almond Extract blends well with vanilla, chocolate, caramel, apples, coconut, cherries, cream, strawberries, raisins and more. Use it to lend the warm, mellow, nutty flavor of almonds to baked goods such as pies and pastries. Add it to confections, frostings and fillings for a fabulous finishing touch. Pure Orange Extract is the perfect partner to vanilla, chocolate, strawberries, pineapples and many other foods. Enhance rice, chicken and fish dishes, jams and marmalades. Add an orange burst to fruit pies, salad dressings, custards, gelatins, desserts and, of course, ice cream and sherbets. Pure Lemon Extract complements just about any dish! It has a special affinity for vanilla, orange and almond flavors, and is a natural with fish, pork and chicken. It also marries well with a variety of herbs such as parsley, rosemary, thyme, garlic and basil. Lemon extract can be added to anything from beverages to vegetables to desserts. Pure Peppermint Extract is made from the finest mint oils according to the strictest quality standards. Use it to flavor teas, enhance fruit salads or to complement chocolate in cakes, ice cream and icings. Peppermint also goes well with vanilla, and is a surprising accompaniment to savory dishes such as lamb, pork and poultry. Pure Coffee Extract is the essence of rich brewed coffee in a concentrated form. Use it to add subtle richness to a vanilla milkshake or hot chocolate. Add to hot fudge sauce as a topping for ice cream, or blend it into whipped cream as a frosting for brownies or pound cake. It's also a great addition to molten chocolate cakes, tiramisu or molasses cookies. Product Features Pure, flavorful extracts from natural botanic oils in an alcohol base Same stringent quality standards as Nielsen-Massey vanilla extracts Dramatic taste enhancement to almost any prepared food Used by premier bakers, chefs and fine restaurants Certified gluten-free
Overall rating:
4.824 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 17(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Nielsen-Massey Pure Extracts
Review 1 for Nielsen-Massey Pure Extracts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best ever

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Nqzo
fromWestport, CT, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I was very pleased to see Lemon extract in a 4 ounce bottle. Most places carryy just a one ounce. I was so thrilled not only with size but the price and when it came just had to bake with it.
made a favorite italian cookie and what a wonderful surprise the flavor was just as wonderful as the size and the price. So happy I ordered two not one.
Just so happy to have found this site on the internet I will be back again and again.
My Favorite BrandI have many but Chefs has become it for now since i just discovered it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nielsen-Massey Pure Extracts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Flavor

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromHouston, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I love this orange extract for Cranberry-Walnut bread. I used to be able to get it locally, but no one carries it anymore. Thank you, Chefs, for offering it.
My Favorite Brandfarmer's market or CSA
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nielsen-Massey Pure Extracts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Bella11
fromSpokane, WA, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
This perfect extract made it possible for me to WOW my friends with homemade peppermint bark. I followed the recipe from Chefs Catalog and delivered samples to my friends. Within 24 hours, 5 people asked for the recipe. They will no doubt be placing orders for the peppermint extract also!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nielsen-Massey Pure Extracts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Flavor

PostedAugust 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Lollie
fromMemphis, Tennessee
This is the real deal. I used Nielson-Massey pure Lemon Extract recently. Wonderful flavor, gives a taste as this lemon flavoring was extracted straight from a lemon tree. You can't go wrong with this one.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nielsen-Massey Pure Extracts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Almond Extract

PostedMarch 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Tesha
fromMI
Most Almond Extracts are made from artificial and natural almond. This is very high quality and good tasting Almond Extract, not imitation as many are. Almond Extract is very hard to find in most grocery stores and when you do find it, it's not usually Pure Almond Extract. Don't let the alcohol content confuse you. It's a by-product of the natural fermentation of the Almond Oil that's used to create the extract. The Shortbread that you make by adding just a little amount of Almond Extract makes all the difference in the world. This is sold at under market value for this quality of Almond Extract. Can't go wrong. God Bless all the cooks of the World that make eating the pleasure that it is.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nielsen-Massey Pure Extracts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The taste's of these

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Bythebay53
fromNew Jersey
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I made cookies for Valentine's Day with the Lemon and the Orange extracts and the flavor to the cookies were just yummy. I would recommend then to anyone that enjoys baking. I am sure I will be able to find other uses for this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nielsen-Massey Pure Extracts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to use

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
preppygirl56
fromMidland, MI, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Budget
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
these extracts are easy to use and very flavorful. i have used them to flavor homemade ice cream and cookies. this brand is high quality and gives a great result. i would highly recommend this brand.
My Favorite Brandbreville
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nielsen-Massey Pure Extracts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great orange flavor!

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
poundcakecrazy1
fromRaleigh, NC, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I have been using this extract in all kinds of sweet baked goods and the flavor is wonderful and very natural. I really like that it comes in the 4 ounce bottle and I would buy an 8 ounce bottle,, if available because I use so much of it. I also love the Madagascar vanilla and the vanilla bean paste from this company. Their products really make a difference in the things I make and the fact that they are gluten free is a plus.
My Favorite Brandcan't pick just one!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nielsen-Massey Pure Extracts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromNorth Brunswick, NJ
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
Chocolate extract is the best kept secret in the kitchen. It adds an extra layer of chocolate intensity when you only have one type of chocolate in your recipe. I use it mainly for chocolate cookies, but I am beginning to see many more uses for it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nielsen-Massey Pure Extracts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

extremely pleased

PostedJune 10, 2012
Customer avatar
jenniferaei
fromGrants Pass, OR
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I used this product in 2 cakes so far and am extremely pleased with the quality and flavor!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nielsen-Massey Pure Extracts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent taste

PostedJanuary 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Billie67
fromNew Jersey
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
First time using peppermint extract. Is really delicious and easy to use.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nielsen-Massey Pure Extracts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Smells and tastes authentic

PostedMarch 29, 2011
Customer avatar
NancyPJ5
fromCalifornia
I purchased the orange extract and was pleasantly surprised that the product smells and tastes like you would expect an orange to taste. It doesn't have that "fake orange flavor" you get with some flavorings of a lesser quality.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nielsen-Massey Pure Extracts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GIve your Tastebuds an Upgrade

PostedMarch 4, 2011
Customer avatar
TemperamentalChef
fromLancaster, PA
Nielsen-Massey Pure Extracts from Chefscatalog.com cannot be beat. I was so excited to find these fabulous new flavors and the package price for all six was the best on the web.
Each flavor lives up to the Nielsen-Massey high standard and brings pure flavor excitement to smoothies, cakes, cookies, beverages and more. Cheap imitation extracts do not compare to the taste and value of thisexquisitely made product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nielsen-Massey Pure Extracts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Huge bottle!

PostedNovember 30, 2010
Customer avatar
sindefy
fromPA
Well, it's almond extract, I'm not sure I can say it is THAT much better than your typical store bought. I will say that it is a very large quantity - so really in the end the price is about the same as store bought. I just hope I can use it up in the next five years (I think it took me about 10 years to use up my last bottle of almond extract and that was a third the size . . .).
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nielsen-Massey Pure Extracts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pure peppermint taste

PostedNovember 12, 2010
Customer avatar
WorldTraveler
fromBrooklyn, NY
I wanted mint extract specifically to make my favorite ice cream, mint chocolate chip. I first bought another mint extract which had both peppermint and spearmint flavors and it was a big mistake. This stuff tastes purely of peppermint and a little goes a long long way. My ice cream tastes amazing. Its pricey but worth it to get this pure flavor.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nielsen-Massey Pure Extracts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most Impressed by these extracts!

PostedJanuary 12, 2010
Customer avatar
Cathey
fromKnoxville, TN
The first Nielsen-Massey Pure Extract I tried was their vanilla. I was so amazed at the difference over the everyday brands. Basically it tastes "real" and truly feels like a splurge. I was so impressed by the vanilla, I have tried the Peppermint and the Almond. Whenever I make hot chocolate, I have to pour a smidgen in with the chocolate. First Rate!!! I've also used the almond in some mousse recipes and would never go back to any other brand.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nielsen-Massey Pure Extracts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lots of fun

PostedJanuary 31, 2009
Customer avatar
Chocomama
fromCorvallis, OR
I bought the set of extracts because I love Nielsen-Massey vanilla and thought the rest of their extracts would be good. It was expensive, but the flavors are beyond compare. I especially love the peppermint, lemon, orange, and almond. I was a little unsure if I would use coffee or chocolate extracts. What's the point, right? They actually give a rich deep flavor, even when making something like chocolate cake. Very interesting!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.