Customer reviews for Emeril's Smoker Bags

Emeril's Smoker Bags

Emeril's Smoker Bags : Endorsed by Emeril for their simplicity and their use of all-natural hickory and alder wood chips, these bags were developed and made by Savu in Finland for oven, grill, barbecue or campfire smoking. They can even be used on your stovetop in a skillet. Each disposable 3-ply bag contains your choice of alder or hickory wood chip flavoring, sealed between the bottom two layers of foil and held in place by natural wood syrups. Flavor meats, poultry, fish, game or vegetables, even an entire meal. Product Features Quick and easy, no turning of the food or the bag. Complete meals in one bag. Holds up to 2 1/2 lbs. Bags are made of foil and contain natural Finnish Alder wood chips or Hickory wood chips, hardwood syrup and sugar and uses no chemicals or glue. Low fat cooking. Keeps oven and grill clean. Safe and easy cooking on public picnic & campsite barbeques. No added salts or seasoning needed. They can also be used on top of your stovetop or in a skillet Each smoker bag package includes usage instructions, cooking chart and recipes.
Overall rating:
4.684 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
18 out of 19(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Emeril's Smoker Bags
Review 1 for Emeril's Smoker Bags
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer avatar
rc21839
fromCharlotte, NC, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I originally purchased to smoke a salmon fillet for Thanksgiving dinner and it came out divine....With Christmas approaching I decided to smoke another salmon fillet and also tried it with pork ribs...the meat was falling off the bone tender...soooo I had to try it with a pork butt...same result...I think these bags have replaced my slow cooker...and clean-up is a breeze (just toss in the garbage).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Emeril's Smoker Bags
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A No-Brainer

PostedJune 15, 2012
Customer avatar
kcrose
fromKansas City, MO
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
If you follow the recommended cooking times for the type of meat you are cooking, it comes out perfect everytime. I have been using these bags for 7 years now. Don't recommend using inside the over-it makes the house smell smokey. You do not need to be a grilling or smoker expert. My family really looks forward to meals from the Smoker Bag. Just the right amount of smoke flavor--not overpowering like liquid smoke or some smoker-grills.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Emeril's Smoker Bags
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easiest way to smoke food!

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Customer avatar
guanaco78
fromChicago IL
My Cooking Level:Advanced
We have smoked a pork loin, chicken wings, and salmon. Each time it was so easy. Just preheat the oven, season the meat, open bag, put the meat in the bag, put bag in the oven and check it in the respective time (the bags come with guidelines for how long the meat should cook) and be ready to enjoy a great meal. This is a fantastic product.
My Favorite Brandle creuset
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Emeril's Smoker Bags
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The MOST delicious salmon!

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Customer avatar
HomeBunny
fromSimi Valley, CA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
These smoker bags work beautifully to give a distinct but subtle smoked flavor. They are easy to use - in the oven and on the grill - simple to serve from and provide a quick clean-up. It is fun to experiment with additions to the bags... our absolute favorite... a whole side of salmon sitting on fresh sprigs of rosemary - absolutely delicious!
My Favorite BrandLe Creuset
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Emeril's Smoker Bags
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedNovember 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Toast
fromLubec Me
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Brisket was perfect.. We had about given up on being able to cook a brisket in the oven. These bags are the answer. Brisket moist, tender and had was as good as a brisket cooked in a smoker. I never write reviews but this a product that really performs. Can't wait to cook another brisket.
My Favorite BrandLodge
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Emeril's Smoker Bags
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Smoker Bags

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Jay46
fromStrongsville, OH, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
These bags a great for both meat and fish, they add a subtle smoked flavor to all cooked items - always tender and flavorful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Emeril's Smoker Bags
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful

PostedJune 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Bart22
fromAugusta, GA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
We used the hickory bag tonight to make fish and it was excellent. Looking forward to trying another flavor next weekend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Emeril's Smoker Bags
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Do You Like Smoked Food

PostedApril 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Berty
fromEastlake, Ohio
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
These smoker bags are amazing..They work great when you do not want to use your large smoker outside or the weather is nasty...We have done several kinds of fish, pork chops and Cornish hens
My Favorite BrandCuisinart
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Emeril's Smoker Bags
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Te25
fromFL
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Calamity
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
It's wonderful to get that smoked flavor also on rainy days!
My Favorite BrandAl clad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Emeril's Smoker Bags
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy, cost-effective and Good!

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Jafem
fromNew Jersey
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
An easy way to prepare food that is both tasty and novel
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Emeril's Smoker Bags
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Emeril's Smoker Bags

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
KathyB57
fromTruesdale,IA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Gave as a Christmas gift for my son-in-law. He tends to be somewhat particular but really liked the gift and can't wait to try them out! Will probably use CHEF's for future gifts for him!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Emeril's Smoker Bags
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Spikerdog
fromGrapevine, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Well, I read about these bags and thought I had solved my smoker problem. I love the taste of smoked meat but just can't seem to get it right on the grill. I thought these bags would do the trick. Well, I followed instructions for cooking pork and the timing was accurate but the taste? No way. I could smell smoke in the kitchen but the pork did not taste of smoke. Instructions said to slit the top of the bag 10 minutes before finishing and the meat will brown. Didn't. I have 5 more bags to use and will use them with my fingers crossed....sure hope the first time disappointment will not be repeated.
My Favorite BrandNone really
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Emeril's Smoker Bags
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Smoker Bags

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
PammyJ
fromGerty, OK, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
These bags are the best thing on the planet! I have been using them in my bed and breakfast for 8 years and the vendor I WAS using went out of business. Imagine my delight when I found that Chefscatalog had them. They are great for grilling and eliminates the necessity of turning over your food on the grill.
If you haven't tried these smoker bags I HIGHLY recommend that you do so. An extremely busy woman's best friend!
Owner of Wakefield Country Inn & Winery
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Emeril's Smoker Bags
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Smoke bags

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Geno
fromDallas, TX
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
These bags provide a light moist smoke flavor. Don't expect the same flavor that you would receive from a real wood smoker but it is handy, easy to use and cleanup.
My Favorite BrandForschner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Emeril's Smoker Bags
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smoker Bags

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Imagoodcook
fromReno Nevada
These Smoker Bags work well for all types of meat and fish. The flavor is a mild smoke without all the work. So glad that Chefs Catalog carries them. It is a hard to find item.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Emeril's Smoker Bags
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedApril 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Jantek
fromHuntsville, AL
These bags are great! You get that wonderful smoky flavor without all the hassle! Easy to use and no mess. We used them with boneless chicken breasts and used the enclosed recommendation for seasonings and herbs and it was absolutely delicious! Less than 5 minutes of prep time; an hour on the grill and presto - mouthwatering, fabulous, super moist, tender, delicious chicken breasts!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Emeril's Smoker Bags
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful !!!

PostedJanuary 13, 2011
Customer avatar
Lavender
fromMercedes, Texas
We have been using these bags for a number of years. We had lost contact for a time and then we re-discovered the way to start receiving them again. And the wonderful flavor of the food in these bags are GREAT!!!!. We do like the way they tenderize any meats we use in these bags. We have used vegetable in them, but really like the meat and flavoring that these bags cook into the meat. I would and have given these bags as gifts, and have served food cooked in these bags and people have just loved the way the food tastes. I would recommend these over and over again, along with giving them as gifts. Thank you,
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Emeril's Smoker Bags
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
2 of 2 recommend this product