Customer reviews for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan

de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan

de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan : Made of 99% iron, the organic Mineral pan is the natural choice of conscientious cooks. With its 2-3mm thickness, this pan performs outstandingly well at high temperatures to quickly seal in vitamins and nutrients. Beautifully sears and grills foods that coated pans cannot. The more you use these Mineral pans, the better they perform, as these pans darken naturally and become nonstick over time. Free of chemicals, PFOA and PTFE coatings, these pans naturally enhance the flavor of steaks, seafood, omelettes, crepes and more, by sealing in nutrients under high heat. The sloped sides make blending and turning of ingredients easy. De Buyer takes a proactive approach toward ecologically responsible cookware with the Mineral pan. Available in 8" and 10", 12" and 14" Dia. Made in France. Safe for all heat sources, including induction. Founded in France in 1830, de Buyer is the manufacturer of the blue-steel French crepe pan used by chefs around the world. The name de Buyer is renowned as a premier European supplier of top quality utensils and cookware. Product Features 99% iron, organic pan is the preferred pan of conscientious cooks Ecologically responsible pan is 100% recyclable Seals in juices, resulting in caramelization (the Maillard reaction) Performance improves over time, the more the pan is used the darker it becomes for all natural nonstick cooking Authentic lyonnaise shape ideal for crepes, omelettes, caramelizing onions and searing vegetables and meats Iron molecules from the pan contribute to good health Steel handle is triple riveted for durability Large 14" fry pan includes helper handle 3 Piece Set includes: 8" Fry Pan, 10" Fry Pan and 12" Fry Pan de Buyer is the maker of premium French cookware since the 1830's
Overall rating:
4.733 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(337 reviews) 325
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 337 reviews
5 Stars
282
4 Stars
36
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
8
1 Star
4
318 out of 337(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Review 1 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Must Add to Your Kitchen

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Tabasco62
fromCharleston, WV, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Calamity
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Gordon Ramsay
Purchased this pan as a Christmas Gift for my Wife, and it was certainly a great purchase. I think my Wife has used this pan partically every day since Christmas.
This pan works wonderfully well for searing as it heats quickly and evenly, even on a glass induction top.
The pan seasons much the same as cast iron pans and thus needs to be taken care of in the same manner as cast iron.
Once it becomes seasoned it is virtually non-stick. It is also perfect for sticking into the oven or running something under the broiler.
The big advantage over cast iron is the long handle that makes it much easier to lift and handle. Overall, a great pan and a must add to your kitchen.
My Favorite BrandLe Creuset
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome pan!

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromWI
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Loving this pan so far. It is great for searing a steak, and then finishing it off in the same pan in the oven. Perfection!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful heavy pans to last a lifetime.

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer avatar
auntiemango
fromGranbury, Texas
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
These pans are gorgeous! Heavy, long handles that do get warm but will go out today and get handle covers for them. Have done eggs and bacon in them and stuck a little as it was the first use. Put hot water in and wiped with cloth, scraped a little w/ plastic spatula. All came out great. These pans replace teflon pans we need to get away from. Remind me of my mom's pans except heavier. Love, love, love them. Just need to take special care of them as they can't be soaked.
My Favorite BrandAny thing Chefs Catalog.
 
Products related to my review
Waring Flip Waffler WMK300A
4.9 out of 5(193)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolute Non-stick Solution

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Customer avatar
LukeF
fromGermantown, WI
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I wanted pans that would be non-stick but that could also be placed directly from stovetop to a very hot oven without concern for handle integrity or potential degradation of the non-stick coating. As well, I was tired of replacing relatively expensive high-quality pans every number of years when their coatings began to chip or flake. I also wanted a pan with which I could use metal utensils without the concern of damaging the pan. De Buyer to the rescue!
I will caution that the pans should be seasoned using the method (using potato peels) that is demonstrated in de Buyer's You Tube video that is inexplicitly not included with the product. That said, I seared beef only twice on the 12" pan (bought the 3-piece set) before doing a large batch of scrambled eggs that simply slid off the pan when they were done. Not a morsel stuck to the pan. Just recently I made a German style pancake that starts on the stovetop but finishes in the pan in a 450 oven. It, too, slid right off the pan when done. Although I haven't used the small pan yet, the 10" pan gave the same results as the 12".
The construction of the pans is so sturdy that I'm certain they will last for my lifetime & probably be handed down after that. My only regret is that I hesitated buying these for over a year; my loss. I love that I can use metal utensils without damaging or scratching the pans; they heat evenly and quickly; they clean up easily and can be nested for easier storage.
My only negative comment is that the best method of seasoning the pans is not included with them ... makes no sense. I have two cautions regarding use of the product not provided by de Buyer; although they may look in photos that they are much lighter than cast iron, they are only minimally so (my wife cannot handle the 12" pan one-handed); being pure iron, they hold their heat for a VERY long time, so take care handling after cooking.
I have to highly recommend this product. As a home chef, I can frankly say that I haven't been this thrilled by a cookware's performance since the advent of induction cooking.
My Favorite BrandAll Clad
+61points
70of 79voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding pan!

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Customer avatar
rubycherokee
fromMidlothian, Va
Got the 8" as a gift from my wife. Seasoned it, used it, LOVE it!! Love it so much, ended up buying the 10" pan!!! These things saute', fry, broil...go from the burner to the oven and back without breaking a sweat...great searing pan...just remember, when it is in the oven, use a mit to get it out...Also have the grilling pan, love that one too!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Fe!

PostedJanuary 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Maximus
fromAustin, TX
We bought these since traditional coated non-stick pans lose their effectiveness, require special tools, and are easily damaged. Once eggs start sticking the non-stick property on a coated pan is pretty much toast - at this point it gets relegated to stew and sauce duty, camping duty, or recycled to Goodwill.
We've always liked cast iron since the non-stick properties can be rejuvenated by proper seasoning and cleaning - although the larger pans are rather heavy for some applications, and it takes a long time to develop a smooth layer of seasoning on the rough sand-cast surface. The de Buyer pans are much lighter, and due to the smooth surface finish it is a quick and easy process to develop a usable level of seasoning. I suspect the iron used in these pans is the same material used in commercial griddles and woks which are well known to develop very usable and durable non-stick properties.
We did follow the de Buyer method of boiling potato skins in water for awhile - this did a good job of cleaning the Fe (iron) surface and prepare it for accepting a traditional oil-based seasoning. After a few seasoning sessions and some normal use frying some easy stuff, I just tried scrambled eggs today in the largest pan - success! Next step is an omelet, which I think will work just fine. I fully expect we'll keep these as first-line frying pans for a very long time!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

For The Rough Handler

PostedDecember 19, 2009
Customer avatar
vhfvhf
fromHixson, TN
Purchased as a gift, I hope this pan is indestructable for it's going to someone who is extrememly rough on cookware. The hand washing & drying is no problem. Cleanup may be a little tougher if he doesn't season the pan first - so I've instructed to do so. They sound great and I love the sloping sides.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Organic fry pans

PostedApril 13, 2015
Customer avatar
DasyMay
fromClaifornia
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
These pans are great! so much better than coated pans that eventually fall off the pan, a little bit, at each use. The tiny pieces get in one's food. I learned that the coated pans let cancer causing elements into one's body, I did notice that the new pan does let off some iron oxidation though and hope that it is like aluminum pans that simply have to be scrubbed thoroughly with each use.
My Favorite Brandof pots and pans? So far, the pans I just received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A definite keeper

PostedApril 10, 2015
Customer avatar
janicem
fromMinnesota, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
I unpacked it, seasoned it and used it all in one evening. Love these pans - fabulous for searing meat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Do you want the rite fry pan?

PostedApril 6, 2015
Customer avatar
VWcook
fromRhode Island, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
This is my 5th one, they are the best! I love cast iron, but these will blow you away.
My Favorite BrandDe Buyer and Wusthof
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality, but needs careful seasoning!

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Customer avatar
Alexia
fromCalifornia, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
The quality of these pots and pans is excellent. They are thick, and thus heavy. The quality of build is very good, with attention to detail. This is not just another iron pan. I got tired of worrying about overheating my non-stick pans, so bought these. They are pure iron, and so will rust and stick if not properly seasoned. There are many ideas on how to best season such pans, so a little research is required, but once you have the pans the way you want, they are fantastic. Absolutely great for enthusiasts, but perhaps a little too much work for someone that does not love to cook and tinker in the kitchen.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT!!!!!

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Customer avatar
noluck921
fromNaples, FL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Curtis Stone
Never have tried something so crazy in my life. Great easy to season pans. I ended up buying a set of them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best pan ever

PostedMarch 6, 2015
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromIndiana, USA
My Cooking Level:Expert
Much better than non-stick. Easy to wash. Excellent for searing. The sides could be a little more sloped to make it easier to flip.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Scared to try

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Customer avatar
CathyO51
fromBlue Springs, MO, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Giada De Laurentis
For years I have wanted to get away from the traditional non-stick coated skillets just to be healthier but was scared to venture out. I did it...even loaded my non-stick skillets up in the car and dropped them off at the thrift store to make sure I "stuck" to it. lol, no pun intended. So glad I did, thanks to reviews I read from other customers on how to season the new skillets, it was a success. Yes, I did have a little stick, after seasoning the new skillets, in the beginning, but was very easy to clean up with water and a plastic scraper. I cook scrambled eggs, pancakes, fried eggs and love how they turn out. For anyone else wanting to venture out, JUST DO IT! after each use, rinse skillet, put back on a burner and heat up, rub lightly with a paper towel with a little oil. Done! Wouldn't go back, love my de Buyer Mineral Skillet set, plan to add to my collection another 8" and 10" skillet.
My Favorite Brandde Buyer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

de Buyer Mineral Pans-set of 3

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Customer avatar
JAM1
fromGeorgia, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
For those of you who appreciate the benefits of cast iron and natural iron cookware, these pans will not disappoint. They require some conditioning (removal of beeswax) & proper seasoning initially, but if done properly, they are excellent. These are lifetime pans that get better with use. I'm very happy with this purchase.
& Chefs Catalog service.
My Favorite BrandAll Clad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My husband's new favorite pan!

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Customer avatar
Grandma289
fromBronx, NY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Rocco DiSprito
My husband had his eye on this pan a soon as he saw it! He is the chef in the house...We have an assortment of pots and pans of all types. As soon as the DeBuyer pan arrived, he began to study, love and season it.
He doesn't wear jewelry, so I buy him gifts of cooking tools and equipment. He likes that much better!
My Favorite Brandany local producer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A good gift

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Customer avatar
debbiedo07
fromFort Worth, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Cat Cora
I bought this for my wife as a gift. We both love to cook and she saw the pans at Christmas so I bought one. She loved it so much that I bought her another one. She loves it and now wants the whole collection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Customer avatar
JoePfrPhilly
fromPhiladelphia, PA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
I like this pan so much, I ordered another and now have two of them! I use this one more than my All Clad D5 fry pans and they are much more affordable!
I use this pan for eggs, home fries, baking cut chicken pieces in the oven, sautéing vegetables, frying meats, cooking bacon, etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Carbon Steel

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Customer avatar
Howard70
fromNorthern California
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
Excellent product easy to season. The pan is great for searing meats.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

New Frying Pans

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Customer avatar
Spteacher
fromDayton, OH, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
Pans heat evenly and brown meat beautifully. They clean with hot water and sponge or brush. Thoroughly dry. Then I rub with paper towel and oil. Only complaint is the 12 inch pan is heavy. Wish it had a small handle opposite the regular handle like the 14 inch pan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>