Customer reviews for Camp Chef Cast Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.

Camp Chef Cast Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.

Camp Chef Cast Iron Conditioner, 6 oz. : Recommended by world champion Dutch oven chefs, it only takes a dab of Cast Iron Conditioner to season new pans for long-lasting use. The best way to season cast-iron and prevent rusting no longer involves the use of greasy oils, heating or messy cleanup. This formula removes the buildup of other seasoning methods to renew existing pans. All-natural ingredients. 6-oz. Product Features Season cast-iron pans with this creamy conditioner and eliminate the mess of oils, heating or greasy cleanup A little amount goes a long way to season entire surface area Removes the buildup of other seasoning methods to renew existing cast-iron cookware Enhances cast-iron's patina and preserves natural seasoned finish
Overall rating:
4.414 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
28 out of 29(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Camp Chef Cast Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Review 1 for Camp Chef Cast Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for conditioning my cast iron

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromLouisville, KY area
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
I like to thoroughly wash my cast iron after I use it for baking casseroles. This always ruins the seasoning. The Iron Conditioner has been a God send at reconditioning my cast iron skillets and making me feel I can clean them adequately and re- season them without a day of work. I hope you continue to keep this product in stock as it doesn't require all the steps needed when I used to season my pans.
My Favorite BrandLodge
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Camp Chef Cast Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great conditioner for cast iron products

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Customer avatar
emmy1
fromColorado Springs, CO
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Gordon Ramsay
The conditioner comes in a tube and is very hard - just hold it under the hot water for a short time and it's ready to use. It brings back the the luster and I don't have to be concerned with any rust that can occur on cast iron products.
My Favorite BrandChefs
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Camp Chef Cast Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Customer avatar
donnaj
fromCoral Springs, FL
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I season my cast iron with vegetable oil, but eventually after sitting for a while it developed a slight "odor." The cast iron conditioner has no odor and works beautifully. I had two cast iron skillets that my husband put in the dishwasher by mistake. When I used the conditioner they are back to their original condition with no after smell.
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid and Cuisinart
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Camp Chef Cast Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple and easy to use.

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Chucko
fromLayton, UT, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I've used one tube of this already, and placed this order for two more. I have 5 dutch ovens and 1 fry pan that I use this on. I love it.
My Favorite BrandAny one I get my hands on.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Camp Chef Cast Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Customer avatar
pants
fromsummit, nj
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
this product brings out the patina on the cast iron. It heops to keep food from sticking, when you use it next. I find it really helps keep the pot in good conditioner.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Camp Chef Cast Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Tom59
fromWatervliet, NY, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Giada De Laurentis
Best product I ever bought. Made an upside down apple tart and did not even stick to my pan, Made clean up very easy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Camp Chef Cast Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Okay

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
crimmps49
fromHustisford, WI, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I usually use olive oil to season my cast iron pans and they have always worked well for me. I thought this might be better, but I don't see any difference in my pan and it's performance. It works well, but so does the olive oil. Perhaps over an extended time of use I may see a difference. It's not that this doesn't work well, it just doesn't do anything my olive oil hasn't done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Camp Chef Cast Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cast Iron

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer avatar
MerlinMine
fromTexas, USA
My Cooking Level:Expert
This product returned my cast iron skillet to a like new finish. A little goes a long way, so the cost is very little in order to retain conditioning. Finally a cleaner solution that is so easy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Camp Chef Cast Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT STUFF!!

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
KrazyKatLady
fromRochester, NY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I only use cast iron skillets when cooking--mostly antique ones that were passed down to me. But, I hate to not clean them after use (to preserve seasoning). This product allows me to scrub out my pans and then do an easy peasy seaonsoning to prepare it for the next use. LOVE IT!! FYI, as they used to say "A little dab will do ya"!!! Heads up, though, it can be tough to squeeze product out of tube. Not for the weak-handed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Camp Chef Cast Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than greasy oils

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Gladheart
fromMurphy, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
Easy to apply and not messy. Bought as a Xmas gift and my daughter used it the same day. She luvs it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Camp Chef Cast Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Condition Me

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromCroton Hdsn, NY
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Friend
I've never used a conditioner for cast iron before and never thought that it was necessary. I JUST started using it so I don't know if there's anything wrong with it.
My Favorite BrandRagu
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Camp Chef Cast Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Customer avatar
rita71home
fromClarksville, TN, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
great product
My Favorite Brandwhole foods
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Camp Chef Cast Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

easy to use

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
nanarabbit1
fromTryon, NC 28782
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
I am re conditioning all my cast iron pans. This product is easy to use.
My Favorite BrandBetty Crocker
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Camp Chef Cast Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good but...

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
NolaNomad
fromAtlanta, GA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
The product is very good but I was expecting sort of a thicker product. When it arrived it was almost frozen in the tube. After a bit I used some and was impressed since it did well. After a few days it liquified and now runs like water from the tube.
I would appreciate a thicker product, more like a thin paste. All in all it's a good product and I would recommend it to my friends.
My Favorite BrandTobasco pepper sauce
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Camp Chef Cast Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

High Hopes

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Customer avatar
MissPegs
fromEast Palestine, OH 44413, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
I've only used this once since purchasing, and it went on beautifully, however it was VERY difficult to get out of the tube. Perhaps I'll try warming it by putting the tube in a glass of hot water when I use it next to see if that makes a difference. My first impression is a positive one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Camp Chef Cast Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Conditioner for cast iron

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Deltafox625
fromCheyenne , Wyoming
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Friend
The Camp Chef Cast Iron Conditioner isd the best product to use. It just has the right amount of conditioner to put on your cast iron . It seals all surfaces and you don't have to use very much. A a small amount goes along way thats why you need the Camp Cheft Cast Iron Conditioner.
My Favorite BrandCamp Chef Cast Iron
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Camp Chef Cast Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THIS STUFF IS TERRIFIC

PostedMay 4, 2013
Customer avatar
DOCHOLLIDAY
fromNORTH CAROLINA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
MY MOTHER HAD A LARGE COLLECTION OF CAST IRON FRYING PANS IN DIFFERENT SIZES. I REFRAINED FROM USING THEM BECAUSE OF THE SEASONING REQUIRED SO FREQUENTLY. I BOUGHT CAST IRON CONDITIONER TO TRY TO SEE IF IT MADE THINGS EASIER. I USED JUST A LITTLE ON A SMALL FRYING PAN AND THEN MADE A GRILLED HAM AND CHEESE SANDWICH. I HAVE USED IT 3 TIMES AND WASHED IT THOROUGHLY WITH SOAP 3 TIMES AND IT'S STILL GOOD TO GO. AMAZING! NOW I CAN ENJOY USING THE CAST IRON PANS WHICH ARE PREFERABLE WHEN YOU WANT TO COOK ON A HIGH HEAT.I WISH I HAD FOUND THIS SOONER, I WOULDN'T HAVE BOUGHT THE EXCESSIVELY EXPENSIVE NON-STICK PANS.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Camp Chef Cast Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

almost perfect

PostedMay 3, 2013
Customer avatar
tessiez41
fromWestport, CT, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Friend
the product was so dense i almost didn't get it out of the tube. after some reflection i warmed it up with my hands and that made it easier. my cast iron skillet is looking REAL GOOD! thanks Chef!!!!. i'll be back for more of your goodies.
My Favorite Brandswiss diamond (which you don't carry)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Camp Chef Cast Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Seasoning for cast iron pots

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Customer avatar
bj10
fromColumbus, OH, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
Had just recv'd a cast iron kettle, used it, and immediately after rinsing with water, it started to show spotty rust. I then rubbed canola oil on it, and it looked like new, but then it pooled in bottom, and developed odor after awhile.
Ordered the cast iron conditioner, was very solid in the tube, but after awhile it softened. Had no trouble with putting on pan, looked like new, but none of the mess like with the oil. Much easier.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Camp Chef Cast Iron Conditioner, 6 oz.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Eats

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Mario69
fromKansas City, MO, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
Product worked as stated. I am happy that I do not need to prep the old fashion way!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>