Customer reviews for de Buyer French Steel Crepe Pan, 9 inch

de Buyer French Steel Crepe Pan, 9 inch

de Buyer French Steel Crepe Pan, 9 inch : The same pan used by chefs at five-star restaurants throughout the world has become the preferred pan for home connoisseurs. From de Buyer, maker of the finest French cookware since the 1830's, comes this magnificently-designed pan for cooking crepes to light-and-tender perfection. The batter spreads quickly and evenly over the hot surface, while the skirted edge allows easy flipping. The handle's long length makes it easy to tilt the pan for transferring delicate, light and thin crepes onto serving plates. If you are an experienced chef or novice, this is the single pan you will use for impeccable breakfasts and desserts. Produces 8" crepes. Hand wash; season between uses. Made in France. 9 1/2" Dia. x 3/4"H pan. 8"L handle. Product Features Quality blue-black steel, 2mm thick Long handle makes it easy to flip crepes, tilt pan and transfer crepes onto serving plates Pan will darken with age de Buyer is the maker of premium French cookware since the 1830's
Overall rating:
4.52 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 50 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
45 out of 50(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for de Buyer French Steel Crepe Pan, 9 inch
Review 1 for de Buyer French Steel Crepe Pan, 9 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My blue steel beauty....

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Cheryl56
fromBloomfield, IN 47424, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
This was on backorder for a while, but so far, I'm very pleased, and I haven't even made crepes in it yet! Heats quickly and evenly and is very flat, so it works well on my ceramic stovetop. Although I've seasoned it a couple of times, it still isn't as non-stick as I'd like. However, I'm sure that will improve with continued use. I love it!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for de Buyer French Steel Crepe Pan, 9 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Crepes are a breeze!

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Customer avatar
GlendaM
fromSouth Carolina, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
I have always used a straight sided steel pan or a teflon slant sided pan, and hated how my crepes turned out. With the proper tool ( as usual!) crepes are predictably well-formed, the proper thickness and beautifully browned. My de Buyer pan does the trick, and I now look forward to crepe making. It took 2 separate cooking sessions to get the pan tilting down pat, and then I became confident and competent. I predict anyone will love using this pan!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for de Buyer French Steel Crepe Pan, 9 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My frist crepe pan

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Mel70
fromLawton, OK
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
I love this pan because I can now cook crepes anytime i want. It was easy to use and also to clean. Strangely, while I was using it I developed a French accent ... but it went away when I was through cooking.
My Favorite BrandCuisinart
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for de Buyer French Steel Crepe Pan, 9 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing workmanship!

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromAthens, Georgia
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
We are so excited about this crepe pan because it's such high quality it's going to make the perfect gift for our daughter's kitchen! My husband and I have decided to start donating our collection of frying pans and replace them with de Buyer made crepe and frying pans. At last we will have something that can stand up to our heavy use!
My Favorite Brandde Buyer
 
Products related to my review
Stainless-Steel Ladle Stand
4.8 out of 5(41)
 
 
 
Adjustable Silicone Pie Shield
4.8 out of 5(8)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for de Buyer French Steel Crepe Pan, 9 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this pan

PostedDecember 1, 2010
Customer avatar
britfem
fromAnson, ME
I've only used this for omelettes so far, but it's working just great with no sticking, which I kind of expected with a new pan. I love it.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for de Buyer French Steel Crepe Pan, 9 inch
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Disappointed23
fromTulsa, OK, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mario Batali
Nonstick coating is smeared and has nicks with discoloration. First wash made flaws look like rust spots. Worst pan I ever purchased. Appears to be a mistake that was sold anyway.
My Favorite BrandAll clad
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for de Buyer French Steel Crepe Pan, 9 inch
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not as expected

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Customer avatar
jojan
fromLa Salle Illinois
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
Pan cooked ok, but when I went to clean it, it seemed as soon as it got wet, it got rust spots and strange marks that I've never seen before on any pan. It only sat in the water a short time. The rivets that hold the handle on were well filed and the pan is well made. I looked all over in the papers before I used it and there were no instructions on seasoning, etc. So, maybe I was supposed to treat it somehow first. I did put oil on it and wiped it off so that it might take care of the rust spots.
My Favorite BrandKitchen-Aid
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for de Buyer French Steel Crepe Pan, 9 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really Nice Pan

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromColorado Springs, CO, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Been wanting a crepe pan for years! Finally... Cooks crepes so beautifully! Love it!
My Favorite Brandkitchenaid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for de Buyer French Steel Crepe Pan, 9 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

crepe pan

PostedApril 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Barbie50
fromMonroe, WI 53566, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Love my crepe pan - these are for my daughters. Have to keep family traditions going.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for de Buyer French Steel Crepe Pan, 9 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best I ever used

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer avatar
baker1963
fromNew Jersey, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
also used this in school, love them. wouldn't have anything else in my kitchen or bakery
My Favorite Brandde Buyer French Steel
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for de Buyer French Steel Crepe Pan, 9 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just perfect

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer avatar
ACookingBear
fromBoston, MA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Professional Chef
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
This pan is a winner. Nice weight, comfortable handle, am looking forward to spring brunches and using this pan.
1 comments is the maintenance, the directions state the pan can be washed in soap & water, but the surface seems closer to needing paper towel and some veg oil.
Maybe customer service can advise or other reviewers. Hope this helps.
My Favorite BrandLe Cruset
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for de Buyer French Steel Crepe Pan, 9 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Crepe Pan

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Eaglecrepe
fromEagle Point, OR 97524, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
After I seasoned the pan (per manufactures included instructionshis) this. pan worked great turning out near perfect creps.i have always wanted one of these pans; I don't know why I waited so long to buy one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for de Buyer French Steel Crepe Pan, 9 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Pan

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
ManCrazy714
fromAsheville, NC, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I really like this pan. It has an old world feel or just a comfortable-ness to it like an old friend. I have only used it twice and it was non-stick from the first use and I think it will only get better and better. I got this pan to try out de Buyer before buying the bigger saute pan. I will for sure be getting the bigger pan as soon as I can find the money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for de Buyer French Steel Crepe Pan, 9 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Crepes

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Gary650
fromProvo, UT, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
This is the first crepe pan I've owned; I have always used a well seasoned cast iron griddle which is quite heavy. I am happy with the way this crepe pan performed on it's first use, it is lighter weight than my griddle and is a joy to use. Heat management is essential, however, because you don't need any more than medium low heat or the batter starts to set in the middle before you can tilt the pan to spread it out. I had no problem with any of my crepes sticking to the pan even without butter or oil to lubricate the surface. The handle gets really warm, so you have to be careful and use a hot pad.
My Favorite BrandLodge Cast Iron
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for de Buyer French Steel Crepe Pan, 9 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

crepe pan

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer avatar
mom1234
frombronx, ny
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Gordon Ramsay
I bought this pan for my son, (9 years old) who loves to make crepes. The pan heats evenly and does not stick at all...great!!! My only wish would be a wooden handle. The edges of the handle can become uncomfortable when lifting the pan.
My Favorite Brandcuisinart
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for de Buyer French Steel Crepe Pan, 9 inch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great crêpe pan!

PostedJune 4, 2013
Customer avatar
AtYourPalate
fromNew York, NY
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Professional Chef
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
Good weight, non-stick - perfect for making deliciously thin crêpes!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for de Buyer French Steel Crepe Pan, 9 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromHonolulu, Hawaii
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
Very pleased with product! Will continue to watch for more winners! Thank you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for de Buyer French Steel Crepe Pan, 9 inch
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Crepe pan

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Tooluser
fromVermont
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
Disappointed to find handle joined to pan not by tried and true conventional rivets but by sketchy spot weld.
Returned the pan.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for de Buyer French Steel Crepe Pan, 9 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

grreat pan

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Naneki56
fromGranite Bay, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
I really love this crepe pan. It's the first real crepe pan I have owned and it works wonderfully. Very easy to use and clean.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for de Buyer French Steel Crepe Pan, 9 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makes great crepes

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
ash24
fromBoston, MA, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I purchased this pan to make crepes for the first time. It was very easy to season; I used a small amount of canola oil and that did the trick. During my first use making crepes, the pan was nonstick and made flipping the crepes very simple. Great value!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>