Customer reviews for Carbon-Off!

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at CHEFS Catalog.

Carbon-Off!

Carbon-Off! : You happily spend hours cooking, but who wants to spend time cleaning, especially removing cooked on carbon from cookware? Say goodbye to baked on grease and dirty carbon build up. The choice of professional chefs and the American Culinary Institute, this heavy-duty carbon grease remover rids pots, pans, woks, deep fryers, waffle makers, broilers, grills and virtually all metal surfaces of baked on grease and carbon. Also great for fireplace door glass, and even brick. Product Features Safe on aluminum. Easy-to-use aerosol formula, just spray on and rinse off. Awarded the American Culinary Institute 2001 Best of Show and Gold Medal for Excellence Works on all metal surfaces: stainless-steel, fireplace door glass, broilers & rotisseries, roasting & sheet pans, deep fryers, waffle bakers, woks, barbecue grills, popcorn kettles, nickel-steel, pots & pans, stove parts, brass, glass, brick. CARBON-OFF! will not harm any metal surface, brick or glass no matter how long it is left on. CARBON-OFF! may also be used to clean the inside of appliances. Not for use on nonstick cookware. This item can be delivered only within the 48 contiguous states.
Overall rating:
3.91 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(122 reviews) 120
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 122 reviews
5 Stars
68
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
8
1 Star
19
91 out of 122(75%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Carbon-Off!
Review 1 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the spray.

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Supercooker
fromLitchfield, MN 55355, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Our pans had several years worth of built up burndt on ick on them. My husband sprayed the pans and let them sit overnight - it was amazing how much of that built up gunk came off. We will now be using this product on a more timely basis to keep our pans looking like new.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally I found something that works.

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Customer avatar
barbtg
fromSanford, FL
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
This is great and an unbelievable improvement over having to burn off the accumulation of burned on carbon on the exterior of my antique pans.
My Favorite BrandPam
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as advertised

PostedApril 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Jeff1945
fromCambridge, MA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I had four All-Clad sauté pans with years of carbon buildup. Three stainless and one aluminum. One was clean with one application, two with two applications and the third (ten years old aluminum non-stick) was clean after three treatments. I had no problems with the application since I took the recommended precautions.
All of the pans look showroom new.
My Favorite BrandAll-Clad
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product!

PostedNovember 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Freshest
fromPalm Harbor, FL
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I have been trying several products to clean my All Clad pots. This is the first product to really do the job.
I had many years of crud accumulated so I allowed the product to work for about 4 hours and then just washed it off. I will be buying this again.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing stuff

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Customer avatar
pianogal
fromEast Coast
This is amazing stuff. i have a set of All-Clad cookware that is about 6 years old. i cook. Lots. I scrubbed with other products, and only after much time were the bottoms of the pots some cleaner.
i used this cleaner outside, on a calm, windless day. Left the pots for about 4 hours, and they do look absolutely like new.
Amazing stuff!!!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic!

PostedDecember 16, 2015
Customer avatar
lovebrits1961
fromNew York, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I have used two other products of this type and returned them because they were ineffective. Carbon-Off REALLY works. I had toaster oven pans that had really baked on residue, and this product made them clean and shiny again. It worked on the bottoms of pans as well.
I highly recommend this product, and I highly recommend Chefs Catalog. I am very happy with all of my products from them and their service!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad Product

PostedNovember 24, 2015
Customer avatar
Guy57
fromDe Pere, WI, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
I thought I finally found something to take carbon and grease off my pans, BUT this doesn't do anything.
Chefs customer from Wisconsin
My Favorite BrandKraft ?
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excelent Cleaner; Valve/Mixing Problem

PostedOctober 27, 2015
Customer avatar
PapaJim
fromCaldwell, TX
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
Carbon Off is the best cleaner I have found for dealing with grease on the screens of my kitchen hood and for removing fatty carbon deposits from metal cookware. I am amazed by how it 'lifts' deposits so that most of them can be wiped and rinsed away. Be sure to wear chemically resistant gloves when using because the product is harsh. It also has a strong ammonia odor...but it works so well!!
I have used the product for several years, buying both the regular can and the aerosol cans. My most recent shipment included a can whose contents had partially gelled. Vigorous and repeated shaking and cleaning of the valve has been necessary to use the product. This has not been my usual experience. I'm still sticking with this.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Very hard to get product out of can. Clogged spray

PostedSeptember 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Nursejudy
fromMansfield, OH, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Difficult to get product to come out of can it seemed that the sprayer clogged up when trying to use on skillet. I would recommend that maybe a cream out of a jar would work better and easier to use. Otherwise it removed most of the grime from the bottom of my skillet.
My Favorite BrandAll
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product. It really works

PostedSeptember 15, 2015
Customer avatar
Lee61
fromAlabama, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
This is the best product ever. It did just what it was suppose to do. I plan on ordering more of this product very soon.
My Favorite BrandPilsbury
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stove Saver

PostedMay 24, 2015
Customer avatar
GigiHouli1
fromAthens, NY
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Dad
I don't know how my stainless steel gas stove top got so far ahead of me--I usually clean it after use, but suddenly it was a mess. I tried oven cleaners, all kinds of cleaners, and the burned on black was there to stay , , , until I tried Carbon-Off. Yes, you need to ventilate the area, with your exhaust fan and/or an open window. But follow the directions, and whatever you want to end up sparkling clean will be sparkling clean. I'm so relieved; my newly remodeled kitchen now includes a stove top that doesn't look sad next to my beautiful granite counter tops.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works as advertised

PostedApril 22, 2015
Customer avatar
VegieLover
fromRochester, MN
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Used it on stubborn spots in the oven after using the auto-clean function. It did the job. Read the directions for a few surfaces where this product should not be used. Smelly: open windows and exhaust fan required.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product performs as advertised

PostedApril 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Graubund
fromCalifornia, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
Carbon-Off! Works on cooked on carbon and grease build up. Follow the directions re: gloves and ventilation. If not, expect skin irritation. Also expect to have "like new" exterior surfaces after use. I can proudly hang my cookware on my pot rack!!!
My Favorite Brandscanpan
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not thrilled

PostedApril 21, 2015
Customer avatar
SopranoJ
fromNew York, NY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Results disappointing - used on bottom of stainless steel pot
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Carbon-Off, Saving a sauce pan

PostedApril 14, 2015
Customer avatar
Jack21
fromHardeeville, SC, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
Burnt sugar very badly in one of the favorite saucepans and with a few apps I think it will be saved. Thanks guys!
My Favorite BrandChefs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Requires Patience

PostedApril 2, 2015
Customer avatar
DawnS
fromRogers, MN
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I was hoping for a more immediate result. Honestly very toxic and I wasn't patient enough to let it sit so it did not work on pan I was cleaning. Not sure I would use again. It is more complicated than the photo eludes. I will try again on another pan when I have the time and patience to let it sit for hours.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clean it all

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
Customer avatar
Puertorican
fromLancaster, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I dislike to see my good pans go bad with those dark stains. This is a clean it all for my pans, stove and oven. It is a magic in a spray can.
My Favorite BrandHunt
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Saved the appearance of my Teapot!

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Customer avatar
PattiK
fromTexas, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
Accidentally left our Calphalon Teapot on the fire and it was completely covered with carbon residue. We scrubbed numerous times to no avail. We had to use the Carbon-Off twice but finally got the carbon residue off the teapot. Looks almost new.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A kitchen essential

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Customer avatar
bill31
fromCape Cod
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Rachel Ray
I have been using Carbon-Off for years and have always found it to be very effective. In fact, it has become a kitchen essential for me.
Bill K
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worth trying

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Customer avatar
KDAC
fromDennis, MA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
Get your gloves before using this product. It burns when it gets on your skin. It took grime off the bottom of my frying pans. I'm going to try it on my oven.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>