Customer reviews for Wusthof Gourmet Salad Knife

Wusthof Gourmet Salad Knife

Wusthof Gourmet Salad Knife : The mirror-polished extra-deep scalloped edge on this precision-stamped Wusthof salad knife is ground thinner, cutting down drag 50% for quick, efficient food preparation. This precision-cutting edge pierces thick-skinned vegetables, fruits, melons or bread using minimal pressure without crushing the outside, leaving the fleshy interior intact. The curved angle and wider blade on this original salad knife is like a santoku to expertly slice, dice, mince or chop with ease. Cut paper-thin vegetables or fruit slices, julienne, segment fruit or create hors d'oeuvres with the precision of one high-performance blade. The tip of the blade penetrates cleanly and will finish off a cut. This exclusive cutting edge never touches the cutting board and will never need sharpening. Signature to the Wusthof cutlery is the precision bolster, allowing the heft and balance to perform quick, even cuts. The triple-compression rivets attach the high-impact handle securely to the full tang for superior strength and maneuverability and feature an inner ring anode to safeguard from rust. Developed in partnership with CHEFS, this is the knife every chef requires in a well-equipped kitchen. Precision-forged high-carbon stainless-steel. Hand wash. 6"L blade. Made in Germany. Lifetime manufacturer warranty. Since 1814, knives bearing the Wusthof name and the Trident logo have been crafted in the world's "Cutlery Capital" of Solingen, Germany. Today, in a state-of-the-art facility, that tradition of quality is ensured as old-world craftsmanship meets 21st century production methods. Product Features Mirror-polished extra-deep scalloped edge is ground thinner, cutting down drag 50% for quick, efficient food preparation Precision-stamped high-carbon stainless-steel with a tip to penetrate cleanly and finish off a cut Pierces thick-skinned vegetables, fruits, melons or bread using minimal pressure, leaving the outside and fleshy interior intact With the curved angle and wider blade, this knife works like a santoku to expertly slice, dice, mince or chop Cut paper thin vegetable slices for salads, segment fruit, julienne or create decorative hors d'oeuvres Ergonomic, polypropylene handle fits either hand for firm control Triple-compression rivets with inner ring anode to safeguard from rust Handmade in Germany since 1814, Wusthof cutlery is prized by the world's top chef
Overall rating:
4.92 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
24 out of 25(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Wusthof Gourmet Salad Knife
Review 1 for Wusthof Gourmet Salad Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite knife

PostedJanuary 17, 2011
Customer avatar
JanS
fromCA
My husband purchased a set of Wustohof knives for me several years ago for Christmas when I requested a 5" knife. This year I was looking at options for an additional knife, I found the Classic Salad knife, purchased one and was hooked! My favorite knife in the block! When searching for a gifts for others I decided on the Gourmet Salad knife and was very pleased with the function and quality of this knife.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wusthof Gourmet Salad Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great addition

PostedNovember 10, 2010
Customer avatar
cookinglady
fromblock island R.I.
the knife adds up to the description in the catalog and on line. We eat salad about every day so this is a great addition to our knife collection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wusthof Gourmet Salad Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Must Have...

PostedSeptember 5, 2010
Customer avatar
Cecelia
fromBuckley, WA
I bought both Classic and Gourment knifes and I can't say enough postive things about them. They will make your prep work so easy and look so perfect, because they are so sharp you can cut thin slices of everything.
I know this is the perfect knife and I highly recommend this product. It is a must have!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wusthof Gourmet Salad Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a Christmas gift one of the good gifts

PostedAugust 30, 2010
Customer avatar
Mississippioma
fromBiloxi, MS
I hope the Recipients will love this knife as much as I like the more expensive version of it.
It's made as well as the one that I am keeping.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wusthof Gourmet Salad Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wustoff salad knife

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromohio
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
love this knife! this is my second one it fits my small hands is sharp hold it edge
i have a paring knife and this one i got rid of
the other knifes and they were from chefs on
the recommendation of cooks illustrated magazine
My Favorite Brandall clad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wusthof Gourmet Salad Knife
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Okay but not as good as advertised.

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Organizedcook
fromMidwest
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I was really looking forward to using this knife as the fall vegetables are here and I need a good knife to cut into squash. I tried it first on a butternut squash and it did not do well. Next I tried it on an acorn squash and it was even less able. I think it is too short to really handle the large squashes. It will do for zucchini, cucumbers, onions and carrots but I already have a good nakiri knife that handles those vegetables.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wusthof Gourmet Salad Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Why did I wait so long?

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Patti205
fromChicago, IL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
This knife is absolutely vital for an average kitchen cook. To me, it's not just a salad knife. I use it for almost every job in the kitchen. I just don't know why I waited so long. I just became aware of the quality of Wusthof knives about four years ago, when I purchased my first chefs knife from a small kitchen store in my neighborhood. This smaller salad knife actually performs better than my chefs knife because it is serrated and never needs sharpening. This is the best and most practical purchase I ever made. Thank you Chefs.
My Favorite BrandWusthof knives
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wusthof Gourmet Salad Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wustoff gormet salad knife

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Customer avatar
callie1941
fromsouthwestern ohio
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
the best knife yet from your catalog
i have small hands and it's a perfect size
for me
i use it for fresh corn, tomatoes,as well
as salad greens
also would be great for a camper or those
with little counter space
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wusthof Gourmet Salad Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gourmet Salad Knife

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromLong Island, New York, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Microwave Magician
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Gordon Ramsay
This is the highest quality knife in my drawer..incredibly easy to use and slices and dices better than any previous products I have purchased
My Favorite BrandWusthof
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wusthof Gourmet Salad Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Veggie Knife

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Customer avatar
IronBones
fromNew York, NY, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cuts thin, Good for all veg from garlin slices to carrots
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wusthof Gourmet Salad Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Iamucom
fromMerryville, LA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I have an assortment of the wusthof knives and love every one of them. My husband is hooked on using them also. I have watched the salad knife and Chef's Catalog had the cheapest price of anywhere I looked. I'm excited to add a new one to my collection.
My Favorite BrandWusthof
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wusthof Gourmet Salad Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMay 8, 2012
Customer avatar
HM30
fromStamford, CT, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
This was my first Wusthof, and I can not praise it enough. I wish they were not so pricey but I guess good investments are expensive. The knife just glides through everything and leaves no impact on my wrist at all. I use it for all prep work this knife is a time saver and delivers what it promises. A good cut everytime.
I would recommend this to everyone specially people who have problems with their wrist and arm.
My Favorite Brandmy new favorite Wusthof
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wusthof Gourmet Salad Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharp

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Flordie
fromLehigh Acres, FL, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
This knive is the perfect item to have in the kitchen as it is well balanced, very sharp and glides through the toughest of things. It is the perfect size for most jobs around the kitchen, I love it and glad I bought it.
My Favorite BrandWhoustof
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wusthof Gourmet Salad Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of my Favorites

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Dianne24
fromEllicott City, MD
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I love this Wusthof knife and use it daily. This and my Wusthol chef's knife are my two favorite knives that I use constantly. It is so handy for so many chopping or slicing jobs that require a nice little knife, and it is so sharp and easy to use. I could use two of these!
My Favorite BrandWusthof
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wusthof Gourmet Salad Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedAugust 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Finckle
fromAtlanta, GA
Good sharp knives are a passion of mine - this is the finest one I own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wusthof Gourmet Salad Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A very serious kitchen helper.

PostedFebruary 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Stintan
fromSanta Cruz , Ca
Small but mighty, this knife is just the right size when the large chefs knife is too cumbersome. The thin blade and incredibly sharp edge glide easily through the vegetables as thinly as you wish. I'm a stickler when it comes to knives, this one impressed me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wusthof Gourmet Salad Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Perfect Size

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Customer avatar
CHARK
fromRio Rancho, NM
I have used similar knives but this one is great for cutting veggies because it is serrated.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wusthof Gourmet Salad Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More Than a Salad Knife

PostedFebruary 11, 2011
Customer avatar
buttoneyes
fromCalifornia
While it's early, this may be the best knife that I've ever owned.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wusthof Gourmet Salad Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

blueberry lady

PostedJanuary 31, 2011
Customer avatar
1LuckyLady
fromCherryfield, ME
Just love this item. There are none of the Wusthof knives I have bought that I would part with. Once you have them there are no other onese that compare to them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wusthof Gourmet Salad Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best Yet

PostedOctober 24, 2010
Customer avatar
Frangelica
fromHolland, Ohio
I have a number of Wusthof knives, but this is destined to be one of my favorites. It cuts everything with ease. It is not as heavy as the Santoku, but works twice as hard. Love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>