Customer reviews for ChefsChoice Asian/European/American Knife Sharpener, 4623

ChefsChoice Asian/European/American Knife Sharpener, 4623

ChefsChoice Asian/European/American Knife Sharpener, 4623 : This multipurpose 3-stage ChefsChoice Asian/European/American knife sharpener provides an ultra-sharp edge on straight-edge and serrated knives, including sport knives. With a full one carat of 100% diamond abrasives and precise angle control, interdigitating diamond pads sharpen simultaneously "into" and "out of" the knife edge. These diamond-coated abrasive pads hold their shape indefinitely and sharpen any alloy. Stage 3 hones and polishes to a burr-free finish for a stronger, more durable edge. Soft-grip handle offers a secure grip. Exceptionally safe and easy to store, the Asian/European/American knife sharpener fits in a kitchen drawer. For right-hand and left-handed use.1-year limited manufacturer warranty. Made in the USA. Product Features More than one carat of diamond abrasives sharpens and hones Asian, European and American knives Creates an ultra-sharp edge on straight-edge and serrated knives, including sport knives With precise angle control, this sharpener utilizes interdigitating diamond pads to sharpen simultaneously "into" and "out of" the knife edge Diamond abrasive pads hold their shape indefinitely and will not load up, so no messy oil or water is needed Stage 3 hones to a premium burr-free finish With a comfortable sure-grip handle, this sharpener is exceptionally safe and easy to use Nonslip rubber feet keep sharpener secure when in use Compact size stores in a kitchen drawer Stainless-steel and molded thermoplastic
Overall rating:
4.71 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
38 out of 38(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for ChefsChoice Asian/European/American Knife Sharpener, 4623
Review 1 for ChefsChoice Asian/European/American Knife Sharpener, 4623
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A small expense for a great sharpener

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Customer avatar
sunnysd
fromSan Diego, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Professional Chef
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Vegetarian
We wanted to have sharp knives all of the time, and stop running to our local knife sharpener shop. When we looked at prices for electric ones, we balked! We found this as an alternative and were skeptical, but after reading the reviews, we thought what the heck. Well, we are now the proud owners of VERY sharp knives. Our knives were very dull and it took about a million strokes at first, but when we were about to give up, they started getting sharper. Just follow the directions. We are very satisfied with our purchase, and also with Chefs Catalog for a great price!
My Favorite BrandLodge
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ChefsChoice Asian/European/American Knife Sharpener, 4623
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to use

PostedMay 25, 2012
Customer avatar
ilovefood
fromLas Vegas, NV
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
This was the first time I used this kind of sharpener and was surprised at how well it worked and how easy it was.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ChefsChoice Asian/European/American Knife Sharpener, 4623
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to use, easy to store!

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Customer avatar
HH1221
fromWI
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
This sharpener works great for bringing the edge back to new on your favorite knives! It does requires a lot of strokes if you have to re-shape the edge (50 strokes is recommended), sharpens the edge in 25 strokes. I like that it sharpens all blades, even serrated ones, so you don't need separate sharpeners. Stores easily in your utensil drawer!
My Favorite BrandT-Fal, Calphalon
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ChefsChoice Asian/European/American Knife Sharpener, 4623
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sometimes the simplest tools are the best ones

PostedOctober 18, 2010
Customer avatar
Kailas
fromLos Angeles
This knife sharpener is compact, easy to use, and works as well as I would have wished. My old dull knives, both cheap and expensive, are sharp again! I bought this item because it was advertised as being able to sharpen all kinds of knives. And it does just that.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ChefsChoice Asian/European/American Knife Sharpener, 4623
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great job

PostedSeptember 1, 2010
Customer avatar
heckd
fromIllinois
this handy little knife sharpener does what it says it will and is really easy to use
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ChefsChoice Asian/European/American Knife Sharpener, 4623
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Knife Sharpener

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Baloo
fromAugusta, GA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
The sharpener seems to work but the instructions
were a little complicated for which knife should
be inserted where.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ChefsChoice Asian/European/American Knife Sharpener, 4623
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for the home chef.

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
fosnicka
fromLas Vegas, NV, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
I have always had trouble keeping my knives sharp but this compact little tool does the job for me.
My Favorite BrandCuisenart
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ChefsChoice Asian/European/American Knife Sharpener, 4623
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Careful, it's sharp now!

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
lofty
fromCitrus Heights, CA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Works as advertised. Especially pleased with the results on my never-sharpened serrated knives. Now I am tempted to try to change my favorite chefs knife from 20-degree double bevel to the Asian 15-degree but haven't yet summoned the nerve for so radical a move.
One caveat: The instructions direct you to draw the blade through the sharpener, then push it back the other way. I found that I could not do this smoothly against the abrasive sharpening surface so I used the drawing motion only, which produced the promised results in far fewer strokes than the instructions indicated.
Easy and safe to use, compact and attractive style, no moving parts to break; a successful design.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ChefsChoice Asian/European/American Knife Sharpener, 4623
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A sharpner that works!

PostedMay 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Celie
fromIowa
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
After trying many different sharpners we finally found one that works and is easy to use. Granted the first time you sharpen your knives it will take many strokes to get them sharp but after that if you use it before they get really dull it is a breeze. Preparing food is so much easier with sharp knives. But take extra care when cleaning the newly sharpened knives it's easy to cut your fingers when you are use to dull knives instead of the newly sharpened ones.
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid - Breville
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ChefsChoice Asian/European/American Knife Sharpener, 4623
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little tool

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Customer avatar
QAPorter
fromSpringfield, MO, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Was skeptical but based on the reviews I went ahead and made the purchase WOW! I am very surprised at how well it does. You can't go wrong buying this.
My Favorite BrandCuisinart
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ChefsChoice Asian/European/American Knife Sharpener, 4623
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Improved Knife Skills

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
BigBoy
fromPhoenicia, NY 12464, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mario Batali
Sharp knives are an essential part of any kitchen worthy of it's name . This sharpener takes care of all the types of knives I own and hones them to perfection .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ChefsChoice Asian/European/American Knife Sharpener, 4623
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Customer avatar
BrooklynMike
fromBrooklyn, NY
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
This sharpener worked well on most of our knives.
However, one dinner knife set with a slightly serrated edge would not sharpen even after 3 attempts.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ChefsChoice Asian/European/American Knife Sharpener, 4623
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Customer avatar
poochalk14
fromMontana, USA
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
This knife sharpener is easy to use. Stores compactly in a drawer and can be used if you don't have any electricity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ChefsChoice Asian/European/American Knife Sharpener, 4623
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent value.

PostedJune 18, 2012
Customer avatar
JacqueL
fromTequesta, FL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
Excellent value. As described. Timely delivery as promised.
My Favorite BrandKitchen aid
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ChefsChoice Asian/European/American Knife Sharpener, 4623
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

as described

PostedMay 30, 2012
Customer avatar
ladyC
fromAbingdon, VA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
It sharpened every knife in the house, quickly. I plan to give this product as Christmas gifts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ChefsChoice Asian/European/American Knife Sharpener, 4623
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use and does the job

PostedApril 18, 2012
Customer avatar
ptx5562
fromTemple, NH
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I've tried this on all my "constant-use" knives: santoku, paring, filet, slicing, steak, and bread. It has performed well and has been easy to use.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ChefsChoice Asian/European/American Knife Sharpener, 4623
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use.

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Customer avatar
LoveToCookInFlorida
fromLake Mary, FL
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Sharpener does an excellent job on all types of knives, even serrated knives. And it's easy to use. Design makes it easy to hold firm while sharpening. Slots are marked so you don't have to remember which slot your different type of knives are to use for sharpening. Would purchase again. Would make a great gift.
My Favorite BrandCuisinart Green Gourmet
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ChefsChoice Asian/European/American Knife Sharpener, 4623
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Even better than expected.

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Larmo
fromTucson, AZ
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I love a truly sharp knife as do most cooks. After a review and comparison in Cooks Magazine where this knife sharpener was rated tops for manual sharpeners I just had to try one. It works so well and with minimal effort, just a few strokes is all it took on any of my knives. I would recommend it to anyone. I could not believe the difference even with knives that I had thought were sharp.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ChefsChoice Asian/European/American Knife Sharpener, 4623
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Customer avatar
kitchentooljunkie
fromDallas, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I read about this knife sharpener in a cooking magazine that does product reviews. I was unhappy with my other sharpener so I tohught I would give this one a try. It is a great price and is everything I expect in a knife sharpener for this price.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ChefsChoice Asian/European/American Knife Sharpener, 4623
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy with the choice

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Customer avatar
nitram55
fromSan Luis Obispo, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
This knife sharpener is small enough to keep handy on the counter or in a drawer. I am pleased with the results of knives sharpened and honed in the three slots. It works much better than the steel I have been using and at a modest price compared to other sharpeners. It works well for left-handed users like myself.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>