Customer reviews for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan

de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan

de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan : Made of 99% iron, the organic Mineral pan is the natural choice of conscientious cooks. With its 2-3mm thickness, this pan performs outstandingly well at high temperatures to quickly seal in vitamins and nutrients. Beautifully sears and grills foods that coated pans cannot. The more you use these Mineral pans, the better they perform, as these pans darken naturally and become nonstick over time. Free of chemicals, PFOA and PTFE coatings, these pans naturally enhance the flavor of steaks, seafood, omelettes, crepes and more, by sealing in nutrients under high heat. The sloped sides make blending and turning of ingredients easy. De Buyer takes a proactive approach toward ecologically-responsible cookware with the Mineral pan. Available in 8" and 10", 12" and 14" Dia. Made in France. Safe for all heat sources, including induction. Founded in France in 1830, de Buyer is the manufacturer of the blue-steel French crepe pan used by chefs around the world. The name de Buyer is renowned as a premier European supplier of top quality utensils and cookware. Product Features 99% iron, organic pan is the preferred pan of conscientious cooks Ecologically-responsible pan is 100% recyclable Seals in juices, resulting in carmelization (the Maillard reaction) Performance improves over time, the more the pan is used the darker it becomes for all-natural nonstick cooking Authentic lyonnaise shape ideal for crepes, omelettes, carmelizing onions and searing vegetables and meats Iron molecules from the pan contribute to good health Steel handle is triple-riveted for durability Large 14" fry pan includes helper handle 3 Piece Set includes: 8" Fry Pan, 10" Fry Pan and 12" Fry Pan de Buyer is the maker of premium French cookware since the 1830's
Overall rating:
4.727 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(322 reviews) 311
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 322 reviews
5 Stars
269
4 Stars
34
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
8
1 Star
4
304 out of 322(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Review 1 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Must Add to Your Kitchen

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Tabasco62
fromCharleston, WV, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Calamity
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Gordon Ramsay
Purchased this pan as a Christmas Gift for my Wife, and it was certainly a great purchase. I think my Wife has used this pan partically every day since Christmas.
This pan works wonderfully well for searing as it heats quickly and evenly, even on a glass induction top.
The pan seasons much the same as cast iron pans and thus needs to be taken care of in the same manner as cast iron.
Once it becomes seasoned it is virtually non-stick. It is also perfect for sticking into the oven or running something under the broiler.
The big advantage over cast iron is the long handle that makes it much easier to lift and handle. Overall, a great pan and a must add to your kitchen.
My Favorite BrandLe Creuset
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome pan!

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromWI
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Loving this pan so far. It is great for searing a steak, and then finishing it off in the same pan in the oven. Perfection!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful heavy pans to last a lifetime.

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer avatar
auntiemango
fromGranbury, Texas
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
These pans are gorgeous! Heavy, long handles that do get warm but will go out today and get handle covers for them. Have done eggs and bacon in them and stuck a little as it was the first use. Put hot water in and wiped with cloth, scraped a little w/ plastic spatula. All came out great. These pans replace teflon pans we need to get away from. Remind me of my mom's pans except heavier. Love, love, love them. Just need to take special care of them as they can't be soaked.
My Favorite BrandAny thing Chefs Catalog.
 
Products related to my review
Waring Flip Waffler WMK300A
4.9 out of 5(193)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolute Non-stick Solution

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Customer avatar
LukeF
fromGermantown, WI
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I wanted pans that would be non-stick but that could also be placed directly from stovetop to a very hot oven without concern for handle integrity or potential degradation of the non-stick coating. As well, I was tired of replacing relatively expensive high-quality pans every number of years when their coatings began to chip or flake. I also wanted a pan with which I could use metal utensils without the concern of damaging the pan. De Buyer to the rescue!
I will caution that the pans should be seasoned using the method (using potato peels) that is demonstrated in de Buyer's You Tube video that is inexplicitly not included with the product. That said, I seared beef only twice on the 12" pan (bought the 3-piece set) before doing a large batch of scrambled eggs that simply slid off the pan when they were done. Not a morsel stuck to the pan. Just recently I made a German style pancake that starts on the stovetop but finishes in the pan in a 450 oven. It, too, slid right off the pan when done. Although I haven't used the small pan yet, the 10" pan gave the same results as the 12".
The construction of the pans is so sturdy that I'm certain they will last for my lifetime & probably be handed down after that. My only regret is that I hesitated buying these for over a year; my loss. I love that I can use metal utensils without damaging or scratching the pans; they heat evenly and quickly; they clean up easily and can be nested for easier storage.
My only negative comment is that the best method of seasoning the pans is not included with them ... makes no sense. I have two cautions regarding use of the product not provided by de Buyer; although they may look in photos that they are much lighter than cast iron, they are only minimally so (my wife cannot handle the 12" pan one-handed); being pure iron, they hold their heat for a VERY long time, so take care handling after cooking.
I have to highly recommend this product. As a home chef, I can frankly say that I haven't been this thrilled by a cookware's performance since the advent of induction cooking.
My Favorite BrandAll Clad
+56points
64of 72voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding pan!

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Customer avatar
rubycherokee
fromMidlothian, Va
Got the 8" as a gift from my wife. Seasoned it, used it, LOVE it!! Love it so much, ended up buying the 10" pan!!! These things saute', fry, broil...go from the burner to the oven and back without breaking a sweat...great searing pan...just remember, when it is in the oven, use a mit to get it out...Also have the grilling pan, love that one too!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Fe!

PostedJanuary 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Maximus
fromAustin, TX
We bought these since traditional coated non-stick pans lose their effectiveness, require special tools, and are easily damaged. Once eggs start sticking the non-stick property on a coated pan is pretty much toast - at this point it gets relegated to stew and sauce duty, camping duty, or recycled to Goodwill.
We've always liked cast iron since the non-stick properties can be rejuvenated by proper seasoning and cleaning - although the larger pans are rather heavy for some applications, and it takes a long time to develop a smooth layer of seasoning on the rough sand-cast surface. The de Buyer pans are much lighter, and due to the smooth surface finish it is a quick and easy process to develop a usable level of seasoning. I suspect the iron used in these pans is the same material used in commercial griddles and woks which are well known to develop very usable and durable non-stick properties.
We did follow the de Buyer method of boiling potato skins in water for awhile - this did a good job of cleaning the Fe (iron) surface and prepare it for accepting a traditional oil-based seasoning. After a few seasoning sessions and some normal use frying some easy stuff, I just tried scrambled eggs today in the largest pan - success! Next step is an omelet, which I think will work just fine. I fully expect we'll keep these as first-line frying pans for a very long time!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

For The Rough Handler

PostedDecember 19, 2009
Customer avatar
vhfvhf
fromHixson, TN
Purchased as a gift, I hope this pan is indestructable for it's going to someone who is extrememly rough on cookware. The hand washing & drying is no problem. Cleanup may be a little tougher if he doesn't season the pan first - so I've instructed to do so. They sound great and I love the sloping sides.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Customer avatar
TC77
fromNevada
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Giada De Laurentis
New pans and still seasoning. Two larger slightly dark brown and non stick by small still has eggs sticking. Need more work. Pans are heavy but not as bad as Lodge.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New fry pan

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Customer avatar
fortheloveofcooking
fromOrlando, FL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I love this 10 fry pan. It is heavy duty and easy to clean. It also arrived when expected. I would recommend this pan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lifetime, safe, non-stick cookware

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Customer avatar
Herdawdaw
fromGulf Coast
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
After just over a week, my pans are already seasoning very well and my skeptical wife has already fallen in love with them. We are keen on cast iron, so these will be second nature to us. What the pans like most is a piece of chain-cloth or chainmail. It is perfect for cleaning iron cookware. It cleans off what needs to be cleaned off and protects and enhances the seasoning process. Zero soap needed. No more teflon in our house.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better tasting food

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Customer avatar
Jarby
fromMissouri, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I have long been a fan of cast iron which adds flavor to my food, and now I can get that steel flavor without the overwhelming heaviness. The de Buyer pan is so easy to season and put into use. I cooked an omelet the very first day with a no stick result! No more Teflon...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Performs as expected

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Customer avatar
Zorneatsham
fromIndiana, USA
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Vegetarian
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
This pan works as advertised. Cleaning and seasoning, though a bit more of a hassle than a non-stick or stainless pan, is not onerous. Any seasoned wok owner will know what to expect. Only used a handful of times and it's already getting seasoned nicely. It was very non-stick for searing brussels sprouts with a minimum of oil. One niggle is the heaviness and balance with the handle. It makes flipping the pan as difficult as a pan twice its size. It's a fair tradeoff of the even heating and durability. Very happy with the purchase so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceed Expectations - De Buyer

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Customer avatar
sbfireman
fromCA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
High quality at a great price - a true win for the kitchen. Well-balanced cookware made for all types of kitchens. Even with the first few seasonings completed, still gives a great sear. Looks very promising to only improve with use. Really should be a must for any kitchen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Definetly a first rate product.

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Customer avatar
Phil75
fromThe southwest US
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
I am 75 years old and have been cooking for 55 of those years. These skillets are far superior to Teflon and better than my old favorite cast iron. Not only do they cook, sear and brown wonderfully they are a snap to clean. They are definitely my new favorite.
My Favorite BrandLe Crueset, deBuyer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite Pan

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Kissthecook12
fromSan Clemente, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I love this pan and plan to replace all my other fry and sauté pans. The fry pan is made to last forever, the weight is lighter than my cast iron pan. Which is an added plus. I crusted a steak and finished it off in the oven. No sticking and I was able to make a nice sauce from the steak drippings.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun to season the Pans- great EATS

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Customer avatar
theothercook
fromScarborough, ME, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
My husband is a gourmet chef, for ME. I watched him season the pans by boiling cut up potatoes in water for 15 minutes. I am not sure if I will be allowed to "clean them" - no soap, just water and an abrasive but not scratchy pad. We had eggs, hash browns, and pan fried bacon for brunch this morning. Guess who cooked? These pans are fantastic- get them if you or your loved one really IS a cook!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
ARIJANA
fromMassachusetts, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
this was my first time using this pan at first I was not too sure however now I love it :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nothing Cooks Like Carbon Steel

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
CGaige
fromNew York, NY
My Cooking Level:Beginner
My first experience with carbon steel was a $10 wok set. I added a $7 video called "Wok with Yan" and for $17 I learned how to cook and had everything I needed to prepare one delicious asian meal after another. I have no idea how many hundreds of dishes I cooked in this wok. Over time the steel developed a beautiful patina and character of its own. It became an extension of my hands. I cooked with this wok for 10 years until the handles fell off.
I switched to Calphalon using most of the pans regularly and still use the set today. 30 years cooking on aluminum. Easy to work with, easy to clean, but it just didn't have the magic of carbon steel.
I missed the intense searing and quick cooking I was able to achieve with my wok, so, I bought two Lodge skillets. Somewhat of a heartstring purchase as this is all my mother ever used in her kitchen. You know that kitchen... the coffee can bacon fat keeper, always within reach on the stove. I find myself using my Lodge skillets any time I want to get a nice sear that only iron and carbon steel can provide. Amazingly inexpensive and wonderful cooking.
The one thing different, which may take some a bit of getting used to, is seasoning carbon steel.
The first episode of "Wok with Yan" explained how simple the process was.
1. Always use high heat.
2. Never start cooking until the pan is screaming hot.
3. Use a high smoke point oil.
4. After cooking, deglaze (add a liquid to the pan while it's still screaming hot) to release any stubborn bits.
5. Wipe out the pan to remove moisture.
6. Return the pan to the stove and bring it to high heat to COMPLETELY DRY your iron / or carbon steel pan.
7. Lightly coat your pan with a bit of cooking oil.
So, I am finally purchasing a set of the legendary Du Buyer carbon steel pans. I can hardly wait. They're a bit lighter that Lodge and they cook just like my wok.
Nothing cooks like iron and carbon steel. Hope you buy one and try it. Seasoning is easy... you don't have to be an expert at all. Take the time to learn the incredible experience of cooking with these wonderful pans.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

pan

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Skeety
fromNorth East Missouri
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
Nice pan. Could use a helper handle. Stuff still sticks after using it several times. I don't know if it's as good as my old cast irons. But it's fun to try new pans. At least I don't think I will hurt this pan.
My Favorite BrandColt
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Frying pan

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Customer avatar
pete2200
fromGeorgia
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
Didn't like this pan. Very heavy and hard to clean.
Bottom of pan discolored irregularly. Had to send it back.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>