Customer reviews for Leifheit Decorative Canning Jars, Set of 6

Leifheit Decorative Canning Jars, Set of 6

Leifheit Decorative Canning Jars, Set of 6 : The future generation of canning jars is much easier to use and store than traditional jars - no rings or clips to rust or corrode. Each jar includes a specially-coated lid that seals without having to position flexible rings. Unique marquise-shape stores more food, saves cupboard space and is attractive as a gift jar filled with your homemade jams, preserves, apple butter, fruit or fresh garden vegetables. Available in sets of 6: 1 cup, 3 cup or 4 cup. Dishwasher-safe. Made in Germany. Product Features Set of 6 heavy duty glass jars in unique oval shape Aluminum screw-on rims and specially-coated lids Can foods without the hassle of rubber rings that corrode No clips necessary to secure lids Leifheit is a leading European supplier of nonelectric appliances and high-end kitchen products
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 15(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Leifheit Decorative Canning Jars, Set of 6
Review 1 for Leifheit Decorative Canning Jars, Set of 6
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unique package for gifting

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Smilin
fromGreat Falls, MT, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
The jars are a unique shape while being a reasonable size. I am very pleased to have found them in your on-line catalog. My intent is to use them for food gifts. Those I have given so far have been greetted with "Oo's" and "Ah's". They were easy to prepare and easy to fill. Looking forward to using the remainder of them for food gifts to my friends and family. I am regretting not ordering more.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Leifheit Decorative Canning Jars, Set of 6
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

To settle a question of lids

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Customer avatar
DocWheeler
fromSW Ohio
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Beginner
I ordered and received the two smaller jar sizes for my wife. The issues about the lids, as mentioned elsewhere, bothered me before ordering.
To help someone on their first order, the smallest jars have a "quarter turn" type lid whereas the others have standard "canning" lids. I'm no help in locating the lids for the smaller jar lids - sorry.
Look at the pictures in the ad to see what I'm talking about.
The jars look great!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Leifheit Decorative Canning Jars, Set of 6
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the shape

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromWestover, MD
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I've bought these for a two-fold purpose...to fill with flowers for my daughter-in-law's baby shower and then to fill with jam next spring. The shape is so cool and unusual.
My Favorite Brandle crueset
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Leifheit Decorative Canning Jars, Set of 6
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Customer avatar
bunners99
fromWashington, USA
My Cooking Level:Beginner
The product arrived in time and was exactly what the person was looking for. She loved them. The little booklet has some pretty good information included.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Leifheit Decorative Canning Jars, Set of 6
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

pretty jars

PostedDecember 1, 2010
Customer avatar
acook123
great for giving as gifts filled with cookie mixes etc.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Leifheit Decorative Canning Jars, Set of 6
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice jars and very pretty too.tt

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Customer avatar
birdiecooking
fromKansas City, MO, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
This was a perfect size for what I wanted it for. I am storing dried herbs and them.
My Favorite BrandChefs catalog, of course!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Leifheit Decorative Canning Jars, Set of 6
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These Jars are the Best!

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Brian28
fromSan Francisco, CA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Professional Chef
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I just used 3 jars to can peach 1/2, The 3 jars held 9 peaches, I bought at Trader Joe's. First I did a hot water on the peaches for about 1 1/2 minute, The into a ice water bath. Very easy to peel, cut in half and placed in these jars and but a Sugar,Bur-bun Vanilla syrup. The shape of the jars allow you to put more in. Then I put them in a hot water bath and when it came to a boil put 20 minutes on the timer and toke them out. I can not wait to have them on ice cream in the new year!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Leifheit Decorative Canning Jars, Set of 6
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Canning jars

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Anniebella57
fromAurora, IL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I love these canning jars, very unique shape, great to put left over sauces in, or whatever you choose. Would definitely reccomend, I purchased all sizes available.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Leifheit Decorative Canning Jars, Set of 6
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not just your ordinary canning jars

PostedApril 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Anagram
fromSilver Spring, MD, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
Wow, the shape of these jars is enough for inspiration. Wide shoulders on an almost trapezoidal-shaped jar allow pickled string beans and carrots to be shown off to their best!
My only concern was the quality of the collars - they appear to be ever so slightly thinner than American competitors. Still beautiful and I will definitely buy more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Leifheit Decorative Canning Jars, Set of 6
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Leifheit Decorative Canning Jars

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer avatar
RAPTURE
fromYPSILANTI, MI, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Rachel Ray
Lovely little jars and will make great gifts made with our home recipes. Disappointed that replacement lids are so expensive.
My Favorite BrandBobs Red Mill
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Leifheit Decorative Canning Jars, Set of 6
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Looking for lids to reuse the jars.

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Betty66
fromSkidmore, TX
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Martyr
Nice jars to use as special Christmas presents for your favorite jams. Am now looking for the lids for reusing the jars later.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Leifheit Decorative Canning Jars, Set of 6
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jars, just the right size.

PostedJune 4, 2011
Customer avatar
NiagaraTom
fromNiagara Falls, NY
I have a couple dozen of these jars – I can a lot of soups and stews. The ¾ liter size is the perfect quantity for a single serving for me, and the low profile of the jar allows me to fit in a full dozen at a time in my pressure cooker. The only negative I have about them is the lid they come with. I think it’s made of aluminum – works fine when canning but is very soft when I go to pry it off. However, the Ball wide mouth lid fits fine, so instead of using the lid that comes with the jar first time, I just toss it and use the stronger (I think steel) Ball lid.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Leifheit Decorative Canning Jars, Set of 6
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price

PostedFebruary 23, 2011
Customer avatar
CaroleS
fromGoodyear Arizona
these are so much prettier than your standard Ball jars and 2 piece lids - and they sealed nicely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Leifheit Decorative Canning Jars, Set of 6
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Canning Jars

PostedJuly 6, 2010
Customer avatar
myrnasan
fromGuaynabo, Puerto Rico
The canning jars are reliable, strong glass that holds well in the pressure cooker. Good seal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Leifheit Decorative Canning Jars, Set of 6
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedAugust 6, 2009
Customer avatar
CupcakeLady
fromStafford Twp. NJ
I love these jars. Just finished making blackberry and peach jam. They look so pretty in my glass door kitchen cabinet.
They were easy to fill and I really liked everything about them. I do have a question. Can the lids be used more than once and if not, do you supply replacements?
Always a pleasure doing business with you.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.