Customer reviews for Chef'sChoice SmartKettle

Chef'sChoice SmartKettle

Chef'sChoice SmartKettle : Serve tea, coffee or hot chocolate instantly. The advanced digital controls on this cordless stainless-steel kettle allow you to preset the temperature to your liking, keep it there for up to 40 minutes and store the last temperature selected. Sensors alert you when water is low. Auto shut-off. Easy-to-read LED display. Product Features Model: 688 Sleek, cordless stainless-steel kettle with corded power base unit Patented digital temperature controls with +2 degrees accuracy Keep-warm capability up to 40 minutes Last-temperature memory setting Low-water level warning Auto shut-off Easy-read LED F/C temperature display BPA free plastic Instruction booklet 1-year limited warranty
Overall rating:
4.043 / 5
4
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
18 out of 23(78%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Chef'sChoice SmartKettle
Review 1 for Chef'sChoice SmartKettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Device

PostedFebruary 26, 2011
Customer avatar
techmanninety
fromFairfax, VA
I bought the SmartKettle for my wife 3 months ago and she loves it. She enjoys a nice cup of hot tea, but didn't really like taking the time to make water for it. Now, it's soooooo easy.
Being able to select the proper water temperature is a wonderful feature, one you don't think you'll use unless you have it. All the thought in design and use of materials that went into making this product would make any costumer say "What an awesome device".
I would highly recommend this product:-)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Chef'sChoice SmartKettle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just what we needed

PostedNovember 30, 2010
Customer avatar
Opey
fromArizona
The best part about this pot is how it keeps the water at the temperature set for up to 40 minutes. This means I can get my husbands Tea water ready when I get up so the water is ready when he rises a half an hour later. We like different kinds of teas and have experimented with the recommended temperatures discovering how much better each is when the water is just the right temperature. Tasty Tasty Tasty. I like the beeps that tell me the stage of operation. The only think I don't like is not being able to see the water level easily. I have an RO unit I use on my counter and I have to look directly down into the pot to watch it fill. I have to use a flash light because it's too dark .The metal sides of the pot do not let in any light. But I've adapted. The pot is worth the effort!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Chef'sChoice SmartKettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Convenience!

PostedJune 2, 2010
Customer avatar
kirk1985
fromWarsaw, IN
Enjoying my tea is so much easier with the smartkettle! I don't have to try to guess the temperature of the water and have cold or burned white tea! I just love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Chef'sChoice SmartKettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Kettle!

PostedJanuary 24, 2009
Customer avatar
InTheWoods
fromMendocino, California
I got this about 2 weeks ago and I am very happy with it! You can set the water temperature you need and it shuts off automatically when it is reached. You always know the temperature before you pour. The instruction book tells you what temperatures are best for different kinds of tea. I really like the fact that when you pick up the kettle there is no cord to deal with. And, the length of cord that you don't need is hidden under the base. This makes for a nice and neat counter.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Chef'sChoice SmartKettle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for Tea

PostedJanuary 13, 2009
Customer avatar
fjcoverson
fromSnohomish, WA
I gave this as a gift, as it offers variable temperatures. for tea drinkers it offers temperatures for a perfect brew. My sister has enjoyed this upgrade in electric kettles, but is a bit annoyed at the sounds it reaches to let you know it as temperature or holding temperature, or turning off. She says she is getting used to the sounds, and loves efficency of kettle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Chef'sChoice SmartKettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A new favorite for my kitchen

PostedApril 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Cookin83
fromMinneapolils, Minnesota USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Friend
I love my new Smart Kettle. I like the fact the it will keep the water hot for the 40 minutes.
I love the fact that I can see the water temperature rising, which gives an idea of how close to the desired temp it is.
Suggested water for instant coffee was something like 185, but I felt it needed to be higher--to at least 195. This was easy to change.
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Chef'sChoice SmartKettle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great while it lasted

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromGreenfield, IN 46140, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I loved the ease that the water was heated to the desired temp..But it lasted one year one month just out side of the warranty. It was way to much money for that to happen!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Chef'sChoice SmartKettle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Tea Ketle

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Customer avatar
19KGM50
fromPittsburgh, PA, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
Heats water fast and to desired temperature. A little noisy during heating. Wish it would have come in a smaller size. Overall a good kettle albeit a little pricey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Chef'sChoice SmartKettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a must have

PostedFebruary 9, 2011
Customer avatar
bbqmikegrillmaster
fromny
I had a basic model of this type of pot which lasted 7 years of constant use. This new digital model is excellant and well built. Super fast heating yet surface and bottom stay cool.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Chef'sChoice SmartKettle
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

an OK purchase

PostedNovember 23, 2010
Customer avatar
barncat
fromOskaloosa, IA
This electric pot is quite noisy and very heavy, especially when filled. Filling is a little tricky because the lid doesn't go all the way back. It does heat water to boiling in about 2-3 minutes. A little pricey for all the noise and weight.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Chef'sChoice SmartKettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Pleased

PostedAugust 12, 2010
Customer avatar
kitts
fromBloomfield , MI
Smart kettle is and does everything I wanted from an elec. kettle. It is quiet, fast and accurate, excellent for delicate teas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Chef'sChoice SmartKettle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Waste Your Money

PostedJuly 26, 2010
Customer avatar
GreenTeaBrewer
fromMassachusetts
This kettle worked well for about three months, then it started behaving erratically: not heating water to the correct temperature, not stopping heating when the set temperature was reached, indicating that the water level was low when the kettle was fully filled, and so on. Finally, about one month after the year warranty ran out, it died.
For a few cents less than $100, I expected higher quality than this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Chef'sChoice SmartKettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SmartKettle

PostedJuly 13, 2010
Customer avatar
Nicholas
fromDenver, CO
This is a great teapot! Smart, in that it keeps your water at your set temp so no need to keep checking so your water doesn't boil. Easy read out and easy to use...after all you are boiling water!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Chef'sChoice SmartKettle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A Good Idea Poorly Executed

PostedMay 23, 2010
Customer avatar
dee2
fromCA
For openers, the lid doesn't really open far enough to get the kettle under the faucet without lifting it with your other hand (the one you would use to turn on the faucet). It was frequently necessary to restart the cycle several times before the water reached the desired temperature and it had a nasty habit of shutting down with a low water indication when it was in fact full. About a month after the warranty expired, so did the kettle. RIP
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Chef'sChoice SmartKettle
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good Concept, Poor Durability

PostedMay 12, 2010
Customer avatar
leicar7
fromCharleston, SC
Finding this product made my inventing it unnecessary. I've had this now for almost a year, and it does warm water to the desired temperature.
However, the engineering lacks in two aspects thus far. Firstly, the covering on the control panel is a sheet of plasticy material with adhesive on the back. It separates from the panel, exposing the apparatus for the control "buttons." Some other type of adhesive needs to be used.
Even more vexing, though, is that the button on the handle that opens the top is not sturdy. Someone in my household tried to open the kettle and managed to force the button down into the hole and cause its support to collapse. The result is that it is difficult to impossible now to open the top without using something to poke into the hole to release the catches that hold shut the top. Clearly the top release mechanism needs to be reengineered and made much more robust and reliable.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Chef'sChoice SmartKettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chefs choice smart kettle

PostedApril 23, 2010
Customer avatar
bagpipes
fromIowa
This kettle is so fast and easy. It boils water in just minutes for a nice cup of my favorite beverage. I bought one for my sister since I love mine so much. Good investment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Chef'sChoice SmartKettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saved my home

PostedApril 19, 2010
Customer avatar
quiltkid
fromSoutheastern OH
glad I can leave home and not worry if I left the kettle on...I burned up not one but two Cruset teakettles and fumes in the house lingered and made breathing difficult....when I read a review and someone said this had happened to her 3 times, I decided not to wait for the third time myself.....Its easy to lift even when full, easy to fill and convenient to use it makes a difference in how the tea tastes....good purchase, even if its rather pricey...hopefully if it lasts well it will turn out to be economical over time...I use it every day , often twice a day....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Chef'sChoice SmartKettle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality product

PostedApril 5, 2010
Customer avatar
4evrhudson
fromNo. Woods Wisconsin
Like the product very much. There are two minor issues: It's very slow to reach its final degree setting---once it's within 6-7 degrees of setting. It also goes to a serious boil well before it reaches pre-set. Presumably this has to do with the altitude here compared to sea-level.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Chef'sChoice SmartKettle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Second purchse of Chef's Choice Kettle

PostedMarch 16, 2010
Customer avatar
Dameron
fromGreensboro, NC
I previously had the simple version of the Chef's Choice Kettle, which I used daily for over 3 years. The lid broke and I continued using it until I purchased the SmartKettle. I didn't realize how nice it would be to have the temperature options. It really does make a difference in terms of tea. When using the temp. recommendations, my tea (or coffee) tastes better and stays hot longer. The only thing I didn't expect was the somewhat annoying beeper. I already have too many beepers going off in my kitchen. Oh well, I'm used to it now. The feature that keeps the temp. steady for 40 minutes is very nice. Often, I turn the kettle on and walk away to do a few things. It's nice to know I have that time, and yes, that little beep lets me know to get it while it's still hot. I would like it even more if I could pour my cup and not have to reset the heat mode, but I guess that's a safety concern. Speaking from experience, having burned at least 3 traditional tea kettles, this SmartKettle is the way to go!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Chef'sChoice SmartKettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

For Tea Lovers

PostedMarch 12, 2010
Customer avatar
Noreen
fromRosendale, NY
We own a bed and breakfast in upstate New York. Before their arrival we ask our guests their preference - tea or coffee. For tea drinkers we offer a wide selection of black, green or herbal teas. The Chef's Choice kettle has certainly been a "smart" choice for us. It quickly heats water to the perfect temperature and keeps it at the chosen temperature for a second pot. Mornings are hectic. Tea brewing is simple.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>