Customer reviews for ChefsChoice Meat Grinder Attachment for KitchenAid Stand Mixer, Model 7995001

ChefsChoice Meat Grinder Attachment for KitchenAid Stand Mixer, Model 7995001

ChefsChoice Meat Grinder Attachment for KitchenAid Stand Mixer, Model 7995001 : ChefsChoice meat grinder attachment is precision engineered to fit all KitchenAid mixers. You control the fat and the ingredients to produce meat that is leaner, preservative-free and spiced exactly to your taste. Durable die-cast metal attachment does the work in minutes, grinding fresh beef, pork, turkey, chicken or ham. Easily grinds hard vegetables for soups and purees. Includes 3 grinding plates: coarse (8mm) for meatballs, salami and corned beef hash; medium (4.5mm) for homemade Italian sausages and bratwursts; and fine (3mm) for pate, mincing and other fine grinding. Plastic food pusher included. 8" Dia. feeding plate. Hand wash. 5 3/4"L x 2 1/2"W x 7 1/2"H. Product Features Attaches to any style KitchenAid mixer for grinding meats, pork, poultry, firm vegetables and nuts Stainless-steel and aluminum attachment is easy to attach and detach to clean Includes 3 grinding plates: coarse (8mm), medium (4.5mm) and fine (3mm) Makes freshly ground meat, sausages or corned beef at home in minutes without strenuous hand-cranking You control the fat, spices and ingredients for fresh lean meals spiced to suit your taste
Overall rating:
4.79 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
37 out of 38(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for ChefsChoice Meat Grinder Attachment for KitchenAid Stand Mixer, Model 7995001
Review 1 for ChefsChoice Meat Grinder Attachment for KitchenAid Stand Mixer, Model 7995001
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Food grinder

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Mazal80
fromNew York, NY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
Love the product. Grinds meat easily and quickly. Initially I purchased a plastic kitchenaid grinder, didnt like it because of a yucky residue that it produced with meat. Returned it and instead got this priduct. Very satisfied. No mettalic residue coming out of it. This food grinder is lightweight.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ChefsChoice Meat Grinder Attachment for KitchenAid Stand Mixer, Model 7995001
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well made, works well.

PostedMay 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Florian
fromOklahoma City, OK, USA
My Cooking Level:Expert
This is a very well made grinder. All metal construction except for the bushings which are self-lubricating nylon. Grinds meat very well, and quickly. Two extrusion plates are provided for fine and course grind. Be aware, this is a hand-wash tool. The cutting blades and extrusion plates are high-carbon steel. If you put them in your dishwasher they will be rusted to the point of ruin. The product literature clearly states that this tool must be hand-washed with mild detergent then immediately dried. I use compressed air "dust remover" to get the water out of the holes in the extrusion plates. The steel parts should then be lightly coated with food-grade oil. This takes less then five minutes. If you take proper care off this machine it should last a lifetime or longer.
+26points
26of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ChefsChoice Meat Grinder Attachment for KitchenAid Stand Mixer, Model 7995001
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Great!

PostedApril 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Karen1955
fromLas Cruces, NM
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
Works great... you must make sure the meat is semi-frozen and the pieces are small enough for the auger to feed meat into the blade.
My Favorite BrandKitchenAid
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ChefsChoice Meat Grinder Attachment for KitchenAid Stand Mixer, Model 7995001
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Shakym
fromBrushton
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
This product is worth every penny. Nice quality.
My Favorite BrandKitchenAid
 
Products related to my review
KitchenAid Limited Edition Pro 620 Stand Mixer KP26M8XMC
4.8 out of 5(184)
 
 
 
KitchenAid Ice Cream Maker Attachment KICAOWH
4.6 out of 5(46)
 
 
 
 
 
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ChefsChoice Meat Grinder Attachment for KitchenAid Stand Mixer, Model 7995001
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Your Peace Dividend

PostedFebruary 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Spago
This meat grinder is made in Hungary and everything about it screams "Fine Metalwork". The housing is cast AND machined aluminum! The faceplate and blade are high-carbon steel, and the feed screw is stainless steel so beautifully precise that it looks like it came out of a jet turbine. The result is a very quick, crisp, clean, and efficient grind with almost no heat buildup and perfect fat distribution throughout . Two things they know in Hungary are ground meat and metalwork, and they both come together in this lovely piece of heirloom equipment. For the true Gourmet!
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ChefsChoice Meat Grinder Attachment for KitchenAid Stand Mixer, Model 7995001
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ChefsChoice Meat Grinder for KitchenAid Mixer

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer avatar
beauport
fromWashington, DC, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
A great product. I purchased this after trying the KitchenAid grinder which did not work well at all. The ChefsChoice will grind meats evenly and with very little effort. If the meat is trimmed as one would expect the grinder has almost no fat build up. Cleaning is easy and straightforward even though it is recommended to wash by hand. A very well made grinder.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ChefsChoice Meat Grinder Attachment for KitchenAid Stand Mixer, Model 7995001
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bought this for my Kitchenaid Artisan mixer

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer avatar
mminmich
fromMichigan
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
This works way better than the OEM one that KA sells which is plastic. This is nice quality and works well to grind chicken thighs, chicken breasts, sirloin, and pork butt. Put the speed on 4 and attach the grinder to the KA and you are all set to go. Cleans up easily too. Comes with 3 different sized grinding plates.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ChefsChoice Meat Grinder Attachment for KitchenAid Stand Mixer, Model 7995001
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMay 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Turkeygrinder
fromAtlanta Ga
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Friend
First experience with a meat grinder. Have onlyl used it once but it worked flawlessly. Easy clean up. Love it and would strongly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ChefsChoice Meat Grinder Attachment for KitchenAid Stand Mixer, Model 7995001
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromOklahoma, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
I purchased the meat grinder to grind all the "venison" my son and his daughter were going to bring into the house, not this year but next deer season for sure !
I did buy a cheaper roast and stew meat when it was on sale, and ground my own hamburger, I'm really impressed, I think this will save me money in the furture, sausage, chicken, I know I'll find all kind of uses. I love it
My Favorite Brandkitchenaid and cuisnart
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ChefsChoice Meat Grinder Attachment for KitchenAid Stand Mixer, Model 7995001
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy and efficient

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer avatar
RED63
fromPahrump, NV, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
This is well built with no cheap plastic parts. The all metal construction makes it rugged enough for large amounts of grinding at one time. I love the 3 different coarseness disks so I can be selective with my grinding making it perfect for sausage as well as burger.
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ChefsChoice Meat Grinder Attachment for KitchenAid Stand Mixer, Model 7995001
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Two Thumbs Up!!!

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer avatar
c39532
fromVirginia
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Put the meat grinder attachment to good use this evening. Worked as advertized and gave us the ground pork we expected.
Thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ChefsChoice Meat Grinder Attachment for KitchenAid Stand Mixer, Model 7995001
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fresh groundbeef

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromRotonda West, FL, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
I'm a first timer at this... but when I followed the easy rules for food safety...like putting the grinder part and the cut meat in the freezer for 20 min. and your catch bowl in a bigger bowl of ice just before grinding...
everything came out great... 6 lbs of fresh ground beef... just vacuum seal it into freezer bag and your good for 6 great meal.. total time 20 min...
p.s. put a light coat of oil on the working part before
you grind it helps in clean up... great product
My Favorite Brandkitchen aid
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ChefsChoice Meat Grinder Attachment for KitchenAid Stand Mixer, Model 7995001
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

meat grinder

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
dad1942
fromSpringfield, MO, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
was of good quality and fit up to my KitchenAid with no problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ChefsChoice Meat Grinder Attachment for KitchenAid Stand Mixer, Model 7995001
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Why you should buy this one

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
docp
fromSan Diego, CA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
If you are considering this one versus the other attachment (I'm not supposed to mention other brands), perhaps I can help you decide.
I've used the other food grinder attachment for years and it is fine.
I grind my own meats for various applications and hardly ever by ground meat of any kind.
My wife got me the Chef's Choice attachment for Christmas.
First, a negative point: Another reviewer praised the metalwork. It's actually only fair. There are some gaps in the casting particularly around the threads. However, surfaces are smooth and the generally well made.
This product works significantly better as a grinder than the mostly-plastic one and is easier to clean. The main advantages are:
1. The Auger is far superior. This is the main difference. The all-metal auger has much deeper "threads," more flights and varied pitch. The widest pitch is where the food enters, grabbing the food effectively. The pitch narrows significantly by the time it reaches the cutter. The result is that each turn of the auger moves less food,but more effectively compresses the food as it feeds into the cutters for more efficient grinding.
2.The quality of the disks and the included fine disk. The metal on these is thicker and they are very well machined.
3. The tolerances inside the machine are closer and there is less fatty residue left lining the inside of the machine, making it easier to clean (the way it comes apart also helps the cleaning).
4. There is more room in the hopper...not the biggest deal, but helpful.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ChefsChoice Meat Grinder Attachment for KitchenAid Stand Mixer, Model 7995001
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Cocoa66
fromDover, OH, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Calamity
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ellie Krieger
I love this meat grinder. I can control the amount of fat in ground meat and eliminate the bone pieces that are always in pre-ground. I can also have a smaller grind than store bought which is easier for my very small Grandchildren to eat
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ChefsChoice Meat Grinder Attachment for KitchenAid Stand Mixer, Model 7995001
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Meat grinder attachment for kitchen aid mixer

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
fishhead
fromBangor, ME, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
I have used this product once and it worked great!
I have used other meat grinders and thought this was built very solid as compared to my previous brands. All metal construction should hold up to years of use. The size of the feed tube could have been bigger and requires you to pre-cut the pieces into cubes before grinding. The product also didn't come with any sausage stuffing tubes, so it is basically a meat or food grinder.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ChefsChoice Meat Grinder Attachment for KitchenAid Stand Mixer, Model 7995001
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Made with Quality

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Bobthechef
fromOviedo, FL, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I prefer to grind my own beef. So far it had done the trick for me. I also use it to grind almonds, raisins, and figs for baking. I'm sure it will do just fine. Good Job !
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ChefsChoice Meat Grinder Attachment for KitchenAid Stand Mixer, Model 7995001
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Long awaited gadget

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
GwenC
fromTequesta, FL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
After reading reviews of this meat grinder and the KitchenAid one for our professional stand mixer, we decided to go with the ChefsCatalog model and we were not disappointed. The quality is excellent and clean up is a breeze. So far we have made 2 flavors of breakfast sausage, Italian sausage and home ground beef. The process is simple and quick and the results have been better than we hoped for.
FYI- Our sausage was made with a mixture of 2 parts lean pork (in our case wild boar hams) and one part pork fat from our local grocery store. After mixing with the appropriate spices and stuffing into casings, we froze the links on parchment lined bakings sheet and vacuum sealed the next day. Perfect!
My Favorite BrandKichenAid
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ChefsChoice Meat Grinder Attachment for KitchenAid Stand Mixer, Model 7995001
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

grinder

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Customer avatar
spookey123
frommassachusetts
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
works fine but would nice to obtain other disk sizes
My Favorite Brandmany
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ChefsChoice Meat Grinder Attachment for KitchenAid Stand Mixer, Model 7995001
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT CHOICE CHEFS

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Customer avatar
lobi
fromwarren N.J
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
excellent for anything you need to grind from meatloaf to any kind of sausage you could imagine .Very easy to set up and take down and clean . All stainless beautiful product Thanks CHEFSCHOICE
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>