Customer reviews for Kuhn Rikon Corn Zipper

Kuhn Rikon Corn Zipper

Kuhn Rikon Corn Zipper : Much safer and easier than a knife, this Kuhn Rikon corn zipper removes rows of kernels effortlessly. Stainless-steel blade features a super-sharp serrated edge curved at just the right angle to quickly and cleanly remove whole kernels. Strips a dozen cobs in minutes. Time-saving tool lets you prepare garden fresh corn for eating, canning, freezing and creating corn relish, salad or chowder in 1/4 of the time. Fun, raised "corn" design grip on the acrylic handle provides nonslip control. Polypropylene handle features a snug-fitting acrylic blade shield for in-the-drawer storage. Stainless-steel blade. Top-rack dishwasher-safe. Kuhn Rikon is an award-winning Swiss designer of kitchen tools for more than 70 years.
Overall rating:
4.312 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
15 out of 16(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Kuhn Rikon Corn Zipper
Review 1 for Kuhn Rikon Corn Zipper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to use

PostedJune 25, 2012
Customer avatar
GrillinMan54
fromSlater, MO
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
This product is very easy to use. It cleans the kernels off the cob with effortless ease.
My father loves corn-on-the-cob that I grill but can't chew it off the cob, so this is the perfect answer.
Thanks to the inventor for this handy and easyto use kitchen tool.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kuhn Rikon Corn Zipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great time saver

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Customer avatar
Petrina
fromUtah
For many years I have used a large knife to cut the corn off of the cob, so I was a little hesitant to try a new tool. However, I found it to work very well. Once I got used to using the "Corn Zipper", I found that it was a big time saver and almost all of the corn remained in the bowl to scoop into a large glass and put into bags for freezing. Also, none of the cob got cut off with the corn, which was another plus. I'll never go back to a knife again.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kuhn Rikon Corn Zipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wide swath

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Customer avatar
daveptomaine
fromboise, id
This implement removes the kernels in less time than other tools due to the wide cutting surface.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kuhn Rikon Corn Zipper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Zipper

PostedAugust 14, 2011
Customer avatar
HCote
fromSouthwick, MA
This is a really good zipper. I also bought the small metal one but this one is superior because it zips a much bigger strip of corn at one time. If this was metal it would be perfect but no complaints from me.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kuhn Rikon Corn Zipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best corn stripper

PostedMay 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Gcook
fromNew Haven, CT
I own a few corn strippers. Originally coming from the midwest, I love fresh corn but prefer not to eat it off the cob. This is the best stripper by far. It is easy to hold, strips about 4 rows at a time and is VERY sharp. Nice blade guard that is not shown in the picture.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kuhn Rikon Corn Zipper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromBaltimore, Maryland
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Very easy to use, I like it because it makes a difficult task easy to remove the corn from the cob.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kuhn Rikon Corn Zipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!!!

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer avatar
Carcar
fromHarvey, Il.
The corn zipper is great, it's fast and easy to use. it did a lot of corn in a little amount of time!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kuhn Rikon Corn Zipper
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Better than a knife (but not much)

PostedJuly 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Ansel
fromSacramento
Takes some practice and skill to use it effectively. The tendency of the tool is to cut too shallow or cut too deep. It's also tricky to hold the corn at the right angle - the best angle causes the corn to slip away. This tool is better than an ordinary knife, but still not the ultimate solution to the corn challenge.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kuhn Rikon Corn Zipper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love gadgets

PostedJuly 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Patg
fromLower Burrell , PA
Very Simple...it works. It does what it is advertized to do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kuhn Rikon Corn Zipper
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not the Best

PostedJune 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Nick201
fromAntrim, NH
Over the past year I have bought several different corn strippers trying the find the "perfect" one. Unfortunately,
this one isn't it. Perhaps I just need more practice at getting it to work to my satisfaction. I have found that the OXO corn stripper to work the best. It is easy and very fast. Gets the job done in no time. Unfortunately, Chef's Catalog didn'tcarry that brand so I purchased it elsewhere.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kuhn Rikon Corn Zipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handiest Kitchen Tool

PostedJanuary 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Windyfarm
fromMadison, VA
My family loves my homemade cream corn, made with fresh corn on the cob. This tool has made cutting the corn off the cob and cleaning the cob the easiest job ever! No more messy cutting with knives. This cuts half the kernel with just slight pressure and cuts the rest of the kernel with more pressure - perfect for cream corn! No more finger cuts either!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kuhn Rikon Corn Zipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT GADGET

PostedAugust 13, 2010
Customer avatar
CROCKETT
fromLOCUST, NC
USED THIS FOR THE FIRST TIME LAST NIGHT AND IT IS WONDERFUL!!! CUTS THE KERNELS OFF SMOOTHLY
AND WITH VERY LITTLE EFFORT. AM GOING TO GET
2 MORE FOR STOCKING STUFFERS FOR MY AUNT AND COUSIN!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kuhn Rikon Corn Zipper
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's So-So

PostedJuly 10, 2010
Customer avatar
MsBaker
fromCalifornia
It does remove the kernels pretty easily but still is awkward. At least the kernels don't fly all over if doing it over a plate. I still needed to watch my fingers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kuhn Rikon Corn Zipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use

PostedJune 11, 2010
Customer avatar
lovetocook92
fromSan Diego
The product works easily and cuts the corn off with ease. It does a good job of getting whole pieces of corn off the cob.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Kuhn Rikon Corn Zipper
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 of 2 recommend this product