Customer reviews for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan

de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan

de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan : Made of 99% iron, the organic Mineral pan is the natural choice of conscientious cooks. With its 2-3mm thickness, this pan performs outstandingly well at high temperatures to quickly seal in vitamins and nutrients. Beautifully sears and grills foods that coated pans cannot. The more you use these Mineral pans, the better they perform, as these pans darken naturally and become nonstick over time. Free of chemicals, PFOA and PTFE coatings, these pans naturally enhance the flavor of steaks, seafood, omelettes, crepes and more, by sealing in nutrients under high heat. The sloped sides make blending and turning of ingredients easy. De Buyer takes a proactive approach toward ecologically responsible cookware with the Mineral pan. Available in 8" and 10", 12" and 14" Dia. Made in France. Safe for all heat sources, including induction. Founded in France in 1830, de Buyer is the manufacturer of the blue-steel French crepe pan used by chefs around the world. The name de Buyer is renowned as a premier European supplier of top quality utensils and cookware. Product Features 99% iron, organic pan is the preferred pan of conscientious cooks Ecologically responsible pan is 100% recyclable Seals in juices, resulting in caramelization (the Maillard reaction) Performance improves over time, the more the pan is used the darker it becomes for all natural nonstick cooking Authentic lyonnaise shape ideal for crepes, omelettes, caramelizing onions and searing vegetables and meats Iron molecules from the pan contribute to good health Steel handle is triple riveted for durability Large 14" fry pan includes helper handle 3 Piece Set includes: 8" Fry Pan, 10" Fry Pan and 12" Fry Pan de Buyer is the maker of premium French cookware since the 1830's
Overall rating:
4.74 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(369 reviews) 355
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 369 reviews
5 Stars
309
4 Stars
40
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
8
1 Star
4
350 out of 369(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Review 1 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Must Add to Your Kitchen

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Tabasco62
fromCharleston, WV, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Calamity
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Gordon Ramsay
Purchased this pan as a Christmas Gift for my Wife, and it was certainly a great purchase. I think my Wife has used this pan partically every day since Christmas.
This pan works wonderfully well for searing as it heats quickly and evenly, even on a glass induction top.
The pan seasons much the same as cast iron pans and thus needs to be taken care of in the same manner as cast iron.
Once it becomes seasoned it is virtually non-stick. It is also perfect for sticking into the oven or running something under the broiler.
The big advantage over cast iron is the long handle that makes it much easier to lift and handle. Overall, a great pan and a must add to your kitchen.
My Favorite BrandLe Creuset
+12points
26of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome pan!

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromWI
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Loving this pan so far. It is great for searing a steak, and then finishing it off in the same pan in the oven. Perfection!
+5points
11of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful heavy pans to last a lifetime.

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer avatar
auntiemango
fromGranbury, Texas
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
These pans are gorgeous! Heavy, long handles that do get warm but will go out today and get handle covers for them. Have done eggs and bacon in them and stuck a little as it was the first use. Put hot water in and wiped with cloth, scraped a little w/ plastic spatula. All came out great. These pans replace teflon pans we need to get away from. Remind me of my mom's pans except heavier. Love, love, love them. Just need to take special care of them as they can't be soaked.
My Favorite BrandAny thing Chefs Catalog.
 
Products related to my review
Waring Flip Waffler WMK300A
4.9 out of 5(193)
 
 
 
Lodge Pro Logic Square Grill Pan
4.7 out of 5(22)
 
 
 
 
 
+15points
20of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolute Non-stick Solution

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Customer avatar
LukeF
fromGermantown, WI
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I wanted pans that would be non-stick but that could also be placed directly from stovetop to a very hot oven without concern for handle integrity or potential degradation of the non-stick coating. As well, I was tired of replacing relatively expensive high-quality pans every number of years when their coatings began to chip or flake. I also wanted a pan with which I could use metal utensils without the concern of damaging the pan. De Buyer to the rescue!
I will caution that the pans should be seasoned using the method (using potato peels) that is demonstrated in de Buyer's You Tube video that is inexplicitly not included with the product. That said, I seared beef only twice on the 12" pan (bought the 3-piece set) before doing a large batch of scrambled eggs that simply slid off the pan when they were done. Not a morsel stuck to the pan. Just recently I made a German style pancake that starts on the stovetop but finishes in the pan in a 450 oven. It, too, slid right off the pan when done. Although I haven't used the small pan yet, the 10" pan gave the same results as the 12".
The construction of the pans is so sturdy that I'm certain they will last for my lifetime & probably be handed down after that. My only regret is that I hesitated buying these for over a year; my loss. I love that I can use metal utensils without damaging or scratching the pans; they heat evenly and quickly; they clean up easily and can be nested for easier storage.
My only negative comment is that the best method of seasoning the pans is not included with them ... makes no sense. I have two cautions regarding use of the product not provided by de Buyer; although they may look in photos that they are much lighter than cast iron, they are only minimally so (my wife cannot handle the 12" pan one-handed); being pure iron, they hold their heat for a VERY long time, so take care handling after cooking.
I have to highly recommend this product. As a home chef, I can frankly say that I haven't been this thrilled by a cookware's performance since the advent of induction cooking.
My Favorite BrandAll Clad
+75points
89of 103voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding pan!

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Customer avatar
rubycherokee
fromMidlothian, Va
Got the 8" as a gift from my wife. Seasoned it, used it, LOVE it!! Love it so much, ended up buying the 10" pan!!! These things saute', fry, broil...go from the burner to the oven and back without breaking a sweat...great searing pan...just remember, when it is in the oven, use a mit to get it out...Also have the grilling pan, love that one too!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Fe!

PostedJanuary 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Maximus
fromAustin, TX
We bought these since traditional coated non-stick pans lose their effectiveness, require special tools, and are easily damaged. Once eggs start sticking the non-stick property on a coated pan is pretty much toast - at this point it gets relegated to stew and sauce duty, camping duty, or recycled to Goodwill.
We've always liked cast iron since the non-stick properties can be rejuvenated by proper seasoning and cleaning - although the larger pans are rather heavy for some applications, and it takes a long time to develop a smooth layer of seasoning on the rough sand-cast surface. The de Buyer pans are much lighter, and due to the smooth surface finish it is a quick and easy process to develop a usable level of seasoning. I suspect the iron used in these pans is the same material used in commercial griddles and woks which are well known to develop very usable and durable non-stick properties.
We did follow the de Buyer method of boiling potato skins in water for awhile - this did a good job of cleaning the Fe (iron) surface and prepare it for accepting a traditional oil-based seasoning. After a few seasoning sessions and some normal use frying some easy stuff, I just tried scrambled eggs today in the largest pan - success! Next step is an omelet, which I think will work just fine. I fully expect we'll keep these as first-line frying pans for a very long time!
+18points
20of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

For The Rough Handler

PostedDecember 19, 2009
Customer avatar
vhfvhf
fromHixson, TN
Purchased as a gift, I hope this pan is indestructable for it's going to someone who is extrememly rough on cookware. The hand washing & drying is no problem. Cleanup may be a little tougher if he doesn't season the pan first - so I've instructed to do so. They sound great and I love the sloping sides.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love, love love these

PostedDecember 15, 2015
Customer avatar
DFusty
fromCanton NC
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I absolutely love these pans. They are what I had been looking for. I can use them on my smooth top range without scratching it. I can use them on my induction burner and I can use them in the oven. They are easy to clean if they are well seasoned. Just all around great pans. Should last forever.
My Favorite Brandde Buyer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These are a keeper!

PostedDecember 14, 2015
Customer avatar
JT47
fromMurrells Inlet, SC, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
Love these pans so far, though I've only used the 8" and 10" since I recently purchased them. I seasoned as directed with potato peels and then oil and have been pleased with the non-stick performance and even heating. I had eyed them in the catalog for some time, and when they went on sale, I bought. I had purchased the carbon steel grill pan a while back and really liked how it cooked meats. But it is even more difficult to clean because of all the ridges, so drying between them on the inside and bottom and oiling them took extra care. Now these are easier to clean and oil. I am an old time cast iron user, so I like that these are heavy, but not as much as cast. Today I cooked an egg in butter in the 8" and it did not stick at all. It has only been cooked in 3 times before and hasn't even turned very dark yet!
My Favorite BrandLodge,Calphalon, LeCreuset, and now de Buyer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Completes my set

PostedNovember 24, 2015
Customer avatar
Engl6914
fromNatchez, Miss. USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
I already have the 10 inch skillet and the saute skillet. I bought the 12 inch for the greater size. These really are non-stick if you follow the deBuyer's method of seasoning. Searing and other kinds of skillet cooking are outstanding with these implements. The difference with the food result compared to aluminum or even LeCruset skillets is quite obvious. Very heavy duty and professional and well worth the money. You'll pass them on to your children.
My Favorite BrandLeCruset
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Reserving Final Judgement Regarding "Non Stick"

PostedNovember 24, 2015
Customer avatar
DanGo
fromRhode Island, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
I am a very experienced cook, and I have been using cast iron for a long time.
First of all, this pan (the 12 inch pan)is very heavy when empty. I find it especially heavy relative to the width of the handle and the thinness of the handle material. When filled with food, I therefore find it nearly impossible to "toss" the food to saute it. The classic shape of this pan IS designed for this classic saute technique but I cannot lift it when full. (I am a pretty strong man).
Secondly, the construction is fabulous and I think it will outlast any ordinary human. It should last forever.
Thirdly, the weight and thermal retention makes it excellent for searing, stir-frying, finishing in the oven, etc.
Finally, I spent 5 days seasoning this pan using the most rigorous technique on the 'net with flax oil and long stints in the oven.. It had a beautiful black coating. Guess what...NOT NONSTICK. Not even close. So for now, I think calling this a "healthy Teflon replacement" is not appropriate.
I WILL see if after longer use it becomes non-stick. Until then I reserve judgement.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedNovember 2, 2015
Customer avatar
JAKE22
fromSouth Charleston, WV, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I HAVEN'T HAD THE PAN LONG ENOUGH TO GET IT SEASONED BUT WHEN I GET THERE I THINK THE PAN WILL OUT LAST ME. TIRED OF BUYING TEFLON PANS.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Pans

PostedOctober 22, 2015
Customer avatar
MMMMMMM
fromAliso Viejo, CA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Gordon Ramsay
I'm extremely pleased with these pans. Nice weight without being too heavy or too light. Very comfortable handle, and great shape to the pan.
The trick is to season them properly prior to use... Best and easiest way to season is as follows. Rinse with very hot water, dry with towel. Add 1/3 cup Canola or Coconut Oil, 2/3 cup Salt, and the peels of two Potato's. Heat all of this over medium high heat and stir all over every surface of the inside of the pan for about 8 to 10 minutes. Your goal is to do this up to the point that the peels are just burt. Then throw away the mixture, wipe inside of pan with towel, allow to cool, rinse with hot water, wipe with Canola or Coconut Oil and put away. The pan will become darker in color, that is good, over time it will continue to darken. Do not use soap or abrasive on the pan. Simply deglaze the pan with water. I often deglaze with a bit of wine and make a pan sauce with residual fond. I've not had any issue cooking acidic foods, it does strip the seasoning a bit, but seasoning comes right back with use. If seasoned properly it will be non stick and perform very very well. I've since sold all of my Stainless and Cast Iron pans.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

de Buyer Mineral Fry Pan

PostedOctober 20, 2015
Customer avatar
Sheila1351
fromMaine, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
I recently purchased the de Buyer fry pan and have
seasoned it and used it only one time. The pan is smaller than I expected. It's obviously good quality and heavy. I cooked a steak and it seared it nicely and came out perfect. This is the main reason I purchased the pan. The only concern I have it that it has two different directions on how to season it. The cardboard which holds the pan has one set of directions and there is a small pamphlet with another set of directions which are not the same. Hopefully I did it correctly. They were not easily understandable as they are written from a French prospective and used terminology that I did not quite understand, For instance it said to clean with a green sponge. I have no idea what they are referring to. Hope this is helpful. I only rated it as good due to having used it only one time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great BIG Pan!!!

PostedOctober 19, 2015
Customer avatar
WHCIII
fromPlano, TX, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
This is a great pan for the serious cook. It is an IRON pan and not a coated pan that needs to be seasoned before they become non stick like a cast Iron pan.
This pan is not for the faint at heart since it is large and heavy. I did a salmon dish this weekend with Couscous and went straight from the stove to the oven and the salmon was out standing. Clean up was a breeze sine I have gotten the pan seasoned. I also have the 6", 8", 12" as well. all have exceeded my expectations for quality and performance.
Once they are seasoned you really can begin to enjoy the performance of a non stick pan that you don't have to worry about disturbing the non stick coatings of other pans.
These are the best. PERIOD
My Favorite BrandDeBuyers now
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pan

PostedOctober 13, 2015
Customer avatar
flew80
fromTX
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
It's kind of heavy. Not like a cast iron of the same size would be. But heavy. I'm in the process of curing it. Looking good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pan

PostedOctober 12, 2015
Customer avatar
Paquette
fromWA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
All the convenience of cast iron but not light in weight. Does exactly as claimed. I am working on using it to build up the patena and think it will be my favorite pan. I did purchase a slide on silicon handle sleeve. That really improved ease of grip and less heat to the handle.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new favorite pans

PostedOctober 8, 2015
Customer avatar
Grandmawhite
fromMid usa
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mario Batali
After spending big bucks on nonstick pans that said they wouldn't scratch and then did I bought these. After seasoning these pans I have cooked everything, eggs, potatoes, veggies and all sorts of things. Nothing sticks and they wash easily. I will never have to buy a new skillet again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Once seasoned, Twice Fried

PostedSeptember 29, 2015
Customer avatar
WHCIII
fromPlano, TX, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
I got the set about two weeks ago. I washed and seasoned them per the instructions. After seasoning, I did a fried egg that slid out of the pan with very little oil or effort. Clean up was a breeze with just a brief wipe and a bit of hot water.
The pans are heavier than I expected but that was a good sign for me. They heat up well and hold heat like cast iron. The smaller pans handles can get hot when using high heat so be careful. Already ordered silicon pan grips.
I also did a large piece of Salmon on the stove and threw it in the oven to finish it off. The Salmon turned out great and again clean up was a breeze.
I liked them so much I have now ordered the 14 inch pan. Can't wait to receive it. Chefs is the best with fast shipping and great packaging to protect my order.
Thanks Chefs.
My Favorite BrandDe Buyer
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pan

PostedSeptember 28, 2015
Customer avatar
Murre
fromMinnesota, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Love it Both my husband and I have made a few items in the pan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>