Customer reviews for Norpro 3-Piece Chinois, Stand and Pestle Set

Norpro 3-Piece Chinois, Stand and Pestle Set

Norpro 3-Piece Chinois, Stand and Pestle Set : A chef's necessity for creating sauces, this chinois, stand and pestle set lets you press and separate the liquid from the pulp and seeds of tomatoes, vegetables or fruits to produce ultra-smooth liquids. Stabilize the chinois over a bowl or pot by resting it in the tripod stand and let the juices strain hands-free. With the rubberwood pestle you can quickly puree ingredients. The stainless-steel fine mesh conical sieve is ideal to strain custards, create baby food or clarify hot soup stock into a smooth, delicious base. Also ideal for processing soft fruits and vegetables into healthy beverages or dusting pastries with a fine layer of powdered sugar. Chrome-plated stand. Stainless-steel chinois. Hand wash pestle. Dishwasher-safe stand and chinois. Product Features Stainless-steel chinois includes the stand and rubberwood pestle Conical fine-mesh sieve separates the seeds and pulp from the liquid The rubberwood pestle allows easy mashing or pureeing Strain fruits, vegetables, berries, custards or clarify hot soup.
Overall rating:
4.381 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
18 out of 21(86%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Norpro 3-Piece Chinois, Stand and Pestle Set
Review 1 for Norpro 3-Piece Chinois, Stand and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chinois

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromPittsburgh, PA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
This item is exactly what I had been searching for but could not find anywhere. I have processed my bucket of tomatoes and look forward to making more sauce with the help of my chinois. It was easy to use, clean, and allowed easy clean-up. You should have seen the mess I had trying to use a collander or other strainers. All sauce, juice, and jelly makers Alert, buy a chinois for your annual harvest.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Norpro 3-Piece Chinois, Stand and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I wanted

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
D7E4B9
fromIronwood MI
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Calamity
This product is exactly like the one that my Mom used in her kitchen - I know that it will be used often in my kitchen also.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Norpro 3-Piece Chinois, Stand and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great buy!

PostedDecember 29, 2011
Customer avatar
MimiPetro
fromWeymouth, MA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I have want a chinois for a long time and felt the expense ( upwards of a $100) was too much for a specialty item. I can't believe I found this one on Chef's website at such a great price! It is sturdy, stores easily and will create the smoothest silkiest sauces and soups. I love my purchase. It was a gift to myself this holiday!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Norpro 3-Piece Chinois, Stand and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is a great value.

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Candy54
fromLake Oswego, OR, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
My daughter is at culinary school. She has learned a chinois is indispensable to her cooking success. This product is wonderful quality and a fabulous value. It is less expensive than all the other high quality brands she looked at and has the stand and pestle included which the others did not. Thanks so much.
My Favorite BrandKitchenaide
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Norpro 3-Piece Chinois, Stand and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality product, much less expensive than others

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Customer avatar
trainriderCZ
fromBuffalo NY
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I searched for a chinois set for several weeks, this particular set met all my needs.It does not rust easily, has a sturdy stand and a very comfortable pestal handle. Can't do much better, especially for less than fifty dollars.
My Favorite BrandKeurig
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Norpro 3-Piece Chinois, Stand and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Item

PostedJanuary 20, 2011
Customer avatar
jf103
fromMcKinney, TX
This replaced one that my grandmother used and works just as efficiently but being newer and stainless, it cleaned much easier than her old aluminum one. I would have liked the pestal to be a little broader at the point but I do really like it. For applesauce, I recommend peeling apples before cooking.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Norpro 3-Piece Chinois, Stand and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

simple efficiency

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
ElenaMaria235
fromDutchess County, NY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
The Norpro 3-Piece Chinois, Stand and Pestle Set is a wonderful addition to my kitchen. It's the perfect size and easy to use and clean. The results are excellent. Smooth sauces that taste wonderful.
My Favorite BrandKitchenAid, Cuisinart, Calphalon, Lodge
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Norpro 3-Piece Chinois, Stand and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Soon to be a new favorite in my kitchen

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromMerrillville, IN
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
We make and enjoy our own homemade ice cream, sorbet, custards and gelato's. I purchased this as a Valentine gift for my husband this year so, we have not used it yet. I can assure though this will be perfect for our much looked forward to seasonal Muscadine Gelato! My husband's job is to press the juice out of berries and grapes which up to now has laborously used a fine strainer and rubber spatula. The Norpro Chinois Set is going to prove very beneficial and added ease in this process. Look forward to using it for holiday gravies too!
My Favorite BrandSilga, Scan Pan, Le Creuset, All Clad, Norpro, Rosle, OXO
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Norpro 3-Piece Chinois, Stand and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sauce making has never been easier

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromCalifornis
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Dad
This product has turned a task that used to take a very long time, into just minutes. Best (and easiest) batch of salsa yet. Simply awesome!
My Favorite Brandnone
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Norpro 3-Piece Chinois, Stand and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Mobie
fromUnited States
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
This is a gift so I can't help you. It does look great however.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Norpro 3-Piece Chinois, Stand and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a Must for your kitchen!

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
LaLa27
fromArizona, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I bought this primarily to use while making a certain tomato sauce. However, it's first use turned out to be during this Thanksgiving holiday, while making turkey soup. So easy to strain the broth through, while saving the turkey and veggies (and identifying the bones!). Easy to clean too. I can see already this is going to be a very versatile tool in my ktichen!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Norpro 3-Piece Chinois, Stand and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cranberry Sauce made easy.

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
mam3995
fromShawnee, OK, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I have always made my cranberry sauce from fresh cranberries. It has been such a tiring job with just a strainer and whatever I had to press them through with. But this Chinois, stand and pestle has made my job so much faster and much more simple. And being stainless steel it cleans up really fast and without a hassle. Just rinse it and put it in the dishwasher and you are finished.
My Favorite BrandAll Clad
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Norpro 3-Piece Chinois, Stand and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great kitchen tool.

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Jawhat
fromOklahoma
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
as i expected from CHEFS, great. A great new addition to my CHEFS kitchen tools
My Favorite BrandAnything from CHEFS
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Norpro 3-Piece Chinois, Stand and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Unit !!

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Janai64
fromPalisade, CO, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
I bought this after attending a cooking school in Mexico for 2 weeks. I needed a way to make the pastes and sauces like we did at school. This works perfectly. I love the wooden pestle which the ones in school didn't have. It fits perfectly in the hole on the bottom and I just have to spins it in circles around the Chinois and the paste is squeezed out of the holes with the seeds and skins of the chiles left inside. I'll be using this a lot !!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Norpro 3-Piece Chinois, Stand and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Holes sizes not small enough

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
cow37
fromManchester, MA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I bought this as an additional piece to go beyond my china cap. It has the same size holes therefore no advantage in further straining stocks & broths.
My Favorite BrandWusthof
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Norpro 3-Piece Chinois, Stand and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a good product

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
Customer avatar
MamaV
fromOhio
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
This should have a fine mesh for straining everything from soup stocks to raspberries. Instead, the bowl is basically a colander with holes. Sending it back unused.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Norpro 3-Piece Chinois, Stand and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Customer avatar
missyjanie47
fromScottsdale. AZ
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I was expecting a fine chinois, I would descibe this item as a fine china cap as it is made of pierced stainless steel ala a china cap. A chinois (my idea of one) is a tight mesh metal screening material.
That said, I'm sure it will do the intended job as well as being easy to clean.
It is well made, sturdy and a generous size for cooking at home.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Norpro 3-Piece Chinois, Stand and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good purchase

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Customer avatar
GrandMeme
fromGlenmont, NY
While I would have prefered the rounded end pestle rather than the pointed, (Not all improvements are "improvements".) I think this will please my granddaughter.
I would certainly consider recommending this..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Norpro 3-Piece Chinois, Stand and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

PostedApril 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Boyce
fromTampa, FL
Great price and value. Love the fact that it has a stand so that you can do it all yourself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Norpro 3-Piece Chinois, Stand and Pestle Set
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
3.5 / 5
3.5 / 5
1 of 2 recommend this product