Customer reviews for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.

Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.

Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz. : Recommended by world champion Dutch oven chefs, it only takes a dab of Cast Iron Conditioner to season new pans for long-lasting use. The best way to season cast-iron and prevent rusting no longer involves the use of greasy oils, heating or messy cleanup. This formula removes the buildup of other seasoning methods to renew existing pans. All-natural ingredients. 6-oz. Product Features Season cast-iron pans with this creamy conditioner and eliminate the mess of oils, heating or greasy cleanup A little amount goes a long way to season entire surface area Removes the buildup of other seasoning methods to renew existing cast-iron cookware Enhances cast-iron's patina and preserves natural seasoned finish
Overall rating:
4.436 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(55 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 55 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
51 out of 55(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Review 1 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for conditioning my cast iron

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromLouisville, KY area
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
I like to thoroughly wash my cast iron after I use it for baking casseroles. This always ruins the seasoning. The Iron Conditioner has been a God send at reconditioning my cast iron skillets and making me feel I can clean them adequately and re- season them without a day of work. I hope you continue to keep this product in stock as it doesn't require all the steps needed when I used to season my pans.
My Favorite BrandLodge
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great conditioner for cast iron products

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Customer avatar
emmy1
fromColorado Springs, CO
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Gordon Ramsay
The conditioner comes in a tube and is very hard - just hold it under the hot water for a short time and it's ready to use. It brings back the the luster and I don't have to be concerned with any rust that can occur on cast iron products.
My Favorite BrandChefs
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Customer avatar
donnaj
fromCoral Springs, FL
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I season my cast iron with vegetable oil, but eventually after sitting for a while it developed a slight "odor." The cast iron conditioner has no odor and works beautifully. I had two cast iron skillets that my husband put in the dishwasher by mistake. When I used the conditioner they are back to their original condition with no after smell.
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid and Cuisinart
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple and easy to use.

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Chucko
fromLayton, UT, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I've used one tube of this already, and placed this order for two more. I have 5 dutch ovens and 1 fry pan that I use this on. I love it.
My Favorite BrandAny one I get my hands on.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Customer avatar
pants
fromsummit, nj
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
this product brings out the patina on the cast iron. It heops to keep food from sticking, when you use it next. I find it really helps keep the pot in good conditioner.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Simple/Easy Conditioner!

PostedMay 5, 2015
Customer avatar
Peppersmom
fromPalos Hills, IL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I really like this cast iron conditioner. It seems that no matter what kind of oil I would apply to my cast iron fry pan it always somehow felt "sticky". I also noticed the appearance of rust? I just couldn't win. I tried this after cleaning and drying my pan. WOW. I couldn't believe the even coverage. Little goes a long way. But the after feeling/residue. There was none. Looked like it was brand new. Will definitely recommend.
My Favorite BrandThis is the first of this type of product I've tried. But I don't need to try anything else. This is a great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

First negative From Chef's

PostedApril 2, 2015
Customer avatar
myguyDave8
fromSelbyville, DE, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
First time I have ever had a negative review for Chef's (one of my favorite sites). This product stays hard as a rock in the tube, needs to be run under hot water just to use it. It burst the tube and made an awful mess. A good idea but didn't work. First over priced product I have ever bought from Chef's.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best help!

PostedMarch 16, 2015
Customer avatar
Marie76
fromSaint Cloud, MN, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
I love using this product! It makes keeping my Lodge fry pan in tip top shape and so easy to use. A quick wash of the pan, a squeeze of the conditioner, an easy rub it around and the pan is conditioned and ready to use! Won't be without this best of all helpers!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Conditioner

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Customer avatar
dogbone
fromKansas City
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
I have never used a Conditioner before on my Cast-Iron. My husband has bought me a lot of Cast-iron cookwear and I've always used olive oil or spray Pam on it after cleaning them. I decided to buy this and see how I like it. So far so good. It makes them look nice and seems to be working good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

coating for cast iron

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Customer avatar
kay1947
fromEaston, KS 66020, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
i will not cook with anything else..cast iron has been my favorite choice for over 50 yrs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Customer avatar
jww42
fromSouth Lyon, MI 48178, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
Can see no benefit over just plain oil. I use my cast iron daily...use no soap and oil lightly after each use. Pans stay perfectly seasoned and non-stick.
This product looked nice, but required using after each use as well...no benefit...much more expensive.
Would not buy again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Customer avatar
ETXLady
fromEast Texas, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
After several attempts to season a Lodge cast iron griddle, I almost gave up and threw it away. It was seasoned around the edges, but where the food cooked would never get seasoned. Thankfully, I found this product. I simply used a small amount all over the pan, let it sit for a couple of days before using. After the first use, the center is almost as seasoned as the remainder of the pan. Expect it to get better the more I use it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Well

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Customer avatar
Ladydi33
fromHampton, VA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
I use a good deal of cast iorn when I cook. The Camp Chef Conditioner works great. I rub a small amount of the conditioner into the pan, rub it in and sit it back into a warm oven for about 30 minutes. My pans look beautiful and cook well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Customer avatar
jana1
fromIndianapolis, IN, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I find it a real chore to reseason my cast iron cookware. This product takes the mess out of this process. So very happy I found this. I cleaned and seasoned all my cast iron pans in a couple of hours.
My Favorite Brandlodge logic
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worked good

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Customer avatar
ROSE54909
fromWisconsin, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
The reason I didn't give it 5stars is because it was a challenge to get out of the tube.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best for Cast Iron Maintenance

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Customer avatar
henry26ks
fromSE Kansas
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
I use cast iron almost exclusively, except for soups and stews. I quit seasoning my cast iron about 10 years ago when I discovered this product. It is so much easier to use and keeps cast iron in prime condition. Even if something sticks, a brief soak and it wipes right out. I could never go back to old methods of conditioning cast cookware. Try it! I should mention my cast iron is old, not newer inferior cast.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really good product

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Customer avatar
obasanla
fromBirmingham, AL
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I keep a little bowl with oil near my stove for oiling my cast iron skillet after use. Food still stuck to it, although I tried not to use soap. When I got this product, I cleaned my skillet as usual and used just a tiny bit on it. Viola! No more sticking. Will I buy again? You bet.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cast Iron Cooking

PostedDecember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
gadgetlover73
fromTexas, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
Since moving to Texas, I have found out that cast iron cooking is an artform! And this will make it so much easier than seasoning the pans for hours!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cast-Iron Conditioner 6 oz.

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
John39
fromWindsor, NC
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I really looked forward to getting this item because trying to maintain the several cast iron cooking utensils is a chore, especially since a couple are kept outdoors and subject to rust. The conditioner went on like a breeze and so far has done a great job. I had to hunt around a bit to get instructions for the first use and got some conflicting information on the website.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Camp Chef Cast-Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks Like New

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Brick67
fromFort Washington, MD, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
This cream worked wonders on a very old pan I actually inherited from my mother-in-law. It's easy and fast and the results are terrific.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>