Customer reviews for Calphalon No-Peek Waffle Maker

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at CHEFS Catalog.

Calphalon No-Peek Waffle Maker

Calphalon No-Peek Waffle Maker : No more constant lifting the lid to check on your waffles. This intelligent waffle maker monitors level of doneness and features a progress-indicator light that shows at a glance exactly where waffles are in the cooking process. Makes 4 extra-large square Belgian waffles at once. Nonstick for easy release and cleanup. Stores flat or upright. Product Features Model: HE400WM Stainless-steel exterior No-peek, at-a-glance progress indicator lights OptiHeat system for premium heating performance High-performance bronze nonstick surface for excellent release and easy cleanup Makes 4 extra-large square Belgian waffles Flat or upright storage 1-year full replacement/5-year nonstick warranty
Overall rating:
4.604 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(101 reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 101 reviews
5 Stars
81
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
4
75 out of 81(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Calphalon No-Peek Waffle Maker
Review 1 for Calphalon No-Peek Waffle Maker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Waffle Maker

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromND
I cannot say enough good things about this waffle maker! The first time out of the box this waffle maker performed flawlessly. Perfectly cooked, and did not stick. I read in one review that one should only use about 1 1/2 cups of batter instead of two and I would recommend the same. Just a little over 1 1/2 cups of batter worked great. Highly recommend to anyone considering this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Calphalon No-Peek Waffle Maker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Repurchase eminent

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
shoshanna719
fromTallahassee, FL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
I had the pleasure of owning this waffle maker for a couple years then I moved and it got lost in the shuffle. I am hoping that Santa will be nice and bring it to me this year or I will be buying it after the holidays. It made the most perfect waffles and since I am waffle making challenged even I could make PERFECT waffles. It is true not the "no peeking" part. It makes this challenge so easy to overcome. Hurry up Santa!! I miss my waffle maker... :-)
My Favorite BrandKitchenAid
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Calphalon No-Peek Waffle Maker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best!

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Customer avatar
HTheresa1954
fromLanghorne, PA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
My very old waffle iron was still working but, frankly, I was just too lazy to tackle the enormous amount of gunk that had it had collected over many years of waffle baking. Part of the problem, I believe, is the gunk that comes from vegetable sprays. Along came the Calphalon No-Peek Waffle Maker which needs no greasing or spraying thus eliminating the gunky build up. Using the correct amount - two cups - of batter keeps this waffle maker from spilling to the outside thus eliminating yet another cause for gunky build up. Then we have the actual waffle making aspect which is terrific! The waffles come out a bit thicker than the run of the mill waffle makers and slightly less thick than a Belgium waffle. Perfectly crisp and cakey! I am truly impressed with this product and hope it lasts for a very long time!
My Favorite BrandCalphalon
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Calphalon No-Peek Waffle Maker
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent waffle maker, poor documentation

PostedJanuary 29, 2010
Customer avatar
NormsMom
fromVirginia
At first, I had a very difficult time getting waffles to turn out correctly with this iron. They would not get crispy without burning, stuck to each side of the iron, and were not very fluffy. Solution? Ignore the Calphalon documentation.
Once I switched recipes, waffles did not stick, came out fluffy, and were crisp on the outside.
I use this to make large batches to freeze and don't have to buy pre-made waffles for a quick breakfast anymore.
Love that it locks closed & stores vertically!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Calphalon No-Peek Waffle Maker
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Dissappointed

PostedFebruary 3, 2009
Customer avatar
Rallymomma
fromWashington DC
My 12 year old no name waffle iron broke so I was excited to buy a new one with lots of bells and whistles. Unfortunately this waffle iron did not live up to my expections. Even after many tries, different types of batter, different heating settings I was unable to make a waffle that didn't stick. Futhermore my husband likes crusty waffles but only the bottom of the waffle was crusty and the top soggy. My son likes soggy waffles but I was unable to make waffles to his liking even with the different control settings. There was no way I could make a waffle for a guest, I had to pick them to pieces to get them out of the iron. And finally out of dispair I went against the instructions and tried cooking spray. They waffles STILL stuck. We have returned the waffle iron and will try another brand.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Calphalon No-Peek Waffle Maker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really Best Waffle Iron Ever!

PostedJanuary 8, 2009
Customer avatar
cayorda
fromNewark, DE
I was nervous about getting a waffle iron after my recent purchase experience. I recently tried the All Clad $200 waffle iron and was so disappointed that my waffles weren't crisp, even using the recommended recipe, that I was hesitant about trying any others. The Calphalon is unbelievabley wonderful. Waffles were crisp, heats up quickly, cleans easily and best of all it stores so easily and doesn't take up much room, unlike the All Clad model. Definitely recommend it and the price actually makes it seem like a bargain.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Calphalon No-Peek Waffle Maker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best waffle iron every!!!!

PostedDecember 21, 2008
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromVancouver, Washington
WOW!! I purchased this waffle iron about 2 months ago. It is worth every $. It is slick. Chimes when it is ready to fill. Chimes when the waffles are done. They don't stick. It is the best waffle iron that I have every used. I usually don't write reviews on things but felt compelled on this iron since it is so wonderful. Don't shy away due to the price. It is worth it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Calphalon No-Peek Waffle Maker
Based on the average of (94) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.6 / 5
4.6 / 5
69 of 74 recommend this product