Customer reviews for Polder Steamer/Strainer Colander

Polder Steamer/Strainer Colander

Polder Steamer/Strainer Colander : This multi-use 18/8 stainless-steel basket with easy-grip handle is the ideal steamer/strainer for asparagus, corn-on-the-cob, clams, mussels or large quantities of food. The Polder steamer/strainer colander fits inside a stockpot to steam with just a small amount of water in the stockpot or use as a colander to rinse fruits or vegetables in the sink. Ideal as a 2-in-1 pasta basket/strainer to lift and drain liquids back into the pot. The soft-grip silicone handle stays cool to the touch. Also ideal for blanching. Stainless-steel. Dishwasher-safe. Product Features This deep stainless-steel basket turns a stockpot into a steamer for tall vegetables or seafood The mesh design drains liquids back into the pot Deep size to rinse large quantities of vegetables or fruits in the sink. Ideal as a 2-in-1 pasta basket/strainer to easily lift and drain cooked pasta from boiling water Ideal to blanche vegetables for canning or freezing Soft-grip silicone handle stays cool to the touch.
Overall rating:
4.423 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
22 out of 26(85%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Polder Steamer/Strainer Colander
Review 1 for Polder Steamer/Strainer Colander
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Steamer/strainercolander

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Tintin
fromLos Angeles, CA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Professional Chef
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
So happy I found one that I have been looking for for years. So convenient, multi purpose and no more problem at all for me even if I cook all day especially during special occasions. Always tender parties at home, always the cook, now, I have no more problem even if I cook all day everyday. My daughter loves to cook a lot too and she was happy I got this. Thank you.
My Favorite BrandCHEF
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Polder Steamer/Strainer Colander
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Money saver!

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Customer avatar
ducksgma
fromMaryland
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
Was given a bushel of greens and could not use them at one cook. I used this very needed basket to help me blanche the greens for later use when the season changes. Love it!
My Favorite BrandAldi
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Polder Steamer/Strainer Colander
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

multi-use product to help a kitchen clean and neat

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Customer avatar
CloudOverSky
fromKissimmee, FL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Excellent product! Love, love, love it so much. Many people ask me where to buy it...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Polder Steamer/Strainer Colander
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Item

PostedFebruary 16, 2011
Customer avatar
BevS
fromFerdinand, IN
I used the collander to steam vegetables. It is a big collander so can do vegetables such as asparagus. that is the type of vegetable my family cares about. Did a good job with this. It is what I expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Polder Steamer/Strainer Colander
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Hard Boiled Eggs...Over & Over again!

PostedJanuary 20, 2011
Customer avatar
H2Ogirl
fromChapel Hill, NC
I did not buy the basket to use as a steamer or as a colander, rather, to make perfect hard boiled eggs! My husband & I enjoy watching old cooking shows. Julia Child had a show on 'hard eggs' and used a 'french salad basket' for 'perfect eggs, EVERYTIME!" This submersible, metal basket is the closest I've seen to what she used. The open weave is large enough to allow the water easy passage in and out of the basket, yet small enough to boil any vegetable or beans (except french lentils...very small and might get caught in the weave.) I have tried various methods to make an egg with a soft white, and cooked yolk, but could not find a method that consistently yielded eggs without rubbery whites and/or overcooked, grey/green rimmed yolks. But this basket works great! TO COOK A HARD BOILED EGG: Bring water to a boil, place room temp eggs in one layer on bottom of basket (I use large eggs), place basket in pot, control heat to bring water to simmer, once simmering then set timer for 11 minutes AND monitor uncovered pot for a constant simmer. After 11 minutes, remove basket from pot, first lightly crack each egg shell, then place in cold running water until eggs are cool enough to handle. These eggs are competely cooked, no overdone ring around the yolk, and are simple & easy to peel. Let cool completely before cutting. Hurray Julie Child! Hurray Polander!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Polder Steamer/Strainer Colander
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

no mess drain

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Saint29
fromGuam
My Cooking Level:Advanced
This is invaluable if you cook a lot of pasta, but equally great for any boiled or steamed dish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Polder Steamer/Strainer Colander
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Deeper than expected

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Sadie123
fromGA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Better as a colande - not as a steamer. Not enough space between legs and basket for steaming. Positive, no hastle returning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Polder Steamer/Strainer Colander
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Kitchen basket

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
PDXLinda60
fromPortland, OR, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
The item is well made. Nice a sturdy. It's a little bigger than I thought, but still worked well for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Polder Steamer/Strainer Colander
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Wonderful upgrade

PostedJune 24, 2013
Customer avatar
mapper
fromOrange, Va.
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I've used my strainer for over 50 years and decided it was time for a new one. This one looks like it will do another 50 years for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Polder Steamer/Strainer Colander
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

No strain stariner

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromCamarillo, CA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
In the pot or in the sink, it does the job with the mesh set at a good spacing.
My Favorite BrandKitchenaide
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Polder Steamer/Strainer Colander
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome item for serious cooks...

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Trot
fromSyracuse NY
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
This just does its all in one.. Steams a bunch of clams or veggies.. Great handle to go from pot to sink and stands up.. Rinse-drain-strain-steam or whatever you need.. Does the big jobs with ease...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Polder Steamer/Strainer Colander
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

photodeceptive

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
annaumami
fromFallbrook, CA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mario Batali
Nice utensil,way larger than it looked in the catalog
My Favorite BrandKitchenaid
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Polder Steamer/Strainer Colander
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product,

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Customer avatar
plddm
fromMissouri
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Calamity
This was just what we needed to make our canning projects easier.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Polder Steamer/Strainer Colander
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too tall and narrow...

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Customer avatar
LakeCountyChef
fromNorthern Illinois
...yet too wide and short. Makes an inadequate colander given its tall narrow profile. And yet, it makes a bad steamer/past insert since it does not fit down into an 8 quart stockpot. I am not sure for what task this product was designed.
FYI: The basket is 9-7/16" across at the top. My two stock pots are both around 9" inside diameter. So it does not drop all the way into the pots. Additionally, the handle sticks out 1-9/16" past the edge of the top, making it it difficult to put a lid on the pot, even if it did fit down inside.
The basket is 7 7/16" tall.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Polder Steamer/Strainer Colander
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No Rust

PostedAugust 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Gazlle
fromSLC utah
The stainless steel adds elegance to my kitchen and most significantly, it does NOT RUST. Never have I had such a durable, functional strainer: its feet elevate and support the basket as water drains after rinsing vegetables or pasta; its basket, while flexible keeps its shape, and it easily fits in the dishwasher. I even ordered a second for use on days when cook in bulk and freeze entrees.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Polder Steamer/Strainer Colander
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMay 27, 2011
Customer avatar
gringa
fromSan Antonio, Texas
Best steamer/strainer I have purchased. I like the fact that it stands inside the sink and I do not have to hold it while I pour the pasta out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Polder Steamer/Strainer Colander
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very handy to have

PostedApril 18, 2011
Customer avatar
MOgirl
fromMissouri
This is a really nice colander to have in your kitchen. It's pretty big, but in a large pot it's not a problem. It's plenty big enough to hold your pasta, corn on the cob, etc... and I love the good sized handle to pull it out of the pot with. Another nice feature is the small feet on the bottom. The size of this colander really is both a 'pro' and a 'con'; the size is great for doing large amounts of food, but at the same time, the size is a pain when it comes to storing the colander. I'd still buy it again though.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Polder Steamer/Strainer Colander
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too big

PostedFebruary 11, 2011
Customer avatar
mburn
fromKnoxville, TN
This strainer is too big to use as advertised. Because it flares out at the top and is quite tall, it is only usable in my very largest stock pot. Although I have opted to keep it, dimentions should have appeared somewhere in the description.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Polder Steamer/Strainer Colander
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase for many uses!!!!

PostedJanuary 19, 2011
Customer avatar
c0pper4me2
fromWest Virginia
This item is fantastic...it fits in my 12 qt stock pot perfectly with the handle outside of the pot. I can now use it to cook pasta and blanch vegetables with my stock pot when canning. Also I don't need a colander because I use it for that also! I can steam vegetable with it. I can think of many ways to use it. It is stainless steel and it cleans up easily and can be put in the dishwasher with great results. I wished that I could have found this item sooner like 30 years ago...!!!!! It is so versatile and it saves me space in my small kitchen due to the fact it replaces so many other items that are just for one purpose. THANKS for having a great product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Polder Steamer/Strainer Colander
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Customer avatar
gomo
fromSouth Carolina
Have been looking for this for some time and finally found this one.It is of excellent quality and fairly priced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>