Customer reviews for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Nakiri, 7-in.

Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Nakiri, 7-in.

Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Nakiri, 7-in. : The Nakiri Classic Hollow-Edge Knife that chops and slices vegetables, fruits and meats with record speed and unprecedented precision. Unlike any other blade on the market, the edge is angled on both sides for quickest, easiest slicing and chopping of vegetables. The qualities of a santoku knife and versatility of a Japanese cleaver are refined with a balanced blade that is 30% sharper and holds its edge 30% longer than ordinary Asian-style blades. Triple compression rivets attach the high-impact handle securely to the full tang for superior balance and maneuverability. Slices meats deli-thin for sandwiches, creates strips for stir-frying and fajitas and quickly trims uniform pieces for stews and soups without clinging to the blade. Precision-forged from of a single piece of high-carbon stainless-steel, this is the knife every seasoned chef will rely on in the kitchen. Hand wash. 7"L blade. Made in Germany. Lifetime manufacturer warranty. Product Features Balanced blade is precision-forged from a single piece of steel for optimal balance and agility, specially angled for 30% sharper performance High-carbon, stainless-steel blade lasts 30% longer than ordinary Asian-style blades Dual-angle edge allows quick, precise, slicing, chopping and cubing Cuts paper thin vegetable slices for salads, juliennes for casseroles and stir-frying without clinging to the blade Slices and releases deli-thin meat, strips or uniform pieces for soups Ergonomic, polypropylene handle fits either hand for firm control Triple compression-riveted handle for strength Handmade in Germany since 1814, Wusthof cutlery is prized by the world's top chefs
Overall rating:
4.973 / 5
5
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
37 out of 37(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Nakiri, 7-in.
Review 1 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Nakiri, 7-in.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Chuck46
fromMebane, NC, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I would highly recommend this knife to anyone who prep. food. You'll love how easy it will slice through meats and vegetables. It is a well balanced knife and fit's nicely in your hand. I'm just sorry I hadn't purchase earlier.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Nakiri, 7-in.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great knife!

PostedMay 12, 2010
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromMidland, Texas
This is a new Wusthof knife. I never saw a need for a Santuko so never bought one, but thought this knife would fit a niche and bought it. A great knife! Very sharp, VERY SHARP, and easy to maintain. It is useful for virtually all I use a chef's knife for except the larger items and the items requiring a lot of slicing and dicing, when the rocker in the chef's knife is handy.
But otherwise this knife will do everything. It is particularly good for fine slices of tomatoes and other vegetables. I also use it to thinly slice beef and pork.
This knife fits in between my large chef's knife and a small chef's knife. I find myself using this more than the small chef's knife now.
Finally, CHEF'S had this knife and none of the other large shops had it. And CHEF'S had it at a great price too!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Nakiri, 7-in.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

PostedOctober 30, 2009
Customer avatar
SJChef
fromSan Jose
Although I own several types of chef's knives, I decided to give this one a try. It is now my standard. I love the balanced heft and wide blade. It makes slicing and chopping so much easier and faster than my standard chef's knives.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Nakiri, 7-in.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cutting knife

PostedMay 27, 2014
Customer avatar
linlin5050
fromHampton, VA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
My go to knife to chop dice and slice, Feels good the hand , well balanced, like the size.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Nakiri, 7-in.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wusthof Nakiri Rocks!!!

PostedMay 15, 2014
Customer avatar
KansasGran
fromWestern Kansas, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
This knife is truly awesome. It chops, dices and minces with little effort. The blade is very sharp and thin making chopping so easy. I like using this much better than the chef's knife which is heavier and thicker.
My Favorite BrandWusthoft
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Nakiri, 7-in.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent knife

PostedMay 9, 2014
Customer avatar
JerseyCityDM1
fromNew Jersey (New York Metropoitan Area)
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Not only well made, but a very well thought out knife (a traditional Japanese knife that has evolved into a knife with no flaws). I have big hands and the handle allows my last three fingers to grip handle with no space left over and with my thumb and forefinger pinching blade for greater control. The straight edge is great for larger fruits and vegetables. The straight edge does not work as well for a rocking motion, but the standard chef's knife will handle those assignments. my next purchase will be a Wusthof Chai Doa which has a more pronounced edge then a chef's knife,will handle the smaller vegetables that do required a curved blade to rock in slicing. The Nakiri and Chai Doa should complement each other quite nicely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Nakiri, 7-in.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New favorite knife for my kitchen

PostedMay 6, 2014
Customer avatar
KK65
fromRichmond, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
This knife makes cutting and chopping jobs fast and efficient. It is robust and requires less effort to use. Requiring less effort is very important when you have diminishing strength or arthritis in your hands. This was especially true when I used it to slice hard salami and it performed great then too.
My Favorite BrandAll-clad, Wusthof, Lodge cast iron
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Nakiri, 7-in.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

worth every penny

PostedMay 2, 2014
Customer avatar
coder2
fromNew Orleans, LA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
This knife is unbelievable! sliced pineapple like slicing butter
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Nakiri, 7-in.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chopping made easy

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Zinfan
fromDayton, OH
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I wanted the Wusthof knife I saw on a food show I watch as it didn't have the pointed end of most knives used for chopping. This fits the bill perfectly and compliments the set of Wusthof knives I have been using in my kitchen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Nakiri, 7-in.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Oh My Goodness

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer avatar
louisvillelou
fromLouisville, KY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I have been married 43 years and never knew what it was like to have a quality knife in the house. Married to a country boy, I cooked dinner at least 5 nights a week forever and thought I had purchased quality knives in the past, but apparently I never knew what true quality was until purchasing the Wusthof 7in. It is perfectly balanced and slices through food prep like butter.
I am truly in love and will soon complete my set.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Nakiri, 7-in.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Nakiri, 7-in.

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer avatar
jinman
fromColorado City, TX 79512, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
This is the best knife I've ever purchased. The handle and blade are nicely balanced. The blade is sharp enough to cut tomatoes and meats. I would recommend this knife to other people.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Nakiri, 7-in.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work horse knife

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Fiestagirl
fromNewburgh, IN 47630, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
This knife glides through anything! Effortless for meats and yet gives a nice dice with delicate veggies. I will use this daily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Nakiri, 7-in.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super sharp

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromSouthlake, TX
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
I bought this after seeing an episode of "Pioneer Woman" where Ree Drummond praised this knife. I'm very glad I ordered it because it's become my go-to knife for all chopping. The knife is well balanced, very sharp, and just the right size.
My Favorite BrandLe Crueset
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Nakiri, 7-in.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new favorite knife

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
DAA24
fromConnecticut
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
This has became my go to knife in the kitchen. Slices vegetables like a dream. Need thin slices of beef or chicken for stir fry, this is you knife. I have butterflied flank steak with it. So far, in 3 months of use, has passed every test with flying colors. My old chefs knife is in the draw.
My Favorite BrandLamson Sharp
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Nakiri, 7-in.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It!

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
montgran
frommontana
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
This is my new favorite knife. I have an average hand and it fits perfect. Cuts through everything like butter. You won't be sorry if you buy it. I only wish I bought it sooner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Nakiri, 7-in.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Awesome Knife

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
FrannyP
fromAlbuquerque, NM
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I have never had a knife quite like this one. It cuts through EVERYTHING like it was butter. Tomatoes, partially frozen meats, onions, you name it - it does it! If I had purchased this one first, I wouldn't need any of my other knives - and I've got some really nice Wusthoff knives. This one is the BEST!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Nakiri, 7-in.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Will get most use.

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Customer avatar
step1
fromTexas
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
This knife is well balanced and very comfortable when slicing and chopping produce. I like the rounded front edge for scoring fat on roasts,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Nakiri, 7-in.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Christmas Present For A ChefInTheMaking

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Chaotic
fromCollege Park, MD, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Beginner
My friend spoke very highly of this kitchen tool and was very excited to receive this for Christmas. I look forward to the wonders that she'll create.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Nakiri, 7-in.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Knife

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
MaximusV
fromNew Jersey
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I have had this knife for about a year and it is sharp as ever and handy to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Nakiri, 7-in.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent knife

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromNorth Carolina
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Per Wusthoff this knife is wonderful. Best knife I have in the kitchen. Everyone should have one
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>