Customer reviews for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Precision Pierced Colander

CHEFS Stainless-Steel Precision Pierced Colander

CHEFS Stainless-Steel Precision Pierced Colander : Drain water away without losing a single piece of couscous or quinoa. Made of high quality stainless-steel these colanders are designed for rinsing very small foods like lentils and mung beans and large enough to handle big jobs like boiled potatoes, pasta and more. CHEFS signature collection of professional-grade kitchen tools, cookware, bakeware, dinnerware and more, is available only at CHEFS Catalog. You will love the selection -- meticulously crafted and tested to delight the most discerning cook, these tools deliver exceptional quality, performance and durability in the kitchen. Product Features Precision pierced stainless-steel. Footed base keeps colander 1" above countertop, work or drain surface. Ideal for rinsing, draining and steaming. Completely drains liquid from boiling vegetables.
Overall rating:
4.437 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(71 reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 71 reviews
5 Stars
52
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
4
62 out of 71(87%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Precision Pierced Colander
Review 1 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Precision Pierced Colander
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Updating can't live without tools!

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Customer avatar
TexasEllie
fromCA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I have always believed that you get what you pay for! I always do my research and comparison shopping. Time & time again I keep going back to Chefs. Their products are unique, hard to find and good quality! Free shipping is one more positive aspect. This is one of several items that I purchased recently!
My Favorite BrandCruset
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Precision Pierced Colander
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High quality colanders

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Customer avatar
turkat68
fromWestern North Carolina
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I am very pleased with these colanders. The holes, which I first thought would be too small, are perfect for all sorts of foods -- spaghetti, beans, blueberries, thawed spinach from a box... They are strong and very easy to clean as their surfaces are smooth regardless of their holes. It's nice to have them stand alone, too; my previous "colander" for years had been a large strainer with a handle.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Precision Pierced Colander
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really works well

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Customer avatar
AltGirlTX
fromTexas, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I specifically purchased these colanders for keeping small pieces in the colander while draining, and they definitely do that well. Although I haven't used it for something as small as quinoa, it's been able to keep small pieces of vegetable from slipping through.
I purchased both sizes (the 3qt and 5qt), and I'd say the 3qt is perfect for most people who cook for one to three people. It holds enough pasta for side dishes for four or a meal for two or three.
Overall, I'd purchase these again.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Precision Pierced Colander
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So easy to clean!

PostedOctober 13, 2011
Customer avatar
VeganChef
fromPA
It was time to retire the ugly plastic colander I bought at Walmart more than 10 years ago. I was looking for an upgrade rather than just a replacement. So, I decided to go with the Endurance 5 qt. The first thing I used it for was to drain angel hair pasta. None of the noodles slipped through the holes & it was so easy to clean. The plastic one was such a pain to clean & noodles always slipped through. It looks like the surface would be rough, but it is very smooth to the touch. Oh, and it looks super cool too! I would say it is money well spent because I don't think it will need to be replaced. And the ease of use & cleaning is worth every penny.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Precision Pierced Colander
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy with purchase

PostedJune 29, 2011
Customer avatar
AuntBubD
fromDelray, WV
I love this colander because it is so easy to clean. My husband loves to cook pastas for salads, etc., and it so easy to clean the starch from pastas without soaking and scouring. I'm going to order the smaller one also -- and retire my old slotted colander.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Precision Pierced Colander
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

colenders so so

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer avatar
john50
fromSaugerties, NY, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Gordon Ramsay
these 2 colenders are a good size,they drain well,
but the quality is not as good as i hoped.very light duty and handles seem weak
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Precision Pierced Colander
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A necessart gem

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromNew Franklin, OH, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
This colander is absolutely wonderful for draining large quantities of pasta, potatoes, noodles, vegetables. I have a pasta cooker, but find this works just as well. Love the size and the fact that nothing slips through the piercing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Precision Pierced Colander
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I'm a little disappointed

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
DebbieJ
fromWashington, DC, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
My husband ordered me the smaller of your two stainless-steel colanders for Christmas. It was so small that we returned and upgraded to the larger-- but this new one is HUGE and WIDE, and not at all as pictured in the above photo of both items. I was looking for a deeper colander like the larger one shown above, but one I got was much flatter. I didn't want to disappoint my husband and return a second time, so I kept it. Please ensure that your photos accurately match the items you are selling. I like the stainless steel and size of drainage holes, however.
My Favorite BrandAll-Clad
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Precision Pierced Colander
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
suelh
fromUpper Peninsula MI, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Vegetarian
I am very disappointed with this product! The first time I washed the small colander after using it the handle broke off it. Need I say more.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Precision Pierced Colander
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
bhow
fromNashville, TN
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
This isn't an item I use every day, but when I use it, I love it! I especially like the size. It's big enough to hold all the broth I need to separate, eliminating the need to chill the juices and wait for the fat to solidify.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Precision Pierced Colander
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this colander

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromParker, CO
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
These colanders are the best. They are heavy duty and don't bend like some cheap colanders do. They clean up quickly and easily. I own several sizes and they are a must in any cook's kitchen.
My Favorite BrandLe Creuset
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Precision Pierced Colander
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Buy this Colander

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Brinc
fromNew Bedford, MA, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
I wasn't sure whether this would work for me based on some of the other reviews...which are kind of inaccurate and somewhat misleading. Read on and I'll clarify; the colander is very sturdy considering how much open area there is, the wide and squat shape increases draining area and therefore things drain very quickly and completely, and the size of the holes works well with things as small as French Green Lentils and Faro. All in all, rather than thinking of this as a colander, think of it as a footed strainer. I was pleasantly surprised by how nice this item is. I'd definitely recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Precision Pierced Colander
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally a colander that doesn't tip over

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Bigfishtrap
fromOlympia WA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
Purchased colanders from Chef's that didn't have a stand to keep them from tipping over, so now I can drain pasta without any mess.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Precision Pierced Colander
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

FLIMSY !Stainless-Steel Precision Pierced colander

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
distinguishedcook
fromConnecticut, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
I was very disappointed when this colander arrived.
Not very sturdy...rather cheap & flimsy :( for the price I paid
I put it on the shelf in the basement
I am keeping it because with gas over $4.50 / gal
It is not worth it to drive to the post office.
My Favorite BrandAll Clad cookware, Global knives
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Precision Pierced Colander
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Colander

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Kimmie58
fromTallahassee, FL
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
This is the best buy I have made. These colanders are sturdy. I love them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Precision Pierced Colander
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
ColleenO
fromMadison, WI, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
These are well built and sturdy. We gave away our flimsy ones.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Precision Pierced Colander
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Colander

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Customer avatar
palmettogal
fromSC
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
A nice colander, seems well made.
Unfortunately, not what I was looking for. Wanted to use it to replace an older colander that I use inside a large pot to scald fresh veggies in preparation for freezing. Handles too wide on this colander; would not fit inside pot. Thus for me, a 3-star.
Ended up giving it away as a present. Our loss, their gain.
My Favorite Brandkitchenaid
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Precision Pierced Colander
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More wide than tall

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Parma20
fromAlbany, CA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
I like the all-over hole patterns of these colanders. My old SS colander will last forever but it doesn't have drainholes over the entire bottom and I'm forever having to tilt it in a corner of the sink. Decided to just toss it in the charity pick-up pile and get these instead (the pair of 3qt and 5qt). Like them very much!
My Favorite BrandCirculon
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Precision Pierced Colander
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

very poor quality

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Customer avatar
drummer
fromPalm Coast, FL, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
I suppose it did not help that the colander I received was completely dented. Upon further inspection it became apparent how cheaply made it is. I will commend Chefs for a prompt refund, but I would advise all of you to stay away from this product. Also it is 50% more shallow than the picture depicts.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Precision Pierced Colander
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Every kitchen needs a good colander

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer avatar
SCD1950
fromIllinois, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Nice and wide, holds a lot making it easy to rinse things off---a real plus
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>