Customer reviews for Carbon-Off!

Carbon-Off!

Carbon-Off! : You happily spend hours cooking, but who wants to spend time cleaning, especially removing cooked on carbon from cookware? Say goodbye to baked on grease and dirty carbon build up. The choice of professional chefs and the American Culinary Institute, this heavy-duty carbon grease remover rids pots, pans, woks, deep fryers, waffle makers, broilers, grills and virtually all metal surfaces of baked on grease and carbon. Also great for fireplace door glass, and even brick. Product Features Safe on aluminum. Easy-to-use aerosol formula, just spray on and rinse off. Awarded the American Culinary Institute 2001 Best of Show and Gold Medal for Excellence Works on all metal surfaces: stainless-steel, fireplace door glass, broilers & rotisseries, roasting & sheet pans, deep fryers, waffle bakers, woks, barbecue grills, popcorn kettles, nickel-steel, pots & pans, stove parts, brass, glass, brick. CARBON-OFF! will not harm any metal surface, brick or glass no matter how long it is left on. CARBON-OFF! may also be used to clean the inside of appliances.
Overall rating:
3.91 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(89 reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 89 reviews
5 Stars
52
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
7
1 Star
14
66 out of 89(74%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Carbon-Off!
Review 1 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the spray.

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Supercooker
fromLitchfield, MN 55355, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Our pans had several years worth of built up burndt on ick on them. My husband sprayed the pans and let them sit overnight - it was amazing how much of that built up gunk came off. We will now be using this product on a more timely basis to keep our pans looking like new.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally I found something that works.

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Customer avatar
barbtg
fromSanford, FL
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
This is great and an unbelievable improvement over having to burn off the accumulation of burned on carbon on the exterior of my antique pans.
My Favorite BrandPam
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as advertised

PostedApril 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Jeff1945
fromCambridge, MA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I had four All-Clad sauté pans with years of carbon buildup. Three stainless and one aluminum. One was clean with one application, two with two applications and the third (ten years old aluminum non-stick) was clean after three treatments. I had no problems with the application since I took the recommended precautions.
All of the pans look showroom new.
My Favorite BrandAll-Clad
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product!

PostedNovember 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Freshest
fromPalm Harbor, FL
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I have been trying several products to clean my All Clad pots. This is the first product to really do the job.
I had many years of crud accumulated so I allowed the product to work for about 4 hours and then just washed it off. I will be buying this again.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing stuff

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Customer avatar
pianogal
fromEast Coast
This is amazing stuff. i have a set of All-Clad cookware that is about 6 years old. i cook. Lots. I scrubbed with other products, and only after much time were the bottoms of the pots some cleaner.
i used this cleaner outside, on a calm, windless day. Left the pots for about 4 hours, and they do look absolutely like new.
Amazing stuff!!!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Real Great product

PostedJune 30, 2011
Customer avatar
chardav
fromHuntsville Alabama
This product thought often difficult to find in stores does an execellent of removing unsightly build up on cook ware. The bottoms of pans which because I have a gas cook top get verbecome very unattractive with burned stuck on goop. I hang my pots in sight so clean bottoms appeal to me. This works!!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

CARBON-OFF MIRACLE

PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer avatar
HAD8153
fromCalifornia, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
i LOVE MY COOKWARE TO KEEP LOOKING NEW. mY FIRST ENCOUNTER WITH CARBON-OFF WAS A GREAT SUCCESS. MY FRYING PANS NOW LOOK LIKE NEW AND WITH NO HARD SCRUBBING. JUST FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS. .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cleaner for Pots

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Sharon55
fromNiles,Mi 49120, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
I was dissapointed on the first try. Had to spray three different times and it wasn't grease that had been on more than one baking. Intend to try again on an old stained pot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

"Good for all surfaces" -- NOT!!!

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
MarieAnna
fromAlabama, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I read the catalog description carefully and found no caution about using on calphalon or Teflon non-stick surfaces. However, the container clearly states that it should NOT BE USED ON CALPHALON AND TEFLON NON-STICK PANS. I am afraid to spray it on the outside of the pans because it may come in contact with the interior.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Boricua
fromMontana, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
It took the whole can to remove most, but not all, the carbon off the interior of one pan. It did not do anything for the exterior. I would not buy it again.
My Favorite BrandCalphalon
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
retiredsubsailor
fromGroton, CT, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
have only used once, but so far it works
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

carbon-off

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
tymag
fromFuquay Varina, NC, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
my aunt has this in a bottle form, i have a spray can of it. not too impressed yet.
will have have to it again.
My Favorite Brandwhat works the best.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

didn't work

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
NYCKitchendiva
fromNew York, NY
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Dad
I had high hopes for this product, but it didn't remove much of the baked on residue on my stainless steel pan. Very disappointing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing product

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromColorado, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
I have orange frying pans and pots, the carbon build up was really ugly hanging on the wall. This product removed the problem. It did require more than one application, but the end result is great!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

old cast iron

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Randon
fromMinneapolis, MN, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mario Batali
I was skeptical about this working but was very pleasantly surprised at how good my pan after one use.
My Favorite BrandLe Cruset
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hardly worth it

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
MA48
fromCastle Rock, CO, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tried this on the bottom of one of my sauce pans. Not only does it have a very toxic smell but it really has little, if any, effect on the carbon residue. Tried leaving it on twice overnight and it basically looked the same as before after following the instructions to a T. Very disappointed. I would tolerate the toxicity if it did the job but the ad photos for this product show the bottoms of the pans looking like new. Doesn't come close.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Just an oven cleaner

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Geoff22
fromOhio
My Cooking Level:Advanced
It works as well as an oven cleaner only costs 4 times as much. I had burned on grease in a sauce pan and it didn't faze it. I'm quite disappointed, thinking it would be much tougher in removing burned on grease.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Still have a brown bottom

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromMarblehead, OH
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I have an 8 inch Wusthof fry pan with a brown stain on the bottom, probably from using it in the oven. This stain is only on the exterior and is unsightly. I thought this product would give me back my like new pan. It didn't. I used this product as directed twice over night without any removal of the stain. The can went into the trash after the second morning.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Customer avatar
smmath
fromNew York, NY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Very easy to use. I liked that I could just let sit for a long time. Used it on the bottom of a pan that had YEARS worth of buildup. It did not, naturally, come out shiny clean. But it looked pretty good.
My Favorite BrandAll Clad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Carbon-Off!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't live without this!!

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
fallang1
fromSanta Cruz, CA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Giada De Laurentis
I have tried many products to clean the build-up around the burners on my cooktop. None of them worked. Then I tried Carbon-Off without much hope based on past experiences. I sprayed it around the base of the burners, waited 15 minutes, then wiped it off. It worked like magic! After all these years my stovetop is finally clean! Thank you so much!!!
My Favorite BrandShun Knives
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>