Customer reviews for Fagor Duo 5-Piece Pressure Cooker Set

Fagor Duo 5-Piece Pressure Cooker Set

Fagor Duo 5-Piece Pressure Cooker Set : Listed as Best Pressure Cooker by Cook's Illustrated magazine in 2005, this durable stainless-steel set with aluminum-encapsulated base can reduce cooking time up to 70% and help you create healthier meals. Meats, chicken, veggies, soups and more cook to perfection in minutes, thanks to the airless internal environment. Two independent overpressure release valves ensure no excess pressure buildup and an exclusive triple-valve safety system with handle lock prevents opening before all the pressure is released. Set includes 8-quart pot, 4-quart pot, pressure-cooker lid and tempered glass lid that fit both pots, and a pasta/steamer basket with support trivet. NOTE: Induction unit is not included in this set. Product Features Model: 918013142 Durable 18/10 stainless-steel construction with black handles Aluminum-encapsulated base on pots for even heat distribution Exclusive triple-valve safety system with safety lock on handle to prevent opening before all pressure is released Two independent overpressure release valves ensure for no excess pressure buildup Two pressure settings: low or high Visual pressure indicator Includes: 8-quart pot, 4-quart pot, stainless-steel steamer basket and trivet, tempered glass lid, stainless steel lid and instruction/recipe book Compatible with gas, electric, ceramic and induction cook tops 10-year warranty Made in China
Overall rating:
4.826 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
23 out of 23(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Fagor Duo 5-Piece Pressure Cooker Set
Review 1 for Fagor Duo 5-Piece Pressure Cooker Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's everything they said it was

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Coll
fromEnfield, NH, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I loved the meals my mother made in her pressure cooker, however it was always "blowing up". I was hesitant to try a pressure cooker even though they said the cookers have changed and are safer. I took a chance and I am not disappointed. It was easy, fast, the food was delicious and it did NOT "blow up" . It was everything they said and more. I will be using my pressure cooker frequently.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fagor Duo 5-Piece Pressure Cooker Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

high quality

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
FLKitchenguy
fromFlorida
My Cooking Level:Advanced
first pressure cooker I've owned. Very high quality build Good instructions. Cooks food fast.LOVE the steam release knob on the lid.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fagor Duo 5-Piece Pressure Cooker Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is great, safe and easy to use.

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Suzie46
fromFort Worth, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I like this pressure cookers so much I have given them as gifts to my sister and my four children. It cuts the cooking time for many meals that used to take all day.
I used to have one of the models circa 1968 but was always afraid it might blow up. With this new model I can cook large items as well as smaller items because it comes in with two pots. Its great for stews, beans and even roasting chicken.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fagor Duo 5-Piece Pressure Cooker Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First ever pressure cooker

PostedJune 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Larryfromwilton
fromWilton, CA
This pressure cooker was easy to use. The instructions were easy to understand. I felt safe and confident when using it for the first time. I made lamb shanks with vegetables and gravy. They turned out perfect. I feel this was a very good investment.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fagor Duo 5-Piece Pressure Cooker Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fagor Pressure Cooker, so easy to use!

PostedMarch 16, 2011
Customer avatar
Marsh62
fromLake Forest IL
I made chicken consisting of two legs, two thighs, two breast halves and two wings, with onions, tomatoes, sage, rosemary and parsley with some chicken stock. Turned out very well. Interesting thing is the breast meat was tender and juicy which is hard to achieve with other types of cooking. I am surprised how easy it was to use a pressure cooker. It also cleaned up easily and well.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fagor Duo 5-Piece Pressure Cooker Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lives up to the reputation!

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Zippy312
fromOrange, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
I purchased the Fagor Duo 5-Piece Pressure Cooker Set based on the recommendation by Cooks's Illustrated Magazine. We were using an old aluminum pressure cooker and wanted to replace it. The quality of Fagor is wonderful. This set provides so much versatility. Everything we have cooked in the pressure cookers has turned out great. After using ours for a week, we sent my brother and his wife a set. They had never used a pressure cooker and now they are hooked!
My Favorite BrandAll-Clad
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fagor Duo 5-Piece Pressure Cooker Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

boat cooking

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromMechanicsville, VA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
Providing a fine meal while cruising can be difficult due to the lack of room in many galley areas even in clam conditions. These wonderful pressure cookers are bulit to withstand any test of durability and I look forward to many years of use. The cookbook that accompanied the pans is wonderful and small enough to provide excellent information at a glance. THANK YOU CHEFS!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fagor Duo 5-Piece Pressure Cooker Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this Item

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Grandma54
fromWarrior, AL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
I have been looking for a Pressure Cooker for quite sometime. This one is not only a Pressure Cooker it can be used as a steamer. Just the right size and top of the line quality!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fagor Duo 5-Piece Pressure Cooker Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Pressure Cookers as well as pots and pan

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Dave007
fromCentral California Sierra Nevada Mountains
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
Living at 5300 foot elevation cooking has been somewhat a problem. With these pressure cookers the problem is solved. Now we can precisely control temperature and cooking times.
We combined these cookers with the Max Burton Deluxe Induction Cooktop. Control and use are extremely easy to use. We plan on using these products in our travel trailer too.
What a relief. The food is great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fagor Duo 5-Piece Pressure Cooker Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pressure cooker and a remarkable value!

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromHarpers Ferry, WV, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
Used the pressure cooker for the first time last night---a black bean chili recipe from the Cook's Illustrated cookbook included as a bonus in addition to the 5-pc set. Cooker is simple to use, the manual is clear and well written. The chili was quite flavorful, and saved a lot of time. Cooking dry beans (cannellini etc.) has always frustrated me in the past---this pressure cooker is the solution. The 5-piece set is an excellent value---the 4-quart cooker with glass lid can be quite useful as a sauté pan---and the cookbook included as an extra to the set is helpful and an attractive bonus----a better deal than buying through Amazon.
My Favorite Brandle Crueset
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fagor Duo 5-Piece Pressure Cooker Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FAGOR DUO PRESSURE COOKER

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Customer avatar
usn06
fromnc
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Giada De Laurentis
I have used it several times a week. Really easy to use and the cooking times are quite accurate. It is so nice not to boil out all to minerals boiling vegetables in water. I now can hardly wait to do chicken wings and pork ribs pretty soon.
My Favorite BrandDEL MONTE
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fagor Duo 5-Piece Pressure Cooker Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love at first sight

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Kitchenchemistwannabe
fromHillsboro, IL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Totally love this product for the quality in design and construction. The aluminum core keeps things from scorching and with the glass lid, these pots very versatile. A nice little extra for me is that the pressure regulator is integral to the lid and I don't have this little piece that can fall down behind the stove or in the disposal. I will be ordering a second pressure lid because I use pressure cookers a lot and would like to be able to use both sizes at the same time.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fagor Duo 5-Piece Pressure Cooker Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Pressure Cooker I ever bought

PostedMay 11, 2013
Customer avatar
ragbelf
fromNew Haven, CT
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Dad
I just received the Duo Combi and I think that this a not only the best pressure cooker I have ever had, but the fact that you get the two pots is a really great value. Don't be mislead - the four quart looks small, but I cooked a 2.5 pot roast in it. I was accustomed to older models of pressure cookers and while I have never had an "explosion", my mother did and when it blew, we had food on the walls, the ceiling and floors. The important thing is to take care of the gasket and follow the directions on the care of the pressure cooker. You can do a lot with a pressure cooker and save a lot of time and best of all, you don't lose all of the nutrients. I learned how to cook using a pressure cooker at 8 years old. I have one recipe for Swedish Pot Roast which was a family tradition from the time I was a child. This recipe cannot be made any other way, despite the fact that some people have tried to cook it in a slow cooker. At 64, pressure cooking is my preferred method of cooking. I live in the North East and love fresh vegetables when in season and go to an organic farm and the pressure cooker allows me to blanch the vegetables and then freeze them and I have fresh vegetables all winter. Great for making tomatoe sauce too!
My only advice is to buy extra gaskets directly from Fagor and if you want to get a second pressure cooker lid for the other pot, you can order it from the manufacturer as well. Just go to their website.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fagor Duo 5-Piece Pressure Cooker Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Essential for family's speed dining

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer avatar
cookal
fromCrossville, TN, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Budget
I purchased this item for my daughter-in-law after she mentioned wanting a pressure cooker. Based on my own frequent use of this same item, I gave a new one to her. She's thrilled to have the whole package of parts.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Fagor Duo 5-Piece Pressure Cooker Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really well made

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Kris74
fromGrand Rapids, MI, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I am really pleased with my purchase. I shopped for a sturdy, well made product and found one! Very safe to use too. The included cook book is not very good though. It leaves out needed information. Plan on buying one to get started.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Fagor Duo 5-Piece Pressure Cooker Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice pressure cooker

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Customer avatar
ThomasBegani
fromSan Francisco
My Cooking Level:Professional Chef
The equipment is nice and sturdy. The gasket comes in and out easily for easy cleaning. The recipe book and instruction book were helpful. The one UNPLEASANT surprise is that they give you two pressure cooker pots but only one pressure cooker top. So you can't use them both at the same time. Other than that it is a solid purchase.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Fagor Duo 5-Piece Pressure Cooker Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Real time saver

PostedNovember 17, 2010
Customer avatar
Reilly
fromWeems, VA
The thought of cooking with steam under pressure caused me to be a bit concerned, but all the safety features and an easy to use instruction book made it quite simple. Just follow the instructions and dinner will soon be ready.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Fagor Duo 5-Piece Pressure Cooker Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gotta get more of these!

PostedOctober 9, 2010
Customer avatar
jairusgma
fromIdaho
I have been cooking/baking my entire life, but never this quickly or easily! I remember the old 'wobble top' pressure cookers. My mother would make my brother and I stay out of the kitchen when using hers because she was afraid of the thing blowing-up! It never did. So, I never bothered to look into getting a pressure cooker. A friend bought these from your company and showed me how to use them. I was so impressed, I came home and ordered this set that day!
I love how easy these are to use. I have 'hand problems' and was afraid I would have difficulty using these - but, no problem at all. This cookware is so user friendly - I LOVE them. I use them almost daily. I'm ordering a set for my daughter for Christmas this year. I know she is going to love them. I've cooked as little as 1 cup lentils in these, and they came out great. Also cooked a pudding/cake - that was delicious! The possibilities are endless!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Fagor Duo 5-Piece Pressure Cooker Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Single Most Important "pot"

PostedJune 9, 2009
Customer avatar
puggles
fromillinois
I've been using pressure cookers since I learned to cook. This set is especially wonderful for its versatility. The smaller pot allows for smaller items, e.g. beans etc. rather than larger items, e.g. entire chicken.
The second lid is quite useful when you dont need the pressurized aspect and allow monitoring at the same time.
The basket is can be used as a steamer in addition to 'strainer"
These integrated pressure regulators make use of pressure cookers nearly idiot proof. The newer silicone seals are also a real plus.
Unfortunately, too many are unfamiliar with pressure cookers. (note their use on Iron Chef America when they are trying to get some item that usually takes hours and hours done within their compressed time frame.) It makes short work of all but browning.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Fagor Duo 5-Piece Pressure Cooker Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Under Pressure "No More"

PostedJanuary 21, 2009
Customer avatar
Rushed
fromBahama, NC
I think these cookers are the best thing since sliced bread.
I am a person who decides at the last minute what to cook for dinner. With these cookers I can have dinner ready in 30-40 minutes,including prep time.They are much more safe then the older versions of Pressure cookers. With the two sizes you have a choice in a small amount or large amount for a crowd.Chicken takes 15 min.Stew meat 20min.
Not only are the cookers great for meats but vegetables are a snap. I can have perfectly cooked frozen green beans in 2 minutes after pressure is reached.
Also if you are not in a hurry they are great pots for cooking.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>