Customer reviews for Zojirushi Thermal Coffee Maker, EC-BD15

Zojirushi Thermal Coffee Maker, EC-BD15

Zojirushi Thermal Coffee Maker, EC-BD15 : The Zojirushi Fresh Brew brews directly into the thermal carafe where coffee keeps that just-made flavor and aroma for hours. Now you can keep your brew coffee-house fresh. And it's programmable, so you can prepare and even make ahead. Product Features 10-cup thermal carafe keeps your coffee hot for up to 10 hours. Stainless-steel design and carafe. Programmable timer with clock. Pause and Serve feature. Easy-to-read water gauge. Carafe lid is crafted to stay on during brewing with a small cap to keep heat in when it's ready. Unit uses #4 cone shaped paper filters (not included) Instruction book included.
Overall rating:
4.227 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
18 out of 22(82%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Zojirushi Thermal Coffee Maker, EC-BD15
Review 1 for Zojirushi Thermal Coffee Maker, EC-BD15
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simplicity with great results

PostedJuly 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Judsie
fromCosta Mesa CA
Clean lines, slim profile, easy to operate, delivers coffee at nice hot temperature, carafe keeps coffee hot long enough to have a "midmorning" cup if you desire. Love the simplicity of design and operation. Only owned a few weeks but very pleased and highly recommend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zojirushi Thermal Coffee Maker, EC-BD15
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coffee!

PostedJanuary 12, 2011
Customer avatar
nineted
fromKansas City, MO
Love that it makes great coffee AND has a built in thermos! It is easy to clean and takes up a minimum of counter space. Glad I read the recommendation to buy it in Cook's Illustrated!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zojirushi Thermal Coffee Maker, EC-BD15
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Looks great, but unsatisfactory performance

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromSalem, OR
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
Coffee maker leaks coffee from the pouring spout and around the top while brewing occurs, so I'm returning it for a refund.
My Favorite BrandCusineart
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zojirushi Thermal Coffee Maker, EC-BD15
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

thermal coffee maker

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Customer avatar
85544
fromStrawberry, AZ, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
Disappointing, cheap plastic filter holder that doesn't let filter get low enough for drip to operate. you have to hold filter down and move drip over the filter before shutting,
Plastic top on thermos is difficult to open after brewing so you can pour coffee.
As I'm only coffee drinker, making 4 cups does not sufficiently warm the carafe to keep hot as long as I want so have to preheat carafe before brewing.
I use premium, Peet's coffee, taste is ok, but I can only give it a 'C-' grade.
Send a return box for 1/2 credit of my cost and I'll send it back. SORRY....
My Favorite Brandhaven't found a great thermal carafe brewer, yet....may try theBONAVITA recommended in Cook's Illus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zojirushi Thermal Coffee Maker, EC-BD15
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Coffee Pot

PostedJune 4, 2013
Customer avatar
packrat
fromBahama, NC
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
Love the Zo. Simple, easy to use and easy to clean up. Doesn't take up the entire counter top. The coffee is hot.
I was worried after reading other reviews about the lid being hard to get off but if you close it then back it off slightly as suggested by another reviewer then no problems.
We love this coffee maker.
(We have a Zo bread machine that is still going strong after 12 years.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zojirushi Thermal Coffee Maker, EC-BD15
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best value

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Customer avatar
JohnE
fromIowa, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
Simply makes great coffee or tea. Not fancy just effective.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zojirushi Thermal Coffee Maker, EC-BD15
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
donna103
fromDataw Dr, St Helena Island, SC 29920, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Size of the coffee pot, performance and the taste is a perfect way to start the day!
My Favorite BrandStarbucks Coffee
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zojirushi Thermal Coffee Maker, EC-BD15
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good tasting and hot coffee and easy to use

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Customer avatar
ade66
fromHuntington Beach, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
Overall I am very happy with this purchase. The coffee pot is simple and easy to use. The coffee stays hot and is good tasting. The only thing I am not crazy about is the carafe is a little difficult to use. If it is too tight it is very difficult to open to pour. It is also difficult to figure out how loose it should be to pour. I hope after some time I will get a better feel for it.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zojirushi Thermal Coffee Maker, EC-BD15
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

As described

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Customer avatar
theoldcook
fromAverill Park, NY
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
Brews well, pours well with no drips, keeps coffee warm. The only thing missing is a water filter. Other than that it is a great product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zojirushi Thermal Coffee Maker, EC-BD15
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Customer avatar
patti56
fromNJ
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
Makes great coffee, looks stylish, fast, keeps coffee warm. No complaints at all.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zojirushi Thermal Coffee Maker, EC-BD15
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very good

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Customer avatar
GailB
fromTucson AZ
The coffee maker is still new but so far so good. Makes excellent coffee and stays hot enough to leisurely read the Sunday paper and enjoy coffee.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zojirushi Thermal Coffee Maker, EC-BD15
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We Love This Coffee Pot

PostedJune 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Cbluebeardgo
fromMO
This coffee pot really will stay hot for ten hours then its just warm after that. You have to keep the lid tight and the cap on it. Very easy to use. We use the automatic brew for when my husband gets up for work so his coffee is waiting for him and I am able to drink the rest through out the day. I have only had it a couple weeks now. The handle kind of makes a click when you pick it up like maybe it could become loose but that may not be true at all. I haven't read anything about the handle becoming a problem so they all might do that. This pot does have a pretty short cord which is kind of different but we love that because the outlet is directly behind our pot.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zojirushi Thermal Coffee Maker, EC-BD15
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Takes to long to brew

PostedFebruary 16, 2011
Customer avatar
lisaM
fromRingwood, NJ
This review is coming from a coffee snob, that brews using a manual melitta.
The coffee takes entirely too long to brew. It took 12 minutes for a full pot. As a result, the coffee is bitter.
In order for coffee to not become bitter, it needs to brew in five minutes time.
Other than that, it did work ok, the thermos kept the coffee hot. I did return it though. I'm going back to manual brewing.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zojirushi Thermal Coffee Maker, EC-BD15
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I really like this coffee maker.

PostedFebruary 4, 2011
Customer avatar
happyharry
fromWashington, DC
Good coffee, great looking, coffee does good tasting.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zojirushi Thermal Coffee Maker, EC-BD15
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

makes good coffee

PostedJanuary 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Joanswims
fromMartinsville, VA
Before purchasing, I read reviews at Chefs Catalog. They all said that this makes good coffee, although other people didn't like the small hole for coffee to enter thermos. I agree completely. You have to think ahead and make sure that the thermos is positioned exactly under the basket. I've had it a week and it seems to work fine. As long as the coffee is good, any other issues can be dealt with.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Zojirushi Thermal Coffee Maker, EC-BD15
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Product

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Customer avatar
SmilingFox
fromHouston, TX
I bought this for a relative, and it seems to be a nice product so far. Aside from the stylish looks, the coffeemaker does make full flavored coffee. The thermal carafe does work well. When compared to other coffeemakers in this price range, I do recommend this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Zojirushi Thermal Coffee Maker, EC-BD15
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Social Worker

PostedDecember 5, 2010
Customer avatar
Snowflake
fromDuluth, MN
Have been able to go to work with a nice pot of freshly brewed coffee 'on time'. It's a beautiful thing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Zojirushi Thermal Coffee Maker, EC-BD15
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Coffee

PostedNovember 5, 2010
Customer avatar
kjs23
fromNew York
I am very happy with this coffee maker. Found I need less coffee for the same flavor. I would like the carafe to keep it hotter but it is still better than my old burner pot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Zojirushi Thermal Coffee Maker, EC-BD15
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disapointed

PostedMay 28, 2010
Customer avatar
sfarm
fromSebastopol, CA
Brews well, easy to use. Thermos does not keep coffee warm very long. When it finishes brewing, I have to pour it into a real thermos so I could have got a glass carafe machine that would make more coffee.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Zojirushi Thermal Coffee Maker, EC-BD15
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really good coffeemaker

PostedMarch 20, 2010
Customer avatar
Javalover
fromFriendswood, TX
I am very pleased with Chef's for delivering as promised and I am very pleased with the coffeemaker.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>