Customer reviews for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan

de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan

de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan : Made of 99% iron, the organic Mineral pan is the natural choice of conscientious cooks. With its 2-3mm thickness, this pan performs outstandingly well at high temperatures to quickly seal in vitamins and nutrients. Beautifully sears and grills foods that coated pans cannot. The more you use these Mineral pans, the better they perform, as these pans darken naturally and become nonstick over time. Free of chemicals, PFOA and PTFE coatings, these pans naturally enhance the flavor of steaks, seafood, omelettes, crepes and more, by sealing in nutrients under high heat. The sloped sides make blending and turning of ingredients easy. De Buyer takes a proactive approach toward ecologically-responsible cookware with the Mineral pan. Available in 8" and 10", 12" and 14" Dia. Made in France. Safe for all heat sources, including induction. Founded in France in 1830, de Buyer is the manufacturer of the blue-steel French crepe pan used by chefs around the world. The name de Buyer is renowned as a premier European supplier of top quality utensils and cookware. Product Features 99% iron, organic pan is the preferred pan of conscientious cooks Ecologically-responsible pan is 100% recyclable Seals in juices, resulting in carmelization (the Maillard reaction) Performance improves over time, the more the pan is used the darker it becomes for all-natural nonstick cooking Authentic lyonnaise shape ideal for crepes, omelettes, carmelizing onions and searing vegetables and meats Iron molecules from the pan contribute to good health Steel handle is triple-riveted for durability Large 14" fry pan includes helper handle 3 Piece Set includes: 8" Fry Pan, 10" Fry Pan and 12" Fry Pan de Buyer is the maker of premium French cookware since the 1830's
Overall rating:
4.735 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(309 reviews) 298
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 309 reviews
5 Stars
259
4 Stars
32
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
8
1 Star
3
292 out of 309(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Review 1 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Must Add to Your Kitchen

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Tabasco62
fromCharleston, WV, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Calamity
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Gordon Ramsay
Purchased this pan as a Christmas Gift for my Wife, and it was certainly a great purchase. I think my Wife has used this pan partically every day since Christmas.
This pan works wonderfully well for searing as it heats quickly and evenly, even on a glass induction top.
The pan seasons much the same as cast iron pans and thus needs to be taken care of in the same manner as cast iron.
Once it becomes seasoned it is virtually non-stick. It is also perfect for sticking into the oven or running something under the broiler.
The big advantage over cast iron is the long handle that makes it much easier to lift and handle. Overall, a great pan and a must add to your kitchen.
My Favorite BrandLe Creuset
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome pan!

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromWI
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Loving this pan so far. It is great for searing a steak, and then finishing it off in the same pan in the oven. Perfection!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful heavy pans to last a lifetime.

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer avatar
auntiemango
fromGranbury, Texas
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
These pans are gorgeous! Heavy, long handles that do get warm but will go out today and get handle covers for them. Have done eggs and bacon in them and stuck a little as it was the first use. Put hot water in and wiped with cloth, scraped a little w/ plastic spatula. All came out great. These pans replace teflon pans we need to get away from. Remind me of my mom's pans except heavier. Love, love, love them. Just need to take special care of them as they can't be soaked.
My Favorite BrandAny thing Chefs Catalog.
 
Products related to my review
Waring Flip Waffler WMK300A
4.9 out of 5(193)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolute Non-stick Solution

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Customer avatar
LukeF
fromGermantown, WI
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I wanted pans that would be non-stick but that could also be placed directly from stovetop to a very hot oven without concern for handle integrity or potential degradation of the non-stick coating. As well, I was tired of replacing relatively expensive high-quality pans every number of years when their coatings began to chip or flake. I also wanted a pan with which I could use metal utensils without the concern of damaging the pan. De Buyer to the rescue!
I will caution that the pans should be seasoned using the method (using potato peels) that is demonstrated in de Buyer's You Tube video that is inexplicitly not included with the product. That said, I seared beef only twice on the 12" pan (bought the 3-piece set) before doing a large batch of scrambled eggs that simply slid off the pan when they were done. Not a morsel stuck to the pan. Just recently I made a German style pancake that starts on the stovetop but finishes in the pan in a 450 oven. It, too, slid right off the pan when done. Although I haven't used the small pan yet, the 10" pan gave the same results as the 12".
The construction of the pans is so sturdy that I'm certain they will last for my lifetime & probably be handed down after that. My only regret is that I hesitated buying these for over a year; my loss. I love that I can use metal utensils without damaging or scratching the pans; they heat evenly and quickly; they clean up easily and can be nested for easier storage.
My only negative comment is that the best method of seasoning the pans is not included with them ... makes no sense. I have two cautions regarding use of the product not provided by de Buyer; although they may look in photos that they are much lighter than cast iron, they are only minimally so (my wife cannot handle the 12" pan one-handed); being pure iron, they hold their heat for a VERY long time, so take care handling after cooking.
I have to highly recommend this product. As a home chef, I can frankly say that I haven't been this thrilled by a cookware's performance since the advent of induction cooking.
My Favorite BrandAll Clad
+51points
58of 65voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding pan!

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Customer avatar
rubycherokee
fromMidlothian, Va
Got the 8" as a gift from my wife. Seasoned it, used it, LOVE it!! Love it so much, ended up buying the 10" pan!!! These things saute', fry, broil...go from the burner to the oven and back without breaking a sweat...great searing pan...just remember, when it is in the oven, use a mit to get it out...Also have the grilling pan, love that one too!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Fe!

PostedJanuary 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Maximus
fromAustin, TX
We bought these since traditional coated non-stick pans lose their effectiveness, require special tools, and are easily damaged. Once eggs start sticking the non-stick property on a coated pan is pretty much toast - at this point it gets relegated to stew and sauce duty, camping duty, or recycled to Goodwill.
We've always liked cast iron since the non-stick properties can be rejuvenated by proper seasoning and cleaning - although the larger pans are rather heavy for some applications, and it takes a long time to develop a smooth layer of seasoning on the rough sand-cast surface. The de Buyer pans are much lighter, and due to the smooth surface finish it is a quick and easy process to develop a usable level of seasoning. I suspect the iron used in these pans is the same material used in commercial griddles and woks which are well known to develop very usable and durable non-stick properties.
We did follow the de Buyer method of boiling potato skins in water for awhile - this did a good job of cleaning the Fe (iron) surface and prepare it for accepting a traditional oil-based seasoning. After a few seasoning sessions and some normal use frying some easy stuff, I just tried scrambled eggs today in the largest pan - success! Next step is an omelet, which I think will work just fine. I fully expect we'll keep these as first-line frying pans for a very long time!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

For The Rough Handler

PostedDecember 19, 2009
Customer avatar
vhfvhf
fromHixson, TN
Purchased as a gift, I hope this pan is indestructable for it's going to someone who is extrememly rough on cookware. The hand washing & drying is no problem. Cleanup may be a little tougher if he doesn't season the pan first - so I've instructed to do so. They sound great and I love the sloping sides.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the de Buyer pan

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Bamagirl69
fromHuntsville, AL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
We love this pan. This is the 2nd one we've bought. The bigger pan is really heavy and I regret we did not get one with a handle on the "other" side to help pick it up. However, it does the job, doesn't stick, and I don't have to worry about the lining coming off (because it doesn't have one).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exellent product

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Nimeria
fromMissouri, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
These pans have tremendous performance and will last forever if treated properly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Replacing all my fry pans

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Customer avatar
BFinBR
fromBaton Rouge, LA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I ordered this set after getting the 14" and crepe pan to try out. Seasoned according to the provided instructions, they are wonderful. Smoother, more non-stick, and lighter than cast iron, and with the durability that non-stick pans don't have. I'm getting rid of all my other fry pans except the All-Clad stainless, which I'm keeping for acidic dishes only.
And a shout-out to Chef's Catalog customer service -- praise, not bashing, so I'm ignoring the guidelines! The 10" pan was missing the little silicone trademark insert. They managed to locate one and send it, but before they found it, they were prepared to ship me an entirely new pan, with them covering all shipping costs both ways. They are truly a pleasure to do business with.
My Favorite BrandDepends on product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool for the kitchen that will outlive me

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
JWebster
fromOhio
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
Really fabulous pans. I had the 8" and 14" before I made this purchase (10"). All three pans are fantastic.
For me, these are better a great combination between teflon non stick and cast iron: better non stick than teflon, and more flexible to cook with than cast iron.
Be aware, the actual cooking surface is smaller than the size listed.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOOOHOOOO!!!!

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
iwojima52
fromNorfolk VA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
These are the best pans out there!! A lot of people would disagree but that is because they are impatient. The more these pans are used, the better they get. When first used, the food can stick but as time progresses that goes away. I bought these for my wife and she absolutley loved them and it turned out great because I cant cook my way out of a bag. I just bought the de Buyer fish pans a few minutes ago. Excellent product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

DeBuyer Fry Pan

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
BMac13
fromCalabash, NC, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
I own several pans of various descriptions and from several different manufacturers. After using this pan for the past 10 days, I would say that it is the best pan I have every owned. It is everything the descriptions of the pan claim. It's wonderful and I am going to purchase another pan in a larger size.
My Favorite BrandAll Clad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice!

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Horseman68
fromNashville, TN, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
Fits burner nicely and is just big enough for the 2 of us. A little heavy, but retains heat well.
My Favorite Brand(I will try anything)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

suprised

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Bozo71
fromPeru, IN 46970, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I found the pans to be what they are advertised as. I followed the instructions according to the flyer, the results were as expected (perfect) and am glad I made the purchase.
My Favorite Brandof what?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

rejected as it was like the first one unhappy

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer avatar
heylady527
fromReading, PA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Dad
rejected delivery and waiting for our refund to be reapplied back into our account. not happy with first pan and tried to stop this delivery but, it was already sent on Aug 4th. Followed exact instructions and rejected delivery but still waiting for the funds to be put back into our account.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

just simply spectacular

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Ootzie
fromBethpage, NY, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
no other words.. yes.. a bit heavy..but thats what they are supposed to be... keeps the heat.. not as heavy as my cast iron pan i;ve had for 45 years and never washed.... these will be heirlooms..... Excellent excellent excellent
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great addition to my collection of fry pans

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromTexas, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
As a comparison I own three previously purchased De Buyer Mineral pans in the 10" size and four Lodge carbon steel fry pans that are of similar design and quality. I wanted to get this set to round out my De Buyer set - one can never have too many 10" fry pans.
I am completely sold on these pans. They are probably my most used pans and I am comparing them to my other collections of phenomenal Falk copper/stainless steel french style pans and Le Creuset enamel cast iron pans. I just prefer to use these as my daily cookware - so they get a lot of use. When they arrived I rinsed them in very hot running tap water and then dried them with paper towels. I then fried some pork fatback to cure the pan surfaces and burn off the remaining bees wax coating. When the pans were cool I simply wiped them with more paper towels and a little vegetable oil and stored them away. The next morning I grabbed the 8" fry pan and made a couple of fried eggs using a small amount of butter. The eggs slid right off the pan when done, non-stick perfection. Since then I've used all three sizes to make all sorts of dishes. I made some pan fried whole trout that I finished in the oven with the 12" pan. It came out perfect. I've also used the 10" often for large batches of scrambled eggs, a few steaks, and other sautes. They perform great every time. I would avoid making dishes that are overly acidic or with a lot of tomato. The acid in foods does not treat your non-stick coating very well and the metal can impart a minerally taste to the food. Otherwise I cannot recommend these wonderful pans enough. Don't be swayed by the need to treat these differently from your usual non-stick coated pans. Just understand that you rarely if ever want to use dish soap on these pans. Simply rinse (if even needed) under hot tap water and scrub any stuck bits with a soft non-metal scouring pad. Dry with paper towels and coat with a very small amount of oil and store away.
My Favorite BrandFalk, Le Creuset, De Buyer, Lodge
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Teflon Nevermore!

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Plumber47
fromWaco, TX, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
Once you have them you will wonder why you did not make the purchase years ago.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Season well for success..

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer avatar
bleg
fromDurham, NC, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
This is the first pan I purchased that needed to be seasoned. I spent a good amount of time finding a method that made sense to me. It took a while, days to be exact, but it seems to be well seasoned. Cooked my first thing in it the other day and it worked great. Apparently, proper seasoning is the key. Do like the weight and with a good handle cover it's quite manageable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>