Customer reviews for Lodge Color Enamel Cast Iron Dutch Oven, 6 qt.

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at CHEFS Catalog.

Lodge Color Enamel Cast Iron Dutch Oven, 6 qt.

Lodge Color Enamel Cast Iron Dutch Oven, 6 qt. : Cast from molten iron in individual sand molds, each piece features two layers of baked-on enamel. The 6-quart size is perfect for soups, stews or buttery peach cobblers, and easily goes from stovetop or oven to table to freezer. The deep colors make them excellent for serving. Product Features Oven-safe to 400 degrees F Freezer-safe Tightly fitting lid seals in moisture and the knob is oven-safe up to 400 degrees F Chip-resistant enamel cleans easily. No seasoning required. FDA approved Limited Lifetime Warranty.
Overall rating:
4.889 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
36 out of 36(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Lodge Color Enamel Cast Iron Dutch Oven, 6 qt.
Review 1 for Lodge Color Enamel Cast Iron Dutch Oven, 6 qt.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE THIS PAN!

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Arwhiz
fromErie PA
I have always wanted a coated cast iron dutch oven. I purchased this one, & I am so pleased with it! It does a fantastic job on everthing I have tried with it. I could not be happier. It is so easy to clean & I love the color. I only wish I had bought it much sooner!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lodge Color Enamel Cast Iron Dutch Oven, 6 qt.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for the price

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Customer avatar
ShadJack1
fromCharles City, IA
I have been looking for awhile at enameled dutch ovens. I wanted to purchase 2, one for myself and one for my daughter in law, so the thought of spending in excess of 500 bucks (for the higher end French made pot) was a little intimidating. We are both (my daughter in law and myself) very happy with the quality of this product at a much lower price point. We've both used the pot for numerous dishes and it cleans easily and cooks very evenly. Lodge has had a great reputation for years among 'old Boy Scouts' for the dutch ovens we used camping. This product follows that same quality. Thanks for having it in the catalog!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lodge Color Enamel Cast Iron Dutch Oven, 6 qt.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Stuff

PostedOctober 22, 2010
Customer avatar
earlyb
fromAckerman, MS
An overall excellent product. Quality of workmanship is what you would expect from Lodge. It heats evenly and uniformly and worked better than I expected on a glass stovetop. Equal to or surpasses similar products at three times the price.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lodge Color Enamel Cast Iron Dutch Oven, 6 qt.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great multi-purpose pot

PostedJanuary 29, 2010
Customer avatar
sarah7580
fromBirmingham, AL
I received one as a Christmas gift (in blue - so pretty) and love it. I use it at least 2-3 times a week. I have used it to sear, braise, and roast and it's a champ at everything I've tried. Although you can't put it in the dishwasher, the enamel coating makes it very easy to clean. The only con is its weight which is expected any time you are dealing with cast iron, and the pros outweigh this con by far. I would definitely buy this again & again, and it makes a great gift, too.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lodge Color Enamel Cast Iron Dutch Oven, 6 qt.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lodge Dutch Oven

PostedJanuary 16, 2010
Customer avatar
cosmos
fromWillamette Valley, OR
Fantastic product. I enjoy making one dish meals and this is the best pot to use for all of these types of recipes. Stovetop or oven, you will get good results.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lodge Color Enamel Cast Iron Dutch Oven, 6 qt.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Kitchen Staple

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Customer avatar
ProChefsDad
fromDallas, GA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Dad
If you can handle one, you NEED an enameled cast iron dutch oven. It is the all-purpose stove-top-to-oven pot. Deep fat fry, soups, gumbos, chili and stews, casseroles, including breakfasts, roasting self-basting meats, and anything else you can think of doing.
If you camp with a Dutch Oven, imagine all the options without having to season the pot and being able to use soap for clean-up.
To be sure, these are heavy beasts, not for the frail grandmother, but it is that weighty cast iron under the surface that provides such excellent heat distribution and temperature stability. The durability of cast iron makes it so versatile and the enamel makes cooking acidic sauces no big deal to the cast iron. The 6 qt. size is plenty large for all but very large families or groups and a nice compromise of weight vs. capacity.
Lodge is USA legend in cast iron and great deals can be had for these items, vs. the more pricy French products. Enjoy, but be sure you can lift it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lodge Color Enamel Cast Iron Dutch Oven, 6 qt.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

6 qt. dutch oven

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromNew York, NY
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
I received the dutch oven in perfect condition. However, I had to return it because of the weight. I am an elderly woman and didn't realize it was just too heavy for me.
Too bad, I really liked it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lodge Color Enamel Cast Iron Dutch Oven, 6 qt.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Red lodge cast iron Dutch oven

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromNew Orleans
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
Works well and easy to clean. Need both hands to pour out contents, so could use/need a third hand.
My Favorite BrandLodge products
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lodge Color Enamel Cast Iron Dutch Oven, 6 qt.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Something I should have bought a long time ago

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Macey
fromDartmouth, MA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Rachel Ray
I'm very pleased with this purchase. The meat cooked in this pan comes out so tender. I've made beef stew, braised pork ribs and chicken soup in it. I find a big difference from when I cooked these types of meals in my regular cookware. The pan is a little costly, but its worth every cent.
My Favorite BrandLodge
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lodge Color Enamel Cast Iron Dutch Oven, 6 qt.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like it!!

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Customer avatar
beerlover98
fromSummerton, SC 29148, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Rachel Ray
My new dutch oven is great and so beautiful!!. I cooked one of my favorite recipes, Oax tails, and turned out great and delicious!! Thank you!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lodge Color Enamel Cast Iron Dutch Oven, 6 qt.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cast iron dutch oven

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Jill50
fromGreensboro, NC
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
How did I cook before without this? Four meals this week alone proved that this was a purchase I should have made years ago. Product is of excellent quality, easy cooking and clean-up and looks great. Held off purchasing because I thought my only quality option was LeCreuset, but I think this is equal in quality and appearance while offering a better value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lodge Color Enamel Cast Iron Dutch Oven, 6 qt.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lodge 6 qt. Dutch Oven

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Love2cookLee
fromPensacola, FL, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
I love it, dose everything I need braising, roasting, soups and sauces. I have used many types but this one is more responsive to my glass top stove.
My Favorite BrandDependable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lodge Color Enamel Cast Iron Dutch Oven, 6 qt.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJune 8, 2012
Customer avatar
steve13
fromLos Angeles, CA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Excellent quality. Great price. I have several Lodge products and they are all great. Highly recommend
My Favorite Brandlodge - all clad
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lodge Color Enamel Cast Iron Dutch Oven, 6 qt.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedApril 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Diane9
fromVermont, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
This enamel cast iron was exactly what I had been looking for. It was the perfect size, for all types of dishes that I cook. I love the natural color and style that can be taken from the oven to the table. It has a very heavy lid and yet it isn't uncomfortable to handle. And most of all does everything in the cooking range that I wanted and needed. It will be a part of my kitchen collection for years to come and will be passed on to my daughter.
Thank you
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lodge Color Enamel Cast Iron Dutch Oven, 6 qt.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's about time!

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Kake
fromArkansas, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Great Dutch Oven. It does everything any of the other brands claim, but at a much better price. The color seemed deep and beautiful, but when it arrived, a little dull looking in the color, but still nice.
My Favorite BrandCusinart, Lodge, OXO, Samsung, Jen Air
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lodge Color Enamel Cast Iron Dutch Oven, 6 qt.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Dutch oven cooks so evenly!

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Customer avatar
MsFreddy
fromSebastian, FL
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
My first use was a potato leek soup on top of the stove. Nice and even cooking of the leeks with no scorching!
Next dish will be a mediterranean chicken with olives and prunes in the oven. I look forward to being able to brown the chicken on top of the stove and then finish off the dish slowly in the oven.
So glad we bought this!
My Favorite BrandNo favorites, but I do rely on Consumer Reports before buying and product, as I did with my Lodge Dutch Oven.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lodge Color Enamel Cast Iron Dutch Oven, 6 qt.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Customer avatar
kathy60
fromChattanooga TN
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Martyr
This is exactly what my daughter wants for Christmas. The color is great and it doesn't weigh a ton! Also, the price was right. Since it is a gift, I won't be able to answer some of the review pro/con questions.
My Favorite BrandI don't have one
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lodge Color Enamel Cast Iron Dutch Oven, 6 qt.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has great quality and versatility !

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Mafu
fromColorado
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I have really enjoyed cooking with this dutch oven. It heats evenly and retains the heat. Having so much room it is great for stew, pasta, and soups.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Lodge Color Enamel Cast Iron Dutch Oven, 6 qt.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PRODUCT !!!

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Customer avatar
Dane
fromLA, CA
I just got the pot and have not had a chance to use it yet, but appearance wise it's exactly as advertised.
It's a very solidly built pot.
It's heavy, so keep this in mind if you plan on using it a lot and have trouble lifting items.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Lodge Color Enamel Cast Iron Dutch Oven, 6 qt.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Just what I wanted!

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Customer avatar
EvRGreen
fromTallahassee, FL
I've shopped around and this is the best I could hope for - quality and price. It's perfect for my solid top range and just the right size. I also appreciated the choice of colors although that is a minor thing. It's heavy but is supposed to be and I can't wait to load it up for a dinner when my family visits. I have a few good recipes including Turkey Chili that will cook & simmer the best in this pot.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>