Customer reviews for Microplane Rotary Grater, 39306

Microplane Rotary Grater, 39306

Microplane Rotary Grater, 39306 : The grater that is used tableside in the finest restaurants adds freshly-grated cheese to salads, soups and pasta dishes at your table to enhance international and American cuisine. Microplane rotary grater shreds cheese fine or coarse by simply reversing the cylinder. Simply add Parmesan, Romano, Asiago or any hard cheese into the top of the chamber. Brilliantly-styled dual handles automatically press cheese onto the grating cylinder, and a simple turn of the side handle dispenses grated cheese onto salads, soups, pasta and casseroles. Razor-like edges produce mounds of freshly-grated cheese in seconds. Ergonomic side handle can be positioned for right- or left-handed use. Stainless steel and durable plastic construction. Blades made in the USA/Assembled in Mexico. Product Features Extra-sharp dual cutting blade grates cheese fine or coarse by simply reversing the cylindrical grater Squeeze the nonslip handles to automatically press cheese onto the grater and turn the side handle Dispense freshly-grated cheese instantly onto pasta entrees, pizza, salads, soups and casseroles Side handle can be positioned for right- or left-handed use Stainless-steel cylinder will not rust Microplane's precise razor-like edges are formed with a revolutionary process called photo-etching, creating edges that grate finely on contact, without the uneven tugging and shredding of inferior graters
Overall rating:
3.467 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
9 out of 15(60%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Microplane Rotary Grater, 39306
Review 1 for Microplane Rotary Grater, 39306
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!

PostedApril 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Czoscar
fromNorth Texas
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
We use a lot of store bought flake and grated parmesian cheese and was looking for a grater to use real cheese instead of store pre packaged product.
Should have bought this long ago. Great grater and we se it all of the time. Gives us a great parmesian cheese topping on all of our pasta plus.
Only minor issue is that it is large and finding storage in a drawer can be a minor problem
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Microplane Rotary Grater, 39306
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is terrific.

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Hilda
fromVentura, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Easy to use, lightweight, easy to clean and it grates all kinds of cheeses! I love this versatile grater and use it for all size jobs because it is quick and easy.
My Favorite Brandmicroplane rotary
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Microplane Rotary Grater, 39306
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best hans cheese greater

PostedApril 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Roccorob
fromCrystal River, Florida
With ease you can place a pice of cheese ans the design puts no pressure on your hand, not like allthe others that require you to push close wirh thumb,and the the cheese comes out fluffy, I have looked for somthing like this for years!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Microplane Rotary Grater, 39306
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Microplane Rotary Grater

PostedApril 24, 2010
Customer avatar
kf321
fromGreater Cleveland, Ohio
This is, bar none, the BEST rotary grater I have ever used, and I’ve used many. I have server arthritis in my shoulders and cannot effectively use other graters. The typical clamshell design puts pressure behind the product being grated rather than on top, not the most efficient way to go; Microplane’s plier-type grip transfers force directly to the item being grated.
Other graters typically use up to three interchangeable rotors of a small diameter requiring a lot of turns to grate a large quantity of anything; Microplane’s larger drum speeds up grating.
Two other nice features are that the grating drum is reversible, providing both fine and coarse grating without the necessity of storing other drums. Also, unlike most, Microplane’s grater is easily reversible for left-handed operation while maintaining all the conveniences mentioned above.
All in all, this is a truly GREAT/GRATE product and I would highly recommend it to anybody. Additionally, I find the price well worthwhile.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Microplane Rotary Grater, 39306
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Save your money

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromSt. Louis, MO, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I found this grater difficult to use. The capacity was tiny. It was hard to turn the handle. After grating just a small amount of parmesan I could no longer get it to come apart for cleaning. I chose it because I've used a Microplane stick grater for years. Should've just stayed with that. It was a total waste of money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Microplane Rotary Grater, 39306
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cheese Grater

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
MamaKacz
fromMesa, AZ
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Although it has a fine and regular grate option, they are so similar I wouldn't really take the time to switch it around. Otherwise it is easy to use and clean.
My Favorite BrandKitchenAid
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Microplane Rotary Grater, 39306
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So many things make this "grate"

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromVernon Township, NJ, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
So easy due to the handle design -- no sore thumb. Also one drum does regular and fine grating. Beats dragging out the large food processor for the job.
My Favorite BrandOXO
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Microplane Rotary Grater, 39306
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not as expected

PostedNovember 3, 2011
Customer avatar
DebDeb13
fromKnoxville, TN, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I've been looking for a good cheese grater for a while and knowing microplane as an excellent product I thought this would be the one. The handle keeps slipping off as you grate the cheese. It does not lock on as it should. Probably just got a defective one as some reviewers really like the one they have. Wish I had kept the packaging because I would have sent it back.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Microplane Rotary Grater, 39306
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

inbetween

PostedJune 20, 2011
Customer avatar
chas
fromAlexandria, LA
I was looking for a new rotary grater and read reviews on many different models from various sites. This one was either the best ever or worst ever depending on the reviewer. One person rated it average, and I would have to agree with them. It does an excellent job of grating cheddat cheese and others of that type.. However, when squeezing the handle to apply pressure there is a lot of give, and I am concerned about future durability. Also, the cheese needs to be in fairly small pieces to load into the grater. Some things remain to be seen.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Microplane Rotary Grater, 39306
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not quite what I expected...

PostedJune 14, 2011
Customer avatar
AlaskaCOOK
fromFairbanks, AK
Overall, the quality is okay. The handle is a bit awkward to open--and the overall quality is a bit (ahem!) cheesy. It doesn't fit very much cheese at a time--and softer cheese (i.e. colby) seem to squeeze down into the handle where it was hard to clean out.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Microplane Rotary Grater, 39306
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointing

PostedMay 28, 2010
Customer avatar
Jayjay
fromCleveland
Purchased this to replace a similar grater that had broken. This simply does not do the job. You have to squeeze the handle very hard just to hold the cheese in place. This only lasts briefly as, regardless of the pressure exerted, the cheese eventually slides off the teeth of the grater. (and not just when reaching the last bit of cheese; after a few turns of the handle, the cheese just pops out of it's place) WHEN it successfully grates, it does a fine job but it's too cumbersome to hold and operate successfully. And because you have to squeeze it so tightly, you can feel the pressure created on the hinged handle; I thought it was going to snap off. Sadly, I had to return it. I may try another brand but this one didn't work as I expected it. Perhaps it was defective??? Other users rated it higher so maybe I got a bum model.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Microplane Rotary Grater, 39306
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great for quick grating

PostedMarch 30, 2010
Customer avatar
Crazy4Cookin
fromFlorida
This grater is just 'ok' for me. It is a little difficult to hold, the plastic wants to give too much when squeezing and you just can't quite get enough pressure on it to grate the whole piece of cheese.
I gave it 3 stars because for only using it for small jobs it is ok.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Microplane Rotary Grater, 39306
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
3.3 / 5
3.3 / 5
2 of 3 recommend this product