Customer reviews for Joy of Cooking-75th Anniversary Edition - 2006

Joy of Cooking-75th Anniversary Edition - 2006

Joy of Cooking-75th Anniversary Edition - 2006 : The bestselling cookbook of all time comes full circle with an expansive revision based on the celebrated 1975 edition, restoring the voice of the original authors and returning the focus to home-style American cooking.
Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
8 out of 10(80%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Joy of Cooking-75th Anniversary Edition - 2006
Review 1 for Joy of Cooking-75th Anniversary Edition - 2006
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Cookbook

PostedJanuary 29, 2010
Customer avatar
lilmiss37
fromLas Vegas
You will love this cookbook. The recipes are so simple to follow. You really will enjoy cooking for your family and friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Joy of Cooking-75th Anniversary Edition - 2006
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gets more use than all others combined.

PostedJanuary 29, 2010
Customer avatar
SwissBob
fromLibertyville, IL
It is always the first place I look for new ideas. More than a recipe book, it explains basic concepts about any operation in the kitchen. When I understand why something has to be done a certain way I then have the knowledge to go forth and experiment. For this alone it is one of the most valuable resources available.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Joy of Cooking-75th Anniversary Edition - 2006
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must have

PostedJanuary 24, 2010
Customer avatar
Reviewer53
fromDenton, TX
Any serious cook should have the cook book "Joy of Cooking" , it is a must have for anyone first starting to cook along with someone who has cooked for a long time. My collection of cookbooks would not be complete without this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Joy of Cooking-75th Anniversary Edition - 2006
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The book for every cook

PostedJanuary 12, 2010
Customer avatar
Katsmews
fromNorthern California
I have a collection of over 400 cookbooks. Joy of Cooking was my first purchase in the 60s and my copy has been well used. When people see my collection they often ask what one book do I think every cook should have - "Joy of Cooking" is consistently my response.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Joy of Cooking-75th Anniversary Edition - 2006
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My go-to cookbook

PostedJanuary 12, 2010
Customer avatar
Cozyhome
fromMansfield, CT
This is always the first book I go to when I need a recipe. It is so comprehensive and fool-proof. I often just thumb through the index at the back when I have an ingredient on hand but am not sure what to make with it. A great cookbook!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Joy of Cooking-75th Anniversary Edition - 2006
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Overhyped and Overrated

PostedMay 14, 2010
Customer avatar
Buffalogal
fromBuffalo NY
Please don't buy this for the new cook..it is overly complicated and fussy. The steps are tedious and most are unneccessary to make a good product. I have it but almost never use it...However, if you are looking for an esoteric recipe like hogs head cheese, it is good for that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Joy of Cooking-75th Anniversary Edition - 2006
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must have cookbook

PostedJanuary 29, 2010
Customer avatar
Alyssa
fromSt. Louis, MO
This cookbook has everything from vegetable cooking times to gourmet entrees. The recipes are easy to follow. This cookbook is an essential in every kitchen. Great for new cooks like college students.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Joy of Cooking-75th Anniversary Edition - 2006
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must

PostedJanuary 22, 2010
Customer avatar
Healthykitchen
fromNew York
I collect cookbooks, and this one is a must for the collection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Joy of Cooking-75th Anniversary Edition - 2006
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must read for every home cook

PostedJanuary 27, 2009
Customer avatar
chefhoppi
fromSan Francisco, CA
I learned a lot of basics from this book. Without it, I would be lost in the world of poaching, grilling, baking, searing, roasting... well, cooking.
Chinese style cooking I learned from watching my mom and my sisters and sister-in-laws and western style I learned from the Joy of Cooking!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Joy of Cooking-75th Anniversary Edition - 2006
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Every generation should have a copy!

PostedJanuary 8, 2009
Customer avatar
Kris
fromRichmond, CA
My mother has used her original 1975 edition of the Joy of Cooking religiously. When the anniversary edition came out, she decided to "upgrade" for the modern versions of her favorite recipes, and planned to give me her old one. Within one week she asked for her original back, and handed me the new one. I love both!!
The new one allows for convection cooking, the use of the microwave, etc. It drops the lard, thank goodness, and has lots of delicious veggie dishes. I love the section that explains the terminology and tools.
Thank you, Irma Rombauer!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.