Customer reviews for Stainless-Steel Jar Opener

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at CHEFS Catalog.

Stainless-Steel Jar Opener

Stainless-Steel Jar Opener : Three tiers with serrated teeth grab and twist open the most stubborn lids. Vacuum-sealed lids glide open easily using this vise-style jar opener. Even sticky pickle jar, tomato sauce and syrupy fruit lids open effortlessly. Fits up to 4" Dia. lids. Features built-in bottle opener and end hook for hang-up storage. Stainless-steel is dishwasher-safe. 10 1/2"L x 3 1/2"W. Product Features Stainless-steel with grab-hold "teeth" latch onto jar lids Three tiers accommodate different size lids up to 4" Dia. Ideal for vacuum-sealed lids, sticky sauce lids and fruit jars
Overall rating:
4.266 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(94 reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 94 reviews
5 Stars
63
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
9
80 out of 94(85%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Stainless-Steel Jar Opener
Review 1 for Stainless-Steel Jar Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

stainless steel jar opener

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer avatar
avago
fromSouthern California
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Giada De Laurentis
I have another one at home that works with a little effort. I wanted to try this one --not really expecting it to be much better. It is 100% better. I am so pleased. It is so easy to use.
My Favorite Brandkirkland
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Stainless-Steel Jar Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great product

PostedJune 29, 2011
Customer avatar
RubyRedRing
fromIllinois
I have the same product I purchased years ago, but it has plastic handles. This is sturdier and I expect should last years. Both my parents and I have arthritis, this certainly makes opening cans and jars easier.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Stainless-Steel Jar Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PRODUCT

PostedApril 23, 2011
Customer avatar
bethlahem
fromblaine,mn
I bought this item for a freind for her birthday gift. She was just thrilled when she opened it. she LOVES it!!!!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Stainless-Steel Jar Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful gadget!

PostedApril 13, 2011
Customer avatar
Radish
fromWeston, CT
To open those very tight bottle caps or jar lids--this gadget is the best for people with little strength or manual dexterity.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Stainless-Steel Jar Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very handy product

PostedOctober 18, 2010
Customer avatar
rock
fromSandown NH
This opener is a must in the kitchen. I use this several times a week and not just for jars i.e. caps on bottles of glue. This product has been so handy I bought several for Christmas gifts.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Stainless-Steel Jar Opener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

FUNCTIONAL-AS ADVERTISED

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
BAMAPAT
fromSan Antonio, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
The product works as advertised although I was not totally impressed with the quality. You have to spread your hand quite wide for larger lids...don't know how it will fare with my 80 year old mother (I bought one for myself, too).
My Favorite BrandCuisinart
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Stainless-Steel Jar Opener
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

A new jar opener for the kitchen

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Hermie37
fromDuncansville, PA 16635, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
We were very disappointed with this item. The openers tongs are extremely difficult to open any jar. They are so thin they easily slip off the lid of smaller jars. We will have second thoughts prior to ordering other kitchen products.
My Favorite BrandAlways look for high quality products.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Stainless-Steel Jar Opener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The jar opener that wouldn't.

PostedMay 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromOwego, NY, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Rachel Ray
I only tried this on one jar. It was a jar of peaches. The serrated teeth cut through the lid and no matter how much pressure was exerted the lid would not twist open. Then I noticed the handles were bending out of shape. I could not imagine trying more jars or exerting more force.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Stainless-Steel Jar Opener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A mistake

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer avatar
JIM925
fromPittsburgh, PA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Calamity
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Really need a good Jar Opener. In the 80s it gets harder to open jars, etc.
this was not the answer. Poorly constructed, Did not grip properly. A waste of time. Sending it back.
My Favorite BrandChefs
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Stainless-Steel Jar Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great help in the kitchen

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer avatar
lilfoot
fromRosharon, Tx.
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
This is exactly what I was looking for. My hands are small and sometimes it's hard for me to open jars, especially ones with tight fitting lids, this jar opener comes in handy quite often.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Stainless-Steel Jar Opener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Jar opener

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer avatar
RC01
fromNorth Tustin, CA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
A necessity for arthritic hands. Works as advertised.
My Favorite BrandChefs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Stainless-Steel Jar Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The BEST jar opener.

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer avatar
judu44
fromMA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I have a dickens of a time trying to open jars and this opener is the absolute best I have ever had. I would not want to be without it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Stainless-Steel Jar Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

opening jars

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
vickilc
fromLincoln, NE, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
a very heavy duty jar opener, have used others, but not all metal, they really do work on all sizes of jars/bottles, esp. nice if you have arthritis, as it does the work for you.
My Favorite Brandkrustez
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Stainless-Steel Jar Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Bachen
fromNY
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Martyr
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I was given this type of bottle opener several years ago and have been looking for another for some time. I am very pleased top have found your site and happy with the fast service.
My Favorite BrandStouffer's
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Stainless-Steel Jar Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It was just what I wanted

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
cole1946
fromOttawa, KS
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Martyr
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
After wrist surgery I didn't have the "Grip" in my hands that I once enjoyed. It was difficult for me to open jars, using this product it's so easy to be able to use forearm strength rather than hands and wrists.
Since it's adjustable it's great for everything from large jars to small. Perfect and takes so little storage room.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Stainless-Steel Jar Opener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really Works

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
MCM24
fromCoal Township, PA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Microwave Magician
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Rachel Ray
I had a jar lid that was too big for any of my openers and almost too big for my husband's hands. Definitely too big for my hands. I got this Jar Opener and there was no problem opening the jar which has a 4 1/2 inch top. This opening is the only one that fit this top and opened it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Stainless-Steel Jar Opener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I bought this 11/24/2012

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
nfga
fromLouisville, KY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
Ipurchased this one to replace one I had which was similiar to this but much sturdier. I was opening some Taco Bell Salsa when it broke into two parts, it had already become warped from trying to open jars which were a little more difficult to open than some. My old jar opener had lasted at least 15 years and still continues to work better than this model. I wish I could return it so the company would realize how dissatisfied I am. I am going to order the one made in Switzerland, it looks industrial strength, hopefully I won't diappointed again.
My Favorite BrandAny that perform welland last at least 10 years but a lifetime would be even better
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Stainless-Steel Jar Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New kitchen helper..

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
mperk
fromPemberville, OH
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Martyr
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Had a plastic jar opener that simply did not work well. Love how easy this one helps to open different sizes of jars, etc.
My Favorite BrandScanpan
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Stainless-Steel Jar Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stainless Steel Jar Opener

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Carosell
fromWaynesboro, VA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
I used it for the first time today and WOW it was great makes me wonder how I have managed for so long.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Stainless-Steel Jar Opener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So easy!

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Sammie11
fromMedford, OR, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
This is the greatest gadget for opening jars I have ever tried! Why did I wait so long to buy it?!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>