Customer reviews for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan

de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan

de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan : Made of 99% iron, the organic Mineral pan is the natural choice of conscientious cooks. With its 2-3mm thickness, this pan performs outstandingly well at high temperatures to quickly seal in vitamins and nutrients. Beautifully sears and grills foods that coated pans cannot. The more you use these Mineral pans, the better they perform, as these pans darken naturally and become nonstick over time. Free of chemicals, PFOA and PTFE coatings, these pans naturally enhance the flavor of steaks, seafood, omelettes, crepes and more, by sealing in nutrients under high heat. The sloped sides make blending and turning of ingredients easy. De Buyer takes a proactive approach toward ecologically-responsible cookware with the Mineral pan. Available in 8" and 10", 12" and 14" Dia. Made in France. Safe for all heat sources, including induction. Founded in France in 1830, de Buyer is the manufacturer of the blue-steel French crepe pan used by chefs around the world. The name de Buyer is renowned as a premier European supplier of top quality utensils and cookware. Product Features 99% iron, organic pan is the preferred pan of conscientious cooks Ecologically-responsible pan is 100% recyclable Seals in juices, resulting in carmelization (the Maillard reaction) Performance improves over time, the more the pan is used the darker it becomes for all-natural nonstick cooking Authentic lyonnaise shape ideal for crepes, omelettes, carmelizing onions and searing vegetables and meats Iron molecules from the pan contribute to good health Steel handle is triple-riveted for durability Large 14" fry pan includes helper handle 3 Piece Set includes: 8" Fry Pan, 10" Fry Pan and 12" Fry Pan de Buyer is the maker of premium French cookware since the 1830's
Overall rating:
4.733 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(300 reviews) 290
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 300 reviews
5 Stars
252
4 Stars
30
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
8
1 Star
3
283 out of 300(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Review 1 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome pan!

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromWI
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Loving this pan so far. It is great for searing a steak, and then finishing it off in the same pan in the oven. Perfection!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful heavy pans to last a lifetime.

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer avatar
auntiemango
fromGranbury, Texas
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
These pans are gorgeous! Heavy, long handles that do get warm but will go out today and get handle covers for them. Have done eggs and bacon in them and stuck a little as it was the first use. Put hot water in and wiped with cloth, scraped a little w/ plastic spatula. All came out great. These pans replace teflon pans we need to get away from. Remind me of my mom's pans except heavier. Love, love, love them. Just need to take special care of them as they can't be soaked.
My Favorite BrandAny thing Chefs Catalog.
 
Products related to my review
Waring Flip Waffler WMK300A
4.9 out of 5(193)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolute Non-stick Solution

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Customer avatar
LukeF
fromGermantown, WI
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I wanted pans that would be non-stick but that could also be placed directly from stovetop to a very hot oven without concern for handle integrity or potential degradation of the non-stick coating. As well, I was tired of replacing relatively expensive high-quality pans every number of years when their coatings began to chip or flake. I also wanted a pan with which I could use metal utensils without the concern of damaging the pan. De Buyer to the rescue!
I will caution that the pans should be seasoned using the method (using potato peels) that is demonstrated in de Buyer's You Tube video that is inexplicitly not included with the product. That said, I seared beef only twice on the 12" pan (bought the 3-piece set) before doing a large batch of scrambled eggs that simply slid off the pan when they were done. Not a morsel stuck to the pan. Just recently I made a German style pancake that starts on the stovetop but finishes in the pan in a 450 oven. It, too, slid right off the pan when done. Although I haven't used the small pan yet, the 10" pan gave the same results as the 12".
The construction of the pans is so sturdy that I'm certain they will last for my lifetime & probably be handed down after that. My only regret is that I hesitated buying these for over a year; my loss. I love that I can use metal utensils without damaging or scratching the pans; they heat evenly and quickly; they clean up easily and can be nested for easier storage.
My only negative comment is that the best method of seasoning the pans is not included with them ... makes no sense. I have two cautions regarding use of the product not provided by de Buyer; although they may look in photos that they are much lighter than cast iron, they are only minimally so (my wife cannot handle the 12" pan one-handed); being pure iron, they hold their heat for a VERY long time, so take care handling after cooking.
I have to highly recommend this product. As a home chef, I can frankly say that I haven't been this thrilled by a cookware's performance since the advent of induction cooking.
My Favorite BrandAll Clad
+45points
52of 59voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding pan!

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Customer avatar
rubycherokee
fromMidlothian, Va
Got the 8" as a gift from my wife. Seasoned it, used it, LOVE it!! Love it so much, ended up buying the 10" pan!!! These things saute', fry, broil...go from the burner to the oven and back without breaking a sweat...great searing pan...just remember, when it is in the oven, use a mit to get it out...Also have the grilling pan, love that one too!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Fe!

PostedJanuary 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Maximus
fromAustin, TX
We bought these since traditional coated non-stick pans lose their effectiveness, require special tools, and are easily damaged. Once eggs start sticking the non-stick property on a coated pan is pretty much toast - at this point it gets relegated to stew and sauce duty, camping duty, or recycled to Goodwill.
We've always liked cast iron since the non-stick properties can be rejuvenated by proper seasoning and cleaning - although the larger pans are rather heavy for some applications, and it takes a long time to develop a smooth layer of seasoning on the rough sand-cast surface. The de Buyer pans are much lighter, and due to the smooth surface finish it is a quick and easy process to develop a usable level of seasoning. I suspect the iron used in these pans is the same material used in commercial griddles and woks which are well known to develop very usable and durable non-stick properties.
We did follow the de Buyer method of boiling potato skins in water for awhile - this did a good job of cleaning the Fe (iron) surface and prepare it for accepting a traditional oil-based seasoning. After a few seasoning sessions and some normal use frying some easy stuff, I just tried scrambled eggs today in the largest pan - success! Next step is an omelet, which I think will work just fine. I fully expect we'll keep these as first-line frying pans for a very long time!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

For The Rough Handler

PostedDecember 19, 2009
Customer avatar
vhfvhf
fromHixson, TN
Purchased as a gift, I hope this pan is indestructable for it's going to someone who is extrememly rough on cookware. The hand washing & drying is no problem. Cleanup may be a little tougher if he doesn't season the pan first - so I've instructed to do so. They sound great and I love the sloping sides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

rejected as it was like the first one unhappy

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer avatar
heylady527
fromReading, PA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Dad
rejected delivery and waiting for our refund to be reapplied back into our account. not happy with first pan and tried to stop this delivery but, it was already sent on Aug 4th. Followed exact instructions and rejected delivery but still waiting for the funds to be put back into our account.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

just simply spectacular

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Ootzie
fromBethpage, NY, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
no other words.. yes.. a bit heavy..but thats what they are supposed to be... keeps the heat.. not as heavy as my cast iron pan i;ve had for 45 years and never washed.... these will be heirlooms..... Excellent excellent excellent
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great addition to my collection of fry pans

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromTexas, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
As a comparison I own three previously purchased De Buyer Mineral pans in the 10" size and four Lodge carbon steel fry pans that are of similar design and quality. I wanted to get this set to round out my De Buyer set - one can never have too many 10" fry pans.
I am completely sold on these pans. They are probably my most used pans and I am comparing them to my other collections of phenomenal Falk copper/stainless steel french style pans and Le Creuset enamel cast iron pans. I just prefer to use these as my daily cookware - so they get a lot of use. When they arrived I rinsed them in very hot running tap water and then dried them with paper towels. I then fried some pork fatback to cure the pan surfaces and burn off the remaining bees wax coating. When the pans were cool I simply wiped them with more paper towels and a little vegetable oil and stored them away. The next morning I grabbed the 8" fry pan and made a couple of fried eggs using a small amount of butter. The eggs slid right off the pan when done, non-stick perfection. Since then I've used all three sizes to make all sorts of dishes. I made some pan fried whole trout that I finished in the oven with the 12" pan. It came out perfect. I've also used the 10" often for large batches of scrambled eggs, a few steaks, and other sautes. They perform great every time. I would avoid making dishes that are overly acidic or with a lot of tomato. The acid in foods does not treat your non-stick coating very well and the metal can impart a minerally taste to the food. Otherwise I cannot recommend these wonderful pans enough. Don't be swayed by the need to treat these differently from your usual non-stick coated pans. Just understand that you rarely if ever want to use dish soap on these pans. Simply rinse (if even needed) under hot tap water and scrub any stuck bits with a soft non-metal scouring pad. Dry with paper towels and coat with a very small amount of oil and store away.
My Favorite BrandFalk, Le Creuset, De Buyer, Lodge
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Teflon Nevermore!

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Plumber47
fromWaco, TX, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
Once you have them you will wonder why you did not make the purchase years ago.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Season well for success..

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer avatar
bleg
fromDurham, NC, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
This is the first pan I purchased that needed to be seasoned. I spent a good amount of time finding a method that made sense to me. It took a while, days to be exact, but it seems to be well seasoned. Cooked my first thing in it the other day and it worked great. Apparently, proper seasoning is the key. Do like the weight and with a good handle cover it's quite manageable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

A lot of effort....so far no reward

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Bach
fromtexas
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
A friend of mine loves his but seems as though getting them to the point of loving them takes a lot of time, experience and effort. We have seasoned "if you will" these pans 4 times now and food still sticks in them hardcore, if you like cooking with a lot of lubrication this pan is excellent, (after treated properly of coarse) We will keep seasoning them (and believe me they need a lot of work to get there and remain there from what i have seen)....just not for the occasional cook,
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I was tired of buying non-stick skillets

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromArkansas
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
Once seasoned, these skillets are great! My husband likes to make omelets, and we are both very happy with the cooking properties of these pans. I will never buy a non-stick skillet again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A new favorite

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Georgiann
fromMims, FL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
Wish I'd bought these a long time ago. Be sure to season the pans as described. Once you've done that, you'll not find a better set of fry pans. Heavier than I thought, but not any heavier than cast iron.
My Favorite BrandKitchenAid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pans

PostedMay 26, 2014
Customer avatar
katfishcharlie
fromNebraska, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I love these pans. There is some work involved in getting them initially seasoned, but after that, it's relatively easy to maintain them. I love how well they sear and brown. I'll never buy non stick again.
My Favorite BrandDe Buyer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

de Buyer Mineral Pan Set

PostedMay 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromMcComb, MS, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
Best purchase I've made in a long time. I was very pleased with the quality, even heating, quality, durability, and to add the expedite shipping. Great product!
My Favorite BrandStaub, Le Creuset,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

DeBoyer fry pans

PostedMay 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromLake Saint Louis, MO, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
After checking the internet for the best way to season my new fry pans, I started the slow process to be sure it was done correctly. Once the pans were completely black and smooth I fried some bacon as my first venture. Beginning with a hot pan, I placed the bacon which then immediately stuck to the sides and bottom of the 10" fry pan. So...after a cleanup and a re-seasoning, I then started to cook the bacon again in a cold pan to start. Same response. Seasoned again and then put butter in the pan and successfully cooked some eggs which did slide out. All in all, I am disappointed. My cast iron pans work much better and are truly non stick.
My Favorite BrandLodge Cast Iron
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best kitchen purchase ever!

PostedMay 17, 2014
Customer avatar
SoCalGal
fromCarpinteria, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I purchased a set of these pans about a month ago and after seasoning them according to the instructions that came with them, I can't tell you enough about how pleased my husband and I are about how excellent these pans really are. He now enjoys making his omelets in the morning without the eggs sticking to the pan and meats get seared so uniformly that I can't believe we've been cooking without these pans for years and being continually exasperated with each and every pan we've bought and then thrown away. Thank you Chefs and de Buyer for making these pans available. These will be my go to pans from now on and forever!
My Favorite Brandde Buyer of course!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My go to fry pans.

PostedMay 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Neice57
fromWhite House, Tn.
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
These are the best fry pans that I have ever used. Buy only one time, and you will not ever have to replace them. No they are not Teflon coated, but if you just follow the directions, you will get more than you ever expected out of these pans. These fry potatoes and okra like none other. I'm SOOOOOO glad that I gave these pans a try. Worth every penny.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedMay 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromRacine, WI, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
These pans are fantastic! little extra maintenance than I like but I am lazy. The weight of the pans amazed me well constructed.
My Favorite BrandNone
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>