Customer reviews for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan

de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan

de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan : Made of 99% iron, the organic Mineral pan is the natural choice of conscientious cooks. With its 2-3mm thickness, this pan performs outstandingly well at high temperatures to quickly seal in vitamins and nutrients. Beautifully sears and grills foods that coated pans cannot. The more you use these Mineral pans, the better they perform, as these pans darken naturally and become nonstick over time. Free of chemicals, PFOA and PTFE coatings, these pans naturally enhance the flavor of steaks, seafood, omelettes, crepes and more, by sealing in nutrients under high heat. The sloped sides make blending and turning of ingredients easy. De Buyer takes a proactive approach toward ecologically responsible cookware with the Mineral pan. Available in 8" and 10", 12" and 14" Dia. Made in France. Safe for all heat sources, including induction. Founded in France in 1830, de Buyer is the manufacturer of the blue-steel French crepe pan used by chefs around the world. The name de Buyer is renowned as a premier European supplier of top quality utensils and cookware. Product Features 99% iron, organic pan is the preferred pan of conscientious cooks Ecologically responsible pan is 100% recyclable Seals in juices, resulting in caramelization (the Maillard reaction) Performance improves over time, the more the pan is used the darker it becomes for all natural nonstick cooking Authentic lyonnaise shape ideal for crepes, omelettes, caramelizing onions and searing vegetables and meats Iron molecules from the pan contribute to good health Steel handle is triple riveted for durability Large 14" fry pan includes helper handle 3 Piece Set includes: 8" Fry Pan, 10" Fry Pan and 12" Fry Pan de Buyer is the maker of premium French cookware since the 1830's
Overall rating:
4.736 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(353 reviews) 341
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 353 reviews
5 Stars
295
4 Stars
39
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
8
1 Star
4
334 out of 353(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Review 1 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Must Add to Your Kitchen

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Tabasco62
fromCharleston, WV, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Calamity
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Gordon Ramsay
Purchased this pan as a Christmas Gift for my Wife, and it was certainly a great purchase. I think my Wife has used this pan partically every day since Christmas.
This pan works wonderfully well for searing as it heats quickly and evenly, even on a glass induction top.
The pan seasons much the same as cast iron pans and thus needs to be taken care of in the same manner as cast iron.
Once it becomes seasoned it is virtually non-stick. It is also perfect for sticking into the oven or running something under the broiler.
The big advantage over cast iron is the long handle that makes it much easier to lift and handle. Overall, a great pan and a must add to your kitchen.
My Favorite BrandLe Creuset
+9points
14of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome pan!

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromWI
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Loving this pan so far. It is great for searing a steak, and then finishing it off in the same pan in the oven. Perfection!
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful heavy pans to last a lifetime.

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer avatar
auntiemango
fromGranbury, Texas
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
These pans are gorgeous! Heavy, long handles that do get warm but will go out today and get handle covers for them. Have done eggs and bacon in them and stuck a little as it was the first use. Put hot water in and wiped with cloth, scraped a little w/ plastic spatula. All came out great. These pans replace teflon pans we need to get away from. Remind me of my mom's pans except heavier. Love, love, love them. Just need to take special care of them as they can't be soaked.
My Favorite BrandAny thing Chefs Catalog.
 
Products related to my review
Waring Flip Waffler WMK300A
4.9 out of 5(193)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+16points
18of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolute Non-stick Solution

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Customer avatar
LukeF
fromGermantown, WI
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I wanted pans that would be non-stick but that could also be placed directly from stovetop to a very hot oven without concern for handle integrity or potential degradation of the non-stick coating. As well, I was tired of replacing relatively expensive high-quality pans every number of years when their coatings began to chip or flake. I also wanted a pan with which I could use metal utensils without the concern of damaging the pan. De Buyer to the rescue!
I will caution that the pans should be seasoned using the method (using potato peels) that is demonstrated in de Buyer's You Tube video that is inexplicitly not included with the product. That said, I seared beef only twice on the 12" pan (bought the 3-piece set) before doing a large batch of scrambled eggs that simply slid off the pan when they were done. Not a morsel stuck to the pan. Just recently I made a German style pancake that starts on the stovetop but finishes in the pan in a 450 oven. It, too, slid right off the pan when done. Although I haven't used the small pan yet, the 10" pan gave the same results as the 12".
The construction of the pans is so sturdy that I'm certain they will last for my lifetime & probably be handed down after that. My only regret is that I hesitated buying these for over a year; my loss. I love that I can use metal utensils without damaging or scratching the pans; they heat evenly and quickly; they clean up easily and can be nested for easier storage.
My only negative comment is that the best method of seasoning the pans is not included with them ... makes no sense. I have two cautions regarding use of the product not provided by de Buyer; although they may look in photos that they are much lighter than cast iron, they are only minimally so (my wife cannot handle the 12" pan one-handed); being pure iron, they hold their heat for a VERY long time, so take care handling after cooking.
I have to highly recommend this product. As a home chef, I can frankly say that I haven't been this thrilled by a cookware's performance since the advent of induction cooking.
My Favorite BrandAll Clad
+68points
80of 92voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding pan!

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Customer avatar
rubycherokee
fromMidlothian, Va
Got the 8" as a gift from my wife. Seasoned it, used it, LOVE it!! Love it so much, ended up buying the 10" pan!!! These things saute', fry, broil...go from the burner to the oven and back without breaking a sweat...great searing pan...just remember, when it is in the oven, use a mit to get it out...Also have the grilling pan, love that one too!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Fe!

PostedJanuary 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Maximus
fromAustin, TX
We bought these since traditional coated non-stick pans lose their effectiveness, require special tools, and are easily damaged. Once eggs start sticking the non-stick property on a coated pan is pretty much toast - at this point it gets relegated to stew and sauce duty, camping duty, or recycled to Goodwill.
We've always liked cast iron since the non-stick properties can be rejuvenated by proper seasoning and cleaning - although the larger pans are rather heavy for some applications, and it takes a long time to develop a smooth layer of seasoning on the rough sand-cast surface. The de Buyer pans are much lighter, and due to the smooth surface finish it is a quick and easy process to develop a usable level of seasoning. I suspect the iron used in these pans is the same material used in commercial griddles and woks which are well known to develop very usable and durable non-stick properties.
We did follow the de Buyer method of boiling potato skins in water for awhile - this did a good job of cleaning the Fe (iron) surface and prepare it for accepting a traditional oil-based seasoning. After a few seasoning sessions and some normal use frying some easy stuff, I just tried scrambled eggs today in the largest pan - success! Next step is an omelet, which I think will work just fine. I fully expect we'll keep these as first-line frying pans for a very long time!
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

For The Rough Handler

PostedDecember 19, 2009
Customer avatar
vhfvhf
fromHixson, TN
Purchased as a gift, I hope this pan is indestructable for it's going to someone who is extrememly rough on cookware. The hand washing & drying is no problem. Cleanup may be a little tougher if he doesn't season the pan first - so I've instructed to do so. They sound great and I love the sloping sides.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent fry pan

PostedAugust 28, 2015
Customer avatar
breadbakerannie
fromTennessee
My Cooking Level:Expert
Right out of the box this frying pan was pretty much non-stick using a minimum of oil. After several uses it is as good as my old cast iron skillets. Before using it the first time I seasoned it with 1/3 cup oil, 1/3 cup salt, and the peelings of 2 large potatoes, stirring them until the peelings where a deep brown but not burned. After that, I just wiped it out with paper towels and it was ready to go.
The only thing that I could complain about with this pan is the handle: it's longer than the handles on my cast irons and does get in the way if I'm not careful. Due to the length of the handle, I am hanging it on my wall rack.
I will use this skillet for frying and save my Le Creuset for dishes that are sauce-based.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Iron fry pans

PostedAugust 26, 2015
Customer avatar
Arthur65
fromLa Junta, CO, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Wolfgang Puck
These iron fry pans have inhanced my cooking skills tremendously. I wwould recomend them to anyone.
My Favorite BrandNone
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

de Buyer fry pan

PostedAugust 10, 2015
Customer avatar
raythehunter
fromSuperior, WI, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
New purchase and haven't used it much so far. Have a smaller one and like it. Pans are heavy and solid and should last a lifetime. Would recommend with confidence.
My Favorite Brandde Buyer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Frugal Gourmet’s delight

PostedAugust 5, 2015
Customer avatar
cookieK
fromSan Mateo, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
I love the way the de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan cooks!
The bacon does crisp so beautifully, with omlette cooked on top comes out with the crispy bacon underneath and the salmon comes out perfectly too. Not so much heat is needed either.
I eat simply, but really appreciate such great results using this pan!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New

PostedJuly 29, 2015
Customer avatar
Riverman
fromPine Bluff, AR, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Beginner
I tend to cook meals that are:Budget
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Just went through a flood and lost my cook wear so I replaced it with this. Had the large one now have all four. Love it. From my kitchen to the woods it does great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superlative cookware

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Customer avatar
Recordgeek
fromChicago, IL, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
Professional grade cookware. These pans get hotter than anything else you are likely to find including cast iron, and are ideal for searing or cooking at high heat. They cook very evenly and perform magnificently. The handles stay cool unless you have been cooking at extremely high heat for an extended period at which point they will eventually pick up some heat, but for most applications the handles stay cool to the touch. You must season them in order for them to achieve non-stick performance but once that happens they behave just like a non-stick, only there are no coatings or chemicals, it's a natural non-stick proposition. You have to be willing to put up with the ugliness of the natural seasoning which will involve burn marks, dark splotches, etc. just like in a commercial kitchen. You also must be willing to adhere to the cleaning regimen (hot water, no soap, never dishwasher, no abrasives, basically just like cleaning a cast iron skillet). If you do these will last a lifetime and perform marvelously. Enjoy!
My Favorite BrandLe Creuset
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As good as my old cast iron

PostedJune 30, 2015
Customer avatar
Smitty254
fromStony Point
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
This is taking place of my old cast iron frying pan
which I have cleaned up and put on display as it was made by my father when he worked at a foundry.
R. E. Smith
My Favorite Brand?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

replaced my ceramic NS

PostedJune 19, 2015
Customer avatar
RedRyder
fromMinnesota, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
thought I'd try the all steel/iron pan for once, although very heavy, they should last a life time as opposed to replacing the nonstick variety every few yrs.
My Favorite BrandHenckels
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Frying Pan Set

PostedJune 2, 2015
Customer avatar
Atlas
fromPa.
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Rocco DiSprito
The De Buyer pan set is really nice. Like the way they perform on/in the oven.
My Favorite Brandde Buyer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

not for the casual cook

PostedMay 29, 2015
Customer avatar
bakingbabo
fromVermont
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
These are wonderful pans, but if you're the kind of person that wants to throw everything in the dishwasher, they are not for you. Like cast iron, they will perform wonderfully well if you take the time to take care of them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Tool

PostedMay 19, 2015
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromNew York, NY, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I spent a day or two perfecting the season. This is essential but not too daunting a task. By day two the pans (I have two of them) were stick free and were the best pans I have ever used. I am a longtime amateur chef but since I started using the de Buyer pans my other ones have remained in storage.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

10" Mineral Pan

PostedMay 15, 2015
Customer avatar
KCChuckie
fromKansas
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
REALLY IMPRESSED w/this pan!! It is everything they claim it is, and MORE!! After just ONE seasoning, fried eggs slide right out of the pan! Will be ordering the 8" in the near future.
My Favorite Brandde buyer now!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cook like a professional!

PostedMay 12, 2015
Customer avatar
panfan100
fromSanta Cruz, CA, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I can see why professional chefs use these pans. Everything browns evenly and perfectly. From searing steaks to creating a bechamel sauce, the results are superb. And seasoning the pans is simple. The only drawback is the handles do get hot, so keep a pot holder nearby. Other than that, these pans are perfection!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>