Customer reviews for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.

Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.

Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz. : Recommended by world champion Dutch oven chefs, it only takes a dab of Cast Iron Conditioner to season new pans for long-lasting use. The best way to season cast-iron and prevent rusting no longer involves the use of greasy oils, heating or messy cleanup. This formula removes the buildup of other seasoning methods to renew existing pans. All-natural ingredients. 6-oz. Product Features Season cast-iron pans with this creamy conditioner and eliminate the mess of oils, heating or greasy cleanup A little amount goes a long way to season entire surface area Removes the buildup of other seasoning methods to renew existing cast-iron cookware Enhances cast-iron's patina and preserves natural seasoned finish
Overall rating:
4.514 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
34 out of 35(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Review 1 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for conditioning my cast iron

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromLouisville, KY area
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
I like to thoroughly wash my cast iron after I use it for baking casseroles. This always ruins the seasoning. The Iron Conditioner has been a God send at reconditioning my cast iron skillets and making me feel I can clean them adequately and re- season them without a day of work. I hope you continue to keep this product in stock as it doesn't require all the steps needed when I used to season my pans.
My Favorite BrandLodge
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great conditioner for cast iron products

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Customer avatar
emmy1
fromColorado Springs, CO
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Gordon Ramsay
The conditioner comes in a tube and is very hard - just hold it under the hot water for a short time and it's ready to use. It brings back the the luster and I don't have to be concerned with any rust that can occur on cast iron products.
My Favorite BrandChefs
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Customer avatar
donnaj
fromCoral Springs, FL
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I season my cast iron with vegetable oil, but eventually after sitting for a while it developed a slight "odor." The cast iron conditioner has no odor and works beautifully. I had two cast iron skillets that my husband put in the dishwasher by mistake. When I used the conditioner they are back to their original condition with no after smell.
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid and Cuisinart
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple and easy to use.

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Chucko
fromLayton, UT, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I've used one tube of this already, and placed this order for two more. I have 5 dutch ovens and 1 fry pan that I use this on. I love it.
My Favorite BrandAny one I get my hands on.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Customer avatar
pants
fromsummit, nj
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
this product brings out the patina on the cast iron. It heops to keep food from sticking, when you use it next. I find it really helps keep the pot in good conditioner.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cast iron conditioner

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromSacramento, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
I ordered the cast iron conditioner because it came highly recommended. I liked the price so I ordered two. It came in a decent time from the time I ordered it and it is very easy to use. I always recommend chefscatalog to anyone needing good quality items for their kitchen.
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than oil!

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
newcookat68
fromLakewood CO
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Rachel Ray
When I bought 2 Lodge cast-iron pans, I didn't think about "seasoning" and so did not order this at the same time. I should have. It's much less work than the old-fashioned way with oven and oil and time! The comments on it being "thick" and "hard to use" made me warm it slightly before use (briefly ran tube under hot water) and it worked just fine.
My Favorite Brandwhatever works.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cast Iron Conditioner

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Cyndi47
fromSouth Carolina, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Giada De Laurentis
This is a wonderful product!! I wish something like this had been around years ago. After use,your cast-iron cook ware will look better than "grand new" & cook like they are non-stick cookware. I couldn't be more pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great way to season cast iron

PostedJune 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromWashington, DC, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
This is the perfect product for anyone who owns a number of cast iron pieces. Not only does it do an excellent job on seasoning new pans but it also helps to keep already seasoned pans in top condition. A little following washing and drying maintains the seasoning on both cast iron and mineral iron pans.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cast Iron Conditioner

PostedMay 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Jonathan73
fromBoston, MA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
I am pleased so far, I used it on a small pan that was not in dire need yet but it made a great coating and my blue cheese burger came out with a perfect sear...
My Favorite Brandlodge logic
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Tom59
fromWatervliet, NY, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Giada De Laurentis
Best product I ever bought. Made an upside down apple tart and did not even stick to my pan, Made clean up very easy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Okay

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
crimmps49
fromHustisford, WI, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I usually use olive oil to season my cast iron pans and they have always worked well for me. I thought this might be better, but I don't see any difference in my pan and it's performance. It works well, but so does the olive oil. Perhaps over an extended time of use I may see a difference. It's not that this doesn't work well, it just doesn't do anything my olive oil hasn't done.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cast Iron

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer avatar
MerlinMine
fromTexas, USA
My Cooking Level:Expert
This product returned my cast iron skillet to a like new finish. A little goes a long way, so the cost is very little in order to retain conditioning. Finally a cleaner solution that is so easy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT STUFF!!

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
KrazyKatLady
fromRochester, NY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I only use cast iron skillets when cooking--mostly antique ones that were passed down to me. But, I hate to not clean them after use (to preserve seasoning). This product allows me to scrub out my pans and then do an easy peasy seaonsoning to prepare it for the next use. LOVE IT!! FYI, as they used to say "A little dab will do ya"!!! Heads up, though, it can be tough to squeeze product out of tube. Not for the weak-handed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than greasy oils

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Gladheart
fromMurphy, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
Easy to apply and not messy. Bought as a Xmas gift and my daughter used it the same day. She luvs it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Condition Me

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromCroton Hdsn, NY
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Friend
I've never used a conditioner for cast iron before and never thought that it was necessary. I JUST started using it so I don't know if there's anything wrong with it.
My Favorite BrandRagu
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Customer avatar
rita71home
fromClarksville, TN, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
great product
My Favorite Brandwhole foods
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

easy to use

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
nanarabbit1
fromTryon, NC 28782
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
I am re conditioning all my cast iron pans. This product is easy to use.
My Favorite BrandBetty Crocker
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good but...

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
NolaNomad
fromAtlanta, GA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
The product is very good but I was expecting sort of a thicker product. When it arrived it was almost frozen in the tube. After a bit I used some and was impressed since it did well. After a few days it liquified and now runs like water from the tube.
I would appreciate a thicker product, more like a thin paste. All in all it's a good product and I would recommend it to my friends.
My Favorite BrandTobasco pepper sauce
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

High Hopes

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Customer avatar
MissPegs
fromEast Palestine, OH 44413, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
I've only used this once since purchasing, and it went on beautifully, however it was VERY difficult to get out of the tube. Perhaps I'll try warming it by putting the tube in a glass of hot water when I use it next to see if that makes a difference. My first impression is a positive one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>