Customer reviews for Deni Electric Pressure Cooker, 8.5 Quart

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at CHEFS Catalog.

Deni Electric Pressure Cooker, 8.5 Quart

Deni Electric Pressure Cooker, 8.5 Quart : You'll love its speed, simplicity and safety. Steam, heat, and pressure combine to create fork-tender, nutrient-rich meals. Roasts, stews, fruits and vegetables are more succulent and flavorful, all while cutting cooking time. Put your ingredients in the pot, set the timer, and you have healthful delicious fare in no time at all. Product Features 8 1/2-quart cooking pot is removable for serving and cleaning. Fully programmable timer. Delay function up to 8 hours. Built-in thermostat for automatic temperature control. Reduces cooking time by up to 70%. 3 pressure settings. Keep warm, slow cook, steam and brown options. Steam release valve allows you to release pressure quickly. Locking pin prevents lid from being opened while under pressure. Automatic shut-off valve. Pressure regulator knob. Internal pressure release. Nonstick cool-touch handles and knobs. Cool-to-touch stainless-steel housing. Pressurized steam cooks nutritious meals in less time than conventional methods. Recipes included.
Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
21 out of 25(84%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Deni Electric Pressure Cooker, 8.5 Quart
Review 1 for Deni Electric Pressure Cooker, 8.5 Quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
Customer avatar
vanitytop
fromFlorida, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I have only used this product once but it met all my expectations. It has larger capacity than I I thought, which is great for the larger cuts of meat that allows me to eat a meal and store the leftovers. It is like cooking multiple meals all in one cooking. It is also great for my footaball party cooking for the game crowd. Some of the pros and cons I did not feel applied
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Deni Electric Pressure Cooker, 8.5 Quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product and works great!

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Customer avatar
TroyT
fromCleveland, OH, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I bought the Deni Electric Pressure Cooker in the 8.5 quart size based on feedback from a friend who purchased the same unit from Chefscatalog.com. I liked the size and the oval shape of the unit. However, I was concerned about the 50/50 split I saw in the reviews (e.g., half were 5 stars and half were one star). Apparently, Deni may have had a bad batch of these units. With Chefcatalog.com 100% guarantee I felt comfortable purchasing this unit. I have had it now for a couple of weeks and it works great!! I use to have a different brand electric pressure cooker and have a stove top unit (both 6 quarts) and this unit is much easier to use and cooks perfectly. Also, this unit has three different pressure settings and the high pressure is 15 pounds per square inch, which is standard for stove top units and is what most all recipes expect for high pressure. Unfortunately, many other electronic pressure cooks don't go up to 15 psi, which makes following a recipe difficult and takes longer to cook. I couldn't be happier with my purchase of this unit! I have recommended this unit to several friends who plan to purchase one as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Deni Electric Pressure Cooker, 8.5 Quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely great!

PostedApril 2, 2012
Customer avatar
tricky292
fromFlippin, AR
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I loved it when Deni came out with a larger Pressure Cooker. I abolutely love it. It saves me so much time in the kitchen and the meats come out nice and tender. I would recomend getting one for your kitchen.
My Favorite BrandDeni
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Deni Electric Pressure Cooker, 8.5 Quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Second Purchase

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Customer avatar
cheflover
fromChicago, Il
This is the second Deni pressure cooker I've purchased as a gift. The first person loved it so much, I had to give it away again...the next one is for me!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Deni Electric Pressure Cooker, 8.5 Quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

deni pressure cooker

PostedMarch 7, 2011
Customer avatar
josiedoe
frombowling green ohio
Love it! Best pressure cooker I have ever used. Very easy to use and clean up is a snap!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Deni Electric Pressure Cooker, 8.5 Quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

deni 8.5 electric pressure cooker

PostedApril 20, 2013
Customer avatar
ZGOURMET
fromFlorida
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Professional Chef
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mario Batali
The deni pressure cooker is a must have in any kitchen.The easy use,cleaning of and the most important thing is how fast the long cooking process of beans from a raw state as well as roasts,ribs,stews,soups etc.I have used the deni for many preperations and it is now my number one cooking piece of equipment in my kitchen and should be a part in every ones.
My Favorite Brandcuisinart
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Deni Electric Pressure Cooker, 8.5 Quart
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

:-(

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Tonki
fromChicago, IL, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
Well I read the reviews and had concerns. I bought it anyway because I liked the browning and capacity. When i opened it, ut seemed the box had been opened before. The lock and unlock knob came off in my hand. Not a good start.
I started it up and did the first pressure test. No problem, but after that it got dicey. The browning did not stay hot, it did not brown. Then it wouldnt come to pressure after 4 tries. Yes i read all the directions
Then for some reason it did start and come to pressure
Great once it started. However, I had guests over and had my dish ready to cook and it never came to pressure. It indicated "heating" for over 30 minutes. I ended up using my stove top.
I assume my unit was defective because when it did work it was great. I asked for an exchange so i will give a second chance.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Deni Electric Pressure Cooker, 8.5 Quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful kitchen appliance

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer avatar
ernurse1964
fromIndiana, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
Met every expectation.
My Favorite Brandkitchen aide
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Deni Electric Pressure Cooker, 8.5 Quart
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't cook at 15psi; died during 4th use

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Bev721
fromHomewood, AL
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
This is a large and easy to use electric pressure cooker. It is advertised as having a high power cooking level of 15 psi.
I cooked one beef chuck roast and 2 pork butts in it. Each time I followed the directions and recipe carefully and cut the meat into smaller pieces.
Each time it took 2-3 times longer than the recipe and the Deni instruction book said it should take, all based on a 15 psi cooker.
The 4th time I used it, I was browning some onions in it and the cooker died--a total and complete death.
I checked my plugs and the electrical switches for any problems, but they were all fine. The cooker would not light up at all.
I also did not like the fact that it seemed to take a long time to get hot enough to brown the meat (in batches). Once the "heating" light went off, it was still way below a normal browning temperature. The first couple of times, I ended up browning everything on the stove and then transferring it back into the cooker.
The last time I was using it (just before it died), I let it warm up several minutes longer than the cooker indicated, and then left the meat in several minutes more to get it browned enough.
It is very difficult to find a larger (8-8.5 qt.) electric pressure cooker. It's also very difficult to find any size electric cooker that has 15 psi cooking ability.
I am extremely disappointed that this cooker ended up being of very poor quality. The reviews for it on Amazon were mediocre at best. I should have "listened", but hind sight is 20/20!
It is being returned today through Chef's Catalog's wonderful return policy.
I hope others have better experiences with this cooker than I did. From what I read, this cooker has about a 50-50 chance of having problems. Good luck if you choose it!
My Favorite BrandKenore microwave and Cuisinart, B&D, DeLongi, Krups toaster ovens
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Deni Electric Pressure Cooker, 8.5 Quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
Customer avatar
spfarm
fromsparks nv
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Very glad to find a pressure cooker with capacity.
very pleased with ease of use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Deni Electric Pressure Cooker, 8.5 Quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Deni so positively exceeded my expectations!

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Letij
fromNorthridge, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
If I sound like I'm gushing, I am! After reading a review of electric pressure cookers from a major newspaperlast fall, I knew I must get one of them. Always cautious, I checked out all makes out there, read all the reviews. At first I thought I'd wait for a 2nd generation cooker to give the manufacturers time to iron out all the bugs that some reviewers had experienced. But after seeing more positive reviews, I chose this Deni 8.5 qt. I love that it's electric, I love the efficient one-piece lid assembly, which also makes it a snap to clean! Its large capacity gives me ample room for roasts, BBQ ribs & big winter soup meals. The browning feature is a bonus! This Deni is real easy to use!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Deni Electric Pressure Cooker, 8.5 Quart
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedDecember 29, 2011
Customer avatar
gsw1
fromTexas
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Microwave Magician
The pressure cooker was damaged upon arrival, but I could have repaired it had the parts been available. Deni, however does not ship parts. So, I had to wait weeks to recieve a replacement because Chefs didn't have another one in stock and they were back ordered.
Chefs needs to keep some in stock to take care of these instances or at least get Deni to market their product with the consumer in mind.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Deni Electric Pressure Cooker, 8.5 Quart
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Versitle Appliance

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
strider
fromMurfreesboro, TN
While I have read a number of negative reviews for this product, I haven't had a problem. The browning function, along with 3 pressure settings make this product very versatile. The only thing I would like to see changed is the insert. When it is hot, the insert is difficult to remove from the pressure cooker. The insert should have usable handles (like the Fagor pressure cooker I gave to one of my daughters when I purchased this product), be made more heavy duty - thicker walls and bottom, and have a more durable non-stick surface.
Taking everything into account, the product works as advertised.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Deni Electric Pressure Cooker, 8.5 Quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

worth the price

PostedMarch 24, 2011
Customer avatar
MHunt
fromMajestic Ky
This is a great cooker, helps in preparing meals faster, really quite satisfied with this item.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Deni Electric Pressure Cooker, 8.5 Quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice browning feature

PostedDecember 25, 2010
Customer avatar
SheilaF
fromGreenville SC
It's nice to be able to brown and then cook in the same pot. I'm not sure it holds as much as they say that it does. I'd like more recipes geared toward this particular pressure cooker.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Deni Electric Pressure Cooker, 8.5 Quart
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

PostedDecember 15, 2010
Customer avatar
JAW44
fromGreenfield Township, Iowa
Everything is working so far.
Use the electric pressure pan for so many things including making soups, casseroles, roasting meats, and just warming foods.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Deni Electric Pressure Cooker, 8.5 Quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE THIS ITEM!!

PostedNovember 29, 2010
Customer avatar
AL3334
fromSOCAL
THIS HAS TO BE THE BEST PURCHASE I GHAVE MADE IN A WHILE,COOKED LIMA BEAN SOUP AND NAVY BEAN SOUP SO FAR AND WHAT A FANTASTIC FLAVOR AND SO FAST!!!READ THE BOTHER REVIEWS AND WAS HESITANT TO PURCHASE BUT BIT THE BULLET AND AM I PLEASED THANKS SO MUCH!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Deni Electric Pressure Cooker, 8.5 Quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Purchase ever

PostedSeptember 21, 2010
Customer avatar
tokshopper
fromTok, Alaska
This was not featured in the catalog. I found it on line. I was going to order the 6 qt. which would have been too small., they showed the larger one, that was all she wrote !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Deni Electric Pressure Cooker, 8.5 Quart
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Okay

PostedAugust 16, 2010
Customer avatar
MzLisa
fromChicago
My review of the product is okay, the instructions that came with the product are horrible. trying for the first time to figure out how much water. most of the instructions state to cook on 15 psi which is high. well i assumed this is how to cook beans. well, that's not the case you have to wait until the pressure builds up to high then lower the psi to have them simmer. I wish that there were clearer instructions for recipes for this particular pressure cooker. overall, you have figure out the water level and psi for each recipe. I think the product cooks well but there will be alot of trial and error.
Lastly, i had to return the pressure cooker, 1st set received damaged.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Deni Electric Pressure Cooker, 8.5 Quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth Its Weight In Gold.

PostedAugust 16, 2010
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromBrandywine, Md
I saw this pressure cooker for sale in your catalog and at the time I was looking to buy one . I ordered it on Wednesday and received it on Friday ,and I wasn't disappointed, I removed it from the box and thoroughly read the directions and cooked a big batch of Barbecue Ribs,THE BEST I'VE EVER MADE. Then on Saturday I made a Jambalaya again same results, the Best Jambalaya I ever made. Its safe to use , and a great looking appliance. It looks and works nothing like the one my mother cooked with years ago.. Everyone who loves to cook should buy this Pressure cooker.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>