Customer reviews for Vitamix Pro Series 500 Blender, 1710

Vitamix Pro Series 500 Blender, 1710

Vitamix Pro Series 500 Blender, 1710 : With three advanced pre-programmed settings: smoothies, frozen desserts and hot soups, the sophisticated-blending features of this Vitamix Pro Series 500 Blender is unsurpassed in precision-operating technology. Powerful 37,000 rpm, 2+ Peak horsepower motor and laser-cut, stainless-steel ice-crushing blades mix smoothies to the exact liquid-to-ice ratio and blend soups to creamy puree texture. Generates speeds up to 240 mph to process whole foods into smooth consistency in minutes. Produce juice from fruits or vegetables, and whip up frozen desserts in record speed. Grinds and chops nuts and cracks whole grain into natural cereal. Each setting operates at the appropriate amount of power for expert results, and this professional blender automatically shuts off when processing is done. With 1,380 watts of power, the Vitamix Pro Series 500 Blender does the work of multiple kitchen appliances and food processors - without any attachments. Exclusive to this top-tier Vitamix Pro Series 500 Blender is the variable 1-9 speed control, plus HIGH function that transitions from low to high speed in smooth, continuous motion, professionally constructed for high-volume use. Using the advanced pulse feature, the chef has absolute control for refining food and liquid texture to suit exact tastes. With commercial-quality programming, the settings perform every task to perfection. Includes full-color recipe book with more than 327 gourmet chef-inspired recipes, instruction manual and DVD. Brushed stainless-steel finish. Dishwasher-safe jar and lid. 7-year manufacturer warranty. Made in the USA. The Vitamix Pro Series 500 Blender has received numerous outstanding recognitions, including the Gourmet Gold Award at the Gourmet Housewares show, in San Francisco, California. After more than 80 years in business, Vitamix remains true to its mission, "To be the best blending equipment company in the world". Product Features Commercial-grade 2+ Peak horsepower motor operates on high speed at 37,000 rpm for exceptional processing power Laser-cut, stainless-steel ice-crushing blades process ingredients precisely Three convenient pre-programmed settings, Smoothie, Frozen Dessert and Hot Soups each self-operate at the appropriate amount of power for expert results Smoothie function mixes ingredients and ice to exact liquid-to-ice ratio Frozen desserts function produces results in record speed Hot soups and sauces are pureed to perfection Pulse function offers greater control in processing, refining texture to suit exact taste Variable 1-9 speed control, transitions from low to high in smooth, continuous uninterrupted motion Large capacity 64-oz. BPA-free jar with measurement markings in 2-oz. and 1/4-cup increments Accelerator tool allows processing of very thick and/or frozen mixtures and features a splashguard disk Spillproof vented lid features removable cap insert Includes full-color cookbook with more than 327 gourmet chef-inspired recipes Also includes instruction manual and "Let's Get Started" DVD featuring operating techniques and bonus recipes Every Vitamix product line is the result of rigorous endurance- and performance-testing
Overall rating:
4.964 / 5
5
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
27 out of 28(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitamix Pro Series 500 Blender, 1710
Review 1 for Vitamix Pro Series 500 Blender, 1710
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent blender

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Customer avatar
MPWinAZ
fromPrescott, AZ
I make shakes every morning... thick shakes, protein powders, flax seed, coconut milk, frozen fruit, etc.
For the past two years, I've been blowing out motors of cheaper $100 blenders every 5 or 6 months. I've only had this blender a couple of weeks, so not sure if I've solved that problem, but it doesn't have that 'start your morning with the fresh fragrance of over-heated electric motors', so I'm hopeful.
Clean up is amazingly simple, before I would have to scrub the blender jars after their dishwasher ritual (yes, that dishwasher is soon to be replaced). I've only had to clean this jar twice in the past 2 weeks; beyond letting the mixer do the job as advertised.
I have to use the tamp tool occasionally, perhaps once a week. Other blenders required that I scrape the jar while blending my shakes, so this is a big improvement.
Minor Complaints:
Profile is tall, probably the tallest of the blenders I've tried.
This blender does walk a bit on my counter top when making my shakes. It doesn't for other things I've used it for; less-thick other things.
LOUD -- but actually not a loud as I thought it would be after reading other reviews. It is a blender after all.
If you're on the fence, buy it.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitamix Pro Series 500 Blender, 1710
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Investment

PostedAugust 29, 2011
Customer avatar
bakermom74
fromSkippack, PA
I was very reluctant to spend this much money on a blender. However, after years of dealing with the "high end" blender that I had (it wouldn't even chop ice for margaritas), I decided to take a plunge and spend the $600. My kids wanted to have a blender that would make "real" smoothies too, so they had been pushing me to buy it. In the first weekend we had this powerhouse of a machine, we made several different kinds of smoothies, homemade tomato soup, and even the homemade peanut butter that was on the DVD. To get the most out of this machine- watch the DVD that came with it (this is the first time that I have done so). This blender is on my counter, unlike the last one that was in my equipment pantry.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitamix Pro Series 500 Blender, 1710
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Investment In Your Families Health

PostedAugust 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Momofteens
fromWashington
My husband talked me into buying this because he wanted to do a juice diet. I was only hesitant because of the cost, but that aside; this is an awesome product! We have used it every day since we've had it. I made some amazing soup with it twice. I also have a tween girl and 2 teenagers boys one who is a type1 diabetic, so instead of them drinking sugary soda and other drinks, they make themselves smoothies from the book (using agavae in place of sugar). We even have them using the veggies that you can add to it that won't alter the taste. So they are getting all of the vitamins and nutrients of the vegetables and fruit together. It has been a wonderful addition to our family.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitamix Pro Series 500 Blender, 1710
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

vitamix pro series 500

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer avatar
jbyronj
fromAtlanta, GA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Beginner
the best machine ever invented when comes to necessities in the kitchen. there is not a day that goes by that we do not use our vitamix
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitamix Pro Series 500 Blender, 1710
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the vitamix, not this model

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Cherry52683
fromNew York, NY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I am not a huge cook... So I ordered the presets. After using the machine several times I decided to "downgrade" to the CIA professional model and am much happier with that .
My Favorite BrandChanel :)
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitamix Pro Series 500 Blender, 1710
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vitamix Pro Series 500 Blender

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Jaquelyn
fromAshburnham, MA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Gordon Ramsay
This is the best blender I have ever owned. The power, and settings are just what I was looking for. Enjoy making smoothies, soups, piece of cake with this blender!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitamix Pro Series 500 Blender, 1710
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love the programmed settings

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Aimie
fromphiladelphia
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
bought this for my 85 year old mother who makes a smoothie every day. the three programmed settings are perfect for her but for not so much more money she could have had the one with the extra settings. She loves this, it is perfect, but having the settings makes it easier.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitamix Pro Series 500 Blender, 1710
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vitamix worth the price

PostedJune 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Wfred
fromAustin, TX, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
This product delivers exactly as advertised. I bought after talking with business that use their Vitamix
1710 to make between 75 and 100 smoothies per day. The DVD helps to understand all the possibilities and get the tps on maximizing the differnt festures of the blender.
Well worth the money and a great warranty.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitamix Pro Series 500 Blender, 1710
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 4, 2012
Customer avatar
rasta
fromBrooklyn, NY, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
this machine is amazing it does everything and more that was advertised and i don't regret buying it i would recommend it to all my friends and family,i will use it more than my other appliances in the kitchen.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitamix Pro Series 500 Blender, 1710
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More than I expected.

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Customer avatar
alsea
fromWaldport, Or
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Have had the vitamix just three weeks now and have used it every day, making fresh fruit drinks. I am impressed with this appliance and what it can do. How quickly it can turn an orange, a little honey and some yogurt , a few ice cubes into a wonderful healthy drink.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitamix Pro Series 500 Blender, 1710
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buy it! You won't regret it!

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Tiger2
fromSmithton, IL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
Since receiving the Vitamix, I just can't imagine life without it. It handles anything I put into it, which is a lot!
Super easy clean-up! As of right now, I mostly make amazing smoothies, but I hope to expand my horizons with soups, etc. Just buy it!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitamix Pro Series 500 Blender, 1710
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great blender

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Customer avatar
OperaMan7
fromChandler, AZ
Was looking for a blender with the power and great look. This is definitely the one to get
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitamix Pro Series 500 Blender, 1710
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally have a Vitamix

PostedJuly 6, 2011
Customer avatar
MsCat
fromAnn Arbor, MI
After years of blenders that never really blended everything I wanted them to, I am thrilled to have bought this Vitamix. The smoothie option is my favorite and there is not a chunk of ice to be found at the end of the cycle. It has been fun inventing new fruit/vegetable combinations to turn into smoothies.
The soup function works well, but be forewarned that it makes a very frothy type of soup rather than just a smooth soup.
The blender is easy to clean and I found the accompanying DVD very helpful in learning all about the machine. I hope to have years of happy blending with this great piece of equipment.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitamix Pro Series 500 Blender, 1710
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW!

PostedApril 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Onthepond
fromElmira, OR
This is a fantastic tool. We have made a wonderful, smooth mushroom soup and tasty fruit smoothies so far. I am confident that lots more food treats are in store for us. Very easy to use and to clean.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitamix Pro Series 500 Blender, 1710
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best machine I own!

PostedMarch 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Cteavin
fromJapan
The hype is true -- it is the best blender you can buy.
Some highlights: You can make powdered sugar without cornstarch; you can grind dried vegetables and fruits into a find powder; you can mill flours from not only wheat but any grain; and yes, you really can make hot soups or frozen desserts.
My expectation was that the seeds would be ground so fine that I wouldn't be able to detect them on my palaet, and that was wrong but not a fault. In fact, when I want to, I can strain through a chamise to get that cleaner texture.
I bought this half a year ago and I use it almost everyday from things like smoothies and frappachinos to smoothing out my Indian gravies or Italian sauces to grinding my sugar into real powder for exceptional desserts. I really is everything they say it is and more.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitamix Pro Series 500 Blender, 1710
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love, love, love it!

PostedFebruary 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Pasta
fromNo. CA
This is one of the best purchases I've ever made. We use it at least once a day and sometimes up to four and are eating healthier. The Vitamix gives us the opportunity to sneak healthy (but not necessarily tasty things) that typically we'd never eat into recipes; kale in a smoothie--you bet! We love the smoothies and have made and enjoyed the bacon cheddar potato soup as well. Wish I'd bought one years ago.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitamix Pro Series 500 Blender, 1710
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent machine- beautiful construction

PostedJanuary 21, 2011
Customer avatar
Theodore
fromCasper, WY
So far we have made smoothies and soups. I was surprised it also heats the soup as you are mixing. The recipe book was very helpful, everything has been tasty and delicious. Truly a wonderful addition to our kitchen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitamix Pro Series 500 Blender, 1710
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the Money

PostedDecember 8, 2010
Customer avatar
MathTeacher
fromLong Island New York
If you believe in getting top of the line products and keeping them for decades, the Vitamix blender is an excellent choice. I've wanted this blender for a while and waited until shipping was free. So far I've made half a dozen recipes from the cookbook and they've all worked out well.
Pros: Large capacity, heavy duty motor, really does make hot soup and cold desserts.
Cons: NOISY. Taller than the bottom of the cabinets and not as easy to clean as claimed.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitamix Pro Series 500 Blender, 1710
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FABULOUS MACHINE

PostedNovember 18, 2010
Customer avatar
rubyblue
fromFlorida
THIS IS THE BEST THING YOU WILL EVER BUY FOR YOUR KITCHEN AND YOUR HEALTH. I WISH I HAD ALL THE MONEY I WASTED ON OTHER MACHINES OVER THE YEARS. DON'T WAIT, BUY THIS WONDERFUL MACHINE.
YES YOU CAN GET IT FROM THE SHOPPING CHANNEL CHEAPER, BUT IT DOESN'T HAVE THE FEATURES THIS ONE DOES. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY AND ALL THOSE YEARS LIKE I DID I LOVE THIS MACHINE!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitamix Pro Series 500 Blender, 1710
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatile & Powerful Vita-Mix Blender

PostedJuly 23, 2010
Customer avatar
OHGator
fromWaynesville, OH
So far this has been the best blender I've owned to date. Obviously, a bit pricey even at $100 off, but considering its versatility and its power to do smoothies to soups to grinding grain into flour; it's well worth the cost.
The accompanying recipe book (hardcover & 3-ring bound) is awesome very professionally done. It covers a the breadth of the functionality of the Vita-Mix. I've done several recipes from the cookbook;smoothies & beverages, sauces; and will delve into soups & grinding grains next.
The inclusion of the pulse button as well as the 3 pre-programmed settings (smoothies, frozen dessert, & soup) is very convenient and extends the utility of the blender to those familiar with other blenders manufactured for home use. You can now get the power of a commercial blender used extensively in restaurants with the functionality of other less costly smart blenders.
I intend on getting the 32 ounce blender container and dry blade next.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>