Customer reviews for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan

de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan

de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan : Made of 99% iron, the organic Mineral pan is the natural choice of conscientious cooks. With its 2-3mm thickness, this pan performs outstandingly well at high temperatures to quickly seal in vitamins and nutrients. Beautifully sears and grills foods that coated pans cannot. The more you use these Mineral pans, the better they perform, as these pans darken naturally and become nonstick over time. Free of chemicals, PFOA and PTFE coatings, these pans naturally enhance the flavor of steaks, seafood, omelettes, crepes and more, by sealing in nutrients under high heat. The sloped sides make blending and turning of ingredients easy. De Buyer takes a proactive approach toward ecologically-responsible cookware with the Mineral pan. Available in 8" and 10", 12" and 14" Dia. Made in France. Safe for all heat sources, including induction. Founded in France in 1830, de Buyer is the manufacturer of the blue-steel French crepe pan used by chefs around the world. The name de Buyer is renowned as a premier European supplier of top quality utensils and cookware. Product Features 99% iron, organic pan is the preferred pan of conscientious cooks Ecologically-responsible pan is 100% recyclable Seals in juices, resulting in carmelization (the Maillard reaction) Performance improves over time, the more the pan is used the darker it becomes for all-natural nonstick cooking Authentic lyonnaise shape ideal for crepes, omelettes, carmelizing onions and searing vegetables and meats Iron molecules from the pan contribute to good health Steel handle is triple-riveted for durability Large 14" fry pan includes helper handle 3 Piece Set includes: 8" Fry Pan, 10" Fry Pan and 12" Fry Pan de Buyer is the maker of premium French cookware since the 1830's
Overall rating:
4.743 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(296 reviews) 286
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 296 reviews
5 Stars
249
4 Stars
30
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
8
1 Star
2
280 out of 296(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Review 1 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome pan!

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromWI
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Loving this pan so far. It is great for searing a steak, and then finishing it off in the same pan in the oven. Perfection!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

serious cookware

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Burt
fromBirmingham, AL, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
These pans distribute heat evenly and the curved sides are a good fit for your whisk and great for flipping things into the air. They are a good alternative to traditional cast iron and season easily for a nonstick surface.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful heavy pans to last a lifetime.

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer avatar
auntiemango
fromGranbury, Texas
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
These pans are gorgeous! Heavy, long handles that do get warm but will go out today and get handle covers for them. Have done eggs and bacon in them and stuck a little as it was the first use. Put hot water in and wiped with cloth, scraped a little w/ plastic spatula. All came out great. These pans replace teflon pans we need to get away from. Remind me of my mom's pans except heavier. Love, love, love them. Just need to take special care of them as they can't be soaked.
My Favorite BrandAny thing Chefs Catalog.
 
Products related to my review
Waring Flip Waffler WMK300A
4.9 out of 5(193)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMay 30, 2012
Customer avatar
joefav1
fromEnglewood Cliffs, NJ, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Used immediately after seasoning and loved it.
Everything cooked evenly with sticking.
Cleaned easily with a few wipes.
I am going to use this pan a lot.
My Favorite Branddon't use one brand. Buy what I need.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really, really good quality for the money.

PostedMay 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Love2CU
fromMaine, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
This is the real deal - heavy weight, perfect for cooking even omelets - just let the pan heat up first and add a spray of oil. Perfection. I have been looking for a heavy weight, non-toxic, multi-purpose fry pan. The quality is superb and the price is very reasonable for such fine craftsmanship. Clean up is quick with only a rinse with hot water and maybe a little scrub with a non scratch sponge. I am going to buy 2 more. Really, really good quality for the money.
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These are seriously excellent pans...

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Customer avatar
AmyK
fromTampa, FL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I purchased these for my husband for Christmas as he loves to cook. These pans are excellent for searing meats and then pop into the oven for final cooking time. They are extremely well made, dense pans and have the added benefits of being made of iron, but with a steel type finish so it's the best of both worlds. Chef's Catalog had the very best price for these pans as I searched for a better deal and could not find one. Consequently, they were on backorder until after Christmas, but my husband did not mind.
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolute Non-stick Solution

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Customer avatar
LukeF
fromGermantown, WI
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I wanted pans that would be non-stick but that could also be placed directly from stovetop to a very hot oven without concern for handle integrity or potential degradation of the non-stick coating. As well, I was tired of replacing relatively expensive high-quality pans every number of years when their coatings began to chip or flake. I also wanted a pan with which I could use metal utensils without the concern of damaging the pan. De Buyer to the rescue!
I will caution that the pans should be seasoned using the method (using potato peels) that is demonstrated in de Buyer's You Tube video that is inexplicitly not included with the product. That said, I seared beef only twice on the 12" pan (bought the 3-piece set) before doing a large batch of scrambled eggs that simply slid off the pan when they were done. Not a morsel stuck to the pan. Just recently I made a German style pancake that starts on the stovetop but finishes in the pan in a 450 oven. It, too, slid right off the pan when done. Although I haven't used the small pan yet, the 10" pan gave the same results as the 12".
The construction of the pans is so sturdy that I'm certain they will last for my lifetime & probably be handed down after that. My only regret is that I hesitated buying these for over a year; my loss. I love that I can use metal utensils without damaging or scratching the pans; they heat evenly and quickly; they clean up easily and can be nested for easier storage.
My only negative comment is that the best method of seasoning the pans is not included with them ... makes no sense. I have two cautions regarding use of the product not provided by de Buyer; although they may look in photos that they are much lighter than cast iron, they are only minimally so (my wife cannot handle the 12" pan one-handed); being pure iron, they hold their heat for a VERY long time, so take care handling after cooking.
I have to highly recommend this product. As a home chef, I can frankly say that I haven't been this thrilled by a cookware's performance since the advent of induction cooking.
My Favorite BrandAll Clad
+43points
50of 57voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful Product

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Goldierock
fromBrunswick, ME, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I bought these pans recently for my husband's birthday (he is the cook in the family). He was so excited to finally have "real" cookware that you would have thought I'd given him a new car. I was tired of constantly buying new pans because none of them lasted but I can tell these will last the rest of our lives.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must Have

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromMiami
I have purchased three sets of these pans. I'm now giving them as gifts to other frustrated chefs. They are amazing and just keep getting better with use. Better than aluminum and teflon coated pans. They heat evenly on a flame. We love them!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Surprising quality

PostedOctober 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Rdhprof
fromRed Bluff,CA
I'm amazed at the quality of these pans. I thought I'd have to pay much more to get something that performs so well. They're sturdy and heavy without being as cumbersome as cast iron. We followed the pre-seasoning instructions and they were nearly non-stick from the first use. They distribute heat evenly so that even a large trout which was bigger than the gas burner browned evenly.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding pan!

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Customer avatar
rubycherokee
fromMidlothian, Va
Got the 8" as a gift from my wife. Seasoned it, used it, LOVE it!! Love it so much, ended up buying the 10" pan!!! These things saute', fry, broil...go from the burner to the oven and back without breaking a sweat...great searing pan...just remember, when it is in the oven, use a mit to get it out...Also have the grilling pan, love that one too!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than expected

PostedMarch 25, 2011
Customer avatar
fabrik
fromCopper Hill, VA
The photographs in the catalog don't do them justice. They're extremely well made and we're happy we bought them. It was a pleasant surprise.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome product

PostedJanuary 6, 2011
Customer avatar
duckfat
fromboston
as a chef for the last 10 years i have used countless pots and pans. these pans by far are my favorite. i was able to cook over easy eggs out of the box. 6 hours later i am searing a rib roast for dinner. even heat, easy to clean, and just sexy. looks like the french have done it again.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Fe!

PostedJanuary 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Maximus
fromAustin, TX
We bought these since traditional coated non-stick pans lose their effectiveness, require special tools, and are easily damaged. Once eggs start sticking the non-stick property on a coated pan is pretty much toast - at this point it gets relegated to stew and sauce duty, camping duty, or recycled to Goodwill.
We've always liked cast iron since the non-stick properties can be rejuvenated by proper seasoning and cleaning - although the larger pans are rather heavy for some applications, and it takes a long time to develop a smooth layer of seasoning on the rough sand-cast surface. The de Buyer pans are much lighter, and due to the smooth surface finish it is a quick and easy process to develop a usable level of seasoning. I suspect the iron used in these pans is the same material used in commercial griddles and woks which are well known to develop very usable and durable non-stick properties.
We did follow the de Buyer method of boiling potato skins in water for awhile - this did a good job of cleaning the Fe (iron) surface and prepare it for accepting a traditional oil-based seasoning. After a few seasoning sessions and some normal use frying some easy stuff, I just tried scrambled eggs today in the largest pan - success! Next step is an omelet, which I think will work just fine. I fully expect we'll keep these as first-line frying pans for a very long time!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

what a pan

PostedDecember 17, 2010
Customer avatar
customrider
fromLockport Il
I have had this pan for years and I love it. Yes it is heavy but good pans are. I got my brothers each one for Christmas.after a few uses it is a snap to clean
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan

PostedDecember 1, 2010
Customer avatar
NaturelovingGrandma
fromLostine, OR
I bought this pan to get away from non-stick coatings. I used it over Thanksgiving and loved it. It browns beautifully. My husband won't let me wash it for fear that I will ruin it. No problem, he can wash it!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First rate steel pan

PostedNovember 28, 2010
Customer avatar
Ahwatukeecook
fromPhoenix, AZ
This is my third fry pan from de Buyer. I have the 12, 10 and 8 sizes. Although they are untreated carbon steel, they quickly form a relatively non-stick layer when you treat them right. They are wonderful to use, heat evenly, clean up easily, the handles stay surprisingly cool and they last for ever. I am replacing the few non-stick pans I have with carbon steel and no longer have aluminum pots/pans unless they have a non-reactive surface. These pans are for serious kitchen people who pay attention to care and handling as they do require hand cleaning and should be dried right after cleaning. They may also qualify as "green" inasmuch as they are simply made (stamped carbon steel) of common components (no multi-layer bases or exotic alloys) and never need to be replaced.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new favorite pan

PostedJune 18, 2010
Customer avatar
Papa
fromCoeur d Aene, Idaho
When I ordered this Pan I thought I knew what I was getting. However, the quality of this pan far exceeds my expectations. I used to consider copper my favorite, but no more.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

For The Rough Handler

PostedDecember 19, 2009
Customer avatar
vhfvhf
fromHixson, TN
Purchased as a gift, I hope this pan is indestructable for it's going to someone who is extrememly rough on cookware. The hand washing & drying is no problem. Cleanup may be a little tougher if he doesn't season the pan first - so I've instructed to do so. They sound great and I love the sloping sides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for de Buyer Mineral Pan, Fry Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Season well for success..

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer avatar
bleg
fromDurham, NC, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
This is the first pan I purchased that needed to be seasoned. I spent a good amount of time finding a method that made sense to me. It took a while, days to be exact, but it seems to be well seasoned. Cooked my first thing in it the other day and it worked great. Apparently, proper seasoning is the key. Do like the weight and with a good handle cover it's quite manageable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>