Customer reviews for Stainless-Steel Universal Lid with Glass Insert

Stainless-Steel Universal Lid with Glass Insert

Stainless-Steel Universal Lid with Glass Insert : Glass insert lets you check cooking progress without having to remove the lid. Heavy-gauge, 18/8 stainless steel is specially designed with inner ridges to custom fit over 7" to 12" diameter pots, saute pans, fry pans and skillets. Vent allows steam to escape to prevent boil-overs of simmering sauces. No more greasy oil spatters to clean or condensation drips on your stovetop. Dishwasher-safe. 12 1/2" Dia. Product Features 18/8 stainless-steel universal lid fits 7" to 12" pots and pans Tempered glass insert lets you check cooking progress without altering heat or releasing steam Inner ridges provide a customized fit Lid fits level onto pan rims; won't warp Riveted handle is easy to grasp Endurance lid is quality made by RSVP International, Inc. Oven -safe to 425 F
Overall rating:
4.562 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(194 reviews) 175
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 194 reviews
5 Stars
140
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
6
1 Star
3
182 out of 194(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Stainless-Steel Universal Lid with Glass Insert
Review 1 for Stainless-Steel Universal Lid with Glass Insert
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cover everything

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Bigred123
fromBoston, MA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I've been looking for a cover like this for years. Every pot every pan, it fits. What more is there to say about this product. It fits great, great quality, see thru top. Couldn't have designed it better myself...
If this isn't in your kitchen, your missing out.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Stainless-Steel Universal Lid with Glass Insert
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I was looking for

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Customer avatar
conifercandy
fromConifer, CO, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I recently purchased a non stick skillet and tried to find a lid. After checking out stores for lids, I found this one on Chefs website, and it's perfect. It fits all different sizes of pans, is easy to clean, and looks good.
My Favorite BrandAll-Clad, Kitchenaid, Cuissinart
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Stainless-Steel Universal Lid with Glass Insert
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Customer avatar
Annie68
fromSan Antonio, Texas
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
You can't imagine how long I have been searching for just a lid for my pots/pans that have none. I LOVE this lid - it fits many sizes of pots/pans and I can see how my food is cooking thru the glass lid. I simply LOVE it. Thank you.
I also bought one for my daughter for Christmas. She is a gourmet cook, as myself, and she is going to be so happy with her new "multi-sized" lid.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Stainless-Steel Universal Lid with Glass Insert
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJuly 5, 2011
Customer avatar
Booker
fromMinneapolis
I admit, I HATE cleaning the stove everytime I use a frying pan, so this little item is a lifesaver! It fits several pans, is well-made, sturdy, and has a see-through top so you can keep track of the browning progress of whatever you are sauteing...AND it has a steam vent to let moisture out! Perfect top for all those cast iron skillets!!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Stainless-Steel Universal Lid with Glass Insert
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Lid

PostedDecember 30, 2010
Customer avatar
Marlys
fromGrand Rapids, MI
I received this lid as a Christmas gift and it is everything I hoped for! I love that you can see what's cooking (through the glass insert) -- my previous universal lid was solid metal so I had to lift it up to check on the food. I also love that there is a steam vent built right in...no steaming up the glass! The only down side may be that it is harder to store (because of the high handle) than flat-handled lids. I consider this a small price to pay for such a great product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Stainless-Steel Universal Lid with Glass Insert
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Buy

PostedDecember 5, 2010
Customer avatar
Suzee
fromEast Chicago, IN
Best purchase I made in years. The universal lid works wonders[- just reach for it and it fits the skillet or pot I am using. It's a miracle -fhe second one is being givesn to my son aa a gift exchange!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Stainless-Steel Universal Lid with Glass Insert
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

useful tool of excellent quality

PostedSeptember 4, 2010
Customer avatar
ttiza
fromdenver
I hesitated to spend this amount on something I already had a cupboard full of, but I'm glad I did. I can now toss at least a few of my old lids that were hot to handle or dripped all over my stove. Little "tiers" custom fit many size pans, handle stays cool, glass makes it easy to see food, is designed to drip steam into pan and not all over the stove. I do wish it came in a smaller size, though -- this is HUGE (bigger than my largest skillet), but it is still the first lid I reach for now.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Stainless-Steel Universal Lid with Glass Insert
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Only Lid You'll Ever Need

PostedAugust 30, 2010
Customer avatar
Pinkusmom
fromRockwood, TN
Perfect covering for every pot/pan from extra large sizzling skillet to a small sauce pan. This lid is nicely balanced and well-made. There are steam outlets to keep the lid from being "knocked off" by a rolling boil. All in all a wise purchase to keep favored pots without lids still in service.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Stainless-Steel Universal Lid with Glass Insert
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stainless-Steel Universal Lid with Glass Insert

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Davido
fromColorado Springs, CO
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Friend
Love the lid, no more removing to see how the cooking is going on. I also like the steem vent hole in the glass lid.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Stainless-Steel Universal Lid with Glass Insert
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Favorite Lid

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
GracieA
fromUtah
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
This lid is a great fit for three different skillets. I really like the glass center. Well made.
My Favorite BrandCuisinart & Chefs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Stainless-Steel Universal Lid with Glass Insert
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromCleveland, OH, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Dad
This is made very well and will last for years. It has a small hole for venting steam and as moisture accumulates on the underside, the lip of the glass guides the droplets back into the pan. These droplets don't follow the entire edge and drip on my stovetop. Those junky screens i used to use are in the trash. I LOVE this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Stainless-Steel Universal Lid with Glass Insert
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Indispensible Item

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromWhiting, IN
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Martyr
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
This lid is definitely one of the best things I have in my kitchen. I'm going to go through my box of lids, and probably throw out most of them. There's no need to have them when this see thru lid works so well. I bought two with the intent of giving one to my son, but I really don't think I'm going to share them. Thank you for such a great product and also for the excellent service Cooks Catalog provides.
My Favorite BrandLe Creuset
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Stainless-Steel Universal Lid with Glass Insert
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Blackbeard
fromWestern NC
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Sadly this lid is a failure. The quality DOES NOT justify the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Stainless-Steel Universal Lid with Glass Insert
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

New

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Goody5
fromBrooklyn, Mi
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
Works well on any pan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Stainless-Steel Universal Lid with Glass Insert
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Universal Lid

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromBeloit, WI
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I've been looking all over for a lid to fit various pans and this is it! The glass insert is also great to check the cooking progress without lifting the lid.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Stainless-Steel Universal Lid with Glass Insert
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A clean up time saver

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Nikko
fromChesterfield, NJ
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
The lid is well made and definitely works as advertised. It keeps the stovetop area clean when used in all cooking applications that involve spattering from the pan. Well worth the investment to save messy clean-up time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Stainless-Steel Universal Lid with Glass Insert
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Handy Kitchen Accessory

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer avatar
HobbyFoodie
fromAlabama, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Budget
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I purchased the lid to use with my omelet pans and cast iron skillets, works great. The lid also turns a SS mixing bowl into a wonderful popcorn popper!
My Favorite Brandcalphalon
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Stainless-Steel Universal Lid with Glass Insert
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This LID is the BEST

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromLowell, Ma
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Rachel Ray
I truly hate cleaning my stove so when I saw this LID in your catalog I was very hesitant to purchase it but hubby told me to try it so I purchased it and it was the BEST item I ever bought. I love it and it works fantastic. I have spread the word around to all my friends on this GREAT ITEM..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Stainless-Steel Universal Lid with Glass Insert
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It really works.

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
MimiGood
fromNew York, NY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Microwave Magician
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I like bacon but I don't like the grease all over the stove. The Stainless-Steel Universal Lid lets you watch the bacon cooking and keeps the grease from getting on the stove.
My Favorite BrandItalian bread
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Stainless-Steel Universal Lid with Glass Insert
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ss universal lid

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
fatboy66
fromIowa, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
used it a few times and I love the way that it keeps the splatter off of the stove. Well worth the money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>