Customer reviews for Victorinox Fibrox Pro Chef's Knife

Victorinox Fibrox Pro Chef's Knife

Victorinox Fibrox Pro Chef's Knife : Manufactured with the same high-quality standards as the world renowned Swiss army knife, the chef's knife blade is hand-ground and laser-tested to ensure the best Swiss quality. Stamped from high-carbon stainless-steel, the blade is conically ground throughout the length and depth for a razor-edge sharpness that performs with quickness and precision. Each blade undergoes a special tempering process to create an edge that can be resharpened over the lifetime of the blade for precise chopping of vegetables to slicing deli-thin meats. Beautifully balanced and perfectly weighted for ease in handling, the slight-wedge design offers best food prep. Ergonomic, nonslip Fibrox handle feels comfortable in the hand. NSF certified. Backed by 125+ years of craftsmanship, Victorinox knives are internationally praised by gourmet chefs for their precise design and durability. Hand-finished by skilled craftsmen in Switzerland, Victorinox knives are rated as the best value by a leading consumer publication. Product Features Precision-stamped from high-carbon stainless-steel, the blade is conically ground throughout the length and depth for razor-edge sharpness and retention Slight-wedge design for best food prep Perfectly balanced and weighted for ease in handling, each blade undergoes a special tempering process to create an edge that can be resharpened throughout the lifetime of the blade NSF certified Fibrox ergonomic nonslip handle feels comfortable in the hand Swiss-manufactured with the same high quality standards of the original Swiss Army Knife Victorinox celebrates their 125th anniversary maintaining the excellent-quality design that earns the highest respect of professional and home chefs
Overall rating:
4.816 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 49 reviews
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
49 out of 49(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Victorinox Fibrox Pro Chef's Knife
Review 1 for Victorinox Fibrox Pro Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Knife for the Price!

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
ChefTurp
fromSunny California
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mario Batali
Bang for the buck! Very sharp, nice weight, good grip, a little wide in the handle, good nuckle clearance, solid blade nice for crushing garlic. I would buy again for backup or gift for someone looking for upgrade knife! Chef Turp recommended! Live Well!
My Favorite BrandNike
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Victorinox Fibrox Pro Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

well balanced, perfect fit handle

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Customer avatar
islandgalwa
fromWhidbey Island, Washington, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I have smaller hands and found the longer blade chefs knife to be a little cumbersome to use and was delighted to find the 6 inch blade in my favorite brand. I liked it so well I bought 3 more for gifts!
My Favorite Brandcuisinart
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Victorinox Fibrox Pro Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Knives!

PostedDecember 14, 2010
Customer avatar
Kdub
fromPort Aransas, TX
We use these knives ourselves and are very pleased. Decided to send this particular one for Christmas gifts to several in our family. We are not chefs, but we love to cook and use this knife more than any other. The knife also comes with a sheath, which is extremely helpful for storing. Would highly recommend it, at any cooking level!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Victorinox Fibrox Pro Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite knife

PostedMarch 16, 2010
Customer avatar
CBWiggins
fromBoulder CO
I found this knife reviewed by chefs in two different cooking magazines as their "favorite chef knife". As the owner of a cooking school I tried it out and have been impressed at how sharp the blade stays - far superior to more expensive knives I have purchased. It is also light weight and has a very comfortable handle which makes a huge difference when doing a lot of chopping. This is the only chef knife I use at my school now. I recently bought 2 more to give as gifts for my sons in college. I think they will love it!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Victorinox Fibrox Pro Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent knife

PostedMarch 1, 2010
Customer avatar
Bell0721
fromBellingham, WA
My sister sent me the 6" version of this knife for Christmas. She purchased it from Chefs. I liked it so much that I ordered the 8" Victorinox from Chefs. These knives are razor sharp, ,they are well balanced and very comfortable in my hand. The 8" was rated by Cook's Illustrated magazine as the "best inexpensive chef's knife." I trust Cook's Illustrated and Chefs. I am certain I will enjoy these knives for years. Thank you, Chefs, for carrying such high quality products.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Victorinox Fibrox Pro Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent knife for the price

PostedAugust 14, 2009
Customer avatar
margesimpson
fromMichigan
I chose this knife because I needed a step up from the Chicago Cutlery type and didn't want to pay big bucks for a Wusthof. I wasn't disappointed - it slices through meat and vegetables like butter, virtually effortlessly. Since this knife arrived in my kitchen, I rarely use anything else. It seems very well constructed, and the non-slip handle feels extremely comfortable to use. I own the 6" version - it is just the right size and weight for my small hands, and is much easier to control than the 8" chef's knife I was using previously.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Victorinox Fibrox Pro Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My First Chef Knife

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Customer avatar
mefrausto
fromFresno, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Vegetarian
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I have been wanting a chef knife all my cooking life cause I cook often. I love this knife. I know people who have bought knife sets and none of them have a knife like this one. I never knew what it was to have a good until now. Chopping, cuutting is so much easier.
Only problem, I wish the knife was smaller as I have small hands. Otherwise do not cook anything until you buy this knife.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Victorinox Fibrox Pro Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ATK was right all along

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Clarino621
fromAtlanta, GA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I've seen America's Test Kitchen reviews for several years where this knife bested chef's knives costing much more. They were so enthusiastic that I was suspicious.
When I got a gift card, I decided that it would cost me nothing to find out. The difference was amazing. When dicing onions, it was like they weren't even there.
My expensive German knife are now semi-retired. I only use it when the thicker, heavier blade is an advantage. I plan to get the 6 inch / utility version of the Victorinox as well.
Only downside so far is the width of the blade won't fit my knife block.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Victorinox Fibrox Pro Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome knife

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Dick49
fromMilwaukee, WI, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandpa
tHe best knife I have ever used. Keep your fingers out of the way!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Victorinox Fibrox Pro Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EVERYONE needs a good knife

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Customer avatar
KitchenSnitch
fromMandan, ND, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I saw this knife reviewed in Cooks Illustrated Magazine and thought I should have a new knife... whoa, I realized just how wonderful it was to have a sharp knife in my kitchen... it was amazing. I love it and hopefully it will provide many years of cutting. The price was right, very reasonable and from a reputable company.
My Favorite BrandCuisinart and everything else
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Victorinox Fibrox Pro Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Christopher Kimball was right

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromLos Angeles
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
On a recent showing of America's Test Kitchen they reviewed Chef's knives. This knife was the reigning champion. It was retested against the best (and more expensive competition) and once again ended up on top. I bought it and am extremely pleased with everything about it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Victorinox Fibrox Pro Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best knife I've ever used!

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Customer avatar
IllinoisMom
fromChicago, IL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
America's test Kitchen was right. I have $300 knives and $5 knives plus sharpeners of all kinds. None of them comes close to this knife. The handle is the first thing you notice, Just supremely comfortable. The blade holds an edge and slices thru anything. This one is sharp and stays that way. I will buy more-what a wonderful tool.
My Favorite BrandCuisinart
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Victorinox Fibrox Pro Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great new knife

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Customer avatar
PawPawinMO
fromMissouri, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
I bought this for our motorhome, but am loving using it here at home.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Victorinox Fibrox Pro Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new go-to knife

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromCorunna, MI, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
I've read excellent reviews on Victorinox knives and started picking up one here and there. This Victorinox Fibrox Pro Chef's Knife has beaten the more expensive (much more expensive) knives I own hands down. I am very pleased and will continue to purchase this brand.
My Favorite BrandCalphalon and Victorinox
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Victorinox Fibrox Pro Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cuts like a knife should

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromNew Hampshire, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Martyr
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
I've only had it for a few days but I can see this knife will be my favorite for cutting veggies and meats. It was recommended by America's Test Kitchen and we gave it a try. Good decision and good value for the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Victorinox Fibrox Pro Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A perfect purchase

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
ILLTRYITONCE
fromJacksonville, FL
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
The knife is relatively new with only slight use, but I'm pretty darn impressed by the comfortable handle, balance, and unbelievable sharpness. I thought the blade length might have been awkward.....nope ! The positive reviews I used before purchase were spot on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Victorinox Fibrox Pro Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Knife

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Julie36
fromMissoula, MT, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
This is an excellent knife. Slices thru veggies & meat easily. Seems to hold its sharp edge very well. Great knife for the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Victorinox Fibrox Pro Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Knife Ever

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
blondiemi
fromMichigan, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
This is one of the best chef's knives...ever. It's top rated by America's Test Kitchen and they are absolutely right in their comments. Lightweight, sharp, comfortable...great knife. I have two in case Victorinox decides to no longer make this "perfect" piece. I would also purchase a knife cover or store in a knife block to not cut your fingers.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Victorinox Fibrox Pro Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is what I've been looking for!

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Trebor71
fromMemphis, TN, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
This is the ultimate chef's knife. I've been extremely pleased with its weight and ease of use. The handle is the most comfortable out of my 5 chef's knives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Victorinox Fibrox Pro Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

teriffic product

PostedApril 17, 2012
Customer avatar
fazie
fromBuffalo, NY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
good knife.hope it stays that way for a long time.purchased the paring knife also.for the price it is very good quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>