Customer reviews for Calphalon Unison Nonstick Saute Pan

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at CHEFS Catalog.

Calphalon Unison Nonstick Saute Pan

Calphalon Unison Nonstick Saute Pan : The perfect nonstick pan for healthy, low-fat sauteing, searing or stir-frying. The special Sear surface of this Unison Saute Pan seals in flavor for juiciest meat, poultry and seafood dishes. Cooks and releases food without the use of oils. An advanced nonstick surface features three interlocking layers with a scratch- and stain-resistant surface engineered for years of service. Heavy-gauge anodized aluminum with protective base provides even heating and prevents hot spots. Dome-shape, tempered glass lid controls splatters, helps prevent evaporation of liquids and works to recirculate moisture. Stirring and turning of ingredients is easy thanks to the high-side interior. Easy-to-grasp stainless-steel handle stays comfortably cool to the touch on the stove top. Oven-safe and dishwasher-safe. Made in the USA. Product Features Sear nonstick surface retains moisture-rich flavor without oils Heavy-gauge, hard anodized aluminum exterior Braise beef, seafood steaks and vegetables without scorching High sides allows easy stirring and turning of foods Stainless-steel helper handle for easy lifting Dome-shape tempered glass lid with stainless-steel rim controls splatters and recirculates moisture to foods Ergonomic stainless-steel handle triple-riveted for durability By Calphalon, the first manufacturer of anodized aluminum Lifetime warranty Made in the USA
Overall rating:
4.846 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 13(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Calphalon Unison Nonstick Saute Pan
Review 1 for Calphalon Unison Nonstick Saute Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best nonstick & will last for decades.

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
retiree08
fromtrenton nj
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
simply stated it is a Calphalon quality product. it is the right size for a variety of foods for the two of us. easy to clean, easy to maintain, and can be put in the oven if it's contents need to just stay warm while some other part of the meal is catching up.
if used as it was made for, with proper utensils as required, one has a durable, well built, easy to evenly heat, and to boot it is a dishwasher safe cookware product.
love the extra well designed handle...makes things a little less complicated with the skeletal and muscular conditions that accompany aging.
if you want pans that are not non-stick but of quality one purchases All Clad. if one wants non-stick pans of quality, one buys calphalon unison......if used as intended and with minimum maintenance, both will provide decades of meals that make for very happy tummies.
we have had both products for and through just about 4 decades of married life. thank you calphalon.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Calphalon Unison Nonstick Saute Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best pan in my kitchen

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Shelton
fromKingsport, TN
My Cooking Level:Advanced
We have used this pan on a regular basis ever since it arrived. It is great for cooking for any size group. The best things about it is how evenly it cooks and the clean up is so easy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Calphalon Unison Nonstick Saute Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

calphelon wok and soutee pan

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer avatar
ursula
fromwagoner, ok
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
Excellent items, seems the only pans I am using, also like the coffee maker very much, purchased that item a few months ago
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Calphalon Unison Nonstick Saute Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love it! !!!!!!!

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromCable, WI 54821, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
Works great for searing chicken then simmering for the rest of the time! It cleans up very easy nothing sticks.
My Favorite BrandCalphalone
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Calphalon Unison Nonstick Saute Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Saute Pan ! !

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
Customer avatar
OutdoorsmanTom
fromNew Mexico, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
As with all the Calphalon Unison products, this is a well made and fine saute pan. I thoroughly enjoy the Unison Nonstick line.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Calphalon Unison Nonstick Saute Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Happy so far

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Customer avatar
havenone
fromEastern Washington
I bought this pan to replace a 3 quart Emril non-stick suate pan that was used on avearge 3-4 times a week for the past five or six years. I have been very satisfied with the Emirl pan, but the non-stick properties were begining to fade.
My reasons for using non-stick are ease of food release, the reduced chance of burnng, and the ease of clean-up. The Caphalon performs well in these areas. Caphalon's representations as to the Pan's searing ability is not all hype. For a non-stick pan it does a pretty fair job. (Better I think than my Emril) I and will give it especially high marks on fish, which can be seared to the desired surface crispness in a minumum of oil and still release intact.
Don't expect the pan to sear and produce fond quite as well as stainless or cast-iron or other traditional alternatives. It won't. I I suspect this is asking too much of a non-stick surface. There is also the controversy over the health issues with non-stick. I personally turn to something other than non-stick if I want to cook at or near the smoking point of most cooking oil, but some people don't trust non-stick at even low tempertures.
As a non-stick pan which I plan to use regularly so far I am satisfied that Calphon has been a good choice to replace my old tried and true Emril. I like that fact that it is made in the USA, it sears well for a non-stick and it releases food and cleans up easily, I also like the anodized surface of on the outside of the pan, which helps the pan slide on the porcelain cooking grids on my stove. Non-anodized aluminum does not slide well on my stove-top.
I paid $99 on sale for the 3 quart which is a qreat price for its overall quality. I will note that the 3 quart my not be large enough for more than a couple, or a couple with one or two young children. It has a smaller diameter and higher sides than some other 3 quart saute pans so the cooking surface is slightly smaller. Four chicken thighs will sear OK or maybe five, add one more and your will steaming the chicken, not browning it.
I have been using this pan for about one month. What I don't know is how well it will hold up. Scan-pans are suppose to hold up to metal utensils, but the Caphalon is not advertised that way. I don't know if this reflects an acutal difference in durability, or is just cautionary on Caphalons part.
I have a couple of nit-picks. I don't like glass lids. Since I have accumulated an assortment of lids over the years I assumed I would have something that fit. I was wrong. The diameter of this pan seems to be sometthing an of an oddity. It is between a 24cm and 26cm Euorpean, and a 10" and 11" American. Be prepared to use the glass lid that comes with it. The helper handle is unnecessary on a 3 quart pan, and it can be in the way when there are other pans in use on the stove top.
Overall quite happy with the purchase.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Calphalon Unison Nonstick Saute Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I can't stop using it!

PostedMay 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Badger
fromColumbia, MO
This Unison coating is the real deal. I sauted some fresh perch in butter and lemon the other day. It came out perfect brown but not over cooked. My only grip is that I did not purchase a larger pan.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Calphalon Unison Nonstick Saute Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Surprisingly effective

PostedDecember 24, 2010
Customer avatar
Cooksforfun
fromLos Angeles
This is the first nonstick pan I have used which actually develops nice fond, but still cleans easily. It is therefore proved to be surprisingly useful. I haven't had it long enough, however, to know if it will hold up for a decent length of time -- a problem I have had with other nonstick pans.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Calphalon Unison Nonstick Saute Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy clean up

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Customer avatar
doogie
fromtexas
I got this for my son for Xmas - he loves the non-stick, easy clean up.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Calphalon Unison Nonstick Saute Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great skillet

PostedSeptember 17, 2010
Customer avatar
Frannie
fromSan diego,Ca
This skillet is certainly worth the price.
The weight is not too heavy or light, very well constructed, cleans easily and cooks evenly.
I will certainly buy other pieces when I can.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Calphalon Unison Nonstick Saute Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Perfect Saute Pan

PostedJanuary 18, 2010
Customer avatar
Buffalogal
fromBuffalo NY
Deep enough to saute without splatters. Holds heat well. Great for simmering long cooked sauces like home-made marinaras. Very easy clean up and is truly non-stick. I have had my Calphalon for well over 20 years now and it still looks good and cooks great.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Calphalon Unison Nonstick Saute Pan
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 of 2 recommend this product